SilverFalcon and CB's Kitchen Experiments .. :lifey:

Kasturi …:hmmm: what is it? is it like kasturi methi type of thing ? I took this recipe long time back and everytime i make it , people love it … so i thought its definitely one of those recipes that never go wrong ..:omg:

about the Gol gappay … I wanna ask you , when you put the gappa in the oil, do you just leave them like that or apply some pressure on it lightly ?

coz if you follow that little girl’s recipe about 90 percent of them balooned up … what you gotta do is , put one gappa in the oil and then with the chamcha apply a little pressure on the side of the gappa lightly so it struggles to come on the top of the oil ( it should be half under and half on the top ) and watch it baloon up … once balooned , let it float for a few seconds so it will become stif and add the next gappa .. you have to do them one by one …

if you let the gappa come on the top without any pressure , it will become crispy rather then balooning up … !

i think they do the same with the pooori’s and thats why they baloon up fabulously …

Try it again and tell me if it worked or not… :@:

We still dont have Aisha’s mum’s recipe .. :crying1:

Gracias! CB

Ok Friends , I need help !!!!!

I wanna know how to make a perfect cup of tea ... mine stinks !

And i wanna know if anyone knows any halwai or mithai maker and find out for me the recipe of motichoor laddoo .. I have tried several recipes but it keeps going wrong .... there must be a secret trick that they dont write in the recipes .. somebody help me !!!!

Re: SilverFalcon and CB’s Kitchen Experiments .. :lifey:

CB, so what are the rules of posting recipes in this thread?:-)Which type of recipes are we going to post, or which recipes should be posted here?Can we post anything at all…or just those recipes which we mastered through trial and error?

Kasturi is a very,very rare thing and has nothing to do with qasuri methi. And I don’t know why so many people call qasoori methi kasturi methi…unless that is something totally differentthinking

yeah , I am thinking lets post the trial and error ones .. coz they have this other thread aaj kiaya pakaya for the general recipes …

by the way , I am trying the roast right now as we speak … its gonna be out in another 15 minutes .. will let you know then how it turned out…

you didnt tell me about the gol gappay thing?

I got kasturi and kasoori mixed ..oops !:blush:

Is this some coincidence, or are we ''but two minds with one spiri""(or something similiarly poetic and wholly impractical). At this very moment, I was going to leave for kitchen and make kasturi chicken! Wow....:D

Yes, I did press the gol guppas a bit, but they didn't rise. I didn't use any baking powder the last time. Do *you *use baking powder? How much did you use?

AND I am fervently praying that your roast turns out right:biggthumb And that you haven't used any ginger garlic paste.

yeah it seems our souls are twins ..:omg:

Yup the roast came out perfect and fantabulous , I do think i over cooked it slightly but next time i will be careful , its yymmy and no, i took your advice achi tarah , i didnt add any ginger garlic paste to it .. and you are right , it has that proper chicken broast kind of a taste which is too good yaar … :hug:

In the gol gappas’ I added about half a teaspoon of baking powder … and i made sure the oil is medium hot rather then too hot ( mostly i have heard it should be freaking hot ) … try it with medium hot oil so the guppa stays under the oil or at least the first 5-7 seconds and then as it starts to come up on the top , lightly press it from a side … one more thing , I try not to make them in too much oil … the oil in my pan has about 3inches dip point … and all the while that the guppas are being fried , I ensure its on a little lower then medium flame …

also , are you using a proper utensil to cut the gappa’s coz sometimes people use bottle caps and that doesnt give guppa the even corners …

PS : forgot to mention , if you put the spoon on top of the gappa , it wont get fluffed up .. therefore its imperative that you apply gentle pressure to it from the side of the gappa …

That’s great!:lifey: I hope you enjoyed it. and what do you mean by overcooking it? Too brown? Too tender? (In my opinion it cannot be too tender)

Okay, next time I try gol guppas I will keep your tips and advices in mind, and will report here what was the outcome.You know when I watched this video online, I thought wow that’s just too easy; thought everyone was silly for not trying it at home instead of buying it from gol guppay wala. Now I know better:o

I suggest that we should also post our own unique recipes, like things we discovered or invented while experimenting in the kitchen. As I am sure there are many things, even common dishes which we must be cooking in our unique CBish or Silver Falconish way. So why not unleash the evil…er…I meant share our talents with the world:blush:

I was going to post ras malai, as I used to ruin it by adding too little or too much baking powder. But then wondered if everyone already knows how to make it. So I didn’t post it.

Please tell me how you make motichoor laddus, I would like to try those too. One of these days I plan to try cham cham. The recipe was noted down a month back, but still haven’t gotten around to trying it yet. Also, I am going to try some home made jalebis. I love them!Though I don’t like to eat sweets…but I like trying new sweets and desserts. But there are some sweets which I love…like ras malai,gulab jamun, jalebi, barfi and so on.

So please share any of your other recipes which you think are unique. And this is for everyone else too, whoever reads this thread has to post some new and unique recipe.

Kashif, I am going to try your roast soon!

See what happened was that chicken became too soft … I guess thats because i took really small peices of chicken , next time i will take proper leg pieces and roast them .. today was just an experiment, I think it went extremely well , your recipe was great … now inshallah in a day or two i will get chicken legs and do the roast recipe on them inshallah i hope they turn out well ..

great idea to post our special creations ! I am more of a doomer then a chef ..lol… but you are right , sometimes some unique things do come out good and it would be intersteing to share them ..:cb:

about laddoo’s yar i got the recipe and even tried it once , but then they turned out reallly really hard … after that i have been looking for that trick that halwai’s use for laddooo … i am still on the look out .. do ask people around if anyone makes motichoor laddooos at home …

Cham cham was of interst to me as well ,i wanted to try it , but then i thought where the hell am i gonna get all that malai from … lol … so i am still thinking if i should try it …

Tried jalebi’s as well … mistake number one : i kept the batter thicker … it should be reallly really watery … mistake number two : i didnt dip them long enough in the sheera … mistake number three: at that time i didnt know if you add a bit of lemon juice into the sheera , it stops the sugar getting caramalized … so the jalebi’s soon caramalized and it looked as if ther was a white coating of sugar on the jalebis ! …i am going to try them sometime soon…

PS : please do post the perfect rasmalai recipe .. its so hard to get the perfect ones … look forward to it …

Ok Guys .. on popular request .. This is a short cut biryani recipe … I usually do the full recipe when i have time at hand , but normally after a busy day’s return from work , i try to make biryani the short cut way ..:cb:

so here goes :

thinly slice two large onions and fry them till they caramalize ( turn light brown ) .. drain them and keep aside …

In a seperate bowl, take chicken and add about 2-3 cups yoghurt, one teaspoon garlic, one teaspoon ginger, one and a half teaspoon salt , one teaspoon red chilli powder , one green chilli cut into peices, one teaspoon haldi , half a teaspoon cumin seeds and 3 tablespoons of shan sindi biryani masala… mix it all and leave aside ..

warm the oil in a pot and put the marinated chicken mix into the oil and put it on light flame …cover the pot and almost steam cook the curry…

stir every few minutes … after about 25 mintues of cooking , add the caramalised onions into it … keep a little caramalized onion aside so it can be used to garnish the biryani in the end …

TIP 1 = because you havnt used water in the curry , it will automatically turn into a nice thick consistancy … if you feel its become very thick then add no more then half a cup of water …

Once the chicken is almost tender and cooked put on very low flame , keep the pot covered ( if you have biryani essence , add in a few drops at this stage )

in a seperate pot boil about 2 cups rice in lots of water … add a little salt , lemon juice and some cinamon into the rice … as the rice get about 90% cooked , drain them properly

Then the final step , very carefully spread the rice layer on top of the salan layer … dont press the rice, if you have food color , out that on top the rice layer , put the caramalized onion on ther as well and cover and let it be on extremely low flame for a good 20 minutes …

your biryani is done … mix it all and enjoy …

Thanks for posting, CB. My dad is the biryani expert in the house and he does it the long way without the mix packet. And he’s always wanted me to learn, but I never got around to it. Since he’s not here for job reasons…I’m gonna try your short cut recipe. So, it’s cheating…BIG DEAL! LOOL! Then I’m gonna lie and say i made it all from scratch. Muaahahahahahahah. I’m EVIL!

add me in also..i also live in duabi:P

Thanks CB, I will try it out :slight_smile:

:omg: yeah , RV , you are evil … but i tell you its totally worth being evil for biryani …:cb:

uetian , yes yes yes, join the club … the condition is not that you have to be a Dubai’ite , but you must be a aspiring cook /chef and be ready to share your experiments with us … :@:

Good luck Lusi , in this recipe you dont have to worry about the consistancy of the salan … just remember to add or reduce yoghurt depending on how much rice you are using … if for any reason you think its a little watery , dont worry , coz when you put the rice layer on top of the salan , the rice will absorb the extra water … good luck.. let me know if it goes well …

PS … TO ALL SHORT CUT BIRYANI MAKERS = we are adding the sindhi biryani shan masala to get that biryani essence in the biryani … since we arent using bay leaves /javitri/jayfar etc … so if you want that essence thora sa ziaada then add a bit more of the shan masala .. otherwise three to four spoons are enough but reduce the red chilli if you dont like it too spicy …

mission accomplished :stuck_out_tongue:

CB I tried your kasturi chicken, and it turned out great. In fact, it’s a bit similar to something that I frequently make, and for some inexplicable reason my brother calls it irani chicken.Thank you for sharing your recipe.Now I know one more great and simple recipe for making delicious chicken.

For chicken roast, instead of using chicken legs, try to use chicken cut into 4 or 8 pieces, that is what I prefer at any rate. I think I will go and add that detail in the recipe as well.:slight_smile:

Cham cham is made with malai??? The recipe I have,which I haven’t tried yet,uses cottage cheese! So now I am really confused. Do I even have the right recipe.

How do you make laddos? Waise I hate laddoos.I will post some more recipes tomorrow.

So where is our recipe for perfect gol gappas:p

Aisha is going to get the beating for my laziness… :omg:

Actually she did get her mission completed … her mom is so cute mashallah .. she came on GS chat and gave us the gol gappa recipe … I was just waiting to try it and then write it on … so incase i have any questions to ask aunty i can ask her and write the final recipe …

She gave the same recipe with soda water … so my dear, Silver Falcon , give me until tomorrow and i shall try the gappa’s and write the recipe here inshallah…

Thanks Aisha for your help and a special thanks to aunty … she is a super star :@:

your next mission Aisha , is , Shami kabab classic recipe … :cb: