Sialkot killings of two brothers (Discretion Advised)

Re: Sialkot killings of two brothers (Discretion Advised)

i have just heard about the above incidence. i am soooo out dated. i feel like dying........ my head is spinning. this is us..........We are Muslims of Islamic republic of Pakistan...........yet these are our deeds in the holy month of Ramandan.

What good justice can do to these youngsters or their families.

case gol mol hoga aur kya hoga...

People who did this to innocent don't deserve to be called humans.. infact they are worse than dogs. All I have to say is May Allah give their family sabar and these animals punishment, since no punishment in this world is enough for them.

The younger boy was hafiz-e-quran and use to lead the taravein in the mosque and they were both veyr shareef and innocent boys.. I cried when i saw the video.. All I want to do is pray that those animals that did this get the worse from Allah..

this is so sickenning
i watched this video and god knows i couldn't sleeep
omg what couuld have family been going through????? a human CANNOT do that.....
those people were beast, barbaric animals and may Alllah punish them severly
i couldnt understand how nobody showed up and help those poor kids....how can be ppl so brutal there???
i'm sorry to say anything like this but Alllah ka waqai azaab hai pakistan per

so so so sad. the people who did it should be ashamed of themselves.

Sorry to be naive but how did it all start?
someone was mentioning that it flared up after a cricket match?
can someone please confirm
thanks.

Any progress in this case?
I can't seem to find anything useffful online.

oh wait i pretty sure there r some american hands involved in this..its a mere propaganda against us!!..we're an innocent n peaceful nation! bla bla bla

we r the most uncivilised heartless soulless creatures..we dont even deserve to be called humans !

We can all pray that the culprits involved in these savage killings are given exemplary punishment by the authorities but do not hold your breath. This is Pakistan afterall. People get away with murder here!!!

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2010\08\23\story_23-8-2010_pg7_5
President Asif Ali Zardari has strongly condemned both incidents and has called for an inquiry into the gruesome events.

According to news reports, the president’s spokesman, Farhatullah Babar, said that the president was upset over the barbaric incident and believed that such acts of infamy, shame and brutality should not go unpunished. The images of this extra-judicial killing will continue to haunt the people for a long time and it is important that those responsible are brought before a court, he said. The president said that only by bringing the culprits to justice could the people be given some confidence that they live in a civilised society and have a responsible government that will not tolerate such heinous crimes as the brutal torture of peaceful protesters and the barbaric public execution of two brothers in a gruesome display of vigilante justice.

Taking note of a report published in a section of the press, President Zardari has asked the Punjab government to hold an immediate inquiry and take action against those responsible for ordering the police to baton charge female medical students. He said that such acts of barbarism against female students could not be allowed under any circumstances. Such atrocities deface democracy and also bring a bad name to Pakistan, he said.

Similarly, the chief justice of Pakistan (CJP), Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, has taken suo motu notice of the brutal public torture of two young brothers in Sialkot, which led to their death. The CJP expressed, during the proceedings of the case, his extreme dissatisfaction with the response of Sialkot District Police Officer Waqar Chauhan in handling the case.

The CJP has summoned the Establishment Secretary to suspend the DPO.

Earlier, the chief justice (CJ) of the Lahore High Court, Khawaja Muhammad Sharif, rejected the police report presented in connection with the killings of the brothers. In his remarks, the CJ said that the court was forced to take suo motu action because the investigator general of the police had not taken notice of the incident.

**The CJ has also taken suo motu notice of the police baton-charge on female students of the Quaid-i-Azam Medical College, Bahawalpur. **

**Chief Justice Khawaja Sharif observed that the lives, honour and liberty of citizens are guaranteed under the constitution and it is the duty of the police to ensure their security. He observed that the news published and aired by the media showed the level of highhandedness exercised by police officials. “The police force is paid for the protection of human lives and not for violating the rights of female students.” **

This is what I understand.
A robbery had taken place. Two people had died during this robbery. So people were furious. Those two boys were there on a bike. According to the reports, someone in that mob who have had altercation with one of the boys accused them of being the robbers. They were caught by the mob. Police arrived, and DPO Chohan asked people to kill the robbers at the spot, and police would record their death as encounter. He probably said this due to courts are usually unable to punish the culprits. So in my view he was doing service to the nation, and taking revenge of the two people who had died during the robbery.
Since approval was from the law enforcers, therefore some "justice and truth seekers" from the crowd jumped in, and beat them with sticks until the time they were killed. The crowd was still angry due to the deaths of innocent people by these supposed robbers. And so they hanged them upside down, dragged them in street, and gouged their eyes out.
Hence "justice", dark justice, was done.

So were these boys really robbers and murderers? If they were honest people then there can not be two opinions about horrible injustice to them. But more interesting question is what will we think of crowd's behavior of they really were robbers and dacoits?

Would we be willing to support lynching of murderers, which is why the police and crowd did it?

^The boys were totally innocent.

A robbery had taken place and a man was killed and an other injured. Relatives of the killed were protesting on the road. The two boys were passing on a motorcycle. One of the person in the crowd had a fight during cricket match with the boys few days earlier. He started shouting that he saw the boys with the dacoits. The mob attacked and killed them

You should not be suggesting that they were murderers without knowing the truth, thats an insut to the innocent brothers.

I am not saying they were murderers. I am saying that extra-judicial killing is wrong even if it is of a criminal.
These boys most likely were innocent.

People were doing it because they thought they were murderers. This is why everyone should agree that even if they really were murderers, police/public STILL should not have done this.

Quote from one of the animals after parading the bodies on the trailer "Ae Geo wich chalay gi, Inshallah". Translation: "This (video) will run on Geo (TV), Inshallah."

Does this leave any doubt about how blatant and defiant the killers were, even after brutally clubbing them to death and desecrating their bodies?

As for the police, in one of the videos, one policeman did try to stop one person from beating the boys. It's unclear at which point the police gave the go-ahead to kill them.

The police van was also seen following the tractor trailer, as if giving escort to the killers parading around the victims' bodies.

In another video, the mother of the victims (a remarkable woman, my prayers are with her), remarked that she doesn't want to see the killers on the day of the judgement, but would rather see the killers subjected to the same treatment that they meted out to her sons. Amen.

No doubt at all. I am sure people who would torture-to-death a helpless human-being are themselves frustrated cowards.

Something very different here.
Yesterday Rana Sanaullah said that during last 1- 2 years Gujranwala police had developed this tradition of torching the criminals publicly.
You will read a news some 15 days old.
Had ‘operation midnight’ been successful…

And they didn’t missed the chance.
An honest officer is changed.
Don’t think some thing will happen to the killers.
Rishwat aur Sifarish say sab bach jain gay-

No. Noone (incl. Police) should be allowed to take the law into their own hands. That is the job of the courts. Hence we need a strong judiciary and a tough, competent and honest police force

And it begs the Q, were these animals blind? How could they have not seen that one of the supposed robbers was an innocent 14 year old boy. How could they mistake those boys for robbers? They hardly look like criminals to me. This was nothing but cold-blooded murder. It is indefensible.

If there is any justice in this world, the criminals (the authorities have enough evidence from footage etc.) involved in this brutality should be hanged in public or be awarded the death penalty at the very least. And it should not stop there. All the policemen that were present at the scene of this unspeakable cruelty and savagery should be flogged in public (cf. Zia-style punishments). That is the least those bas***** deserve. Sacking or suspending them is not enough punishment. And the silent criminals err..bystanders should be named and shamed in public.

We need to set an example here. so such barbarity is not repeated in future

Absolutely. I am sure those boys were innocent. But even if they really were murderers, they STILL could not be lynched by police and the mob. This is the mockery of justice.
It appears to me that there are many people who are outrageous only because those boys were innocent. But in reality we should be outrageous at this incident in either case.

Whoever was involved in this murder should be considered a murderer. It does not matter whether he thought of them as criminal or not. Even in the thick of war, such cold-blooded murder is considered a WAR CRIME.

I don't understand. Can you explain it a bit more?
Did Rana Sanaullah appoint Gujranwala DPO Zulfiqar Cheema?

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/national/lhc-grants-bail-to-sialkot-police-officer-480

y Mudassir Raja
Tuesday, 24 Aug, 2010

The LHC ordered police not to arrest Waqar Ali Chohan till Aug 30.—File photo
FRONT PAGE
SC orders probe into Sialkot lynching of two brothers
RAWALPINDI: The Lahore High Court granted on Monday protective bail to former Sialkot district police officer Waqar Ali Chohan accused of having done nothing to stop the lynching of two young brothers by a mob.

The court ordered police not to arrest the official till Aug 30.

Justice Hassan Raza Pasha of LHC’s Rawalpindi bench asked SSP Chohan to submit a bond of Rs100,000 and cite a witness for the bail granted for a week to enable him to approach the competent court in Sialkot to defend himself in the case pertaining to the killing of the teenagers on Aug 15.

The DPO, through his lawyer Sardar Mohammad Ishaq Khan, sought the protection, expressing fears he would be arrested if he tried to approach the court in Sialkot.

The lawyer said Mr Chohan’s name had not been mentioned in the FIR about the killing of Mughees and Muneeb and he deserved bail.

The police official expressed apprehensions in his bail plea that the case had been hyped up because of political motives and he could be victimised and arrested.

He said Mr Chohan had learnt through the media that the Sialkot district coordination officer had issued orders for his detention at midnight. He said the orders had not been served on the official and he could not be detained till he was served the orders.

Talking to Dawn outside the courtroom, Mr Chohan denied he was present at the time of the lynching and alleged that the TV footage of the incident was fabricated.

When he reached the place, he said, the two bodies were hanging and he dissuaded the mob from setting them on fire.

He said he had been pictured while dissuading the mob from burning the bodies and the portion had been inserted into the video at a point where the boys were being thrashed.

When asked why did the local station house officer who was present there not try to save the brothers, Mr Chohan said it was a fault on his part, but apparently he was overawed by the frenzy of the mob.

He said reports submitted by different intelligence agencies on the incident said that the DPO had arrived late and many eyewitnesses were ready to depose in his favour.