i hate him

h ruined my life

he ate my friends

hes evil

he got his eys on every male in the comunity

help us ladiess

from the dungggg

hell corrupt evryone

I love seeing muslim girls hang it out in saris because these were the same girls that annoyed me in gym class for wearing uniform shorts without leggings, these were teh same girls that would lecture me in school as to why showing are legs are not allowed and now these are the same girls that show their legs in capri pants, their backs are hanging out of sheer saris with their stomachs showing at weddings where movlis are reading duas for the couple.

I love it because for so many years my dad would give us the muslim talk, whine about how he'd marry a lady born a muslim rather than my mom who converted. i love to point out all the pure paki girls that are hanging out all this skin infront of elders, and molvis that taught them to read quran.

Yup i'm all for it bc through it my dad learned that at least we don't parade around like that in front of our elders, there's a place and a time for showing skin and i think being infront of religious muslims is not the place. now if it's a smaller intimate social gathering go for it.

also you don't have to look aunty in a full blouse.

I agree. I personally have never liked long blouses. Even if u wear a small blouse and want to cover urself, u can with the sari. I have seen women with long blouses look nice but nothing can really bring the elegance to a sari like a smaller blouse.

Also yes the blouse styles originated in India. India has many different ways to wear a sari. Nothing having to do with a sari originated in Karachi except maybe the bad way of wearing it with a long kurta like blouse.

Re: Showing skin while wearing a sari

Where I live, A lot of the girls who wear saris have a longer blouse. Very few show skin. Its possible. Trust me. And it looks nice! I myself own three that i havent worn yet since i think it looks nicer after ur married so inshallah a couple more months but my blouses are long too. I think my parents would faint after seeing me in a short blouse!!

^^ Sighs...

Whats the point of covering yourself when you wear something that shows ur skin? Why to show it at first place?

I have never seen gals covering their skin if they want to show it in short blouses or capri pants or anything like that. I mean that seems a lie. sorry to say but it is a lie. I go out in a bra n then cover myself with a shawl... huh ?

You can get a good long blouse stitched by some indian tailor. Coz they stitch it really nicely. And you can move around in it freely. You do not have to set your palloo everytime from back and sides. Enjoy the function not that keep urself busy with your dress all the time.

A covered dress is bad way of dressing? Cool. keep it up.

If its showing a bit, it should be fine. I have found people in the US more sensitive in general about these issues than people in Pakistan.

i agree with u chicken biryani...i have seen some old time indian ladies in my family and they wear simple cotton sari so gracefully..even my mother ,MIL and my phophoos used to wear and look so lovely...exactly this depends how u carry ur sari..
its not the point that u should show ur skin while wearing sari..absolutely not..this is purely indian influence and yeah vulgar too...u r absolutely right CB..!

and those guppans who say pakistani tailors don't sew the blouses well..well i bought dozens of saris from India...including the jaipuri kaam waali...maisoori jorjut...banaras ki banarsi..block prints saris...i didn't get all of them stitched ..they are still sitting in my suitcases in pakistan..but whichever i got stitched all of them were from chammun sari house and bano sari house and believe me their tailor is some old indian tailor from ancient days...he really knows how to sew a blouse...whenever i go to pakistan ...every year there is some eid or any family function..i just take 2-3 saris out of my suitcase and got the blouses and fall stitched from them and they turn absolutely gorgeous..!
and my blouses are neither too showing nor too coering..they are a medium strength...bcz of having long hair till waist..i don't have to worry about the back...

Phir woh pakistani na huwa… :hehe:

Btw, is this in Lahore?

thanks.. at least Paki females have enough sense

When I had my clothes stitched for my jahez bari, we had to ARGUE with the tailors to make sure the blouses weren't too short. They are still above my waist, which I don't mind too much. The way I wrap my saris (which really mom and MIL do for me), no skin shows. In chiffon saris you can see a bit of my waist, but it's still covered a bit.

i prefer shorter blouses- i'm not talking bra length ones here- but for the shape of my body, if i wear blouses, i've tried long and shorter, and shorter suit me better. as for skin showing, my stomach doesn't show and only a bit of my back does, but its sort of moot since most of my blouses are cap sleeves or sleeveless.
in any case, long or short length, as many here have pointed out, it all comes down to fitting and a really good tailor.

I usually wear a longer blouse. Not so long that it could be worn as a shirt but long enough to just cover most of my stomach that might be seen through a sari..It does not look weird at all b/c no one knows how long the blouse is since the sari fabric covers it and yes, I do this for religious reasons even though I don't wear a hijab and yes my sleeves for saris are always short cuz long sleeves don't look nice on saris..

:ppopcornwali smiley:

like this thread

I have seen women who wear shorter blouses (and by short I dont mean bra style) and still manage to cover the belly area. the only thing showing is the sides. That is how a sari is meant to be worn. This is the “original/traditional sari” style.

obviously people can wear it however they want…but like I said before full sleeves and kurta style blouse ruins the way the sari was intended to look. why not just wear a lengha or gharara or better yet thow on an abaya if you want to dress “decent”?

If I do not want to show skin…then no way am I gonna wear a sari. Either wear it the right way or dont wear it at all…thats way I look at it. But of course… To each it’s own. :k:

and FYI…not all indians wear sari’s in a vulgar manner. There are many ways of wearing a sari in india as well. If you want to talk about vulgar…I have seen pakistani girls wearing low cut back and low cut front kameez’s (you can see their cleavage)… nearly see through shalwars…and whats up with showing your bra through your kameez…ever heard of a shameez/lining/tank top (something!!) ? sheesh!

a sari isnt a muslim style to begin with. it’s a desi style.

Yup, I think that’s the one…Her blouse had a LOW back but man, was it an eye-catcher!.. in a good way, of course :slight_smile:

Girl next to her… OMG

all the full blouses i've seen aren't like kurtas, they are tucked into the petticoat if they are that long or come perfectly to meet at the petticoat and are tight. i dunno about yall but my kurtas are longer than where my petticoat starts and much looser.

Also the sari was a traditional gown from ancient times when pious women covered their heads with the scarf and their whole body. that's how original sari were, you can read about it in old hindu scriptures. it was shameful to show your skin to anyone other than your husband, with times i dunno how things changed but that's that.

My friend who keeps hijab had blouses stitched for her saris that went to the waist and had full sleeves. They're very fitted, so it actually looks quite nice.

I personally am very confused about the length of the blouse. I like blouses that are short but not too short..like a littly bit of the skin but at the meantime I don't really want to show any skin. I went to Pakistan last december..my khala took us to a darzi because he stitches amazingly (which he does)...we insisted tat the blouses be long..but he still made them short...i have to admit though..they were a stunning fit and looked awesome! I still wear a shirt underneath the blouse (booo) just cause i feel more comfortable that way