Should I feel insecure?

Re: Should I feel insecure?

How can you live in this stress?? You don't need a chaperone 24/7 and can you live like this for the rest of your life without any privacy??

What I have heard is that you may be able to 'bardasht' all this on yourself but once you have kids, it is very difficult to see them go through it.

And forget what the community will say, they are not coming here to help you solve your problems, are they? I am not asking you to divorce or anything but you need to decide what is best for you without thinking about some random people in the society. So decide if its worth the effort........your peace of mind/sanity/respect versus this life.

Since you have decided you can't leave him no matter what, then I suggest you learn the art of chalakomassism. Many guppans have gone through some kinda in law struggles and will advise you what to do.

:hehe: :k:

BusyBee - if leaving is not an option then you need to become stronger and fight back. Like I said, let the MIL say whatever she wants. You start looking for work, and when you find one, take it. She'll create hell, but just let it slide off your back. If she picks up the quran to show her son parents' rights, tell your MIL to also flip to the pages which talk of the wife's rights. Let your husband hear that, islamically, he is not justified in treating you the way he is. Seriously, if you are going to continue living with them, you will have to fight back. And once they see that you are not weak or afraid, eventually they will tone down. And even if they don't, well at least you'll be standing up for yourself. Do not let a man and his family treat you this way. And please do NOT have kids. That will make the situation worse.

Ditto^ :k: as another suggestion!!

I know what you mean. The main reason I let her have her way is bcoz I'm terrified of her drama. She seriously cries like Allah na kare someone died! She goes from room to room yelling out qayamat ki nishani hai beta maa ko nahi poochta and all that crap. It's seriously torturing to be in that type of a situation every single day. She does this at any chance she gets. Even if he's inside his room doing whatever, and I'm in the closet (meaning we're both doing diff things) she'll come inside the room (of course w/o knocking every time) and say stuff like "han beta, biwi ke saath hi bethoge saara din, maa ke saath bhi beth jao". It's gotten to the point that even if I need something from the room and he's in there doing something, I avoid to go in there so MIL doesn't say anything!! Of course he doesn't say anything back to her or corrects her that we're both doing separate things or my wife came for two minutes to get something or anything but instead he says "ji ammi aata hun". Like, what kind of response am I supposed to give, if any? Of course I can't go out with him alone. They have to come along, esp MIL. Even for groceries. And not to mention the 50 extra things she picks up, randomly saying, mere bete ki kamayi and all that......even if the things rot in the house later. She just has to show that she can do anything which I can't do. Coz hubby won't let me buy extra stuff saying fazool kharch and she can pick up anything even if it's not needed or is gonna rot later in the house!

The problem is I don't know how to beat her at her own games or even think of doing so, for that matter. I just feel like if I ever say anything to her politely or firmly, I won't have anyone to back me up. Hubby will humiliate me in front of her for saying anything, which will cause me to get more degraded in their eyes.

I wish I knew that art. It could've helped a tiny bit but even that wasn't gonna solve all the problems, given the fact my MILs own drama-isms!

You shouldn't be saying anything firmly in front of hubby anyway to her. You really think a mama's boy is going to start supporting you after 6 years of marriage? Um, no. He won't. Learn to defend yourself and be smart about how you do it. A woman like your MIL knows exactly how to play her son and she does it so well he's willing to let you go after so much time together.

What does that mean? It means she's going to eventually get what she wants unless you decide to consider yourself worthy of more.

^I can believe you said that.

Yeah, I never have spoken to her firmly, ever! I had just gotten this advice from someone and just thought that even if I were to do this, it will only cause more drama. However, I have politely said to her things in the beginning like "ammi ji yeh to sahi baat nahi hai" just like I would tell my own mom and the drama started, to which my hubby later said stop saying stuff to her even politely and start ignoring it. I wish he was in my shoes to see how "easy" it's to "ignore".

can't you get some support for your husband's brothers or brother's wives? Maybe your MIL treated them badly too and they have figured out ways to get rid of her which is why she doesn't even go visit her other sons for 10months at a time. Try to create an alliance and gain support for yourself with others who have seen your MIL's evilness. I'm entirely sure that women who talk and act like your MIL have atleast a million enemies within the immediate family and community.

1) Get a job. It doesn't matter what kind of ruckus your MIL causes, you're an adult and you can do what you want. You need to explain to your husband that your MIL is capable of some housework while you're out.

2) You need to set boundaries. Tell your husband that you don't appreciate being "escorted" every time you go out.

3) Whenever she starts crying and screaming, and using the quran, tell her a) it demeans the religion to bring it up every time you guys have an issue and b) whether she could educate you about what a wife's rights. If she plays dumb, be sure that you know exactly what your rights are.

Monk, aap khud hi batao. How does a girl keep her home intact? How does she make it work and be happy? Tell me aside from living a life of misery and expecting apni sabr ka phal when she's 60 yrs old, how is she supposed to keep her marriage alive? Leaving is not an option for everyone. For some women, it works. For some, no. To aise mein larki kya kare? The whole khoon ke ansoon peena is a sucky way to live and I don't see the need for it.

Ammi ji ko nahin sunnay ki adat nahin hai...especially in front of her son. Please learn to fight fire with fire.

Marriage does not mean suffering all the time. WHY do people get married if that's what it means? Insaan ko retirement ke baad agar apne shauhar ka pyar milega to vo kis kaam ka?

My MIL treats her other sons fine, she treats my husband fine too but it's only bcoz of me that she causes the drama. She doesn't cause any drama in the other son's house. She loves her other DIL bcoz she chose her from within the family. The other DIL is on MILs side and barely communicates with me. Only one brother is married. The unmarried one travels for work but his base is our house. Like when he's off of traveling, he's here bcoz his parents are here too.

Yes, there are many people who don't have a good relation with my MIL. Unfortunately, they're mostly in Pakistan. Her own brothers/bhabi don't talk to her much. No one, I mean NOT EVEN A SINGLE PERSON talks to her from her in-laws. Her SIL (my husband's phupho) lives in the states but has never been to our house, my husband doesn't even know his cousins!! So if my husband doesn't have a relation with them, I certainly can't talk to them. I met his phupho at a wedding (it was out of no where) but she didn't talk to me much bcoz she prob thought I'm like my MIL or on her side. It was just random. Of course she doesn't know how MIL treats me. Also, my husbands chacha/taaya all visit U.S due to something or the other, meet my FIL outside somewhere, don't come to the house, ever! They prefer staying over at other relatives' or friends' house. In the community however, MIL is known as a saint. She does dars-e-quran, wears full time burqa, always talks about islam and politely, so one would think 100 times before they think anything of her! She's a very chalaak woman. She acts all innocent and talks about how dunya mein kya rakha hai, aakhirat sahi ho blah blah blah......which boils my blood even more when she says stuff like this bcoz she's the total opposite at home!

Ghosty, I wholeheartedly agree with everything you say but this may backfire and make things worse. If she does this in front of hubby dearest when he has eyes for only ammi ji...then he will go ahead and he put on the spot to make a decision.

And what do you think he will decide?

I can't believe you said that.

I want to get a job and hubby even says yes at times but then he says rehne do ammi abbu won't like it. MIL will not even touch a cup if I work, I know that for sure. From what I know she'll have more work for me when I come back from work. Hubby already keeps saying ammi is old (48 is old?) and she can't work and all that. She will make me lose if we had a running competition masha'Allah, she's very active and healthy but not in the house-work.
About being escorted, I have told hubby. He just tells me it's ok, ammi ka dil behal jayega thora le jaao. If it's a Dr.'s appt, then sometimes he tells her ammi rehne den to which she insists a lot, causes drama, and in the end has her way and comes along! So now, I have learnt to make my dr. appointments around the time when she has her dars so she won't go!
When she starts all that drama with crying, bringing out quran, hadeeth, I just leave the room. I really don't have that much energy to go thru all that, seriously. I just get busy in the kitchen or go to the bathroom and cry!

Fair enough. Perhaps she shouldn't confront them directly but I hope she manages to find a way to start working and asserts some independence. I don't understand how fathers (her FIL) let their sons turn into spineless mama's boys. My dado was difficult with everyone, including her sons, not so much with her daughters, and for the few years they lived with us, whenever there was conflict, my mother never fought back because she knew my father would defend her (and he did). My father also knew that my mother would do her best to avoid antagonizing my dado.

I have learned...nice guys finish last.

Its easy...they find the emotional ones among their kids and prey off of them.

I don't think her husband's parents are evil or want to hurt their son. However, often times these petty issues start to cloud our judgment and we cannot see the bigger picture. Her inlaws don't understand the seriousness of their actions. They really don't.