Should I feel insecure?

Re: Should I feel insecure?

Can't work? Now "allowed" to go outside the house? Forgive me but I don't have much sympathy or respect for this type of thinking. You're a 29-year old woman with 2 professional degrees living in the U.S. The only person who can prevent you from working or going outside the house is YOU. After all, they're not literaly locking you up inside the house or threatening you with physical harm/murder are they?

Hmm....so is it better to get divorced WITH a kid? I ask b/c your husband did tell you that he is willing to leave you for his parents right? Given the way you're treated in the house, do you think it's fair to bring a child into this enviornment? What if your husband and in-laws treat your child the way they treat you? You allow your in-laws to treat you like a maid b/c emotionally you can't handle it when "all hel* breaks loose". If you can't stand up and demand respect/love for yourself......what makes you think you'll be strong enough to stand up for your child if he/she is beign mistreated?

and you know the entire situation? only because you are in the same boat?

To OP, I think what I suggested was worth reading with the limited information you gave in your first post.
Based on your second post, 6 years IS a big deal, if he has been doing the same since the day first with you then you really need to sit, talk and get it sorted out.

Has it happened before that she asked for different items from his boy and he gives it to her and when it comes to you, he never?
Is it just about a ring or he has been doing same things in the past?
If he is doing that, then DEFINITELY he is doing wrong!!

Communicate and let him know what you feel. Have you done it already? :chai:

You need specific instances of when you've felt left out or neglected. Personally, I think his parents deciding to sit on their butts while their son is trying to start a family is very selfish. He should send them money if they need help, but retiring at 50 is ridiculous (unless you've earned it yourself).

I agree with what Paheli said, you're a grown ass woman with two degrees. You need to be able to talk to your husband about wanting to work and asking for what you feel is fair. If and when you talk to him, make sure to stress that you want him to take care of his parents but would like him to moderate it a little bit.

Can't work? Now "allowed" to go outside the house? Forgive me but I don't have much sympathy or respect for this type of thinking. You're a 29-year old woman with 2 professional degrees living in the U.S. The only person who can prevent you from working or going outside the house is YOU. After all, they're not literaly locking you up inside the house or threatening you with physical harm/murder are they?

Hmm....so is it better to get divorced WITH a kid? I ask b/c your husband did tell you that he is willing to leave you for his parents right? Given the way you're treated in the house, do you think it's fair to bring a child into this enviornment? What if your husband and in-laws treat your child the way they treat you? You allow your in-laws to treat you like a maid b/c emotionally you can't handle it when "all hel* breaks loose". If you can't stand up and demand respect/love for yourself......what makes you think you'll be strong enough to stand up for your child if he/she is beign mistreated?

They're not locking me but they create so much drama with me and hubby that he backfires at me. I really can't handle the stress anymore, really! So I just avoid the situations that lead to the drama.
And no, divorce with a kid will be terrible!! Sometimes I feel it'll get better with a kid? I don't know I'm just lost seriously. Yesterday I cried to mom, I never told her about hubby's attitude but only in-laws' and she goes "I told you this family won't treat you right, you have to adjust now". I mean mom has never said this before but yesterday I lost all the hope of having a "backup". I don't have a good relation with my dad since I got married. Even before the wedding, our relationship was estranged coz he's a loner by nature, like that with everyone. So I have just totally lost it now. Mom loves me no doubt but she can't do anything bcoz of my family and the community...and that too after 6 yrs! :'(

Doing justice with your parents doesn't mean doing injustice with your wife. Why do desi people think mistreating your wife is actually doing insaaf with parents? Apni bivi ko dukh dekay hi betay ko maa ka dil rakhna hota hai?

If caring for your mother means making your wife listen to tanay bazi then not only is he a horrible husband but an even worse son because he got married yet never taught his parents how to treat his wife.

And going to your friends' homes with your MIL is just weird. Who cares if hell breaks loose? It'll break loose once, twice, thrice, eventually they'll get tired of breaking hell everyday. Let her cry, she'll get over it.

People don't know how to treat others...you teach them.

What will they do if you decide to work? Yell? Taunt you? Let them. Tell your husband that if he can't buy you things that you want/need, then you WILL need to start providing for yourself. This is ridiculous. How can they control you like this? Did you always know that your husband was never going to let you work? Can you not sit and talk to him and say whatever you're saying here? Maybe he doesn't understand what you're going through and you need to actually spell it out for him? And if he knows all this and still doesn't care....well, then you should leave him for your own good, just like he'll leave you for his family.

I don't understand some men. He went against his parents' wishes and got married. Now why the sudden love for parents but disregard for the wife?

I really feel for you girl and thats a really worst situation for a girl to be treated that way. I can understand how it hurts. Again my question, have you talked to him in detail about all this? kabhi apnay dil ka ghubaar nikala uske samnay?? also, stop proving things islamically.... because islamically Bete p pehla haq uski maa ka hay aur doosra uski wife ka, and its been said ISLAMICALLY ke waldain kuch bhi kahen, uff tak na kaho, bardasht kertay raho.. so I understand things that you are going through are not what you deserve islamically but I assure youm if you keep telling HIM whats islamically right and wrong, then he has some valid points too islamically.

Speak to him but dont put facts and figure islamically, ONLY if you want to make him understand your point of view. As far as it is concerned about how your ILs treat you.. Peony once said to me,

AND, I really understand what you must be going through!!

As I said already…if the current stress/drama is too much for you that you’d rather be treated like crap than stand up for yourself…how are you going to protect a child if your husband/in-laws treat that child badly too? What makes you think they’ll provide you with any type of physical/emotional support when you’re pregnant/recoverning from birth/raising a baby?

I agree that a divorce with a child is a TERRIBLE thing. Which is why I have no idea why you want to have a baby with your husband when you do not feel secure with him emotionally/financially. :confused:

Your in-laws made it clear that they were not going to welcome you as their bahu before the wedding. You went ahead and married him anyway and I imagine a part of you hoped that as time goes by, your in-laws will change their mind and accept you. Well 6-years later that hasn’t happend. So please don’t make that same mistake and fool yourself into thinking that your husband or in-laws are going to somehow change their attitude/behavior towards you just b/c you brought a baby in the family.

I read your other post too. Yes, it has happened numerous times since day one! One week after we got married, she demanded $8000 just because she wanted to buy some jewelry. He didn’t even give me jewelry worth more than a $1000 on my wedding!! He gave her that. Then, few months later, to buy them a house, which he did, then a new car, then a car for his sister who wasn’t married, then a car for his bro (who was working!!!). I’m just giving you examples of the big things, small things happen every single day. Every time we go out, obviously she’s with me, and If I like something I say “oh this is so pretty but too expensive” and she’ll go “hammad, mujhe le do tum” and he buys it! Like she shows to me on purpose that my son gives me preference and he does…but she and others take advantage of it! She doesn’t wear a lot of makeup but last week I saw a lipgloss for like $30 in the mall and said “I wish it was cheaper, it’s such a nice shade” and she goes “mujhe dikhao, han bauhat accha hai, hammad mujhe lekar do”…wth? Lipgloss? she doesn’t it wear it!! Like, she could have said apni wife ko le do use bauhat pasand hai…NO! She just wants to show how important she is and gets her way in everything by demanding or crying!!
I have tried to talk to him in the past. He says I know she is doing it on purpose but I can’t change her mentality at this age and they’re my parents and they have more rights. After he says this, I have nothing left to say honestly. I can argue all I want, logically or islamically, he will say what he believes and what his parents believe, I can’t change their thinking.

FIL has not earned it for himself. He has nothing, I mean not even a single penny saved up. He didn’t pay for any of the kids’ education or weddings. He didn’t even buy a house for himself after living here for 25+ years and now he just wants to use hubby’s money as he pleases. Mind you, he’s not like that with other two sons. He says the eldest has the responsibility. The other two are 27 and 23. My hubby is 29. Not much difference if you ask me! If I tell me to be equal he says ammi abu ka waise hi zyada haq hota hai. And sometimes when he’s really angry he says “I’m feeding you, clothing you, have a place to live, what else do you want?”. I don’t even care about material things, it only hurts emotionally that I’m being treated like dirt and he’s letting them take advantage!

And so I thought! But h*ll has broken loose numerous times and continues to do so! She cries, shouts, etc. Brings out the quran to show him how parents k baare mein kya likha hai, etc. So much drama!!! He’s so obedient to them and still they cause so much drama, imagine if he says no to something they say. Yeah they stay with me, but they don’t talk to me. Only tell me to serve khaana or do this chore or the other. Other than that, no communication, only random taaney they blurt out towards me but say it among themselves.
I have to take her everywhere, even if I go out to throw the garbage. Even if I’m going to a friends or even my dr.'s appointment or anywhere, she wants to come. If I make a new friend, she wants their phone number in her phone, even if she’s met them or not!! She has many times called my friends behind my back and spoken ill about me in a polite way…I don’t know how to explain. Like she’s told me bad about me but said it in a nicer or pity tone so they believe her. Of course my friends told me!! She has done so in the community as well. Now, even the aunties that used to praise me have become distant and I can notice a difference. Like, I don’t know what she wants from me!!! :frowning:

^well I guess its time for you to give him some warning!

He actually takes more advantage of the fact that he married me against their wishes. He says maine unka dil dukhaya hai so I have to give them extra in everything. Well, he's been saying that since we got married. And I agreed with him in the beginning and said yeah, we should do extra for them so they forgive us and love me blah blah blah. But this is what all that lead to.....them taking extra advantage to humiliate me. Hubby said he'll let me work before we got married. Even now he says "up to you" but MIL says "hamare ghar ki larkiyan nahi kaam karti. ghar ka khayal kaun rakhega and stuff". I think they're more concerned about the fact that I won't be there to serve them 24/7 like I do now. Ghar ka khayal to them means doing everything for them!
I have talked to him many times. He just tells me to be patient bcoz Allah will give me sawab for this. He says women have to adjust and all that stuff. I'm sick of hearing this answer now. Yes, I used to think that way too but now it's getting old and it's draining me mentally.

Have you thougth about the alternative?

What if you were single?

What would be the struggles you would face?

"I don't even care about material things, it only hurts emotionally that I'm being treated like dirt and he's letting them take advantage!"

You need to tell him this. A lot of what you're saying on here, you need to explain to him in a **calm, controlled, unemotional **manner. If he asks you what you want besides being fed and clothed, tell him you would like some input regarding your future. Ask him what he would choose if it comes to "ma baap ka haq" vs saving for your child's education. There is a limit to how much he should have to take care of his parents.

I mean that: discuss with him, away from his parents, whether it's reasonable of them to ask him to take care of their needs when they are capable of working. Ask him why is brothers can't contribute.

What warning? If by warning you meant "divorce". Then yes, I already brought it up. I said in a polite way that if you can't handle your family and your wife then it's better to marry someone who your family chooses and who can adjust to them. He said he loves me and all that crap first then when the argument proceeded, he said ok that's fine, you can leave if you want, I can't say anything to my parents, I can leave you for them. He tells me "why can't you see I'm on your side" Like how am I supposed to see he's on my side after all this he lets me go through and lets me get humiliated. Before he used to say if ammi says something wrong to you just tell her politely that ammi this is not right. After I did it a couple of times POLITELY, and MIL created drama, he now tells me to ignore everything and not say anything!

And yes, I have talked to him many times. Laid out everything to him. Cried to him. He just hugs me and tells me "everything will be ok"......and next day again same sh*t, another day! I'm just drained emotionally, I feel like I'm getting played with my emotions. He says something and does something.

I'll be honest...I know exactly what I'd do in a situation like that. But others are more wise and can advise you better than I.

You and your husband have spoiled her much like people spoil kids and then complain about their bratty behavior later.

If you love your husband and want a future with THIS man, you will have to learn to either live with them or fight back. By fighting back, I don't mean a storm in your house everyday either. It means you learn to beat her at her own games.

I guess you have over-assured him of your true love and thats what he is making most of. I'm sorry and I know its a tough decision but I think, you shall go and live at your mom's place for a month and see his reaction. If he truly loves you, he will get you back, if he doesnt... he is not who you deserve!! Go and find a man who can respect and you treat you the way you deserve! Dont ruin your life over someone who doesn't even deserve it!!

If I was single initially or after getting divorced? I have thought about divorce but I really can't see myself living w/o him. I don't know how to explain. I'm not an independent personality at all. May be it's due to the fact that I dealt with so much since I've been with him. I've faced their humiliations even before I was married but he used to tell me they will change so I took the step to marry him. I really can't make decisions for myself. And now that my mom has already said to basically tough it out, I just feel devastated.

Whatever your personal and/or psychological issues are, I have no interest in getting involved in your drama. Please refrain from addressing me unless you can do it with respect.

I have told him this manyyyy times. He says he's the eldest and in his family eldest have responsibility. I have had a heart to heart with him. During the convo, he listens, hugs, tells me everything will be ok, but later same thing, nothing changes. And if I bring it up later he just flips or leaves the room. And about children, he doesn't even let me bring the "children card".....he says "jab kids honge phir kids ke baare mein baat karna".

Behave.

None of my words disrespected your statement. I am not bound to say/ write or tell what YOU want me to do.

At open forums, difference of opinions occur and that doesnt mean that you start telling OP who's post is worth reading and who's not. So YOU stop creating the drama.

Your post clearly shows who's going through psychologically under pressure!