should Christmas be celebrated by Muslims

Re: should Christmas be celebrated by Muslims

^ striking a balance is hard in life but that does not mean we don't do it..anyway many Muslim communities historically have seen no harm in some level of participation of Christmas...in the Balkans.. Muslims used to particpate in Christmas and Christians used to particpate in Eid..

In Pakistan many educated families pre 1970's were brought up in Missionary schools...and those same people are as devout Muslims as anyone else.

^^^ I guess Zakk celebrates it

Can we call him an infidel now?

not that i celebrate christmas or anything, or particularly care ..

but crescent, i dont follow your reasoning.. Christians dont celebrate christmas to affront Muslims or God, they celebrate the birth of Hazrat Isa (even if inaccurately, that doesnt equate to celebrating the murder of some of our relatives..)?

Sadiyah, do you really believe these to be tenets of your faith? If someone were to believe and follow these ‘rulings’, nevermind celebrating Christmas, they probably shouldn’t even be living in the land of the enemy (kaafir). I can understand not celebrating Christmas as a Muslim (or anyone else), but this seems a little harsh to describe the society and people where one lives.

whats so harsh about it? its a fact of Islaam then we should never act like the kuffar in any way. Look at the seerah of our Prophet(pbuh). how did he describe the society he lived in?

Allah(swt) said in the Qur'aan to Muhammad(pbuh)

"Therefore proclaim openly (Allâh’s Message — Islamic Monotheism), that which you are commanded, and turn away from Al-Mushrikûn (polytheists)." [15:94]

The Prophet(pbuh) condemned them so much that the quraysh went to his Uncle and asked him to stop the Prophet(pbuh)

Them "rulings" are rulings according to the Qur'aan and Authentic Sunnah!

Then you shouldn't live in the land of kuffar, that's all.

Whether “Christmas” is a secular festivity nowadays or not, the truth is it originated from “celebrating birth of Christ” (keep aside the date issue), a large “Christian” population still thinks of it as “Christmas” (and not Xmas)… if “Muslims” started “celebrating” Xmas young “Muslims” won’t be able to distinguish it when they grow up, the difference of Islam will dilute from their minds… when you are alone, its easy to pick and chose what you want to do, but when you have family and look at long-run effects then a “Muslim” has to stay away from celebrating such festivities (non-Islamic).

That was just an example, of why we must not indulge in paganistic festivals.

Also, Its simple as this.

Did Prophet pbuh celebrate christian festivals? Did the Sahabas?

NO?

So then we shudn’t either.

With that logic and considering how much spite u and ur brethren have for muslims - u shouldn't be using their oil either.

is there any clear reference from Quran that says that Allah ascended Him in heavens?..

and besides.. the verse u quote has a little problem …in that verse allah swt says ‘rafa’a’ which according to u is ascending in heavens…so my question is when allah uses rafa’a with other prophets, means they are also alive?

^ back to square one, eh?

^ lol, im simply trying to proove my point.... if u say that jesus AS's birth was like a birth of any other prophet . Then u have got to admit that He AS died, like other prophets. If u say that He AS is in heaven bodily and is going to return to earth then u must admit that He AS was superior to all the prophets as Allah only gave him 2000+ years of life and our beloved prophet Muhammad PBUH for only 63 years.

Seminole, I only posted the fatawa, as I know many prefer them. For me, I like to keep it simple. We have two Eids and that's what we have been commanded to celebrate. In addition, we are commanded not to resemble the non-Muslims. Therefore, it is enough for me to celebrate the two Eids that we have.

FrozenFire, re-read the verses that I posted. They clearly stated that Isa (AS) was not killed, but Isa (AS) was ascended by Allah (SWT).

**That they said (in boast), "We killed Christ Jesus the son of Mary, the Messenger of Allah.;- but they killed him not, nor crucified him, but so it was made to appear to them, and those who differ therein are full of doubts, with no (certain) knowledge, but only conjecture to follow, for of a surety they killed him not:-

Nay, Allah raised him up unto Himself; and Allah is Exalted in Power, Wise;- (4:157-158)**

There is a consensus amongst the Muslims scholars over how Isa (AS) was not killed, but ascended by Allah (SWT).

I only posted the verses because you brought the topic up. Please don't start it all over again. I know exactly what this will be leading to and we've had discussions on it in the past and a thread was locked.

If you derail the thread, I'd be forced to clean it up.

on contrary to that verse u posted...... Allah says

**[21:35] **We granted not everlasting life to any mortal before thee. If they shouldst die, shall they live here for ever?

**[21:36] **Every soul shall taste death; and We test you with evil and good by way of trial. And to US shall you be returned

FrozenFire, I dont want to derail this thread, but Allah also told us that Muhammad:saw: is the last prophet and I think you believe in Mirza sahib…and here is the translation from a sunni/wahabi source for 21:34

21:34 We granted not to any man before thee permanent life (here): if then thou shouldst die, would they live permanently?

I have highlighted the difference and that explains away your quest about contradiction…plus this whole surah (21..Anbiya) is talking about a different subject and what Sadiyah quoted is directly related to Hazrat Isa.

yar...tum ne ghumaa shumma ke baat Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad AS per he khatam karni hoti hai?.. u want to know why i say Prophet Muhammad SAW as a khataman anbiya and in the same time believe in Mirza Ghulam Ahmad AS ....then open a new thread and inshallah ill answer all ur queries...and as sadiyah said its not the place to discuss.

How unjust, it is that despite the belief that Jesus of Nazareth will descend from heaven in his capacity of the Messiah of Israel and that he will be a Prophet and that this would not disrupt the Seal of Prophethood, Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Alimad of Qadian, who claimed to be a follower of the Holy Prophet and a Prophet by way of reflection and declared his purpose to be perfect obedience to the Holy Prophet, should be held to have been outside the pale of Islam on account of this claim

Isa A.S will not be a prophet when he arrives.

we muslims dont have anything better to do but to celebrate christamas which for me is nothing but a spiritually lacking event...

when was Isa(as) Born??

anyone know?