shocking

Re: shocking

What about wedding rings, engagement rings, wearing red and the million other things that aren't really 'our' ways but borrowed from western and hindu culture as well? In religious terms most customs are ok as long as they don't go against Islam ie the freemixing would obviously be considered worse than cutting the cake..

i think completely opposite - time for me to go in a cave or an island ... i dont want to be part of this kind of society

i completely agree on the basic idea - culture is something diff than religion until and unless there is an contradictory overlap

challay wali rasam achi hai.aur yahan wilayat main jiskaay hath main chall na ho aur apni bv kay sath khara ho to log ajeeb ajeeb nazron say dekthay hain :@:

Rings are not borrowed from west, in fact we dont use bands that signifies a loop, we use an agoothi.

Wow, fake stories seem to be the trend these days. Carry on....

I kind of agree with the wedding cake bit. I don't know it just seems to out of place rasm. But even in Pak the trend has shown a rise. Not good !

wedding cake costs $300.

many people want it and consider big part of wedding.

do people keep it on shadi or valima?

What do you mean by fake stories? Oh my goodness, the posters of GS couldn't possibly be posting untrue, but salacious stories just to get a reaction out of the rest of us, could they? Say it isn't so :(

Heard this exact story in another thread a few weeks ago.

what if it was mithai?

then its ok to call your MIL a b*tch

GOod Lord its just a cake :rolleyes:

1. What a looser husband. He should have kept quiet at that time and emotionally blackmailed her for the rest of his life…always reminding her of the incident when the opportunity arose. Bewakooq insaan :nahi:.
  2. Posters, pls let’s not argue about id this story is true or not. It’s a situation that can happen :smiley: given the highly volatile brides and highly irresponsible grooms of this day and age :@:.

God what a stupid bride.

Hmm ruin a probably expensive wedding dress and the entire night for the bride? I think she was just a little justified if the MIL did it on purpose. :halo::halo:

Btw, for those who think the bride had justification, do you realize that the MIL happens to her new husband's mom? There's no competition there. Mom is mom. Jannah lies under the feet of your mother, not wife, so the sooner women realize that, they can learn to stop being suspicious that every act of a MIL is evil. Having said that, we're talking about the start of a marriage, and while your wedding day is very important, lemme tell you that a smashed cake doesn't determine how successful your marriage will be, but perhaps the attitude towards family members will. Accidents happen. Brides need to chill.

If she cussed his mon just for a stupid cake she deserves to be kicked out!!!

It's really difficult to believe that a normal, sane person would respond in the way the woman is said to respond. The incident described sounds pathetically false.

The groom is a moron. To blame this on adopting western culture is a stretch. Good for the bride, this idiot is too unstable to be married to.

It happens in daily life that people spill coffee, juice, ice cream etc. on others by mistake. There are people who have the habbit of using abusive words the most, but still the moment they look up after such incidents and realize that the person who spilled it over him/her was Boss/Chairman/President/Governor.....Actor/Model/Anchor......Scholar/Peer/Murshid....etc. WHOEVER he respects alot his** lips are zipped *WHY!? becuase their respect and honor in *his heart *numbs him. Don't tell me the word just came out without *thinking, at least the mind got enough time to judge whether it was a HE or a SHE in order to utter the respective abusive word. Would she have said the same if it were HER mother in place of MIL. Yes or No, both answers don't go in her favor.

So...if the respect level is this on the happiest occassion where even the worst people try to act good and formal, control their anger, remain humble, are RESPECTFUL, also alert about their bad habbits and try their best to behave well and 'present' good manners then what do you expect from such people in tough situations.....sad occasions....misunderstandings......disagreements ?!.....

p.s. No one wants to be disrespected, and we are talking about one's mother here whom one respects even more than oneself...