Shoaib Akhter - Dilemma ends (Merged)

Re: Shoaib Akhter - Dilemma ends (Merged)

I am shoaib’s fan and pray that pakistan win inshallah and then you can laugh. Because if lara go berserk then he will make people cry. HAVING SAID THAT I AM VERY ANXIOUS FOR SHOAIB’S RETURN IN HOMES SERIES AGAINST ENGLAND BECAUSE IT WILL BE HILARIOUS TO READ COMMENTS FROM PEOPLE LIKE YOU THEN, BECAUSE AT THAT TIME YOU ALL WILL BE PRAISING SHOAIB AS IF NOTHING EVER HAPPENED. I PROMISE AT THAT TIME I AM GOING TO PASTE ALL THESE POSTS IN CASE IF PEOPLE HAVE SHORT TERM MOEMORY PROBLEM.

And who are you? Just shut up and move along. Next time you utter something, read the argument in the post you are replying to beforehand.

Shoaib Malik rightfully or wrongfully was not given the same treatment as what Shoaib Akhter has recieved.Under ICC rules. had the board desired SM cud have been banned for atleast one year, but they chose the easy level 2 violation. More importantly, SA indiscretions if any are related to personality clashes, now since he is out and Inzi has won the one-day series in INdia, SA is the bad guy. How do we know whether it was on SA who made all the fuss? Has anybody ever listened to SA version?

Nobody can question SA contribution with the ball, particularly in test cricket. Those who think Rana is his replacement should examine his test averages and compare them to Shoaib. Presently, Pakistani cricket team is being run as a batting line-up with some utility bowlers, thus the better one day performance. Real test of batsmen and bowlers comes from test cricket, not one days which are usually graveyards for bowlers.

No players, administrator, coach or manager should be allowed to dictate terms or run havoc with other players careers cause at the end of the day it is Pakistan which suffers and these guys are PAID PROFESSIONALS. Hadit not been for the paying public these guys wud be nowhere.

I cannot share too much info here but would like to say this,,That shoaib has 90% recovered from his hamstring and ankle pain problem.

His weight gain is due to his 'steroid use' for speedy recovery from his ankl and hamstring injury. His weight was already receeding at the time of 20-20 tgames as he was already off the drug through reduced doses on daily basis.
After the team announcement for UAE Shoaib was already packing his bags.

Denies all alegations about his party bash and misconduct overall. (I believe him as he is one of th fewer players on the side who enjoyed 'clean' relationship with the umpires) and never got penalized unlike his fellow players.

His objective is to concentrate on county cricket, and the 'national team' is history,,with a 'middle finger to inzimam and altaf.

Regret source cannot be given.

Legendary wasim akram has something to say about shoaib akhtar, in today’s news. Please read very carefully as it has answers to most of the comments seen in this thread from anti shoaib akhar group.

KARACHI: Pakistan’s former captain Wasim Akram remains a high profile figure in the world of cricket. Given his astounding success as a southpaw fast bowler, who ended up with 414 Test and 502 one-day wickets, what he says on cricket affairs matters a lot.
And on Saturday in an interview he made it clear he was not happy with the way the Pakistan cricket Board (PCB), its selectors and even the team management were handling the Shoaib Akhtar issue.

“Shoaib is a match winner and a quality fast bowler. He should be in the team. If he has any disciplinary, commitment or attitude problems, it is the job of the board and team management to sort it out. But just on this basis you cannot keep on ignoring him,” he said on the decision to drop the fast bowler for the West Indies tour.

"He played under my captaincy a lot and it is true he has a bit of an excessive lifestyle. But on the field frankly speaking he tried hard and was quite successful. Because we knew how to use him.

“My contention is that he should have been picked for the West Indies tour and if Inzamam-ul-Haq and Bob Woolmer have any problems with his attitude and commitment they can easily enough just send him back home. That would be a lesson for him. But it is the team that loses out if use is not made of his skills,” Wasim stated.

Reminded that the board had said he was not fit enough to be considered for the West Indies tour, Wasim hit out at the system of checking the fitness of pace bowlers in Pakistan.

“Look I have been through this phase and believe these people on the medical panels they don’t have a clue of the chemistry or fitness requirements for a pace bowler. Someone like Shoaib Akhtar who is an out and out fast bowler needs to be handled differently fitness wise. It is a folly to judge his fitness on the criteria set for others,” said Wasim.

"He has put on some weight but it is natural that when a fast bowler come backs from an injury he puts on weight. The more he keeps on playing competitive matches he gets better. I don’t think Shoaib would have been able to play in some of the domestic matches if he had not been fit at all.

“What did the board or management have to lose by taking him to the West Indies. If he is not fit he would naturally have sat out of matches there and the board would have been justified to send him back home and been in a stronger position to tackle him in the future,” he added.

“Shoaib is not getting younger and the board, selectors and team management need to devise a plan to get the best out of him until the 2007 World Cup. He will continue to have fitness niggles because he is structured like that and bowls off a long run-up. But the fact is that he is a match winner and the team needs him.”

Wasim also felt that the bowling attack would struggle on the West Indies wickets without Shoaib and Mohammad Sami who is also out of contention for another two weeks because of a recent heel surgery.

“The wickets in the West Indies are slow and you require to dig the ball in and pace always comes handy there. The bowlers they have picked for the tour are all honest hard working bowlers but they don’t have the pace to trouble the batsmen on the West Indies pitches where the best way of taking wickets is to reverse swing the ball and dig it in.”

The former captain insisted that the board needed to sort out any problems between Shoaib and the management.

Wasim also advised the Board, selectors and management to come out of the honeymoon of the Indian tour.

"The team performed magnificently in India and did the nation proud. But you can’t keep on just taking decisions based on that one series. It does not work like that in cricket. I would advise them to start looking ahead. India and West Indies are two different challenges.

"Definitely Pakistan goes to the West Indies in a confident mood and they should start off as favourites to win the one-day and Test series because the boys are in form and on a high. But it will not be easy.

As the West Indian players have always been tough opponents at home. It would be a folly to think we can roll over them on the basis of their recent performances against South Africa. In recent years South Africa has been the only side that has dominated the West Indians at home and away," he noted.

Wasim also felt that the selectors should be counting Moin Khan in their scheme of things. “Moin is a true fighter and he still has a lot to give to Pakistan cricket. He had a bad time last year but he has found his form and is very experienced. There is no harm in playing him and keeping Kamran Akmal in the team as his reserve.”

SOURCE
http://jang.com.pk/thenews/may2005-daily/08-05-2005/sports/s1.htm

Inzi and other senior players now face deciplinary actions due to their bad mouthing in press against Shoaib Akhtar. It is a much needed lesson for Inzimam and others. If Shoaib Akhtar can be punished on breaking curfew and insulting other 10 players in the team, Inzi and others are no execption either. No player is indispensible in the team. If Shoaib is sidelined today due to his misbehave and lack of determination in past, Inzi can sit home for opening mouth in the press, that is so unprofessional. I hope PCB will take action against him/them to stop the start-***yapa for ever.

They all need to learn how to behave professionally, specially when in the field and when facing press, after all you are representing Pakistan, and nobody is bigger than Pak.

In the current development against Shoaib, there is a lesson for everyone. I hope Shoaib has learned his, and its time for others to do open their eyes.

JEEVAY JEEVAY SAADA WASIM JEEVAY
What to do bhai…guys with more than 400 test and 500 ODI wickets are tellin these bozos how wrong they are, yet they want to hide behind their shameless insecurities and use Indian one time victory to gloss over their humungous stupidities.

When you have mediocrity you will only achieve mediocre results. Oakistan has a mediocre Captain, mediocre coach, mediocre bowlong attack and even worse administration. End result will be whitewashes like Australia, scrapping thru in the test series in India and one time flash in the pan victories in ODI’s.

Both Shoaib Akhter and Moin Khan should have been selected…

PCB and their selection committee includes a bunch of potheads who make decisions when they are high ,whether its a decision concerning shoiab or moin or any one else. Pakistan has been gifted with tremendous talent both in batting and bowling but we always mistreat our heroes, we have done this in the past, doing in the present and the way things are looking will continue that in the future. One example is the 2 W's, the whole world still talks about them but PCB never bothered to hire them as the bowling coach. We always have problems when wasim is in india and unofficially coaching indian bowlers but the greedy f..ks in PCB can't do anything to hire them as our bowling coaches. It could make hell of differecne if we can have either one of them as our bowling coach. And I am also very sure that PCB will not take notice of whatever wasim has said today about shoaib and moin. To me these people are crimnals who are responsible for destroying the careers of some many talented platyers in pakistan by bringing them to an early end.

Agreed. Sad truth of our pathetic cricketing history. We dumped the 2W’s when we cud have perservered with them till others were ready just to please ego’s of those who never achieved anything for themselves or the country. Same thing is happening today, its Inzi’s fat brain and woolmers hurt pride which is proving to be the obstacle in recognizing Shoaib’s huge potential and Moin’s excellent return to form. Like they say back home..Yeh Kissi ka Baap ki Jaagir naheen…unfortunately, you give a bandaar something to play with then he can only play according to his limited mental faculties.

Re: Shoaib left out bcos of disciplinary reasons

I think that example to compare him with Inzi’s situation after WC2003 is a very good one as both Inzi + Shoaib r proven match winners for Pakistan … But Did Inzi Moan, Cry, or went on to give an interview to every “Loondi-Boochi Akhbar/reporter” about how disapponited he is and blah blah … No he didin’t … he kept his calm … lost some weight and came back with a bang … did he ever look back no he didn’t … now that’s the class-difference between him and Inzi … Just relax, play county, keep urself fit and competitive and the biggest of all just shut up and try to keep ur calm and composure … I think that’s the only he’ll find his way back into the team otherwise he’ll have to wait til Inzi retires …
damn it can’t be so difficult to understand a two simple facts which r important as u r a professional and no amatuer:

• Keep urself fit that u can Bowl 20-25 Overs a day and that atleast on three days in a Test if needed (Have a look at Waqar who also bowled in the 150’s with a lang run-up)
  • Just shut up when u r touring with team as others do and only open ur trap once asked (I know it sounds dan hard but it’ll help a world of good to ur and teams cause)
  • Don’t care about what socalled experts have to stay as long as the Skipper+Coach have faith in u, u should b fine
    This can’t be so difficult to understand and practice

If Wasim Akram is saying that we will struggle, you sheep better believe it. And to most shmucks in this thread, read the above quote. The above is not what I have been stating, it’s a quote from the legendary Wasim Akram, who has captained Shoaib in the past and knows what he is talking about.

shaoib is a good enough player to play on the team. That all that matter to me. I dont care about any issues. If he wants to go blaze after a game thats his problem. Just dont smoke up while ur playing.
Half the people on here are only saying what theyh are about him because we did ok against India - i.e. winning ODI series. That along shouldnt be a measure for success considering India is ranked just above Zimbabwe in the ICC rankings for ODI's and lost to BD this year. We should have higher standards and we need our best players to get there.

Inzamam, Shoaib should mend fences: Wasim

KARACHI: Pakistan captain Inzamamul Haq and pacer Shoaib Akhtar must sort out their differences for the betterment of cricket in the country, former skipper Wasim Akram said on Sunday.

“Inzamam and Akhtar are grown-up guys and they must sort their differences out by talking with each other. Pakistan cricket needs this badly,” Akram, the former great pacer and ex-Pakistan captain, told this agency. Akhtar, 29, was left out of the 17-man squad for Pakistan’s tour of the West Indies where they are to play three one-day games and two Tests starting May 18. The team leaves for the Caribbean tour on Tuesday. Pakistan’s Cricket Board last week said Akhtar lacked match fitness.

Inzamam also lashed out at Akhtar, citing lack of discipline as one of the factors for his exclusion. “Shoaib Akhtar has disciplinary problems and I believe no player is bigger than the team. We’ve had these problems with him in the past and my concern is that it has a negative impact on other players also,” Inzamam has said. But Akram said dropping Akhtar was unjustified. “Inzamam sought my advice last month and I told him to handle Akhtar properly. It is injustice. You can’t sit someone out because he doesn’t listen,” said Akram.

Akram retired in 2003 after taking 414 Tests and a world record of 502 one-day wickets. He said Akhtar looked fitter than two months ago when he had to pull out of the India tour due to a hamstring injury. “When a fast bowler comes back from injury he tends to put some weight. I have been through it a lot and thats why Imran Khan used to take me on tours to get me fit,” said Akram. afp

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_9-5-2005_pg2_3

The question is , Does Shoaib ,wants to play for this team/board/selectors setup ??? I don’t think so :rolleyes:

In this controvercy almost every one has shot their own foot one way or the other.
Our political culture and system is based on ‘Biyan baazi’ and Biyan baazi is not taken lightly by any one , even if it is true, the fans and the public is like flock of birds, one follw the other without worrying about the bearings.

Yeh andhair raj hai :devil:

:hehe: Some people got Wasim’s endoresement. Look at the article above here where Wasim Akram said “You can’t sit someone out because he doesn’t listen”. For the time being ignore who said it, just read what he said… its really sad that it came out of Wasim Akram.

Wasim Akram probably forgot what differences in dressing room can result in the field. It has been so clearly seen that when Shoaib is not present in the team everyone plays like a fighter and makes us proud and when he is in the team there is no “unity”. Can Inzamam alone create such unity and disunity by himself? NO, other players are also part of it and I can bet Youhanna, Afridi and Razzaq are part of it too so stop blaming Inzi solely for this saga.

I must admit that Caribbean tour won’t be a cake, it’d be a tough nut to crack… would you like to see Akhtar vs Lara on this tour or Pakistan vs West Indies?

Captain,
No one will disagree with you on the subject of team discipline or dressing room environment. These things are as important as the quality of players. But, who is responsible for maintaining team discipline? Manager/coach/Captain, right? Three well paid, experienced, knowledgable guys cannot manage ONE guy? There has to be something else also. If Shoaib had problems with Inzi then they sud have been sorted out on a team level, not in the public as Inzi and his supporters have.

Inzi is to be blamed for this saga cause he has failed to or cannot or does not want to manage players who can challenge his authority on the ground and dressing room. Example, Rahid Latif, Moin Khan, and Shoaib Akhter. Good captains have the heart and sense to play their best players available, can you honestly tell me whether Inzi has done that? One series, one ODI series he wins and he goes on the rooftop and shouts how well team spirit has done. Dont you find that a little suspicious? Here is a team which was white washed in Australia, nearly lost the test series in India, lost to India in pakistan and all of a sudden its team spirit?

Wasim Akram is the perfect person to talk about team discipline and making your best fast bowlers sit outside due to personal differences. Yeah! Ask Waqar Younis and he will tell you all about Wasim Akram and who made whom sit out of the team at the two peak years of Waqar's career. :)

Anyway.... in this unfortunate public spat, Inzi should be quiet. Shoaib is not in the selected team and can justifiably talk to press and make his case. Wasim is an ex-cricketer who are basically just loose cannons firing in any direction they want. But Inzi is about to lead a team to one of their more difficult tours. He has no place in this public battle. His place is in the ground and performing with the team.

So he’s quitting national cricket because he wasn’t treated right? The nation that has made you a star and treated you like a super star MOST of your cricketing life, you will abandon it just because they insist that you correct your attitude? Way to go! And what does clean conduct with umpires have to do with party-bash and overall misconduct?

I wish Shoaib all the best, and hope that he’ll be back in the team in the months to come. I also feel that Shoaib is not made for county cricket. It is very demanding.. you have to play day in and day out, and fitness is much more of a factor there. When was the last time Shoaib played a full county season? While they will pay you handsomly and treat you as a star but they will expect to give your 100% on and off the field. Shoaib Akhtar know this and like Wasim Akram, I am sure he will be well-liked in the county circuit because he is a genial character. He also knows that some of the stunts that he pulls with Pak team he won’t be able to pull with the county.

[quote=“Captain1”]
:hehe: Some people got Wasim’s endoresement. Look at the article above here where Wasim Akram said "
Wasim Akram probably forgot what differences in dressing room can result in the field. It has been so clearly seen that when Shoaib is not present in the team everyone plays like a fighter and makes us proud and when he is in the team there is no “unity”. Can Inzamam alone create such unity and disunity by himself? NO, other players are also part of it and I can bet Youhanna, Afridi and Razzaq are part of it too so stop blaming Inzi solely for this saga.
QUOTE]
------------------dcvg-------------

The so called ‘Unity’ is nothing but a ‘myth’ which clicked for few good matches and the awam is all over the band wagon with Inzimam & boyZ in full hangover.

These type of notions don’t help achieve any thing, because you cannot say this for certain.
People are now stepping over the fence to 'blame every thing on Shoiab including the wins Pakistan been having by his exclusion.

I still say to simply forget about Shoaib now. Close this thread and bury this skeleton for ever, ab bar bar etna Zaleel to na keroo,jitna woh deserve nahi kerta, Wasim’s endorsment is ‘zero’ value at the time. :rolleyes:

You are forgetting that Shoaib Akhtar was part of all those teams against whom we lost (India visiting Pakistan last year), tour to Australia etc so there was no show of unity until Shoaib departed from Australia and you saw how team started performing as a unit. I agree performance against India has been read too much than deserved. Inzi did try to cope with Akhtar until VB series, yes or no?