Shoaib Akhter - Dilemma ends (Merged)

Re: Shoaib Akhter - Dilemma ends (Merged)

-----------x----------
He’s not dead yet? And you may do few vitals for your khan brain from now on,
Chew well
Swallow slow
give it a rest every 30 seconds
and do tasbeh,

who knows, some one might open a good rip thread for you too. :smiley:

^ you don't have to get too personal.

The higher you go, the harder you fall....

Poor Shoaib Akhter, I really feel sad for this player. You need a big heart and plenty of enthusiasm to bowl at his speed, and that too day in day out. Batting with a slight injury is managebale or you can get a runner, but a fast bowler has nothing to help him. Shoaib like Waseem and Imran had to take injections, pain killers to keep bowling, but somebody should have injected him with a little bit of humility cause it helps when you are down and out.

His fatness is probably related to his depression stage or worse, he has given up. Iam hoping this guy has a big heart, will get back to the gym and make a comeback which will make us all very proud. Its happened before, Dennis Lillee, Imran Khan, Waqar, Shane Warne all these names are written with the greats, if Shoaib wants to be remembered and that too with the greats, he has to prove his worth, blowing your own trumpet doesnt work all the time....

While you blame EVERYONE else, except Shoaib for his troubles, you just make a mockery of his “dilemma”.

ps. And the name is spelled ‘Faisal’.

-------x-------
^ sorry about that ‘Faisal’

Too bad you feel that way, I guess you can just stand there like others and keep cursing ‘him’ too. Whats the difference?

Raindance Bhai,

Can you for once deny that Pakistan was able to do the job against India, without the hype and showbaazi of Shoaib Akhter. (Halaki it would have felt so much better with Shoaib in the game, atleast I could have consoled myself).

I dont think anyone on this board feels that he is not a valuable player and a Definite wicket taker, I will even go on to say that he has the powress and capacity to change the outcome of any match.

Lekin that does not mean he is above the team, jis din yeh baat aapke samajh mein aa gayi you will be a better human:D

It will make the pain easier to bear:D and will also make the nightmares go away.:stuck_out_tongue:

Sir ji, When did you see Shane warne gain weight? When he came back after that one yaer ban, he was thinner than ever. He gained weight while he was in the team before.

I don’t think I have ever cursed anyone, not even Shoaib. He is a professional cricketer. If he performs, we praise. If he doesn’t perform, he can’t expect praise. If he is fit and is committed to perform as a team player, he should play. That has been my (and most other people) consistent stance. Its only you who want to blame everyone else for the “miseries suffered” by Shoaib.

Shoaib is a big boy. He should take responsibility for his own actions. If he has a hamstrung injury or has added extra weight on his body, he should take care of it as a professional and get back into side through his fitness and perfomance. Constantly harping about putting blame on other people, e.g. Shahriyar doesn’t like him, Woolmer doesn’t like him, Inzamam doesn’t like him, Youhanna doesn’t like him.. on and on, really gets you no where.

also Warne is not a pacer, he probably runs 4-5 yards to bowl :slight_smile:

----------------------x----------------------------

Allah ka shuker hai Aejaz,I’m a better human as ever. The one who does not curse or call names to a ‘Failing PUBLIC FIGURE’ as he is called,
Yahan per to muraay hoye ki khaal bhi utaarnay walay log moojoud hain.
I’m a better human, because I carry ‘modesty’ in my nature and I don’t resort to personal remarks to members or the “public figure” as they claim him to be.

Pakistan beat India comprehensively, I don’t go overboard with joy n garoor but it does makes me happy and excited,India was overated and self proclaimed ‘The best’ or the 2nd best,watever, ,end of story.

Aj Inzimam bhi the ‘best cap10’ ban gaya hai, kal kia hoga ?? Another hypocritical thread will decide if they loose in WI, otherwise Inzimam will make History. Thanks to Woolmer’s coaching ofcourse,

I’m in no pain alhamdu llilah, But the height of ‘Hypocrisy’ I see here , be it for ‘Razzler’ ‘Younis’ ‘Rana’ is mind blowing and gets to me.

I’m a genuine ‘Shoaib’ fan. I am aware of his extra curriculum activities and I do question his discipline issues. Like every one else I also am pissed at his lapses and bad mouthing at times.

I have played an active part in questioning Shoaib’s ability to play a sensible match ever, it goes as far back as the point where I suggested in making him a Cap10 and seeing if that can help or just throw him out forever. Galli dainay ki to zarurat he nahi thee,Because he’s a Pakistani players and a good one :jhanda:

Saby bhai,what you think ,Shoaib is Fat because he’s sipping beer at home 24/7 ?
Shane warne was in ‘Depression & shock’ of the fear that he might not play cricket again. Once it dawned on him that he still has a chance the weight loss was a matter of 2-3 weeks of workout.

Bhai sahab, Depression is a disease not a virus and ‘Hamstring pain’ can not be described nor measured unless one suffers from it in some point in time,how can you feel wht he does and goes through,

Combined these two factors with the external beurocratic pressures and you have a ‘yoyo syndrome’ on your hand.
The news from Pakistan is quite contrary to what is being discussed here on Gupshup.
People in Pakistan are calling this as the end of his career with some past references to his ‘activities’ in line with the other superstars. There is no cursing or name-calling but just sympathies and somewhere an ‘open door’ can be seen as well.
Sorry I can not provide you with the source.
Pakistan ZindabaD - Baqi sab es kaybaD :jhanda:

yaar, Saby already pointed out to you that Warne had gained weight well before being ousted/banned/whatever from the team. Also, if one aims to make a comeback, he works harder for the fitness… no?

Really?

This thread has become more or less a relaxed time-pass now.

With Raindance bhai jaan blaming everyone under the sun for Shoaib's predicament and the rest of the members having fun at such devout dedication displayed for the fast bowler.

Its such a cute topic, after all.

Shoaib Akhtar vows comeback

LAHORE: Fiery Pakistan fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar said Tuesday he was disappointed to be axed from the Pakistan squad for this month’s tour of the West Indies but vowed to stage a comeback.

“I am disappointed. I am fit and was ready for any fitness test,” said the 29-year-old, who missed Pakistan’s tour of India in March-April due to a hamstring injury. “I wanted to play in the West Indies and am disappointed not to be the part of the team. But I will make a comeback,” he added.

Akhtar sustained the hamstring injury on Pakistan’s tour of Australia earlier this year but has recently appeared in five domestic matches, taking an impressive 5-23 in one of the two Twenty20 Cup matches he played last week. Akhtar, who also sat out during Pakistan’s last tour of the West Indies due to a rib injury, said that the selectors did not give him a chance to prove his fitness. “I thought they would give me a fitness test for which I was ready, but no one asked me to appear,” said Akhtar. afp

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_4-5-2005_pg2_3

--------------x------------
:smooth: :snooty::k:

------------x-----------

Really! solidly! solemnly! , :rolleyes:

There’s no solution found yet for how to carry your mind on a narrow band of thought and still make a point - Like legend has it that Shahnaz Sheikh and Sami-ullah use to carry the ball from centre line using the side line corridor - sprinting across the 25 line - outside the D zone - near the triangle of side line & Goal line
Fire a Cross in - catch the willing-dashing forward’s stick and score the GOAL

They took the avenues less travelled and reached their Goals in no time.

The moral of the point is, Some time let your mind find few variations and narrow it down to the ONE thought that could be correct that your mind see’s it fit as the true picture. It works like magic. Try it some time its fun.

**Shoaib Akthar has expressed his disappointed after being excluded from the Pakistan squad for the West Indies tour and has hit back at the selectors, saying he was not given a chance to prove his fitness before the team was picked. **

**“I am very upset and disappointed that they have not picked me for the West Indies tour,” Shoaib told Mid Day, a Mumbai-based tabloid. “Missing the Indian tour due to injury was a big blow for me and I was very keen to make a comeback in this series. They could at least have called me and asked me to go through a proper fitness test and medical check-up before taking a decision.” **

Shoaib, 29, was not part of the 17-member squad announced on Monday, despite showing an impressive return to form with 5 for 23 in a Twenty20 game, as the selectors felt he was overweight and needed more time to regain full match fitness. However, he felt that the selectors’ assessment was a bit over the top. “I don’t think I am overweight,” he said. “It is just that I have not played enough first-class games since recovering from my injury because the domestic season has come to an end. But in the matches that I have played I have bowled my full overs and taken wickets.”
http://content.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/208625.html](http://content.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/208625.html)

I have said several times that I would have loved to see shoiab back in the side. I don’t know if shoaib was 100% fit to tour WI but the thing which was disturbing me was the statement given by PCB couple of times before the team selection that they are going to conduct the fitness test for shoaib and gul on sunday May 1st before the team announcement on May 2nd. That fitness test never took place. I don’t know why they didn’t want to conduct the test. There was even a better way to check his fitness. They could have taken hm to Abu Dhabi and e could have played 2 matches back to back against Srilanka and Indians X1. It was an unoffical tournament and they could have done it without disturbing the team combination since rana and sami were already missing. OK i admit that PCB somehows has an idea that shoaib is not 100% but how the hell they are going to prove it to thw world if they are not going to take fitness tet and are not going to give him chances in such unofficial matches. Another joke was Moin Khan’s inclusion in the provional side which was announced on April 29th and then later his omission from the side when the final team was announced by Adhoc committee. Guess what Wasim bari said, he said that the adhoc committe never made any changes to the provisional side which we recommended. Actually moin’s name was never there in the provisional side.
What the f..k is this crap??? The whole media was praising moin for his comeback even the guy himelf was excited and Bari came up which this ridiculous excuse. So Bari is trying to say that basically the whole world was wrong for 2 days including moin khan. They all misunderstood for some reason the moin name is there in the provisional side when actually it wasn’t there.
I am not trying to argue anymore that moin and shoiab should have been there. Thats a totally differetn story which has now ended with the tean announcment and we should move on. What I am trying to say is that what kind of **** heads are holding the positions in PCB. We know they are liars but atleast be logical with you lie.

:mudhosh:

Raindance unkil,

Have mercy on our souls. Please write in English or urdu.

Shukria.