Shoaib Akhter - Dilemma ends (Merged)

Re: Shoaib Akhter - Dilemma ends (Merged)

-----------x-------------

Yes & True! This is why its more of a reason to believe that India never was and will never be a “Quality Gauge” for Pakistan cricket. The only thing that can lure our players to India is the glamour and Glitter, which has not been a handy tool to Indians despites souring sales of,lets say ‘Limca’ !!

Historicaly in 70’s & 80’s Paki boyZ have been with county cricket more in numbers and like wise brought their experiences to the side and did well.
Compare this to India who’s numbers of county playing cricketers were fewer
and without any extraordinary contribution to their own national side.

This trend is not sustained because of the English County’s changing policies towards the OSPs. Still today there are more Paki players involved in counties than the Indian players.

Down the line this helps the game at home and conditions the mental approach of the individual player.
This does not suggests that Pakistani players have started to play like their English counterparts.

In 70’s & 80’s it was WI / Aus / Eng that Pakistan was always keen to compete with, and to prove their metal.
India / Sri-Lanka were the teams that Pakistan always enjoyed beating and were bit of a one sided affaires.

The evolution of India cricket took off when Kapil dev took over and the Azhar did a fine job of sustaining it.

So to consider India as our numero uno competitiion and a quality gauge is misleading and incorrect.
But the spirit of competing is healthy and exciting.
To convert it into rivalery is nostalgic base and has no other value but just one great fun.

Pakistan is blessed with abundant talent in pace bowling and prolific burst of batting talents. The mentors were bit late to get their act going.

Just to let Shoaib fans know, below is Q & A from Woolmer's website..... its quite obvious that Inzamam is not to be blamed solely for Shoaib's exclusion :D

Hi Bobbie,

First of all, let me tell u tht i was very happy 2 knw tht u r with the A team, it shows
ur utmost keenness n sincerity towards ur job n team pakistan. It would have been so very easy for u to take a long break bfore the windies tour sitting on the laurels of the indian series win but instead u opted 2 go with the A team. I think this should
shut all those critics who doubt ur credentials towards pakistan.
Next, this is a very important thing i would like 2 convey to u, n m sure tht not many have observed this. have u seen brett lee bfore the pakistan tour 2 australia??? yes offcourse u have, but have u observed tht he was considerably fat n chubby then n used to bowl around 150+kph deliveries once in a while n not tht often but then he was dropped n had time to focus on his game, n on his return everybody else including me were so surprised 2 c him, he was so fit n slim, his entire body had undergone a change n was very toned. n more importantly in the series against pak n also nz he bowled very consistently above 150+kph with utmost ease, on an average he bowled much faster than shoaib. so, y not shoaib take a very imp lesson from lee n tone himself up, he has 2 ask lee abt the physio or doctor under whom lee was trained n should do the same which will augur well both for him n for the team. imagine a fit n toned shoaib aaaahhhhh it would b a dream come true for paki cricket.
Hope u convey this message to shoaib on our behalf.
thnks......Owais(Sydney)

REPLY BY: BOB, (02 May 2005, 07h17:30)
Hi Owais_shariff,
It only makes my point.
Bob

No body learn no lesson from Any body, while Some body blames the Fat body who likes to see Slim body do 150mph, and Some body enjoys the fun - *Thats us!! :D *

Re: Shoaib Akhter - Dilema ends,

well said…:k:

First PCB said he was fit in Australia but Akhtar said he was not fit. Now Akhtar says he is fit, but PCB is saying he is not fit.
Eventhough its fun to watch Akhtar bowl, but which ever team wins the series for us is the best team.

---------------x-----------------

It was me skhan. LMAO and since you only half remember things, I will try to rephrase my comment for your ‘easy’ understanding and interpretation.

Coming back from Aussie tour where he ‘tore’ his hamstring, which requires “Zero Movement” “Zero stress” (If one really wants to get better fast).He was dragged into one inquiry after another, , and finally when he started to play again it was not enough for the “Experts” in PCB and the team Cap-10, and he was “given the news” several days before this Monday when the team is announced that he won’t be able to make it to the team. His depression and his failure and his unceremonious EXIT from the national cricket is a ‘Heart Break’ for him which has caused all these bloats you so cleverly figured out that he suffers from.

Any how, He’s done and gone, so the only thing for you guys to do is look forward to WI tour with what ever you have and it looks good too.

We better hurry up as WI is looking to their ‘Lowest’ and ‘Poorest’ performances ever.

I cannot stop you guys from beating the dead horse, but let me say this for Shoaib Akhter. He served the National Cricket to his best of abilities and now we must bury this skeleton quietly without any more insults.

Pakistan zindabaD - Baqi sab es kaybaD :jhanda:

Hahahahahahaha… Oh man!!! :hehe:

hayn? o bhai, this WI is a much better outfit now than the one they had 2-4 years back… during that time they also brought back Carl Hooper from almost retirement to captain the side.

------------------x---------------------

SA is playing them like a hound plays with the fallen prey! Bhai jaan , gayle bhaiya na kaal he bacha’ya hai,werna phooluu-on honay laga tha,paan kha kay, :smiley:
plus Pak’s same side did played them well in trinagular down under :smiley: So,

This thread was started 3-4 days ago but I guess the dilemma ended today when the team was announced. I earlier said in couple of my posts that shoiab akhtar' exclusion from the provisional squad doesn't mean that he won't be included in the final squad. I was really hoping that PCB will atleast take his fitness test, which I remember they mentioned earlier, but they never did that. OK I believe that PCB thinks that he is unfit and therefore doesn't deserve consideration for selection. But what really has bothered me are the posts from few people who doesn't want him anymore in the side. I admit that I am also not a fan of unfit shoaib who then becomes a burden on the side, but tell me honestly comon how many times he has performed and won matches for Pakistan. How many times our adrenaline pumped when he use to ball at an unplayable pace. OK I admit he has a big mouth and attitude. What I am trying to say is don't insult the man and give due credit to him for his past acheivement and don't humiliate him because of whatever is happening risht now. Yes I admit that as long as he is not 100% fit to play cricket, he shouldn't be included in the side. But for God sake don't insult as if you have never ever appreciated his performance in the past. This is typical mentality of alot of people specially in subcontinent when they appreciate when everything is going right and start degrading when a player or the team is not performing. And I also hope that Shoaib will learn from all this experoence and will try his best to achieve 100% fitness so that we could see him again in the side.

----------x------------
What you’r saying is fine and quite logical under such an aftermath scenerio.
The members on this board have learned to cry ‘Blood’ when the chips are down and applaud when ‘Rana’ takes wickets. Kich Sami in the as$ when he’s down and praise him on his better days,Its all in the days game,I guess…

Remember Rana ??? In Karachi ,against India,? You should see that thread how this guy was dissed left-right and for no apparent reason, (This is an example,not a discussion point) ,

I don’t have to request to any one , If they feel like ,we can stop abusing Shoaib Akhter the Fastest bowler Pakistan ever produced. Period.

Kindly point out the members who think Shoaib has not achieved anything in past and cannot achieve anything in future, mucho gracias.

Aur itna time nahi hai hamaray pass ke jo fail ho jayay uss ki bhi tareefein kartay rahaiN saara vaqt. :snooty:

Bhai, jo perform karay ga, uss ki tareef ho gi. Nahi perform karay ga.. tau ‘past laurals’ won’t take you far. They are all professional cricketers. They should know better than anyone else. Abhi kandhay pe charhay hein na (Islamabad mein) .. kall pathar bhi par saktay hein agar perform nahi kiya. Thats the price they pay.

ps. And motay log are so cute… bubloo bubloo se lagtay hein. :slight_smile:

^ motay bachay to cute lagtay hayn, aap ko motay log bhee cute lagtay hayn? Allah kher karay.

I would not like to mention the name but will defenitely like to paste some comments

yada yada .. makes you think he comes to a perfect ending, sadly enough. I honestly think the more humiliation the better

His stomach reaches the crease before he does. He gets a break to get fit and what does he do? Puts on 10 kg. Great. He got what he deserved

I would rather see an average team without Akhtar that plays with unitly than a super-dooper team that plays individually when Akhtar is there.

*For those boneheads, jackass, dimwits who think Shoaib is super human, we have to apologize for not being able to post his shamyana portraits...just Not possible....wide angle wud be a understatement, this pregnant penguin needs hubble telescope
Aur itna time nahi hai hamaray pass ke jo fail ho jayay uss ki bhi tareefein kartay rahaiN saara va

Now tell me if these comments are not degrading.*

Allah ka shukhar hay, that our bowlers performed at the right time in india, but tell me honnestly we wern't hoping for that performance from them at the start of the tour and thats why most of us were hoping that shoiab could join the side to strenghten the bowling attack. And now since the bowlers have performed in one series some of us thikns that we don;t need him anymore and should throw him in the thrash.

fkhan2, none of these comments show that he has never performed, really. All these comments show is their displeasure with the player because of his own doings (oh, I'm injured, let me do some partying plz bla bla). Everyone here agrees that if he can mend his ways (not talking about drinking/partying, but remaining fit and be a team-guy, committed etc.etc.) and remain/play fit for 2 full series he is one great bowler.

Shoaib has always been his own worst enemy

Stop trying to make it look as if he is some sort of yateem who never got his chance.

The PCB has always persisted with him and spent a lot of money on him but you can only push your luck so far. Sooner or later you need to take responsibility for yourself and give back.

And oh yeah, bad mouthing your own team doesn't help.

Raindance: This only gets funnier. Getting dropped from the team made him fat. There should be a lot fat bowlers in the world then. But Brett Lee didn't get fat when he got dropped. Oops!

I said don’t degrade him AS IF HE HAS NEVER EVER PERFORMED BEFORE OR AS IF YOU HAVE NEVER EVER APPRECIATED HiS EFFORTS.

I know all of us have appreciated and loved his efforts whenever he has performed. It just that we don’t choose the right words or ways of expressing our feelings for players when they are not in our good books.

Thank you! I’m totally satisfied with you and Faizal’s responce. It just endorses
my views of the ‘ignorance’ that Pakistanis have learned to harbour within.

Instead of Bret Lee you should have taken Shane Warne’s example he suufered the same termoil through injuries and bad repute, wieght gain,etc.

Any ways , now we can just bury the hatches on Shoiab.

Yes, may he rest in peace.