Shi'a Religion : Open Discussion - Questions Are Welcome

Originally posted by nomaan:
i heard about shias praying.. and doing sujda on mitii from karbla..or something like that.
whats up with that?

According Shii fiqh, sajda during prayers can only be done on things that come out of the earth (mitti, stone, leaves). Sajda cannot be done on fabric or stuff like that.
That is just a religious interpretation of the Qur'an and the Sunnah. Just like praying with your hands by your side.

Mitti from karbala has nothing to do with it. Some people get it and use it for that, but it doesn't make a difference. (There is no special reward for doing it on mitti from karbala)

Shah-e-Mardan Sher-e-Yazdan,
Quwwat-e-Parwardigar,
Lafatah illa ALI,
La Saif ila Zulfiqar
========================

So lets make this clear one more time:

Matam IS NOT part of religion of Islam in ANY way, correct? It does not have any basis in Islam what so ever, correct?

We shall get into al kafi soon, I hope.

Here is another trivia for you:

Are your 12 imaams infallible?

Question for Mr Thand Meetha, does your verison of islam, whatever that may be cuz it obviously is not sunni, teach tolerance?? does it say to go and start conflict with people who hae other beliefs? being a sunni, i was taught that no matter what anyones else belevies, be it hinduism, judaism, bhuddism, shiites, a muslim is never suppose to put the other down, it it against islam......so if u want to have a mature discussion here do it, otherwise post your content and hatred somewhere else.

You are right. Maatam has NO religious bases for it.

OUr 12 Imams are part of the 14 Infallibles which also include Prophet Mohammad(saw) and his daughet Hazrat Fatima (as)

Quwwat-e-Parwardigar,
Lafatah illa ALI,
La Saif ila Zulfiqar
========================

TMP. What about suicide bombers (the ones in Kashmir and in the Mideast)? Are they all going to go to hell as well?

Originally posted by Lady from Lahore:
Question for Mr Thand Meetha, does your verison of islam, whatever that may be cuz it obviously is not sunni, teach tolerance?? does it say to go and start conflict with people who hae other beliefs? being a sunni, i was taught that no matter what anyones else belevies, be it hinduism, judaism, bhuddism, shiites, a muslim is never suppose to put the other down, it it against islam......so if u want to have a mature discussion here do it, otherwise post your content and hatred somewhere else.

I respect your view, and that is what I have been trying to do throughout this thread. Muslims need to be more tolerant. Only then can Islamic world reach its peak.

Most of all we should explore each others view and learn what the other has to say, before saying anything. Muslims should not be as close minded as they are now.

Quwwat-e-Parwardigar,
Lafatah illa ALI,
La Saif ila Zulfiqar
========================

LFL, so you feel "put-down" by my comments? I am asking him QUESTIONS about shiaism, as he invited us to ask him, what is wrong with that? There is no my version of islam and your version of islam lady. There is ONLY one version of Islam(QUran and SUnnah), you either like it and go by it or you don't and creat new things over it just because it does not fit your needs. *

Abbas, I asked a question about your 12 imaams, and if they were infallible? Prove to us, if they were, how they were infallible?

bhai abbas thaktay nahi ho tum

the problem is some people here dont come here to learn, rather picking fights with others and try to put them down

I quite agree with sheraz. Abbas bhai, no one is serious online. This talk would take you nowhere.
Is say acha aap ja kar majlisein sunnein aaur learn karein.
Appreciate your efforts though.

As for shuuni and non-shia brothers. U might as well wanna visit http://www.karbala-najaf.org/ and listen to some of the debates there. Most of the points u dont seem to understand have been answered there.

Wait a minute, Thanda meetha Paani is only asking valid questions. I did'nt see any insults so far and if brother lashkr-e-Abbas is so patient with his replies then let him answer the questions. I suggest others who want to side-track the questions asked should extract their own conclusions from the answers, Good or Bad and keep their 2-cents worth in their pockets - could one day help for a bus fare.

[This message has been edited by zman (edited March 28, 2001).]

Originally posted by zman:
**Wait a minute, Thanda meetha Paani is only asking valid questions. I did'nt see any insults so far and if brother lashkr-e-Abbas is so patient with his replies then let him answer the questions. I suggest others who want to side-track the questions asked should extract their own conclusions from the answers, Good or Bad and keep their 2-cents worth in their pockets - could one day help for a bus fare.

[This message has been edited by zman (edited March 28, 2001).]**

I totally agree

salam

I have a question concerning the matam the shia's do in Muharram .... I know it is because of the incident that happened to Hazarat Hussain alaihis salam but what is the point of beating yourself with knives and bleeding.
Thanks and may god bless you

lashkare Abbas,
I think most shias of this forum would not completely agree with your interpretation of shia beliefs. We may have some input.
e.g.
Matham is not part of religion.
Doing Mutah does not take one to a higher status.
Matham with knives is not allowed.

Abbas:
Has Quran been changed, corrupted and is different from its original state. If yes, has it been done intentionally by prophet Muhammad's companions? What is the shia belief?

The events that Shias commomorate to remember the Martyrs of Karbala was founded by Zaineb (as). She was the sister of Imam Hussain and she was in Karbala during the tragedy.

Imam Jafer-e-Sadiq was actively involved in promoting the events of karbala as were the rest of the imams - from the 4th Imam to the last.

We do not mourn for their death for surely they are living in the presence of Allah (swt), as the Qur'an tells us

Shias mourn for the attrocities that the progeny of the holy apostle (pbuh) had to bear, the way they were killed, the things that Yazid, son of Mauwiya, had done to the Martyrs' families.

What is the shia believe in calling someone non-muslims. Some sunnis (the ignorant ones) go ahead and call everyond else non-muslims and most I know believe that ONLY ALLAH decides who is Muslim and who is not. So For sunnis were the first 3 Khalifas Muslims. Were they traitors? What were they? I have heard wierd roumers about how some shias dis-respect Umer,AbuBakar and Uthman. But on the other hand they were only roumers.

a1shah bhai i told them the same thing many times..yet these people come up with the same questions...they have respect for the munafiqs but they dont know much bout Prophets beloved family..they dont know Imam Hussain's head got cut off infront of His sister while he was doing Sajda

soye huay ko jagaya jaa sakta hai but jo sonay ki acting ker raha ho usko nahi jagaya jaa sakta

Originally posted by Nargis:
**salam

I have a question concerning the matam the shia's do in Muharram .... I know it is because of the incident that happened to Hazarat Hussain alaihis salam but what is the point of beating yourself with knives and bleeding.
Thanks and may god bless you**

There is no point but to show one's grief, and to highlight the great sacrifice. People get intrigued by it. Ask questions and then learn (Although sometimes it kinda repels people).

It would be great if you could differentiate between ** what Shi'as do ** and what *Shiaism tells you to do *
There is a huge difference. We have a lot of traditions, that have no religious bases. But again, they are not forbidden by the Qur'an, so you can't really stop them from doing it (Except Maatam... Maatam is Haram. There is a fatwa against is by (Ayatollah Seestani... I think)

But most Shi'as in Pakistan don't know about it. I didn't even know about it till I came to Canada. (I did the knives thing myself twice.. before I realized, that it was forbidden)

Quwwat-e-Parwardigar,
Lafatah illa ALI,
La Saif ila Zulfiqar
========================

Originally posted by analyze it:
lashkare Abbas,
I think most shias of this forum would not completely agree with your interpretation of shia beliefs. We may have some input.
e.g.
Matham is not part of religion.
Doing Mutah does not take one to a higher status.
Matham with knives is not allowed.

I'd love it, if someone can show me one saying of an Imam that tells one to do Maatam. Imams have promoted Majlises, because they are an institution of learning and remembering the events of Karbala.

Mutah, I am pretty sure that it doesnot take one to a higher status. But again, I don't know too much on the issue. If some Shi'a brother can provide me with some info, it would be great.

Maatam with knives. Like I said, is not allowed because of the fatwa which is based on the Qur'an and Sunnah. (Think about it... How can Islam let you put your life in danger?)

Quwwat-e-Parwardigar,
Lafatah illa ALI,
La Saif ila Zulfiqar
========================

Originally posted by analyze it:
Abbas:
Has Quran been changed, corrupted and is different from its original state. If yes, has it been done intentionally by prophet Muhammad's companions? What is the shia belief?

The Qur'an has not been changed. As a matter of fact, Qur'an is a living miracle. Qur'an can never be changed, that is a central belief of Islam.
I think what you are talking about is, the order the verses are arranged in. Hazrat Ali compiled the Qur'an according to the date of revelation. The Qur'an that we have now is in a different order. It doesnot change the content. Just the arrangement. It's like reading Surah AlHamd in the 30th Chapter.

Quwwat-e-Parwardigar,
Lafatah illa ALI,
La Saif ila Zulfiqar
========================