Sharjah April 2003

Great :k:

it’s back on again. SA would have made the tourney more attractive but I’m just desperate to get the WC out of my system so anything will do.

*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *
Right, Mighty kenyans and former Wc champions Zimbwawe. I'm not saying it will be easy ride for Pakistan. These teams regardless of their current performace are still "weak". It's the best opportunity for the players to get their confidence up. We will know where they stand against weaker oppositions.

Allah ka bnda nothing wrong in caling these teams weak , the truth is they are.

On the side note I'm sure Umair meant Kenya and Zimb.Sri Lanka is a proffesional side and without Murali and they are bound to struggle. I'm not counting them weak by no means. They aren't unbeatable either. At current the Srilankan team is average.

With current Pakistani team,I dont know whome to call weak ZIM,KEN or PAK.

*Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *

With current Pakistani team,I dont know whome to call weak ZIM,KEN or PAK.

Although it is a young team I dont think Kenya will be a huge problem for them or for that matter even Zimbabwe. They relied heavily on Andy Flower and it will be interesting to see how they play without him. I'm sure it wont be an easy ride for Pakistan but inshallah we will come through.

Saleem Elahi pulled out of Sharjah squad

The National Selection Committee has withdrawn Saleem Elahi from next month’s one-day tournament in Sharjah. The series will be played between April 3 and 10.

“We are sad for Saleem Elahi because we sincerely wanted to retain him in the team as we thought he was improving and would learn more under the wings of someone like Javed Miandad. But despite our several requests to the organizers of the tournament, 16th player was not allowed because of tournament rules,” a spokesman of the selection committee said.

Meanwhile, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has received two itineraries of the rescheduled Sharjah Cup. The format of the competition depends on the availability of Zimbabwe.

If Zimbabwe agree, it would be a quadrangular tournament to be played on single league basis. However, if the Cricketers Benefit Fund Series (CBFS) fail to get Zimbabwe, the tournament will be a triangular event to be played on double league basis.

In any case, Pakistan has been scheduled to play back-to-back matches on April 3 and 4. The Pakistan cricket team will now leave for Sharjah on April 1 and the players whose teams reach the March 31 final of the NBP Patron’s Cup One-day Cricket Tournament will be allowed to represent their departments.

Source

I wouldn't say ZIM weak, but weak relative to Aus, SA, WI, Eng, India. and SL weak compared to AUS, India, SA, WI. Right now Pakistani team can't be considered as "strong" either. Its somewhere in middle, but many of players are new so I wouldn't be surprised if they don't win at all.

Okay, if Salim Elahi has been pulled out from the squad, who'll open the inning along with Taufeeq Umer from Pakistan's side?

I reckon adding Kenya in the tournament is a good idea - To consolidate their success in the World Cup and to prove that they didn't just get as far as they did because New Zealand forfitted their match.

Btw, Has Zimbabwe agreed on playing?

Saleem Elahi is pulled out from the squad… ummm… Muhammed Hafeez is a youngster who can open the innings for pakistan… lets see how pakistan will play against the kenyan’s… This time kenya will not have any luck, they have to play very hard and srilanka will b eager to defeat kenyans badly… Good luck Pakistan for the sharjah cup:k:…

kenya is a weak team for sure/.. 200 se ziada score to kia nahi jata :halo:

sirilanka.. well if waseem and saeed would have been on the team i would call sirilanka a weak team.. cuz ab wo baat hi nai rahi on main..

lets see how our new boys will play with em…

Good to see Saleem Elahi dropped :k: I think Taufeeq Umer is a much better and solid opener than Elahi. The only problem is, who will open with Taufeeq Umer. Probably Mohammad Hafeez or some other youngster in the team. Hopefully these youngsters will make the most of this opportunity.

No no to Hafeez Mohammad. I wouldn't recommend that. His position would be best on the 3rd spot as Yoyo prefered 4th and Younis Khan on 5th. Shoaib Malik with Taufeeq Umer will open the inning, I reckon and that would be just fine. I haven't seen Shoaib Malik play but lookin' at previous score cards, I'd prefer to see him. I reckon he scored a century against Kiwis; and did well in Sharjah matches in 2002.

Ehsan Bhai:- Thread headin' needs change. :)

I have seen this guy play, I wasn’t really impressed. Maybe he is better now :rolleyes:

Well what is it you didn’t like? Can you be more specific?

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *

Well what is it you didn't like? Can you be more specific?

Well I saw him only a few times, but he didnt look confident out there at all. He seemed to be scared of the ball. I know he has scored a couple centuries I think in ODI's but when me and my dad saw him bat, we were amazed at how he scored those centuries. I think he would be better off to tests, as he likes to take his time out there. He seems to be a good bowler, he has exactly the same action as Saqlain, and some experience I think will make him a better bowler. He is pretty good in feild, as he can throw himself around. As for Sharjah, I don't think Pakistan should open with him, maybe Hafeez Mohammad would be a better choice or maybe some other youngster in the squad who hasn't be tried yet.

*Originally posted by yaasir: *

Well I saw him only a few times, but he didnt look confident out there at all. He seemed to be scared of the ball. I know he has scored a couple centuries I think in ODI's but when me and my dad saw him bat, we were amazed at how he scored those centuries. I think he would be better off to tests, as he likes to take his time out there. He seems to be a good bowler, he has exactly the same action as Saqlain, and some experience I think will make him a better bowler. He is pretty good in feild, as he can throw himself around. As for Sharjah, I don't think Pakistan should open with him, maybe Hafeez Mohammad would be a better choice or maybe some other youngster in the squad who hasn't be tried yet.

I totally agree. Shaoib is not an answer to our batting misery. He still young and inexperience who knows we can see a turnaround of his performance. So far I'm not very optimstic about him.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *

Well what is it you didn't like? Can you be more specific?

Shoiab is a handy batsmen and personally I think it might not be a bad idea to ask him to open though I dont think that will happen. He is techincally very correct and plays with a very straight bat. The only problem that he has is lack of confidense. I dont think he is scared of the ball or anything its just that when you are unsure about your future with the team it puts that much extra pressure on you. Not being a regular batsman, not a regualr member of the team if you ask a guy to open ofcourse he will be nervous. He doesnt really hit many boundries, not a big striker of the ball. Last time I saw him play at first he even had problems rotating the strike. But if we put faith in him (comeon if we can do it for Afridi) he can turn out to be an excellent allrounder. We have given Afridi so many chances although he was technically as bad as it gets why not give Shoaib a chance who atleast have the basics right.

We had handful of handy batsmen. Did it help? No. We need solid specialist openers. Hafeez and taufiq might sound okay depending how Hafeez cope in the international arena.
I have a feeling Umer gul , Taufeeq and misbah ul haq might come up big. It's just an educational guess ;)

I think taufeeq has proved himself in the SA tour n the world cup....he seemed to be the only one among the runs in the tests against SA(he averages 40 in test matches).....scoring a century.....he put up a decent performence in the world cup....an average of 30.33......Misbah did well against the aussies in the tournament in kenya.....he seems to be good....!!

Here we go again–>Openin’ pair problemo. :smack: Has Misbah ever played as an opener? If he hasn’t, I don’t expect him to open. Maybe, newbie Hafeez Mohammad along with Taufeeq Umer. We can send Shoaib Malik at 7th wicket down spot. Misbah-ul-Haq position would be better on 3rd position.

Umer Gul and Mohammad Sami will be our first 10 overs bowlin’ pair. Then, again, we’ll have to see how Umer Gul and Mohammad Hafeez perform in the ODI match.

So, here’s the team:-

• Taufeeq Umer.

• Hafeez Mohammad.

• Misbah-ul-Haq.

• Yousuf Youhana.

• Younis Khan.

• Abdul Razzaq. (All-rounder)

• Rashid Latif (Skipper).

• Shoaib Malik.(Spinner)

• Danesh Kaneria.(Spinner)

• Umer Gul. (Fast Bowler)

• Mohammad Sami. (Fast Bowler)

I totally agree. Shaoib is not an answer to our batting misery. He still young and inexperience who knows we can see a turnaround of his performance. So far I'm not very optimstic about him.

The match I saw, he looked very gritty, good technique and started hitting big shots at the end so he can hit the sixes as well. People said that Taufeeq shouldn't be in the side because he wasn't a big hitter, but I like players who can bat properly and don't throw their wickets. I'd need to see more of him but he looked ok from what I've seen.

Zimbabwe, Kenya to replace South Africa at Sharjah Cup

Reuters - 28 March 2003

Zimbabwe and Kenya have accepted invitations to replace South Africa at next month’s Sharjah Cup, organisers said on
Friday.

The tri-nation tournament, which was to feature South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, had been planned for April 1-10 but organisers were forced to reschedule after South Africa pulled out because of the war in Iraq.

The Sharjah Cup, amended to a four-team event, will now take place from April 3 to 10.

“We are glad that both countries have accepted the invitation,” Zahid Noorani, chief executive of the CBFS, said in a statement.

“It’s unfortunate that South Africa had to pull out, but we have put together an excellent tournament. We have two World Cup semi-finalists (Kenya and Sri Lanka) and another team (Zimbabwe) who reached the super six stage,” he added.

“The four teams will follow a round-robin league format and the top two teams will clash in the final on April 10.”

Kenya and Zimbabwe were invited by organisers on Wednesday to replace South Africa in the tournament, subject to clearance from their respective ministries of foreign affairs.

“Yes we’re are going to be there and the team is preparing to fly out on Tuesday (April 1),” Kenya Cricket Association chairman Jimmy Rayani told Reuters.

“We shall have the same team that participated in the just-concluded World Cup, minus two or three players.”

He did not say which players would miss out on the Sharjah trip.

Kenya, knocked out of the World Cup semi-finals by India earlier this month, were the first non-test nation to get beyond the first stage of cricket’s showpiece event.

Sharjah Cup schedule:

April 3 - Pakistan v Zimbabwe

April 4 - Pakistan v Sri Lanka

April 5 - Zimbabwe v Kenya

April 6 - Sri Lanka v Kenya

April 7 - Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe

April 8 - Pakistan v Kenya

April 10 - Final

© Reuters

Source: Cricinfo