Sharjah April 2003

*Originally posted by funguy: *
I wonder if this tournament will go ahead after the current crisis in the gulf region. Would South africa show up?.

I don't see why not, Sharjah's more like a holiday destination and SA are not a bunch of cry babies so I reckon they'll want to show.

LOL@ bunch of cry babies :hehe:

common xtreme bhai.. they have to act like one.. Jaan hia to jahaan hia rigtht:)

so did they announce the team or no?

whoever in in USA.. plz tell me the source of the game.. where u ppls will watch the game..

i bought the whole WOrldcup package just an hour before the india pakistan match and we lost it.. and then the game with zimbabve we couldnt play.. now ammi will get mad if i talk about buying the sharjah cup :teary1:

wat to doooooooooooooooooooooo :teary1:

is Willow tv showin the matches?

Your punishment should have been to watch every single ball bowled during the nine super sixes matches. :smiley:

I'm pretty sure that ARY digital have signed up all the Sharjah matches so europe-based viewers should subscribe if they can.

proudpakistani007,

The squad has been announced but they still have to pick the team. I think the batting will be ok, but I haven't seen much of these bowlers. They might find it tough.

Now we know who was responsible for Pakistan’s WC debacle. Right under our noses. :mad:

ehsan bhia dun be meannnnnn :crying:
pakistan was continuously losing na so i thought mere worldcup buy karlainay say hum jeet jaingay :blush:

laikin ultaa hua :smash: :crying:

and u know wat bhia.. yeh sab aap kanjoooos logoan ki wajah say hua hia.. ab mujh akailiii say kia farq parta aap saray khailkhilari walay worldcup buy karte to aaj situation different hoty..

kanjooooos awaaaam te kanjooos guppies :hoonh:

Xtreme bhia… waseem waqar saqlain and muhammad samii are great bowlers… why u worrying?

FunGUY.. OMG>… how do u knwo that :teary1: aur jab bhi main kahaon ke ammi its boringggggg pakistan to hai nahi… phir itni saari dant parti hia keke isi liay kehty thi in Nikkkamain(pakistani cricketers) ke laiy itne paisay nahi waste karoo :mad:

btwww I always watch the game in da morning before commin to school… its fun… i hate when tinduu scoressss HIghs mad

Muhammed Sami shud b given more time by miandad
hez a good young pace bowler who can bowl in 140's and the line lenght is also perfect and what else u want for a good bowler...

South Africa could pull out of Sharjah event
Richard Sydenham (Bloomberg) - 20 March 2003

South Africa may pull out of a cricket tournament starting in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, next week because of security fears following the US-led attacks on Iraq.

"At the moment we're going but if the situation gets worse we may cancel," Gerald Majola, the United Cricket Board of South Africa's chief executive, said in an interview.

Majola met today with officials of the twice-yearly tournament scheduled for April 1-10 and including Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

"We are getting a daily update from our foreign affairs department and embassy in the region and will be told if it's dangerous to go," Majola said.

Sport in the region has already been affected. Tiger Woods, the world's number one golfer, and other players withdrew from the Dubai Desert Classic in the UAE this month.

South Africa was eliminated from the World Cup in the first round and fired Shaun Pollock as captain. Graeme Smith, 22, took over, becoming South Africa's youngest-ever captain.

© Bloomberg

I don't blame them, I don't think the Pakistani team shouldn't go either, this is real time war, anything can happen.

Umair bhai, Sharjah is quite far from the actual war zone. However, I think cancellation of the tournament is on the cards, especially if chemical weapons are used.

If chemical weapons are used, would that help the ball seam off the pitch or reverse swing?

I doubt chemical weapons will be used so I don't really see a problem. If Saddam was that much of a nutter he could have used them last time when he launched the scuds at Israel.

I expect the South Africans to compete in Sharjah otherwise it will completely expose their hypocrisy during the WC held in Africa. I think they are better than that.

I know Sri Lankans will be there a week early. Boy, those Lankans don't miss any opportunity.

My gut feeling is that the tourny will be pulled. With a full scale war going on next door, its hardly the right atmosphere for a cricket tournament.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
My gut feeling is that the tourny will be pulled. With a full scale war going on next door, its hardly the right atmosphere for a cricket tournament.

Can we move it to Pakistan?

*Originally posted by Changez_like: *

Can we move it to Pakistan?

Only if you promise to come to the final

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

The tournament won't get pulled unless the South African's are full of ****.

Yeah sure. You have my permission. :k:

ps. Make sure you inform that Zia dude, ok?

It looks like there actually is some ray of hope for Pakistan.

So even if South Africa refuses to play in Sharjah, we can always invite our lovely neighbors. Being the WC finalist and possible winners, they might just take their current form into account and maybe say yes to playing.

As far as the quality of all 3 teams is concerned, all of them will be looking for a fresh start. Sri Lanka will be without Desilva and Murali, so they will be a little weak in both bowling and batting. South Africa are with their new look squad as well with Kristen retiring and a new captain and Pakistan with a new team.