sh!T hit fan again....

Re: sh!T hit fan again....

UK main kaamwali????

I am actually in favor of Nadz.

The kaam wali has no right to be rude and badtameez, regardless of who asks her what. But this is a common kaamwali attitude in Pakistan, especially among the older, more permanent kaamwalis. The moment they feel that the house cannot run without them, they begin "chonchalapan". It is very frustrating to deal with.

These sort know just who NOT to piss off, in this case the MIL. But let me tell you, she will even be able to get away with arguing with MIL at times without repercussions. Simply because a lot of the household work depends on her. That is just the system the MIL has put in place and is comfortable with. The MIL works so she needs this woman who she can trust to do the work as per some sort of routine, however haphazard.

Sorry nadz, you have a bad deal, but you really need to listen to advice and not talk to this woman. If your MIL asks you to engage with her (I think she gave you money to tell kaamwali to get food?) then say "Ap khud baat kar len."

Few more months girl. And you are home!

If you ask a 'kaamwali' in UK to serve someone who was not included in the initial employment contract, she would call the labour department.

uff.....don't just compare and leave it at that.....

how did your cousin deal with the problem?
maybe the advice would help nadz.

Don't ever get man involved in women's fight and issues. The sooner you learn this the better.

Instead of creating a scene in front of the whole family, your husband could've talked to the maid in private. Your husband raising his voice on maid and the maid answering back doesn't look like a respectable picture to me, its actually quite insulting for people involved.

Re: sh!T hit fan again…

Did kaam wali come back to work today :hmmm:

kaam wali is live-in.....I think.

^ she run away routay Howe.

I love nadz. I joined this forum because of her :D I say, forget sahir lodhi/nadia khan show, nadz should have her own!

Common kaamwali attitude, no right to be rude, chonchlapan?

Wow, if the employers have such pre conceived notions re kaamwalis, it is no wonder there is this tension. Attitude matters. If one treats kaamwalis as equals, it will be reciprocated. True measure of a human being is NOT who they know, how powerful they are. It is how they treat people below them in the social order.

pre conceived notions are there for a reason.

so are cliches.

Wonder what reasons justify pre concieved notions. Confused abt cliche part.

Funny how we quickly accept the rights offered by desi culture (kaamwali as a slave) and not the obligations attached with it. I was brought up with the help of a 'kaamwali' who has been with our family for decades. She can scold my mother, order me around and take whatever she likes from the refrigerator to eat or drink. Those are not her 'chonchalay'. Those are rights of an employee who has given her life serving our family. I was rather proud that we treated her like a part of our family.

Re: sh!T hit fan again…

Our family was known for ‘spoiling’ kaamwalis also :hehe:

There was this ‘‘aunty’’ once, she hired an old guy as watchman. But during day time, he didn’t have much to watch over, so she made him wipe the leaves of her 100 potted plants.

If a kaamwali is a servant i still dont think its appropriate to get into aggressive fights like that especially if shes an older lady... Try an confront your MIL and family about the matter if they are the ones who have employed her. Its understandable if she doesn't listen to you since your not the one whos paying her.

why?

the mentality, basically, that how dare a kamwaali do badtameezi is sad. You lost a little respect in my eyes for this Nadz. If you were any closer to the religion, you would know the rights of kaam waalis or even slaves, for that matter.

Whats more amazing is that you are ashamed of all of us for not getting your point still (not taking your side).

You made the kaamwali cry hysterically. Didnt your heart even quiver? Allah ka shukr hai I was not in your place.

shes not old.

shes rude. she screams when she doesnt wsnt to do anything. this is her. ive been her 2 years. so dont tell me how disrespectful ive been to HER. i put up with her bull for 2 years and didnt say anything, because of mil etc. but i had enough recently.

no one did anything to her. my hiusband very calmly said dont be rude to nadz, simple. if u cant do something, then POLITLY say it. she started SHOUTING at him and began all sorts of arguments and she was th eone who raised her voice first and then began hystercially crying herself. my husband was feeding my daughter at the time NOT ARGUING with her, he then obv got peed off and thats when she stomped off and told me in no uncertain terms that god will punish me.

so. whatever.

its not a kaamwali, its how dare ANYONE do batameexi for no reason.

Naukar politics is a complete sub-discipline within the Saas-Bahu system.