sex ed comes to Canada. Very worried

Re: sex ed comes to Canada. Very worried

My concern is whether you or I believe it or not...its out there. And its happening. And unless I put my kid a sound proof room...I cannot stop him from picking up these things from somewhere. It will happen.

Teaching children to respect their space as well as others' is also a part of this education.

Wait, you're telling me education will lead to teenage pregnancies?

What exactly does sex education mean to you? Sex education does not mean teaching kids HOW to have sex.

Oh and what do I have to back my views with? Huffingtonpost. READ MY LINK otherwise I'd kick you back to your cocoon.

Those parents can go to hell for protesting....in fact, how dare they disagree with the government's education policies!

we can do something about such proposals before they become part of the law. by the mean of protests, parents show their disagreement on the way the education system is layed out.

our kids will hear things from the outer world and i feel it is better for kids to come to parents and ask about such topics. parents should also make sure they have given their kids a comfortable zone for them to raise any topic or questions within the household. this way each parent can control what they want to teach their kids regrading sexual relationships.

no, i am.not telling you education will lead to teenage pregnancy but srxual education to young kids will lead to sexual curiosity among teens and thus pregnancies.

i have attended a sex ed class with my younger sister about 4/5 yrs ago. she was 11/12yrs old. tbh the videoa and talk were in no way preventing the kids from having sex. the sex between the teens were an obvious matter in the whole discussion and the educators were just explaining how to use condoms, where to go for emergency contraceptions. an introduction cartoon was showing a teen couple following in love, kissing, fondling and then attempting sex. this was followed by explaining the various std teens can catch up.

was it useful for these kids? imo, not really. would it be useful for a 18yrs? yes maybe.

That is bad stuff to teach kids.. :nono:
Dirty stuff for an old person to talk to childern with.

I guess we can resort to the usual "to each their own" because I am not at all for letting my kids walk around ignorant to the issues out there. Safety comes first and foremost...they have no use for innocence if they can't protect themselves.

what issues are you talking about, that are covered in those sex ed? i am curious to know

if these sessions were about protecting modesty of private parts, not being emotionally blackmailed by opposite gender for sexual acts, knowing how to report sexual harassment and inappropriate touching and teaching.kids safety measurements while travelling alone -eg never taknig same route alone in order to avoid being followed - then yeah sex ed will be so useful and parents would feel their children have gained a sense of precautions for the issues out there.

but unfortunately, from.my own experience of attending such sessions,the whole empathisis of these sessions are on voluntary sexual relationship between couples and the risks of not being protected against diseases.

reproduction is a major topic of biology in.high school. why is there a need for another group to come and teach the same subject again? biology syllabus cover reproduction and puberty.

Okay...so here's the way I see it. I and my parents chose to live in a country where sex is a very normal thing. Americans have casual relationships, flings, long term relationships, they get married, they get divorced, they have gay marriages now, they have boyfriends and girlfriends and sometimes both at the same time.

My parents came here before they had the 4 of us girls, we went to an all girls private prep school and we STILL found out about all of this stuff before they thought we did. You will not be able to control all aspects of your kids' lives...you can try of course and you might even succeed but that has its own consequences. Another topic. Anyway, long story short not talking about things or pretending as if its not there or turning a blind eye will not make it go away.

Sex IS happening in schools and colleges and instead of telling people to stop talking about it...its better to tell our kids the difference between right and wrong at home. You can't expect schools to do all the work for you.

I have a 6 month old boy. When he goes to school and he's sitting in grade 1 and his teachers talk about inappropriate touching...I will have already tried my best to talk about it with him. Grade 1 means he's about 5 or 6...I don't want him to get his advice from teachers...this should be old news for him because he's already been drilled at home by me.

When he's in grade 2 and his teachers discuss major body parts and differentiating between genders I want to teach him to respect others' space, body, what is okay and not okay.

So on and so forth.

I grew up in a little bubble in America...we were so overprotected that when we got to college everything shocked our senses and I don't want that for my kid. I have no complaints towards my parents because they were immigrants and did a great job even though they had so many struggles. But I really don't want to see a confused look on my kid's face. No way.

Do I think my way is the only way or even the right way? No. But I do believe knowledge is power.

Maybe some kid out there who's uncle keeps touching him inappropriately out of "love" might be forced to think about it and go to an adult rather than pay for the consequences for the rest of his life.

And one last thing...sexual education does not lead to sexual curiosity. The reason sex education is being introduced is because non-Muslims are trying to help kids think before they act on that curiosity. Hormones are real...Pakistan ki population aye vayeen nahin barti chali jarahi hai.

I thought you don’t talk about “S-e-x in front of B-a-b-y”:smiley:

Still will read other links and then let u know… Uske alawa what they are teaching… WO bhi pta chal jayega… Aur us pr depend krta hai…

But Maine bahas mein nhi pdna hai..AGR still I feel the same way… My kid my way:snooty:

Be reasonable Southie... Don't send people back to cacoons they are all adults here....;)

Don't you wish life was this simple :)

Here is what scare the heck out of parents. Enjoy.

Grade 1 (age 6): Genitalia & consent

• Graphic lesson on sexual body parts including "penis", "testicles", "vagina" and "vulva"

Grade 3 (age 8): Gender as a changeable social construct

• Will teach the disputed theory of "gender identity" as if it were fact. This is the notion that whether you're a boy or a girl does not necessarily relate to your physical anatomy. It is merely a "social construct". Gender is "fluid" according to this theory, and any little boy can decide that he is actually a girl, if that's the way he feels in his mind, or vice-versa.
  • The potential for causing serious sexual confusion in the minds of children is very real with this teaching. See excerpts from the actual 2015 curriculum document below.
  • Grade 3: Homosexuality [LIST]
  • Will normalize homosexual family structures and homosexual "marriage" in the minds of 8-year-olds, without regard for the religious/moral beliefs of families. See excerpt from the actual 2015 curriculum below.

Grade 4 (age 9): Romantic dating

• Will introduce children to the idea of being “more than just friends” and “going out” with classmates whom they may “like”. See excerpt below from the actual 2015 curriculum.

[/LIST]

Grade 6 (age 12): Masturbation

• Encourages masturbation as a "pleasurable" way for children to learn about their bodies. See excerpt from the actual 2015 curriculum document below.

Grade 6 (age 12): Masturbation

• Encourages masturbation as a "pleasurable" way for children to learn about their bodies. See excerpt from the actual 2015 curriculum document below.
  • Regardless of what any person's moral stance is on the practice of masturbation, all fair-minded people should agree that the government has no business actively promoting/encouraging 12 year olds to masturbate.

Grade 7: Sexual Pleasure

• Teacher may help 12-yr-olds to appreciate an “understanding of your own body, including what gives you pleasure”.

Grade 8: "Make a personal plan' about your sexual activity

• To a lot of parents, reading a curriculum suggestion for grade 8's in which the teacher is to help students make a sexual plan for themselves sounds a little perverse. Is it age-appropriate to suggest to grade 8's that they should make a plan in which they decide how far they're willing to go with sexual activity, and then "stick to what I had planned".
  • The next teacher prompt once again risks sending the message to grade 8 kids that "we expect you may be having sex or will very soon".

Grade 8: Keep a condom with you

• Children will be taught to keep a condom on their person in case there's a chance "they will be having sex sometime soon".

More Hareem logic. And projection.

For I haven't said anything against religion. While u called secularism crappy.

Lage raho, deviji. Shabash.

A mild suggestion - find something better to protest. Like inter sect killings. Treatment of Ahmedis. Massacre of Muslims in Gujarat. Unjust wars. Big oil. Counties with big carbon footprint. Wasteful practices that contribute to climate change. Corruption.

And last but not the least, protest against these parents.

I am not the one making this about the S word. In fact I have stated multiple times the curriculum is about Physical and Health Education. With S comprising only 10 pct of curriculum.

Do read other links. Better stlll, do ur own search. Using key words that you think would provide you real INFORMATION about what the curriculum in Caneyda is about.

Lastly, put yourself in the shoes of the minorities being discussed here. And ask urself how you would want Society, including parents of these kids, to treat u. And how u would want the schools to treat u. Based on ur posts, in the past, I know the answer ONCE you get the correct information. And the answer will surprise you.

Link please.

That is Hareem logic. But here is what my posts state

You can either remain ignorant reading the link from a religious organization that Muzna posted. Or you can educate yourself.

I guess you have made your choice. Why am I not surprised.

Lage raho. Khoob lage raho.

Here is a link that nay help those who find it challenging to comprehend simple concepts of tolerance and equality (equality not just for themselves and those of their ilk and faith but for other minorities as well)

Liberals unveil first update to sex-ed curriculum since 1998 - 680 NEWS

The protests are much ado about nothing. Either due to ignorance - wilful or otherwise, or just lack of comprehensive skills. Or just good old fashioned bigotry.

Good for the school system that brings some common sense into this issue.

Lol, last time I checked 5 year olds were not racist or intolerant of gays. Why? Because they are freakin 5

i think people are confusing few things here.

sex education to adults in poor country where population is growing is a must! but let's face it, population of poor muslim country are not icreasing due to hormones but due to lack of contraceptions and lack of health education to married couple.unmarried teen pregancy is not a major issue in these countries.

also sex education taught in school and education regarding puberty and sexual harassment at home / school is different.

if you live in west, you should expect these things and embrace them. Can't really make your host country shariah compliant can you?

Your kids will be exposed to all this atheism, sex stuff and gay/tranny things AND they will absorb it and see it according to the society they live in. Some will explore and start doing these things - if now then later.

So, in short, people living in west should not be in denial about what their grandchildren will be like. Their future generations will assimilate in host culture and ultimately indulge in all these things you are afraid of. The question is, why fight it?