Re: Seafood - Crab/Lobster Halal?
dang man we left u speechless?
rotfl
Jee aap hein hee itnei rob-daar. Aap kei aagei bolnei kee majaal kon ker sekta hei! :P
Crab/Lobster not halaal in Hanafi Fiqh, but prohibitively disliked in Shafai Fiqh. I double checked today.
Man... I found out today that 'clam chowder' contain clams and, possibly, pork salt... Please avoid it in the future.
Could you provide some Quranic or Hadeeth referrence to this statement? What I had been taught was that all birds of prey, apart from some birds (halal for unknown reasons), and all animals that are carnivores are haraam.
There is no trap or agenda - just trying to clarify the matter ![]()
Crab/Lobster not halaal in Hanafi Fiqh, but prohibitively disliked in Shafai Fiqh. I double checked today.
Man... I found out today that 'clam chowder' contain clams and, possibly, pork salt... Please avoid it in the future.
damn...pork in clam chowder..
good thing is I dont liek clam chowder to begin with.
what pisses me off is when pork is added to shyt and you dont know, like beans...with a bacon base..or spanish rice with a pork base..
sheesh.
hey dude, can you help us all and put a table here, each school of thought and their views on seafood of diff types.
that would be great.
Could you provide some Quranic or Hadeeth referrence to this statement? What I had been taught was that all birds of prey, apart from some birds (halal for unknown reasons), and all animals that are carnivores are haraam. There is no trap or agenda - just trying to clarify the matter :)
You defination might be right. The other day I read another defination. "those whose flapping of the wings while flying is more than gliding are Halal to eat. Birds that keep their wings fixed while flying more than flapping, are Haram".
I was reading in alabalagh.net which is very authentic Hanafi maslak website and that says "There is no all encompassing principle that can be applied here. There is a list available ..." (that can be added or subtracted from, obviously)
hey dude, can you help us all and put a table here, each school of thought and their views on seafood of diff types. that would be great.
Mashallah, Pir Sahib is asking for the rulings and think that it would be great. Jannat main hoorain jashan mana rahi hon gi aaj
khan sahab, i have been asking for verdicts from all schools of thought from my initial posts in the
PS: Any good deed that I do is a cause of jubilation among hoors in janat, they all want to get with the pir.
zarra nawazi hai aap ki
Khan Sahib, yahaan Mufti ko kaun maan rahaa hai kay Yai un kaa fatwaa maanain gay. Yahaan to Ghair-Muqallid kee fauj jamaa hai.
Ironically, Ghair Muqallideen are themselves muqallid of Muhammad bin Abdul Wahab.
Ones in Pakistan? No not at all.
And Muhammed ibn Abdul Wahhab himself said he is Hanbali, but he differed with some of the Madhbas rulings, and claimed to be a Mujtahid in the Madhab.
Ghair Muqllids in Pakistan do taqleed of their scholars without admitting it.
khana toh aam tha yahan paer ginnay lagay log..;)
I was not talking about Wahabi’s, when I said that. Aap nay un ko fuzool main ghaseet liya:)
I agree and it always surprises me that they do taqleed of their scholars (without admitting it) and think that following Abu Hanifa is next to Shirk of somekind.
I heard a talk by their famous scholars who mentioned an Ayat of Quran saying that Jews used to say that we will not listen to you (O, Prophet), rather we will follow the faith of our fore fathers (my words, not exact translation). He further said that these people who follow a Fiqh (Hanafi, Sahhfi …) are like those Jews.
Another one of their Aalim said that Hanafi’s will discard the Hadees of :saw: if it conflicts with the saying of Abu Hanifa or with the rule of Hanafi Maslak. Astaghfarullah.
I heard a talk by their famous scholars who mentioned an Ayat of Quran saying that Jews used to say that we will not listen to you (O, Prophet), rather we will follow the faith of our fore fathers (my words, not exact translation). He further said that these people who follow a Fiqh (Hanafi, Sahhfi ...) are like those Jews.
Actually, it is a general message to all humanity, and not about jews alone:
وإذا فعلوا فحشة قالوا وجدنا عليها ءاباءنا والله أمرنا بها قل إن الله لا يأمر بالفحشاء أتقولون على الله ما لا تعلمون
Also, Tariq, who is this gentleman you're talking about? Does he claim to be a scholar or something?
Actually, it is a general message to all humanity, and not about jews alone:
وإذا فعلوا فحشة قالوا وجدنا عليها ءاباءنا والله أمرنا بها قل إن الله لا يأمر بالفحشاء أتقولون على الله ما لا تعلمون
Also, Tariq, who is this gentleman you're talking about? Does he claim to be a scholar or something?
Jazakallah, although the speaker was talking about the following Aya't. Sura Baqara, 170.
170 وَإِذَا قِيلَ لَهُمُ اتَّبِعُوا مَا أَنزَلَ اللّهُ قَالُواْ بَلْ نَتَّبِعُ مَا أَلْفَيْنَا عَلَيْهِ آبَاءَنَا أَوَلَوْ كَانَ آبَاؤُهُمْ لاَ يَعْقِلُونَ شَيْئاً وَلاَ يَهْتَدُونَUrdu 170: اور جب انہیں کہا جاتا ہے کہ اس کی پیروی کرو جو الله نے نازل کیا ہے تو کہتے ہیں بلکہ ہم تو اس کی پیروی کریں گے جس پر ہم نے اپنے باپ دادا کو پایا کیا اگرچہ ان کے باپ دادا کچھ بھی نہ سمجھتے ہوں اور نہ سیدھی راہ پائی ہو
I can PM you the name and the link so you can listen to it. I dont know if I will hurt anyone's feeling if I name the scholar and the school of thought, he belongs, here in this thread
I heard of his name before. I think that people of his school of thought consider him a scholar.
Jazakallah, although the speaker was talking about the following Aya't. Sura Baqara, 170.
170 وَإِذَا قِيلَ لَهُمُ اتَّبِعُوا مَا أَنزَلَ اللّهُ قَالُواْ بَلْ نَتَّبِعُ مَا أَلْفَيْنَا عَلَيْهِ آبَاءَنَا أَوَلَوْ كَانَ آبَاؤُهُمْ لاَ يَعْقِلُونَ شَيْئاً وَلاَ يَهْتَدُونَUrdu 170: اور جب انہیں کہا جاتا ہے کہ اس کی پیروی کرو جو الله نے نازل کیا ہے تو کہتے ہیں بلکہ ہم تو اس کی پیروی کریں گے جس پر ہم نے اپنے باپ دادا کو پایا کیا اگرچہ ان کے باپ دادا کچھ بھی نہ سمجھتے ہوں اور نہ سیدھی راہ پائی ہو
Bro, this is not specifically referring to the Jews... The address of 168 is "O Mankind!" and this is the continuation. The chapter on The cow covers a lot of material...
Sorry to differ but this ayah is not continuation of ayah 168, I'll give the reference from Ibn Abbas(ra) as well but first think logically, Allah says in this Ayah "Follow what Allah has sent down.'' **They say: "Nay! We shall follow what we found our fathers following.'',** Ok I can agree that Allah is addressing the whole mankind in the first part of ayah, but in 2nd part of the ayah it is definately only non-believers who are saying *"Nay! We shall follow what we found our fathers following.'' *
No here is the reference from Ibn Kathir:
(170 When it is said to them: "Follow what Allah has sent down.'' They say: "Nay! We shall follow what we found our fathers following.'' (Would they do that!) even though their fathers did not understand anything nor were they guided) (171. And the example of those who disbelieve is as that of him who shouts to those (flock of sheep) that hear nothing but calls and cries. (They are) deaf, dumb and blind. So they do not understand.)
Allah states that if the disbelievers and polytheists are called to follow what Allah has revealed to His Messenger and abandon the practices of misguidance and ignorance that they indulge in, they will say, "Rather. We shall follow what we found our fathers following,'' meaning, worshipping the idols and the false deities. Allah criticized their reasoning:
[FONT=Traditional Arabic]﴿أَوَلَوْ كَانَ ءَابَاؤُهُمْ﴾
((Would they do that!) even though their fathers), meaning, those whom they follow and whose practices they imitate, and:
[FONT=Traditional Arabic]﴿لاَ يَعْقِلُونَ شَيْئًا وَلاَ يَهْتَدُونَ﴾
(...did not understand anything nor were they guided) meaning, they had no sound understanding or guidance.** Ibn Ishaq reported that Ibn `Abbas said that this was revealed about a group of Jews whom Allah's Messenger called to Islam, but they refused, saying, "Rather, we shall follow what we found our forefathers following.'' **So Allah revealed this Ayah (2:170) above."
Sis you know my stand on this...
No here is the reference from Ibn Kathir: