I know we can eat fish. But I am confused about other stuff, like Lobster/Crab/Scallops. Some people say its HARAM, that’s it…anything that is able to eat with its hands/claws etc is haram. But is this so? Any able to provide reference in the quran? Then others say that rule only applies to land animals, not sea.
Then some people say it is makrooh. Please guide me.
Re: Seafood - Crab/Lobster Halal?
there is like a 10 page long discussion on this topic, dunno if anyone will have anything new, do a quick search, you will find it :)
Haram in Hanafi madhab.
what about in islam? ![]()
Allah made it haram for the hanafis, and halal for the rest?
Hanafi fiqh is based on Quran/Sunnah, so are other madhabs. Sometimes there is difference because there is differences in the text.
AOA
Here is a question and answer that is exactly about what you asked. The answer is from Quran and Sunnah and not any particular Madhab.
Choice is yours!
ASAK
Question:
Please forgive me for my ignorance in this matter. I am very interested in learning the ways of Islam. My question concerns dietary rulings. What types of fish and are permissible?
Thank you for your help.
Answer:
Praise be to Allaah.
Among the blessings that Allaah has bestowed upon us is the fact that He has made our religion easy for us, and has not made it too difficult or unbearable. He has allowed us many things that were forbidden according to previously-revealed laws. Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):
*“… Allaah intends for you ease, and He does not want to make things difficult for you…”* [al-Baqarah 2:185].
Hence all kinds of food from the sea are permissible, whether they are plants or animals, alive or dead. Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):
*“Lawful to you is (the pursuit of) water-game and its use for food – for the benefit of yourselves and those who travel…”* [al-Maa’idah 5:96].
Ibn ‘Abbaas said: “ *Sayduhu* (lit. hunting, pursuit) refers to whatever is taken from it alive, and *ta’aamuhu* (lit. its food) means whatever is taken dead.”
There are a few things – certain types of water animals – which some scholars exclude from the permission outlined above. These are:
Crocodiles. The correct view is that eating these is not allowed, because they have fangs and live on land – even though they may spend a lot of time in the water – so precedence should be given to the reason for forbidding it (it is a land animal that has fangs).
Frogs. It is not permitted to eat them because the Prophet
http://www.islam-qa.com/images/saws.gif
(peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) forbade killing them, as is reported in the hadeeth of ‘Abd al-Rahmaan ibn ‘Uthmaan, who said that the Messenger of Allaah
http://www.islam-qa.com/images/saws.gif
(peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) forbade the killing of frogs. (Narrated by Imaam Ahmad and Ibn Maajah; see also *Saheeh al-Jaami*, 6970). The rule is that everything which we are forbidden to kill, we are not allowed to eat; if we are allowed to eat it we are allowed to kill it.
Some scholars exclude sea snakes, but the correct view is that as they live nowhere except in the water, we are permitted to eat them, because of the general nature of the aayah (interpretation of the meaning*): “Lawful to you is (the pursuit of) water-game and its use for food – for the benefit of yourselves …”* [al-Maa’idah 5:96].
Otters and turtles. The correct view is that to be on the safe side, it is permissible to eat them after slaughtering them properly, because they live both on land and in the sea. Here the rule is that in the case of animals that live both on land and in the sea, the rules concerning land animals should be given precedence, to be on the safe side, so they must be slaughtered properly, except for crabs which do not need to be slaughtered, even though they live both on land and in the sea, because they do not have blood.
Everything that can cause harm is forbidden as food, even if it comes from the sea, because Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning): *“… And do not kill yourselves (nor kill one another). Surely, Allaah is Most Merciful to you.”* [al-Nisa’ 4:29] and: *“… and do not throw yourselves into destruction…”* [al-Baqarah 2:195].
(See *al-Mughni*, 11/83; *Haashiyah al-Rawd*, 7/430; *Tafseer Ibn Katheer*, 3/197; and *Ahkaam al-At’imah* by al-Fawzaan).
And Allaah knows best.
Islam Q&A
[Sheikh Muhammed Salih Al-Munajjid](http://www.islam-qa.com/index.php?ref=1919&ln=eng&txt=seafood) - is a known scholar from Saudi Arabia and a reknowned lecturer. He has many books to his credit. Widely accepted as mainstream, middle ground, non-madhab, non-salafi scholar.
they are looking at qurans with different texts?
how can that be?
does one quran call it haram and one quran call it halal? no..right because there is just one quran.
so, is the sunnah/hadeeth confusing?
I mean either it is haram for all muslims or it is halal for all muslims. and if hadeeth is contradictory then there is a problem with hadeeth, and since quran does not say anything about it being haram…why call it haram?
A-A bro
thanks for the info.
They say that you can say anyting with a smile so here is one in advance ![]()
Fraudia I know that someone called you Mr. Perfect Human Being and what ever you say is so true. That might be one individual’s opinion so dont let it get into your head
If you dont even know the reason behind the difference (that does not mean that they are against each other) of each Maslak like hanafi, shaafi, maliki then my advice is that dont bother to object. That does not make you look like a wise person just because you jump into every converstaion with a stick in your hand
They say that you can say anyting with a smile
They do?? okay
so here is one in advance :)
piss off :)
Fraudia I know that someone called you Mr. Perfect Human Being and what ever you say is so true. That might be one individual's opinion so dont let it get into your head
Now now, lets not be so jealous, nazar uttarni paray gi ja kar. yaar if that is what is bothering you let me go, I will pay himto write a post like that for youtoo, he charged me $5.75 to write that.
If you dont even know the reason behind the difference (that does not mean that they are against each other) of each Maslak like hanafi, shaafi, maliki then my advice is that dont bother to object.
You have to give me more credit than that but when we use words like 'haram' lets play it a little careful. if the poster had decided to use makrooh and given the explanation of why one school of thought considers it makrooh and others dont, I may have said something different.
But haram is a strong word, and the response I objected to did nothing in answering the poster's question. she already knew that some people consider it allowed and some disallowed. So saying that it is considered haram by hanafis does not do zilch.
so now be a good boy and answer afrosheens question. since others could not.
That does not make you look like a wise person just because you jump into every converstaion with a stick in your hand
oye buy your own stick, this is especially crafted mullah bashing bamboo.
anyways, I apologize if I hurt your sentiments which seems to be the case. Next time you are in my area or vice versa, let me make up for it. we can talk and just laught his off over some calamri, lobster and softshell crab.
Your friend
Darth Fraudia
PS: good to spar with you again, I was getting bored of these baccha log, they just dont have the mad skills you have
You know that all the Darth’s got killed at the end. :bash: (ok I am new to this emoticon business so dont make fun at this)
Anyway, you are picking up on people’s word (Hanafi Madhab vs Islam, Makrooh vs Haram). What is your take on the actual issue? Are you a lobster fan, my hard shelled friend??
actually that is not the case, they became shaheed, dont you remember at the end of return of the jedi, luke could see yoda, obi wan and anakin?
aray yaar, there is plenty fo other things to make fun of ![]()
The point is that when someone is askign a question which someone is confused about you do not just go and declare that in one schoolof thought it is ‘haram’
my take is that at best its makrooh, so moonh ban a kar kha lo.. ![]()
lobster .. I dont know who started eating it personally, it looks like an alien. I have stated it before and I wills ay it again. If i was a caveman walking on a beach with my main squeezes..and saw a lobster walk out or being caught by a fellow caveman. I would not think it was something to eat, I would immediately organize a worldwide movement of cavemen to eradicate this alien invasion from our planet. I mean I know we would be wrong but sheesh bro..dont judge, us cavemen would not have wikipedia and internet to figure out what it is.
my take is that at best its makrooh, so moonh ban a kar kha lo.. :)
Its good to know that your personal take is no different. In hanafi maslak, makrooh is as bad as haraam. If there is a shadow of doubt then according to hanafi's you better avoid that. That is all what Khanbaba was saying (was it Khanbaba who said that)? And he mentioned that its Hanafi Maslak. He did not passed an absolute judgement on that
A-A bro
thanks for the info.
waalaikum thankyou...
fraudia bro..
If I remember correctly, one of the rule for eating land animals is that it must not be an animal which eats the flesh of other animals. Does this rule also apply to seafood (since there are tons of fish which eat meat)?
I dont think that it applies here as almost every big fish eat small fish. It also doesn't apply in birds as they eat worms and what not
I was about to ask the same thing about birds right now. But going by this logic, all types of birds are halal? ..including crows, eagles, bats?
Correction, its not about the difference in text, its about the principles used in each 'school of thought' or 'madhab' to interpret the text. Thats where the versatality (a form of beauty indeed) is born.
For example, Imam Abu Hanifah lived in Iraq, which is quite far from Madinah - the place where most of the hadith-narrators lived. Therefore, he did not accept a hadith unless there were sufficient number of narrators backing it. On the other hand, Imam Shafai lived in Madinah and he found it sufficient to accept a hadith even if there was one narrator. I hope it makes sense now.
Hanafi fiqh is based on Quran/Sunnah, so are other madhabs. Sometimes there is difference because there is differences in the text.
Kabhee fiqh kee koee kitab perh kei deikh lia karein. Pls refer to my last post in this thread. It may help clearing up the confusion.