S.h.o.c.k.e.d.

*Originally posted by NeSCio: *
irem, i think u've been holding pardah on ur eyes too literally..........don't tell me you didn't know that alcohol is a common good in Pakistan nowadays

Nescio, the correct way to say that is "..don't tell me you didn't know that alcohol is for common good in Pakistan nowadays"

*Originally posted by Kaleem: *
The question is not if this stuff is around or not? If this is a norm or not? The shock is that most decent peopel will not bring beer/wine to the office and announce to every one to come drink.
Whyd do you foreign born desis get offended so easily and start bashing people with comments like "some villages in pakistan", "all problems in pakistan are becasue of foriegn born desis". Irem started the thread with not all of you baffons are like that ....but no you went right past that...maybe the whole post was too close to home.
P.S. Last I checked Pakistan was supposed to be a Muslim country ...and alcohol is banned and all that stuff that really does not matter any more in the name of being moder/educated/cultured.

the prob with the initial post was that despite her disclaimer about foreign ppl, i want to know why she associated drinking alcohol with foreign desis???? I would argue that ppl in pakistan are even worse when it comes to alcohol than foreign born desis

*Originally posted by Matsui: *

Nescio, the correct way to say that is "..don't tell me you didn't know that alcohol is for common good in Pakistan nowadays"

next thing would be:

"..don't tell me you didn't know that alcohol is good for commerce in Pakistan nowadays"

*Originally posted by Kaleem: *

Whyd do you foreign born desis get offended so easily and start bashing people with comments like "some villages in pakistan"

You are jumping to conclusions too quick. I am not foreign born neither am I bashing people with comments about "some villages in pakistan"

I'm from one of those villages at least at a very early stage of my life. Alcohol is not a major factor in those people's lives. At least it didn't used to be.

Irem, forun apnay Xtreme uncle say maafi maango. Chalo, shabash.

P.S. Last I checked Pakistan was supposed to be a Muslim country

Daikho, don't start what's not there and never will be. Pakistan is not a Muslim country and thanks to Allah tallah it never will be. So what it is supposed to be by some obsecure definition is all irrelevent. What matters is that what it is and where it will be.

Irem, in offices there is a common practice to keep all barbituates and intoxicants out. Since there are no bars in pakistan, it was only natural for your co-workers to enjoy their drinks within the confines of the office.

Yes, it is a work place and yes you are right to go and tell your boss. But! Are you ready for the consequences, if the word gets out you were the one who told on these people that may cost them their job? What if the two close friends at work decide to stay quiet and you have no one to support you? My point here is, the workplace isn’t entirely like an online bulletin board. There are consequences to your noble actions. Sometimes for one’s own job security and safety, we have to stay quiet and look the other way.

We both know alcohol is wrong, we both also know its against work ethics to bring any intoxicants into work. Abhi ke liye chup :flower1: its for your own good.

hmm i dont think it has much to do with foreign raised/bred/born pakistanis.

In 1995, I remember seeing our nextdoor neighbours in lahore (shad bagh) drunk on the eve of basant. And am certain those munde could only utter "sorry" and "thank you" in english..

but yeah ur right, they shouldnt have alcohol on the premises, unless management allowed it

It can be shocking, I agree. It's a workplace afterall. I would go to the boss and rather than mention how upset you were over the whole thing, simply ask in a calm manner about alcohol being allowed on the premises. Maybe the manager will give you the low down on the situation at work then.

I remember being in a graduate class (in the U.S.) and the professor all of a sudden announced that beer is available in the patio area. A bunch of students ran out the room and brought it back to their desks. I was shocked by that. Beer in the classroom! Sheesh. I think the school later took on a policy of not allowing beer on the premises (although I am not certain). (It was a private school.)

Truly sick and disgusting! In the Islamic Republic of Pakistan such things must not be tolerated. What do these people think of themseles? Spreading evil to others by having alcoholic drinks in the Office. If they wanna drink they should drink in their home. If discovered they should all be lashed!

Its sick Truly Sick!

I agree with sister Irem that we should be proud if we never participated in such parties!

man, now this is called sheltered life. khair.. alcohol is not banned in pakistan. u can serve alcohol as long as u have license to do so. all the major restuarants n hotels even PIA serve alcohol if requested. and irem, u dont get tun by breathing the same air where alcohol is present. weed, however, is an exception.

I think I would have been shocked too, if it's becoming an accepted practice in Pakistan.

In the US it doesn't really affect me.

I think it depends on the manner in which the drinking is being done. If it's a, "oh instead of a coke, I'll have a glass of wine" thing, I wouldn't be as annoyed/affected by it as if it were a "oh I must get drunk in order to feel cool or have fun" thing. THAT is irritating and unacceptable to me.

I assume people know the restrictions against alcohol in Islam (and under Pakistani law). It is between them and God whether or not they choose to abide by it. But I don't think it should be flaunted.

True Sahar. Most people can’t absorb this stuff just because its happening in Pakistan. Pakistan being a supposedly Islamic state and then the images of Pakistan people in the west preserved in their minds while leaving the country enhance this shock.

I have a feeling the evening shift comprises of people who came abroad for their studies, restriction-free atmosphere hazm nahi huwa and they drink like that to feel all hip and western :rolleyes: Looooozaaaazzzz.

Irem jee, desi foreigners should not be a target for this "beer" or "alcohol" spread in Pakistan. In America or Canada or idf I recall in UK work places during work hours alcohole was forbidden because its
not logical to consume alcohol during work hrs.
FYI Pakistan since 1947 produces "Muree beer" which is top quality and exported to far east and europe.
Ethinics are eligible to have lGovt licences for consumption and can buy spirit from out lets in pakistan.. I thought this was a common knwledge ,
your shock treatment is bit overdone. are against the smell or the word beer. I think we all should be very strong to understand this rather than to bury our heads in sand...

Sach sach batao how many cans did you nick?

Romeo. so where is it and where will it be ...say in next 10 years? I am willing to bet huge amount of money (if i had any...wait betting is haram in Islam) Pakistan's main religion is and will be Islam. Wether some popular minority observes or obeys the teaching of Islam is another matter.

*Originally posted by Munni: *

I remember being in a graduate class (in the U.S.) and the professor all of a sudden announced that beer is available in the patio area. A bunch of students ran out the room and brought it back to their desks. I was shocked by that. Beer in the classroom! Sheesh. I think the school later took on a policy of not allowing beer on the premises (although I am not certain). (It was a private school.)

Munni - I remember during our Orgo final the kids who had taken the class the year before brought a couple bottles of tequila and a few shot glasses and left them in front of the classroom. When the professor wandered in to check for questions he pretended not to notice (I assume it's some sort of tradition). As kids turned in their final, they took a shot.

FF - It was definitely more of the Pakistani-born desis that would drink in college. Most of us ABCDs did not. Maybe it's the background of the kids who choose to study abroad. Maybe it's the new atmosphere with freedom. Maybe it's the need to "fit in" and act Westernized. Maybe it's a combo. Not really sure.

So Irem, what happened? Did you tell on him?

Mehnaz, after I came to the office in the morning, I spoke to three friends about it. They were also shocked and we decided to tell the boss as it was clearly unacceptable behavior. One of them (who's kond of at a higher post than the others among us) went to our boss and told him about it all, turned out that our boss had actually found out about it last night and he said that the people will be warned about it this time and strict guidelines will be issued so it does not happen again. Our boss, who is a very considerate and nice person, in fact then was nice enough to call me personally and assure me that such a thing won't happen again hopefully and he realises that this must have offended employees.

p.s. Thanks everyone else for replies.

Coconut, no it wouldn’t have cost him his job, OF COURSE, because our company doesn’t have a defined alcohol policy. Its kind of understood in Pakistan as this comes under Hudood laws I think, but still, when we talked about it (amongst ourselves, before going to boss) we realised that our company does not have an alcohol policy and besides in our company ppl r not fired straight up, they are given atleast a couple warning about any misdemeanors. Previously there’s been issues [again with evening shift people] about pornography surfing on computers as well and everyone knows that they have been dealt with firmly but gently by the management. Nobody has yet been fired for it, they have been given warnings repeatedly.

Well done Irem :k:

You should have told some jounalists so next day Newspaper main khabar hoti :

’ Kal raat gaye, chand noujawan _________ ke office ke bahar Ghul ghaparra kartey hoye pakrey gaye…’

Phir apko police station jana parta Shankhat parade ke leye. :eek: