hmmm… when i think abt getting mariied i get soo soo excited lol
but at the same time when i think abt rukhsati i feel if someone is trying to kill me… whenever i think abt ma parents and sibling wdout me i get too upset (:(i feell like crying wdout rukhsati lol… i dunno wht will happen on ma rukhsati day
The day before my sister's shaadi we started reading some letters we sent each other while I was in college and she was at home (she's younger than me). We were laughing at our jokes then all of a sudden we both started crying. All of our cousins just stared at us while we cried lol... then came her rukhsathi. She's always been a daddy's girl so we were walking her out and all of a sudden I start bawling. She hugged me, then my mom, nani and nana, and looked for my dad. My dad was inside because he didn't want anyone to see him cry :( people made him come out, and then my sister and dad hugged and let's just say I was howling. I was crying so much my sister's MIL started hugging me and giving me thasaali, lol.
Funny thing is my sister was just getting in the car and driving around with her husband just to come back to the hotel an hour later. I saw her right afterwards!
My rukhsati was certainly a tear jerker - pretty much everyone in the hall was crying :(. I promised I wouldnt but then my dad started his speech, and the tears just started rolling and rolling and then it became sobs and by the time they actually came up on stage my khala's, brothers, mom, friends, moms friends, their daughters ALL had tears in their eyes -
By the time we got to the limo I think I had dehydrated myself lol - whenever I see the video I cry all over again (sigh)
When I got married, it was exteremly hot in Pakistan, May time. My mom was dehydrated and fainted right when I was getting up to leave. I left everything and ran to her and started crying. I wasn't crying otherwise. My own siblings weren't at my wedding because they having their exams in May here in the US. But anyway, my mom just couldn't stand up, she started crying too. I think she had an exterme separation anxiety for a min or two. I am the only one who got married and moved away from her city and the only one who had arranged marriage in my family also my mom's favorite child.. lol.
Its sad to see your parents in tears. I guess just try to think about good/funny things if you don't want to cry. lol
gosh.. all u guys have unique rukhsati stories.. im loving them all!!! some r funny.. others bought tears to my eyes.. personally i think i will cry as im the first born from both my nanka and my dadkah.. so i was the baby that was close to everyone.. ill be getting married in Dec 2011 InshAllah.. even tho its in family everyone's gonna b cryin like crazy!!! but i have this small feeling when i see evrryone in my family cryin im gonna b cryin but when ill look at my best friend ill jus laugh!! dont know why.. thats me and my best friend for you!!!
oh god this video made me cry!! my shaadis next month and my mom won't stop being depressed about it because i'm moving away. i personally didn't think i was going to cry but after watching now i don't know. my cousins are sad too so i have a feeling if one of them starts its going to make me cry lol. will share my own once it happens! :(
awh these stories are so cuteeee! when the time comes im pretty sure i will be bawling my eyes out too! im not good at hiding emotion!
i went to a wedding once where the bride herself had a small moment but then had to hide her face to hide the laughter from something her brother said. on the other hand, bidai had been done and such, and the mother was still crying, and totally fainted. people by now got abit annoyed but some "concerned" person grabbed a silver tray and started wafting it in her face. gotta admit, i was secretly hoping it would slip ;))) the worst thing is, the bride was coming back to live permenantly with her mum!! too OTT for my liking, but highly entertaining ;L
Well so far I dont have a rukhsati story of my own but I got my sisters.
So my sister got married in Nov and in karachi they had this new rule of having weddings done by 12. so my dad being a perfectionist wanted everyone to be out of the hall at 12. so wen it was time for rukhsati, my sister after getting off the stage FROZE Lolzz... she jes stood at one place and Crieddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd like nuts and I on the other hand was holding my best friend and crying my arse offfffffff Lmaooooo!! and ppl were like k nida you shud support ur sister and tum yahan roo rahi ho. My dad was all worried poor guy. Then finally my sister walked and the dj played tht song " Dulhe ka sehra" specially the part " mei tera angan chor chali babul" my sister got so mad she said to me tell tht monkey to close this song Lols. It was hilarious but exceptionally sad. Then finally I was drained after crying so much n finally my sister was in the car. And I looked at my fiance, he had little bits of tears awww. He is very close to my elder sister, Cuz we have been in love for almost 6yrs now. So everyone knows him very well. Den We sat in the car and cried n headed to my sisters hotel to see off.
For my wedding day, m so damn sure I am gona b a wuss and cry my arse off. and My poor hubby will end up crying too lolssss. Though we both have been waitin for this day for so longggggggggggggg. and MashaAllah se its happening 0n 16 July 2011. Whenever I think abt it I started to cry. I just want my parents to be happy and prove to the world that they raised an amazing daughter.
Its so hard for all of us, some smile, some cry but we all are leaving a part of our heart with our parents. We shud jes make them proud by being the best wife, mother and Daughter in law. Good luck to all of us. :)
My rukhsati was really funny....When I was hugging my crying dad, a kid tried to steal my money from my purse....And No I didn't cried at my rukhsati..
I am not emotional so I dont think that I will cry. Plus I am moving like 1 minute away so its not that big of a deal. Plus my sibl;ings dont understand the rasams. Also, no one in my family is emotional so I dont think anyone will cry.
lol..really nice to know that you dont need to drive..
This first one is from a friends wedding that my sister attended. My sister - was from the Baraat side- said, at the time of rukhsati, everyone was of course, emotional and crying... She said, their group of friends looked around for the groom, b/c the bride was surrounded by family hugging and crying... She said they see the groom standing next to the car sobbing his eyes out -- apparently he doesn't like to see his lady love sad... ( here, I though sympathy pains applied to pregnancy only )
The second was a friends wedding few years back... plan was afterwards the couple wanted to come out and celebrate the night away with all whom had flown in for the wedding. They had been together for 11 years, nikkahfied a year prior- so, they weren't big on the 'dulha-dulhan- off to a hotel afterwards. So, now here comes rukhsati- her parents, aunts, uncles, everyone begins to cry... then her 87 year old great-grandmother bursts out crying as though it's a funeral procession... in midst of all this, the bride looks more frustrated than sad... the next part of what happened left many kinda shocked -- she leaned over to her mom & said, "i'll see you guys for breakfast, and for now I have to get to my after party, can we hurry this up" hahahaha... oh man, her mum looked like she was about to smack her..
Went to one in pakistan once... after the dulhan got into the car... the engine sputtered and car died... hahaha... she had to get out, wait for another car. so, everyone was back to normal talking and laughing... and then other car arrived and the whole rukhsati crying, hugging, started all over again...
This first one is from a friends wedding that my sister attended. My sister - was from the Baraat side- said, at the time of rukhsati, everyone was of course, emotional and crying... She said, their group of friends looked around for the groom, b/c the bride was surrounded by family hugging and crying... She said they see the groom standing next to the car sobbing his eyes out -- apparently he doesn't like to see his lady love sad... ( here, I though sympathy pains applied to pregnancy only )
The second was a friends wedding few years back... plan was afterwards the couple wanted to come out and celebrate the night away with all whom had flown in for the wedding. They had been together for 11 years, nikkahfied a year prior- so, they weren't big on the 'dulha-dulhan- off to a hotel afterwards. So, now here comes rukhsati- her parents, aunts, uncles, everyone begins to cry... then her 87 year old great-grandmother bursts out crying as though it's a funeral procession... in midst of all this, the bride looks more frustrated than sad... the next part of what happened left many kinda shocked -- she leaned over to her mom & said, "i'll see you guys for breakfast, and for now I have to get to my after party, can we hurry this up" hahahaha... oh man, her mum looked like she was about to smack her..
Went to one in pakistan once... after the dulhan got into the car... the engine sputtered and car died... hahaha... she had to get out, wait for another car. so, everyone was back to normal talking and laughing... and then other car arrived and the whole rukhsati crying, hugging, started all over again...
My rukhsati was really funny....When I was hugging my crying dad, a kid tried to steal my money from my purse....And No I didn't cried at my rukhsati..
Well my sis' rukhsati was really quick...my taya-abbu and tayi-ammi are that kind of people who always want to be in the spotlight ..so my taya-abbu was holding my sister when we were crossing the hall..and i remember all my phuphoos saying to my dad "bhaijaan tussi aage jaao, tuadi beti di shaadi hai, tussi aage jao, tussi aage jao" and my dad was "haan haan, theek hai kuch nahi hota.."
well when we reached the car my taya-abbu just let my parents to hug my sis and than he said "chalo chalo bethoo bethoo, J.(the groom) tum wahan bethoo, inke abbu kider hain...aap aghe bethie...ab jaoo"
well all this happens in like 20 seconds and the baraati didn't even understand that rukhsati ho gayi becuase the day before it was my bil's brother wedding and that bride cried so much that everyone was annoyed and left the hall leaving the bride&groom with his parents and her family to cry...that was tooo funny...
well at our function when my sis left, my father returned to his friends and my mom was the only one crying but it was funny that everyone was trying to give tasalli to me and my bro infect in the video you see my phuphoo saying to my bro "kuch nahi hota" and my bro with a surprised face "mujhe kia huwa hai??" and than my bro and me started to discuss who'll get her room...and everyone start to laughing...and you can see it in the video..and it's so funny..sab mu khool ke hans rahee hain!
Wow I feel like my rukhsati was a blur. All I remember is how my dadi was crying her eyes out being all dramatic and my mom wanted to add into the drama and started crying and then I got teary eyed and couldn't help but turn around to see wht my husband was up to and he looked like he was in an awkward position and was having a hard time trying to think of how to react at the situation and then everyone came up to him and told him to take care of me like a princess lmao ..poor hubby
and to this day my husband thinks I didn't cry and teases me >:(
oh and not to mention that my nikkah was such a hurried process oh god my gharara didn't have an elastic and I had to tuck it into my underwear quickly cause the maulvi sahib was waiting and I just ran out the room all flustered and looked so dumb signing the papers ahhh -_-
omg my thread is alive again - and with so many more wonderful stories! :)
alot of these stories have made me both laugh and cry...
For my wedding day, m so damn sure I am gona b a wuss and cry my arse off. and My poor hubby will end up crying too lolssss. Though we both have been waitin for this day for so longggggggggggggg. and MashaAllah se its happening 0n 16 July 2011. Whenever I think abt it I started to cry. I just want my parents to be happy and prove to the world that they raised an amazing daughter.
Its so hard for all of us, some smile, some cry but we all are leaving a part of our heart with our parents. We shud jes make them proud by being the best wife, mother and Daughter in law. Good luck to all of us. :)
^ I really love what you had to say.... good luck to all of us who have yet to be married! And may Allah have it so that we do make our parents proud of raising a girl who is the best wife, mother, and daughter in law - ameen.
It seems like so long ago when I started this thread and felt like my own rukhsati was so far away. Now it is so close and I try to NOT to think of this moment because I turn into an emotional mess. ... even tho like u Nidask - I have known my fiance for a long time and we are overjoyed to be getting married..Finally! But when I think about everything my parents have done for me and how grateful I am to be their daughter ... i get this crazy ache in my heart.
Like Zamana's story about her sister - I am also a daddy's girl and I am also the first one in the khandaan to get married. My story is going to be like her sisters in that the "rukhsati" is going to be me getting in a car with hubby, driving around and then coming back to the same hotel and same people!!! But I have a feeling that I will still be an emotional wreck. And I also have a feeling my fiance is just going to be feeling awkward. He does not really fully get the meaning of rukhsati and many other rasms due to the way he was raised.
Oh well .... stay tuned. July is around the corner and then I will be back here to add my real story. Not just speculations!
In the meantime .... keep the stories coming!!!! I know there were so many 2010 brides!!!!