Rukhsati Stories!

Re: Rukhsati Stories!

to cry or not to cry, that is the question

hahah this thread is so funny..I'll be adding mine in June..but I know its going to be a boring one with the regular rona dhona nothing too special like a kid stealing money from the bride's purse hahah I still cant stop laughing at that!

oooo I remember my aunts rukhsati.. she was trying so hard to cry but couldn't.. it was her second marriage so I guess she was like been there done that.. but my cousin would just not let go of her and his mom kept telling me to go get him.. so in the videos I pretty much hug the bride 10 times in order to get my cousin off of her. and you can see me telling my cousin to get off... everyone laughs when they watch it.. idk why. and they have bets of "guess how many times she will hug the bride" and everyone sits there and counts... soo embarrassing.

Also, my mom tells me stories about her rukhsati that everyone kept telling her to cry but she didnt want to so her maid of honor kept pinching her and my mom just looked more angry in the pics and video than sad.

^ One of my sisters close friends got married last year and the months leading upto the marriage, she and her younger sister would joke that everyone expects her to cry because it is the "right" thing to do but that she will not be able to ... so her younger sister was given the "duty" to pinch her and say mean things in her ear at the time of rukhsati to make her cry! They were like joking but at the same time serious about their plan because they were getting married in the homeland village where no one knew/understood the concept of a love marriage and the fact that they had been dating for like 6 years.

At the time of rukhsati - the younger sister did not have to pinch or say mean things.... my sisters friend cried honestly and was very emotional. I think it finally hit her that after the wedding she would be moving to another part of the country and will be very far away from her family... especially her younger sister who is her best friend.

My cousin got married and on her rukhsati she told her sister to get some onions so that it seems she will be crying lol! At the time of rukhsati, the bride's sister went to get the onion, and the only thing we saw was the bride crying! Bless her the moment was so sad, bought tears to our eyes, when the brides sister hugged her, the brides sister whispered in her ear saying "baji ap toh bhut achi acting kar leti hain, pyaaz ki zaroorat hi nei thi!" the bride replied to her saying "yeh main acting nei kar rei, yeh assal (real) aansu hain"! Hahaha that moment was very touchy and emotional!

Reading this thread, I should sell my shares in companies making water proof eye makeup …gone are days when… :teary1:

I was dead nervous the whole time while sitting on the stage. I knew I was going to cry a river at my rukhsati - but due
to sheer nervousness when the time came not a single tear came ... i was like what the :p though from inside I was SOOO anxious... lol

my mom stayed away and so did my sister. but when she came up to hug me I broke down and started crying...and that was when she was like 'silly girl tumhara sara eyemakeup phel gaya hai...your hubby's going to be in for a shock :P'

lol i forgot my crying for 30 seconds only to start crying again. Meanwhile in the car I was sitting with my SILs and my hubby's cousin who is probably the friendliest person I have ever met. My SIL (jethani) another adorable creature herself was all teary lol...i.e. when my hubby's cousin remarked candidly

'haan bhai tum to ro lo ..hum to nai royein ge..akhir hum nand hain ..and nand kya hai har terhan ka gand' she said it in such a funny way that I burst out laughing while crying :p

and my hubby who was sitting at the front cheekily said ... 'ho gaye na begum ap k dramay khatam' :D

maaan I can't forget my rukhsati .... :)

but now even after 7 months I can't watch the rukhsati scene in my wedding movie - coz I start crying :)

No point faking the tears. That is just low.

Im not married yet, inshallah 3rd July 2011!
Im gonna cry. I know it.

The rukhsati stories I have are my friend, my cousin and my big sister :)

My cousin got married about four years ago and she cut her cake and then it was time for her rukhsati.
Thing was Im standing at the cake getting a slice, my sisters and brother come up as well and we're standing there eating cake while my cousin is off getting her rukhsati but we didnt know! Honest!
Only realised rukhsati had happened when we turn around and the hall is empty lol
In the video she was totally crying though. Hugging my uncle and sobbing into his jacket. Kinda glad I missed it I would have been crying too guaranteed.

My friend when she got married, she was crying and her family and her husband came up to give her a hug and she kinda smacked him away lol saying "Dont hug me! My DAD is there!"

My sisters rukhsati, everyone was laughing. The hall doors got jammed when we were all coming out and everyone was laughing about that and it was all quick, everyone hugged, still laughing plus it was December and absolutely freezing and she got in the car and went. In the video it looks bad, us all laughing and this really sad song playing in the background :/

hahahahahahah :D:D

Not married yet.I think i will cry on my rukhsati and i know my mom's gonna try her best to not let me cry.The stories i have are of my best friend,and 2 of my cousins.

On my Best friend's wedding..we were all sitting with her on the stage and the dulha came inside n my friend's mamu hugged her and thats when she broke down.they were both crying.her mom maintained distance.Then her nana and nani hugged her and she was all crying and her saas was being so fussy not letting her cousins or friends meet her cuz she dint want her to cry anymore.i guess my friend's saas dint see her badi bahu sitting in the first row,bawling her eyes out too (she got married a week earlier).That was kinda funny but i was pissed at her saas and i wanted to hug my friend before she went.i had thought of soooo many things to tell her then,and the lady was ruining it for me.Anyway,we went with her to the car n the car wasnt there yet and i pushed my way through the dulhewale,who gave me very dirty looks and went to my best friend who was standing sar jhuka kar by her hubby.Her mom was standing right behind her n i told her i wanted to meet her,so Aunty whispered in her ear and she turned to me with tear-filled eyes and an expression only a best friend can give and we cried.With no saas to stop us.And all the nice things i had thought i would say to her,just wouldnt come out!all i could manage through all the sniffing was to tell her to take care of herself and that i loved her and i missed her and we cried harder!And her Hubby(who i was friends with by that time) was rolling his eyes as our drama..and was like 'I will take care of her,you dont have to worry'..it was sweet..then i let go of her and they left.Her MIL gave me murderous looks later,which was funny ;)

For this cousin's wedding,who i am realllllly close to,i was very scared about how much i would cry.So even after she left the hall,i dint go after her.i Just stood there and cried n my mom was telling me to stop crying,but i just couldnt..and then i decided i would go out to see her off and they were still in the car.Turns out everyone had cried a lot and they were now trying to make the bride laugh.They were succeeding.And then i went and we just looked at each other n held hands n cried n cried n cried.She wasnt letting go of my hand n i wasnt letting go of hers n ppl were telling me 'sambhalo apne aap ko..mat rulao usse..jaanedo usse'..and finally i managed a weak smile n she did too n the photographer took a very nice pic of tht moment..after she left,her dad,brothers,mamus,khalas just couldnt stop the tears anymore.

And then,mere khaleri behen ki shaadi mein,which was just one week later after the above shaadi,thr was no drama.Evryone expected me to cry but i had used up my tears supply already.The bride isnt much of an emotional person either..she hugged evryone and theres a really nice part in the video,where,after she was hugging her mom,her mom whispered something in her ear n they were both laughing so much..it was really sweet..That how my mom's gonna be on my rukhsati too :)

awwww m lovin thisssss thread :wub:

So i started this thread..... and now finally it is time to add my own story to it!

Some of you may already know some of the details surrounding my rukhsati in the thread i created telling the details about my shaadi. But i'll elaborate on this specific part!

By the time rukhsati time came...i was wondering what the hold up was...most of the guests had already left...the dj had run out of songs to play and had started playing some whack inappropriate western music (pitbull anyone?!) and people (mostly family members) were just standing around. I was starving since I missed the entirety of my wedding doing my photoshoot and wasnt feeling well either. When I managed to catch my mothers attention i waived her over and asked her what the delay was. Come to find out...the quran and shawl was in my parents hotel room and they had locked themselves out of the room. She told me that she had sent my uncle to the lobby to get the room key...which i told her was a bad idea because why would they give him...their room key??? she didnt know what to say to that upon this realization. So then she started asking around for a quran. She found someone that had one of them (obvi someone really religious)...it wasn't a big quran...nor was it in a pretty cloth. But it would get the job done. Great! I told her to forget the shawl...in our khandaan we believe the bride has to be covered up during the rukhsati to keep nazar away..i told her that everyone has already seen me and they would be the only ones seeing me at the rukhsati too... this was not the pind where random strangers would be gawking at me. All of this dialouge was done on stage while i sat next to my hubby. He was ammused by the whole thing ...especially since he finds the whole rukhsati tradition silly. He's a typical guy..doesn't understand the significance behind it. So we waited around...then i asked my sister what was taking so long... i kept waiting for the pitbull music to change to a sad song!! But pitbull kept playing! She told me that now they were waiting for my uncle..the one that had attempted to get the key from the lobby. I sat back..I mean what could i do or say?

Finally..the sad song came on... "Babul ki duayen leti ja" - my mom came upto the stage and this time helped me get up and off... my hubby followed below. When we got off the stage, my dad gently took me by one arm and started leading me out of the hall. My hubby was next to me on the other side. Everyone else was behidn me ....and random people kept stepping on my train causing me to stop walking and look back. The hall was upstairs so we went down the escalator...at this point i turned around and saw my MIL so I asked her to hold the back of my dress up. At this point i had also started to get emotional ...silent tears going down my face.. but no one saw (except the video and photo people) since everyone was either next to me or behind me. We go outside where the limo was waiting (which i had forgotten about and booked while i was getting my hair done earlier in the day). I was full blown sobbing now. My dad ...who had just a few days earlier told me he doesn't believe in rukhsatis and as far as he was concerned he was getting another child...a son from this marriage..not loosing a daughter. (He came to america when he was 20 ... so his mentality is very western).. but despite all this ... he hugged me hard and i saw that he was controlling his emotions. Then my mom hugged me and told me to take care of myself..she was crying and it just made me cry more. My aunts who were teary eyed hugged me and my uncles who were all very serious looking. This huge realization that i was no longer my parents responsibility...they were no longer in charge of my happiness and well being just hit me hard and i just sobbed. My nani hugged me and she was actually NOT crying...the strongest bunch out of the whole lot! She told me "tu kyun ro rehi hai? Munda sona hai...kinnay diamond usne diye hai...tuwada passand ka ha... to phir?? bas makeup kharaab ho reha hai!!". We thought she would be the most emotional one and has the tendancy to faint ...but she was the strongest! That makes me laugh now when i look back upon it. Especially what she said in my ear. I then hugged my siblings... my favorite brother was laughing and told me to stop crying.

And then before I got into the limo I went back to my dad and gave him a big hug and in his ear thanked him for everything... He started tearing up and told me "Tu meri jaan hai" .... and even as I write this... and think of those words and that moment I have tears in my eyes...again. :(

I got in the limo...ABCi video told me to look into the camera which i did...tears rolling down my face... so dramatic. And then we were whisked away.. My hubby... i had told him previously not to laugh during rukhsati bc it would ruin the video started laughing as we pulled off. But then calmed down when he realized I was still crying alot. So then he comforted me. We drove around for 20 minutes and then came right back to the hotel :D lol. The hotel manager had a secret entrance for us planned though so we saw no one when we came back.

Afterwards I found out that my mother in law got emotional and teary eyed when she saw me crying. I remember her hugging me and telling me not to cry and that it would be ok. My hubby's cousin's wife saw me crying and she started crying loads....they were towards the back and her husband got embarrassed and was like omg why are you crying?! She's coming into our family! But she kept crying when she saw me so he told her to go back into the hotel. hahahaha :D

I am curious to see the video....im sure i will cry again... but i want to see other people's reactions...and by people..there were only family members. But that almost made it worst bc it was more intimate of a rukhsati ...despite having 300 guests attend the wedding...

OMG I'm loving all the stories here but i always found rukhsati moments OTT like i dont like the idea of crying infront of MANY PPL...am i the only one who thinks like this? I saw my SIL (I'm only engaged yet) wedding video and there my fiance lol and all his family were CRYING OUT LOUD LIKE litrelly it was tooo much!

MUHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA ! Omg a special thread for aunties comments should be started but im afriad it will never finish cuz they hv so much to say over nuthing.

HAHAHAHAHA SO TRUE!!!!!

Am new here and was reading the older threads, and thought to share a story here on this special thread.

Well, my cousin (her being the only child) cried so much at her Rukhsati in Pakistan; her parents were sobbing, everyone quite upset. The groom (from the US) became quite flustered and concerned seeing his new bride like this. He turned around to her parents and said " If you would like, she can stay here tonight and I will come and see how she is tomorrow, and maybe then pick her up. "

Nuff said, that quieted everyone very quickly, and her parents said "No, no, take her right now, she is your wife, why come again tomorrow".

He was not joking at all when he made his suggestion; he did not have the experiences/rona dhona with Rukhsatis and all.. 15 years later he is the nicest, loving, compassionate and considerate husband/father and human being one will ever come across.

very nice stories... i cant see that video why?

I am a reallly emotional person. Really attached to my parents.. So the days before the rukhsati i decided to sleep next to my mum and every night i started cryin and cryin till my eyes got swollen... I could hear mum cryin to :(

Durin rukhsati the moments hitted again... Everyone was cryin even the males in the fam... My sister was standin infront of the light so that my make up wouldn't be ruined... Suddenly a huge cocroach flew into her kameez through her gala...and exactly that moment the camera was turned towards her.... So she couldnt do a thing...she run towards me (ppl thought to do milna milana for the rukhsati)... But she was hysterious about the big in her clothes...wheb she was hugging me she tried to control her emotions of fear for the bug but couldnt...when she told me what happend i start laughin reallyy loud...(ppl saw my head movin n catchin breath so they thought i was gettin more emotional xD.....

After that my bro came to do the milna milana...and made me laugh by sayin " sachi poocho mujhey rukhsati nai ati.... How should i cry? Should i do it like that aunty ( he did like an elder aunty was doinlke cryin in her dupatta xD)

All with all i had a reallyy emotional rukhsati but cuz of the namooneys in my fam i had laughed my ass out to :D

During my tearless rukhsati, there was an uninvited little boy (maybe 12 yrs old) tried to steal money from my purse. While I was hugging my dad I felt like someone was trying to open my purse.... So grabbed his hand and told my dad that he is trying to steal!!! At that moment the little boy and his friend tried to run away..... But they couldn't coz my cameraman and photographer caught them and started to kick their ass... I didn't liked that and requested to stop coz they haven't stolen anything....I started to get emotional coz I didn't want to start my life with that kind of drama... Anyways even in the movie you can see that little boy whos around me during rukhsati like a chelah.... Whahaaaa..... During my both sisters rukhsati everyone cried and hugged them.... At my rukhsati I think they were glad ke jaan choethi...