Rudest moment at your wedding/or weddings you've attended

I've only ever been to one but that wedding had a few days function like mehndi/baraat/walima etc and yes all the ladies pitched in to help whether they were close or not in blood relation. It was really nice.

I do remember that it used to be common for male members of family to help out before the days of waiters. I suppose it is easier now for families to relax knowing each table has their own waiter looking after them and a "boss" taking care of everything

Re: Rudest moment at your wedding/or weddings you’ve attended

i know there have been many debates about having assigned table seatings for guests… there are pros and cons to it…which I understand…

But I seriously hate in a non-assigned seat/first come first served situation when one gets stranded and feels awkward about where to sit if all the tables with their families and friends are already taken/filled. Even worse is when you do get a seat, but you loose it when you go and get food and someone steals it!!!

I even left my clutch on my seat once to “save it” … I came back and some random auntie had taken my seat and was sitting on my clutch!!! … talk about awkward, annoying.. and rude :smack:

Re: Rudest moment at your wedding/or weddings you've attended

I also find it rude when the maulvi decides that this is his moment to give a sermon .........

Went to one wedding where the maluvi's speech took up 2 hours and dinner was severely delayed and caused everything to be rushed. The speech itself had nothing to do with marriage and instead focused on how kids are not being brought up the right islamic way in the west.....

... it just wan't the time and place for it. I felt so bad for the bride and groom and their families. Especially brides... they were very embarrassed....

I went to a wedding where the bride was constantly in a bad mood, pulling faces. It looked awful and her pictures turned out horrible too. Her SIL made a speech which consisted of nothing but stupidity " This was certainly a match made in Heaven. My brother wears Jimmy Choos and so does his wife" She listed practically all the places they shop at :rolleyes: Do people really want to know all that?

This marriage only lasted for 3 months

one wedding i went to the malvi saab totally lost the plot of his sermon! he started off talking about islam's view on them, how it completes half your religion etc...and then suddenly he was talking seriously about divorce! goodness knows how he reached there!! we were all holding our stomachs because we were cracking up so much!

Then poor malvi suddenly stopped talking, realizing what topic he had started, looked around the hall in total bewilderment, looked around some more, asked for a drink and sat down! High-light of that wedding. Lol!

a few years back i went to a mirpuri wedding in uk. their families are enormous. immediate families would add up to 70 people alone. the bride i will talk about has 13 siblings and groom has 12. in their families, you only ever marry your 1st cousins. marrying your 2nd cousins is like marrying out of the family in their culture.

two bro’s were getting married to their 1st cousins. they had joint functions. couldn’t go to their mendhi & shaadi, but when I heard the info’ about those 2 functions, i said there was no way i would miss the walima!

on the walima day there were 4 chairs on the stage for the 2 bride’s & 2 groom’s. 1st couple were striking. you could see they were genuinely pleased to be getting married to each other. They were adorable. they came into the hall and sat on stage together.

When the 2nd couple came in, they looked like they were dragged in. their faces were heated and ugly. they stood at the entrance for a long time and looked like they were squabbling. uncles and aunties were fussing around them. no one could figure out what was going on. bride suddenly marched alone up on the stage and sat down next to other bride. few mins’ later, groom marched up on the stage, picked up his chair, moved it away from his wife and sat down, legs spread out, vexed and huffing and puffing! they were both in serious moods to kill eachother. then some bickering happened again. groom left the stage. bride was irritated and had her arms folded the whole time, shaking her head. She was complaining to the 1st bride loudly, waving her hands around trying to express herself. The 1st bride just listened, looking down and was quiet the whole time.

the groom was being calmed down across the hall by his cousins and uncles. the groom was so stressed he was taking his tie off and fixing it again and again. he went back on the stage and started bickering some more with his wife. then she left the stage and went to sit with her cousins/ sisters at a table. She started chewing some gum and complaining loudly.

The 1st couple just sat on the stage in silence, looking so humiliated and so sad. I felt so bad for them as they wanted this walima and the 2nd couple were so bad-mannered they needed a good spanking! they disgraced their families/ friends and let everyone down by their behaviour.

in the end, the groom left the hall and never came back. it was the worst and rudest wedding I ever went to. sad part was their families were such wonderful people! goodness knows what was wrong with the 2nd couple and what issues they were having! they never moved in with each other after the walima and after a few months got a divorce. both married to other 1st cousins now, the groom married his 1st cousin from his village in pakistan.

oh my goodness!

^^oh God...

i feel really bad for the wedding where the groom was late.. poor bride

ugh. i’m sure that wasn’t a surprise for anyone!

awwwww Iyla.. You are funny...

I have stopped going to weddings (Bar very close siblings) for the past 10 years .. I hate them with a vengeance and was dreading my own wedding too

Mine was in Pakistan but alhmadulillah everything went well apart from make up on Nikah..Oh man .. I looked like a drag queen for 10 minutes, then wiped it all off..

and on Walima.. I got simple make up done by Younger SIL and all the aunties were asking why i didn't get my makeup done, I couldn't be bothered to be diplomatic so just told them it was my and my husbands choice to look normal..

My husband was happy that it was simple.. so no issues there

I had one aunty who came up to me on my Nikah event and said, "you were so beautiful a few years what has happened to you.. " ermmmmmmmm I said no to your son..

i went to a wedding where the imam, instead of doing the dua for the nikkah, he started doing the dua for a janaza - and no one figured it out! lol. it was only my phuppo, who realised this, quickly jumped up and told the groom's mother abuot what he was saying (it was all in arabic). lol. poor imam..that must have been embarrassing.

it's not a rude moment, but a funny one.

the rudest one ive seen was that during the stopping of the barat, two women (one from each side) got into such a heated argument and had a real fight. it was crazy. and the sad thing was these people were relatives of each other.

^ OMG thats quite hilarious about the dua lol

my sister-in-law's in-laws were loudly discussing what was the huq mehr... later i heard they had told everyone i had asked for land, but all i really got was 1000rs.

And my mamoo and my husband's mamoo were discussing that i had given my hubby a 6 lac mobile... like what the hell???

lol! good reply!! hahahaha! that must her put her in her place!

and nikah has that awful rep' of making all their brides look exactly the same! glad you wiped off that make-up!

^ you mean like a physical fight?!

omg at the imam! that is simply crazy and really freaky! i couldn't stop laughing though! poor imam probably has to attend so many weddings and funerals that he lost track of which one he was at!! lol!

i dont think it was a physical fight...could have been one though, but the rest of the relatives stepped in and tried to separate them....but they were loud punjabi women. lol..

Bump

seen a bunch of aunties stand by the stage and talk about how the bride’s makeup doesnt look good.. pretty sure the bride heard them

an aunty decided to invite herself to my sister’s nikkah which was held at the masjid only for close family members to attend

once at a nikkah, the imam started talking about how women shouldn’t leave the house or do anything without their husband’s permission.. pretty much all the ladies got peeved lol

also, i have an aunt who ALWAYS makes sure to wear a red sari + gold jewelry to every wedding she goes to in efforts to match the bride.. its not necessarily rude but its SO tacky! ugh :smack: mid-life crisis much

kids ruining photos on stage..always happen.and that 1 little girl/boy from the guy's family who sticks to the bride from the moment he/she sees the bride.ends up even in the rukhsati car...it's ok if the kid is cute.but ugly cranky chipko kids...are a no-no-no!