rishtas for desi girls born and raised abroad

Re: rishtas for desi girls born and raised abroad

^ people need guidance throughout their life. Whether by parents or someone else. Nothing wrong with it. In fact it is a good things because it put things into a better perspective and it can highlight matters that you might have ignored before.

That does not mean that you are not independant or that you cant take decisions on your own.

Aha! So u take 3 examples and think it is a good representation of our society? If we are going to act this way then how about me judging your society where guys in their upper 60's are going for younger women?

I don't know what exclusive section of Pakistan you are family with but all that you are saying doesn't apply to the majority of the society. People have become health cautious, they work out at gyms, go to clubs, etc. And lets not even get me started on "loneliness". Pakistanis are not lonely! The society you live in is lonely even after screwing 101 people, they are lonely in the end because such are their life choices. You can't have your cake and eat it too! Making a family requires changes, adjustments and sacrifices on both sides...however many at western society are too busy being ambitious and don't value relationships at the right time.

AND unlike west where parents meet each other over weekends and probably see their kids only once in the morning...Pakistanis spend relevant amount of time not only taking care of their kids but also interacting with them. So maybe your cousins either are meeting the exceptions or there is a great deal of distortion in your communication system.

P.s what good has the salads done for you guys? Pls talk stats with me. If your society is eating healthy yet ranking highest on obesity charts then maybe we are better off from such healthy habits.

okay, let's quit with these baseless generalizations and return to the topic of the thread.

… And crux of this thread is that men are super awesome doesn’t matter they are in US or UK or Pakistan :snooty:

AGREED!

Thanks bro :)

Plus my suggestion is that all single ladies should write a letter to their local government representative that they should make appropriate changes in law to allow second marriage for men ... Ahum ahum ... All in the name of better future for Muslim women.

I’m a sis :p.

and aab over mat ho, aisi bhi koi baat nahi! :snooty:

Actions lead to results so if they are such happy loving caring families then why are we the crime capital of the world, ripping each other apart blowing each others place of worship, 90 percent women reporting abuse, You go to marathons you see tens of thousands of girls running, never heard of a chick jogging in Peshawar, never saw toned Pakistani Chick, There are many fat people here but there are many attractive people here also with ripped and toned bodies.

[quote="Le_Pakistan, post:35, topic:305030"]

^ people need guidance throughout their life. Whether by parents or someone else. Nothing wrong with it. In fact it is a good things because it put things into a better perspective and it can highlight matters that you might have ignored before.

That does not mean that you are not independant or that you cant take decisions on your own./QUOTE

There is a difference between guiding and smothering, I saw this old mil that was illiterate, had no clue about life in the west guiding a CMA dil 24/7. You give people a chance to live their lives.

Salads and vegetables? Pffffft, It's what my dinner has for dinner.

Just the level of ego in this sentence right here. Lady, make sure you don't cramp yourself while you're patting yourself on the back. Girls in the West get involved in excelling and being the best they can be? As opposed to whom? Girls elsewhere, who don't get involved in excelling and being the best or whatever feelgood BS you tell yourself? I have just come across this post and I am amazed no one so far has bothered putting you in your place.

Listen buddy, its not my fault that you cherry pick posts to get fired up and respond to. Before you get all huffy and puffy...read the thread...otherwise you end up looking foolish.

Marriages ARE delayed in the West...you want to believe it or not. The push IS to make girls more independent and self sufficient because there's no network of taya, chacha, phuppa, etc to look after them. Yes, there are large communities but compared to Pak, much smaller.

If a girl gets married young, she might not get the same chances...how is that egotistical to admit? And why does it bother you so much? You not liking it doesn't make it less true.

That last part was really cute...please do

Calm down woman. I am not your buddy, let this be true in perpetuity.

Either I cherry pick your posts, or I respond to the most absurd ones, I will leave such judgements to you. But every time you make a generalization about a group of people, either out of sheer ignorance or deep-rooted insecurities, you can always expect one of them to step up and hand it back to you on a platter.

As tempting as it may be to do it again, I think I have already put you in your place, or at least as much as I could staying within the bounds of decency. But if you are going to be dheet about it and ask for more, or if it didn't live up to the level you are used to, I am sure someone else here would be glad to oblige.

You were trying to hand something back but it seems your platter fell to the floor.

Nothing in your response above is actually responding to my post so basically you’re looking for validation?

Yes yes…you totally put me in my place…:cb:

Far be it from me to determine the level of religiosity of the girls in Pakistan and their Western counterparts, but I was surprised to find even religion on the list…making me think …peechay reh kya gaya? :konfused: I know that religion is not what the thread is about, but since it is has been listed, I felt like debating it.

Islamic studies, based on my knowledge, is a mandatory part of the education curriculum in Pakistan. Provided that Islam is also practiced in the homes, that would mean kids in Pakistan receive exposure to religion on both fronts (the home and the school). So, there IS a focus on religion. In the West, this would only be the case if kids are enrolled in an Islamic school and religion is also practiced in the home. Otherwise, the exposure to religion is predominantly coming from the home. Also, the values in Pakistani society are fairly homogenous whereas in the West it is more likely for one to feel an inner conflict between Islamic values and those of Western culture.

For argument’s sake, Reha, you may say that THIS conflict between Islamic values and the trends/values of Westen macro-culture is the very reason why parents in the West try extra, extra hard to reinforce religion. Fine, I can understand that…however it’s not enough to so boldly make the assertion that girls in the West focus on religion more, implying those back home are less interested/vested/concerned/bothered about religion. One could even argue that the lack of employment and other opportunities in Pak leaves the girls with more time to focus on deen (apart from just looks) as well, no? It’s almost like saying that the girls don’t have the fursat from beautifying their faces to offer namaz or remember Allah in other ways; a bit harsh, no? So we’ve “graciously” spared them two things: more time to focus on beauty and a wider pool of rishtas/guys…that’s all they’ve got going for them. Majority of my family, both maternal and paternal, live in Pakistan and I cannot say that they are…on the whole…less focused on religion than me. On the contrary, I think they are much better on that front as well as other areas.

I can understand limitations in the sense of employment and opportunities, but religion…too? Even within a limited sphere, one can still try to be the best they can be…the best daughter, best sister, best individual, best Muslim, etc. I think that in the end if we’re going to say that marriage happens if and whenever Allah has destined it, then leave it at that…let Him be the judge of who is more pious, or living to their utmost bestest.

All this hypocrisy makes me want to puke, a combination of the most corrupt and most religious all in one place. Yeah all the Rashis have Daris. My friend from Karachi shared with me that as a boy he was vey good looking and he used to take public bus to school and most of the times he used to get inappropriate touching and adjustments..surprise surprise mostly by religious people with Dari, Topee and tasbeeh.

Plenty cases of molestation, kidnapping, murder of children in the West as well that don't reflect the teachings of other faiths (Christianity, Judaism, etc). Should we then believe that all goray, kaalay are like that? If we did, you'd get all fired up then, wouldntchya'? What are you trying to accomplish through your post, Eliminator? That every religious person be tarred by the same brush....even more so if they sport a darhi, topi and tasbeeh? A combination of the most corrupt and most religious is not confined to Pakistan. It's found everywhere, even in the West.

^Hain na? :rolleyes:

You can be in lala land without drugs, I have never in my life in the west been asked to bribe any one, I hear in the land of the pious you cannot go an hour without someone asking for Rishwat, Groping women in bazaars is a famous Pakistani Sport, too bad it is not in the Olympics, that would have been a Gold for sure. If a child gets touched we issue orange alert, we mobilise forces and arrest the Perv. In your society the Pervs touch children, sporting Daris, Tasbees Namaz Rozas and demand respect due to their strict observance of religion.