Rahat Fateh Ali Khan arrested in India

Re: Rahat Fateh Ali Khan arrested in India

Ok Guys its really not a big issue. Yes he had an undeclared amount and his arrest was a regular procedure in such cases but what it has to do with begharity in this matter.

Its not that he stole that money from somewhere, at the same time its not that indian officials profiled him. We are just making a mountain out of molehill.

**yes...let the investigation be completed and charges be formally laid against him and then let the courts decide.

i really wunder where he got that 100-150 K in US Dollars? was he paid that much money for a concert or two? i don't think indians wud pay that kind of money. this needs to be investigated as well.

Let me a lil judgemental here… You guyz are ULTIMATE jazbaati..!!

There’s no harm in going India and selling your product which is musik. India is a much bigger market esp when it comes to showbiz. Its actually second largest in the world.

But then if someone does what Rahat did is wrong, its against the law, so that country has to apprehend the culprit. In this case, since “that country” is India, everyone is just getting super-sentimental. Let the authorities figure it out and resolve this issue, why do we take tension!!

i guess its time to sing

"paisey de do, jootey le lo"

$124k is not that big an amount - just about Rs 56 lacs based on the current exchange rate. And $ 124k is for a troupe of 16 artistes i.e. $7.75k per person. The Indian limit for foreigners is $ 5k cash + $5k in other instruments. So this is not really a big deal. The ustaad has admitted that he is a school drop-out :) so such stupidity is not surprising.

i do NOT think that much money is paid to any artist for one concert. anyways, u must know that u can NOT POOL ur foreign exchange allowances. $5000 is for one person while his personal bag contained $24,000 way above the limit. the other two who had the money in their posession was $50,000 each. i think something is fishy about the whole thing. we'll find out soon...they have a court date on Feb 17. :D

:omg: u r funny yaaraa…i liked ur comment about “paisey, passport, chashma and lungii indian authorities ne rakhwaa li” :omg:

Jeez... talk about blowing things out of proportion. If he travelled to any other country in the world, he'd have had a similar reprimand.

As far as beghairti is concerned, what I don't get is why ppl discount the fact that artists need to make a living and currently there just aren't enough oppportunities in Pakistan for them. Like the rest of us who work in the West to make a living, they are also simply working in India to make a living. I'm sure if there were another country with no/low language barriers that offered similar opportunities, the artists would have picked those countries instead.

It's this blind and brainwashed form of patriotism that comes in the way of progress for us as a nation. I would much rather that these artists work for India, learn a few things, and implement in Pakistan to be able to compete with India. What's the alternative anyways? let your talent rot in an environment with no opportunities?!

well i guess the "beghairati" bit can make some sense if it is about how some indians have automatically assumed that ooo the money was for terrorist groups coz ustad pai is pakistani.

Whats baighairati in this?

tell you want baigharti is, beghairti is that we have created such and environment in Pakistan that pros (artists ,engineer, Drs, it people etc) have to go abroad to make decent living.

Seems like you really have no idea how much these guys make. I am sure Rahat's charges 25k-40k for one concert. Then he is earning money from movies etc. His mistake is that he did not declared it and should be dealt accordingly.

**in india? equivalent of $25-40K in Indian Rupees? do u think its really possible?

these concerts/events happen to make money. lets do a lil math here. lets assume we have 10 performer @ $25000 lower amount of ur estimate] and that wud amount to a total of $250,000 plus add another [say] $100,000 for rental cost of the venue, advertisements, logistics etc to bring it to a total of $350,000...now multiply that by the current exchange rate of Rs. 45 to a dollar...now to grand total comes to Rs.1,57,50,000

now, they need this much money to BREAK EVEN...lets assume they manage to collect 50, 000 people for the concert [which is a far fetched number] and that means they have to price their ticket @ Rs. 315 just to BREAK EVEN...to make as much profit, they have to sell every ticket @ Rs. 650...i don't think 50,000 people in a poor country, like India, will be able to dole out Rs. 650 for each member of the family...my estimates are conservative.

so, i do NOT think these artists get that much money as u've suggested...no way! :D**

^^
dude ur making too much out of it.he is been singing from past 5-6 years in india.i think its his own money,he must withdrawn money from local bank or some property sale
but it was stupid carry that much money

thats what i said...he couldn't have possibly paid that much from a concert.

then stop bringing terrorism bs

mind ur language mr.

ok iam sorry :hug:

no hard feelings.

I don't care about why he was carrying so much money or who gave that money to him but sir you seriously don't know how much these artists make specially someone like Rahat Fateh Ali who is extremely popular.

I was watching an indian show where they were singing his songs and a judge from the show mentioned how much it costs for indian producers to have a single song recorded by Rahat Fateh Ali. He said we put our movie budget aside and his one song budget aside (his one song is comparable to the whole budget of some movies) and there is no possible way a low budget movie can afford even a single song by him. Stop with your calculations .. aap apna time zaya kar rahay hain.

Mere bhai - kis duniya mein ho ? Top artistes like Jagjit Singh, Sonu Nigam etc charge Rs 10 lacs + per concert. Convert that into Rs - works out to much more than $ 25k :)

And from what I have heard on *desi *news channels, Rahat had performed in more than one concert.

One song equal to the entire budget of a Hindi movie !! Yaar, yeh thodi zyaada lambi nahin phenk di aapne ?