quota system and Pakistan

Re: quota system and Pakistan

I don't know why you are so sensitive about a hint of Punjab in quotas, perhaps you don't want to see Punjabi's quota in Sindh/Karachi educational institutions/jobs, that would be fine with us, really.

hey captain do all provinces have quotas in other provinces and cities' institutions?

I asked him but then he showed his same sensitivity of "lets not talk about other places, just Karachi".

I myself have not been to other provinces/institutes so I don't know how much (if at all) is quota for Urban/Rural Sindh in Punjab/NWFP/Baluchistan.

Pir Ji! The short answer is no!

Punjab, Balochistan, and Sarhad schools make "state-wide" merit lists.
Only Sindh is blessed with this discriminatory, draconian, and ill-planned, ill-conceived "Sindh-Urban vs. Sindh-rural" Khota (oops Quota) system.

So the question is! Who the heck started this Khota system?

Here is a hint! It wasn't started by Sindh Rural areas.

^ errr, the question is not limited to Rural/Urban fight, we have moved beyond that, the question is does Punjab have quota for Sindh/Baluchistan/NWFP for example?

The short answer is yes. Every State institution has a small number of seats for other states. That's true for Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan, and Sarhad.

However that small percentage however nice, doesn't really make a huge difference in overall scheme of things. Only exception has been the effectiveness of this discrimination in Sindh Urban vs. Sindh rural. Here we had Sindhis almost completely shut out of Karachi institutions from 1947 all the way to 1984.

Today thanks to the mushrooming of private schools or universities, the value of Khota system across states has been devalued even further. Top private schools like LUMS, AKU, or GIK will take you with open arms (as long as you can pay the bills AND pass their admission requirements).

dunn help people who cant afford to pay the fees of the private institutes though right?

such a mess. the system just needs to be revamped.

Simple answer Pir Ji!

Three words!

Priorities, priorities, priorities.

Think about this!

Yearly cost of private institutions. 1 lakh or more
One Shadi ka jora these days . 1 lakh or more

Pakistani people spend like heck on shadis of their sons and daughters with average cost of 15 to 20 lakhs.

But heaven would fall if they had to pay half of that for the same son or daughter's education in a private school.

FYI. Many good schools like AKU and LUMS etc have scholarships and loans for deserving students.

But we are so entrenched in "Gornament" funded and "Gornament" controlled Khota system. That we continue repeating 30 year old ideas without looking at our own behavior.

lalay how many khi peeps have u seen studyin in punjab university? where in Karachi Uni , i still rem , there was a time , when u should know and u have to speak punjabi with the rangers standing outside , to get yrself in with ya bike , otherwise just park outside .

Ali Sahib, I guess you are hell bent on spreading negative emotions. Centuries of prejudices and utter lack of knowledge about our own history, means we'll continue spreading ethnic sewage and garbaaz.

Your example of Karachi + Punjabi language doesn't explain how many Punjabi were settled in Karachi vs. How many Punjabis got there on Khota (quota) system.

As a I said earlier, almost all "State funded" schools have few seats for other states. Usually these seats go to the students who have some sort of connection in other state. Nothing wrong with it. If I am moving to another state, I have to feel comfortable with local culture.

dunno man I have never set a foot in punjab :) my pak experience is limited to Karachi, Hyderabad, Kohat.

I do recall reading job ads in papers where ppl of only certain ethnicity are invited to apply. that was kinda funny

Na , Antiobl mate u didn’t get me point , as I always say , we have culprits in both side , if some one from Karachi carry negative emotion , one should also be humble to find out the root cause of that. Rather then go along with the thought ‘ oh these Karachi walas or other provinces are jealous with us , because we are big and we are doing good ‘ . if they are doing good by any means , much credit goes to small provinces and in general Karachi for being the port city.
Unless or until the start giving every province its due , u may often see , people carrying such negative emotions and they aint against general people , they are against the establishment .

teh thing that caught my eye was the stats about educated unemployment rate in Karachi in the initial article that I was reading and posted. while it appears that the author is a little simplistic and attributes it all to govt jobs. I dont have a good idea of how many govt jobs are there to begin with.

the other stats about what karachi contributes to the economy as well as the percentage of educated people was interesting compared to the rest fo teh country.

just some observations

Those people who can afford 1 lakh shadi ka jora DO spend on their kids education that much or more, you are probably comparing one side of population who can afford shadi ka jora worth few laks while the other side is struggling daily to meet ends.

As you repeat umpteen times on rest of the forum it takes to two tango, right? So its not just Karachi's responsbility to come out of garbage.

Your example of Karachi + Punjabi language doesn't explain how many Punjabi were settled in Karachi vs. How many Punjabis got there on Khota (quota) system.
Not all Rangers are "settled" in Karachi I thinks.

I am from one of Karachi's engineering institute, and guess what... total Sindh's quota was far less compared to any other provinces. The institute is based in Karachi and accept less number of students from Karachi (or even whole Sindh) where as you know where majority comes from ;)

^^hehe NED stuff:) oh i miss me city

Stats can be used in all ways to draw wrong conclusions.

How many people in Karachi are educated vs how many native Sindhis are? sure this can be used to draw conclusion that government isn't spending on Sindhis education.

Captain Jee, UET, KEMC, AIMC, FJMC are all based in Lahore and each has no more than 15-20 Lahoris in each class.

I am not sure whats the purpose/use of telling me how many Lahoris are there, I was more interested in knowing how many Punjab domicilians are there.
I was asking you earlier but you refrained to answer, so what is the % of other provinces in these institutions?

sure man, but u can draw right conclusions too. although what you have is a hypothesis, then you will relate it to actual spending and see whether teh hypothsis you concluded with is infact accurate.

Karachites are more educated than ppl in any other place in Pakistan, now that may be a valid observation its a simple stat. When u look at correlation yeah u can add factors and draw all kinds of conclusions from it, if you have the right data. more correlations you add, the more data you need because the 'conclusions' that you may come up with may or may not be real and if they are you have to understand further root causes for it.

in your example if you look at per capita expenditure on education and then per capita literacy then you can see what the ROI is for the educational investments in different parts of the country. that still gives you an incomplete picture, u then have to factor in teacher education and training, facilities, salaries, educational level of parents, economic conditions..many factors to get some sort of comprehensive picture. however simple correlations could show simple findings, u have to drill down to find out how related two variables are and what impact do other variables which you have not factored play.

what if you did an assessment of expenditure and education level and the findings are that the spending per capita is more but the literacy levels are low, what then. would you leave with the conclusion that the less you spend per capita, the better results you get? :) you may see that in US, actually there was a study nto too long ago where diff areas and spending vs results were shown and some areas had betetr results with less spending than others...no u have to dig in further and see what other variables are playing a role. likewise when you see that expenditure levels atre directly proportional to education levels, you may come to the conclusion that high expenditure means higher literacy rate..which makes sense, but maybe you are not factoring in major factors like the ones mentioned that play a role.

comprehensive stats would help understand the situation better. U may get to a point where there are no stats but to understand the phenomenon better you will have to then get those stats.

sorry to bore you, but I live with trade stats, surveys, population sampling, and such sort of correlations and insights day and night.