quota system and Pakistan

Re: quota system and Pakistan

Iconoclast- why make this about me rather than the issue.
first of all the equal opportunity act in US is not close to being as screwed up as the quota system is in Pakistan.
secondly, yes I have made my thoughts clear about the issues that exist in equal opportunity as it pertains to academics specifically, and not just now, even as far back as my days as an undergrad student when we lobbied the state capital and talked to the state reps and state senators.
happy?

Why shud i be crying about qouta system or ask for it, i am not of the under privileged group, those who are shud ask for it and i'll support them.

Now you are diverting from the issue, stay on qouta system, we all know its about ethnicity.

If i am right, the budget of Balochistan province is equal to budget of Karachi (or Islamabad)alone, when Balochistan contributes a lot in terms of Gas production.

And i hope that you have the courage to extrapolate this to genuine grieviences of all areas including FATA.

Indeed those who are not in underprivileged groups have no need to change status quo.

how many people speakingup against the quota system have you supported? :)

right, and quota system in america question was not diverting from the issue

indeed it seems like it is about ethnicity, thats what the baluchis say and have been saying for decades.

but yeah i see your point, NIMBY approach is alive and well in Pakistan.

Let's end this divisive talk. I'd just borrow words from Saleem Ji.

Quota system = Khota system (system only suitable for donkeys)

Use "proportional representation" to figure out who is extremely disadvantaged for example, less than 50% of their population ratio and then put some plans in place to bring up their numbers.

Also we must move away from department-specific analysis. Every ethnic group should be counted using a formula that includes both public and private jobs.

Khota system must go!

good closure on this topic

Icono"lost" sahab, why is that majority of police etc in karachi is punjabi? OBL talks about quota system / affirmative action in the US but I never see that the police of Chicago is now imported from kentucky or iowa because oh jee, iowa doesn’t have a job so lets start putting people in police and make a national US of A airline and put cheese pumping hilly billies in charge of the engineering dept. :omg:

And obl, quit on this tirade of urdu-speakign this and that. Urdu speakers are diverse and what biharis might have done might be sad. You can feel bad about it because you might be a bihari yourself but biharis etc don’t represnt all of urdu speakers in karachi. Heck, how did the “urdu speakers” enact any policy when Ayub khan moved the bureaucracy and the capital to punjab when he came over in 1958? This whole “urdu speaker” tirade is getting tiring. My family worked hard for everything they got. If you are talking about lands etc that any mahajirs might have gotten then many of the current feudal lords you have now were kammis who tended the lands of sikhs / hindus pre-partition and occupied the land after partition when the sikhs / hindus fled to india.

I agree we should have had better relationships with sindhi but the sindhi waderas are also to blame. You had army and police kill MQM in the eighties way before it started using terrorism because the party was getting popular in s. punjab as a venue for middle class people. PPP lost that title when waderas and chaudhries infiltrated the party sort of like what happened to PML when the tiwanas / chaudhries decided to throw their lot with jinnah when they did nothing for the pakistan movement in blood or money..

Bhai Shriek sahib, why itna ghussa kha rahain hain app. Fraudz bhai nay thread shuru kia to discussion ho gaee. Ab Pir Ji aap say naraz ho ga-ay to aap ki dunyia bhi Kharab aur akhirat bhi. [trans: Fraudz started the thread and we had a cordial discussion].

BTW US police and army is mostly recruited from mid-West. I don't have stats for Chicago, but there was huge discussion in America on this topic after Rodney King riots.

The stats back then showed that most of the LA police officers were from Mississippi, Alabama, and neighboring states. Some analysts did bring the ethnic (White vs. Black) angle in that case.

Most of the US infantry men come from Appalachia. For those who haven't been to USA, make sure you go to at least few Appalachian states. They are just like our Pothohar area (Chakwal, Talagang etc) albeit more green.

And guess what, people from these states love to join the armed services. May be it is hill billy thing the way you put it.

Another nugget for y'all. Hill Billys were the soldiers of Abraham Lincoln. Even though Hill billys may be synonymous for backward people. Lincolns Billys laid down their lives in order to keep America from becoming slave owning country. So my hats off to hill billys.

*Shreik Bhai, you seems to be all gung ho about the Karachi. And that's all right. However you must study the dynamics of our community before shouting at others. This is so common among our community. We harbor racist attitudes towards other Pakistanis without recognizing our own position and our own history.

LAK sahib enacted Khota (I mean Quota) system in Pakistan, with strong preference for our clans from Bihar, UP, and some from Hyderabad.

He was allowed to set these preference until he stepped into Punjabi chauvinists territory and started kicking out top brass of Federal police and custom officials. That's when the whole conspiracy of assassination happened.

Pakistan Railways was immediately turned into Bihari railway, if you ask an honest bazurg (elder).

Look Shriek bhai. Let's be honest. Our cousins back in Bihar and UP are equally (if not more) hardworking. Still very few of them have access to wealth and prosperity like us in Pakistan. When did you visit your cousins in UP?

Look Shriek Bhai, you are again showing ignorance of history that is so common in our groups. We are historically "Sunnis" not the religious kind, but the ones who believe in Sunni Sunnai (rumors) history. Read Bhai Read first.

Just for reality check, Punjab had three major parties before 1947. Muslim League, Unionist Party, and Congress.

Muslim League was mix of mega-farmers and sprinkling of city folks like Iqbal. Unionist party was dominated by Muslim Mega-farmers with exception of one Hindu Mega-farmer known as Sir Chotoo Raam.

Congress was dominated by Hindu Businessmen and Baboos. While Akalis were all Sikhs including farmers and businessmen.

In 1945 elections, majority seats (86) went to Muslim League, Unionist party was number 2 and Congress #3. Akalis had few seats as well.

So this simply shows the power structure of "Whole" Punjab (east+west) in pre-partition days.

I don't know who told you that mega-farmers of Punjab took lands from Hindus and Sikhs. The reality is that Hindus and Sikhs snatched Muslim lands in East Punjab, while Muslims snatched businesses, city property and Baboo jobs.

I say again. Please read our history. Itna Ghussa achaa nahi hota sehat kay lee-ay (anger is injurious to your health).

Thank you for agreeing. And read about Pak history.

peace!

Majority of police in Karachi is Punjabi for a very good reason, to kick arse of terrorrists. I am sure some people frightening flashbacks.

Now as to qouta system, i sm for all underprivilged people to be given equal playing field, how this is done can be a matter of discussion, most countries do it by qoutas in jobs, like USA and India. But other things shud also be done, like allocating resources for education, health and infrastructure in under developed areas. But some people want to have it all and do not want to give anything to others. What a shame.

true, so the griev ances of some provinces and cities are real and the entire quota system and the entire allocation of budget and resources must be reevaluated because some provinces feel that the center is generous to Punjab and not to others. I dont know how true that is but since that is the prevailing thinking in baluchistan and interiro sindh a transparent and more comprehensive system needs to be developed.

com'on mate go n check ya facts, go out meet any non punjabi people ( baloochi , pashtun ) , tell them that u belong to punjab n then see the real treatment ya gona get !

Punjab shud have played the big bruv role , which it hasnt so far !

well it is not a matter of me need , I just simply asked is there any fix no of allotted seats for Karachi ? any stats on armed force officers on Karachi’s domicile ?

No it is not becasue they are here to kick the arses but because Karachi people never preferred police jobs back in the 60s' 70s' and 80s.

Well these days number of Urdu speaking people in governement jobs is fastly shrinking. Places like Sindh Secretariat or Port Qasim Authority, you will see only a handful of urdu speaking people - majority of them are now our sindhi brothers. Sitatuation in PTCL and SSG is better for urdu speaking people in Karachi but the top management people viz. engineers etc again belong to other ethinic people - back in the 60-80s the most top management used to urdu speaking people.

Recenlty MQM has recurited its party workers in CDGK, KESC etc thereby stifling merit for other deserving urdu speaking people.

When wadera saeen will continue to use the rural schools as his otaq how can you expect people of sindh to rise and compete with others on merit?

^That must be fault of Punjabis.

Somehow Punjab needs to be blamed, huh!

You were talking about qouta for rural Sindh being injust to urban Sindh, but this too somehow benefits Punjab, rural Sindhis are punjabis i guess.

Mostar Bhai, you have a point. The shameful role of "big-wigs" has been hindrance to the prosperity and development of the Interior Sindh. These people have refused to live in 21st century and sadly their @r$es are firmly planted in an era that could very well be 4 centuries ago.

However the Sindhi masses have pushed and elbowed their way out of that draconian system. Even when it is a tiny percentage, they are enough when we consider that tiny percentage against the large number of Sindh's population.

Unfortunately those maverick Sindhi youth didn't get a helping hand from us, the Urdu Speaking brethren and fellow statesmen. We were so engrossed in our situation, that our University Khota (quota) system effectively shut those Sindhis out all the way until 1984. So in a way Sindhi youth first got abused by rural waderas (Sindhis), but if they did make it out of their hold, they were subjected to Urban Waderas (Urdu Speaking). This is what I call double jeopardy!

*I urge you and others that Sindh Urban must look into its own "gariban" (heart) to see where we went wrong. Is that too difficult? Are we the only angels in the whole of Pakistan?

My my touchy touchy aren't we. I am not blaming anyone so dont take it so personally. I am stating what the people of other provinces are saying. yeah I see post all you want about Karachi, one post about punjab and its all over ;)

Sadly, that is what "they" are saying, right or wrong, that is the perception. You can either admit thatthere is a real or a perceived problem which has existed for some time, and what needs to be done to correct that.

note the title of the thread is quota system and Pakistan, not sindh or Karachi, just because the conversation started from Karachi does not mean its limited to karachi. had I wanted to discuss just Karachi, I would have set the topic of the thread quota system and Karachi.

Now that being said, do you feel that there is equitable distribution of resources from the center, do you think there has been equitable distribution from teh center previously?

does anyone know per capita allocation by province and city, how does that compare to per capita output by city or province.

comparison of those 2 numbers could be pretty eye openeing I suppose. lets see it.