Pros and Cons of marrying a lady doctor.

Re: Pros and Cons of marrying a lady doctor.

You know that something went wrong in your education and self-enrichment process when you start looking down at people who have other priorities and/or ambitions in life.

Ah.

The stay at home Moms take a pop at the working Moms and the working Moms take a pop at the stay at home Moms. Now where have I heard that before. :hehe:

This is the 21st century. I don’t know what world some people live in. I don’t get why both groups think what either one of them does makes them less of a ‘‘family’’ person? For a guy who can’t do laundry or cook basic food is not only pathetic its hilarious at the same time. Similarly for women sitting at home or working doesn’t make you a bad parent either. My Mom has been a housewife but some years has worked not 9-5 but 12 hours. In which case my Dad would pitch in, get stuff done etc. Did her working and then being a housewife when she was not working affect her abilities as a mother? No it didn’t, as both of my parents balanced it out and there is no better example in my life for me than them.

I’d rather my begum makes use of her education and work, I’d also rather is she went into so much trouble going into Medicine that she make use of that, I dislike desis being a doctor just for a rishta but if she doesn’t and if she decides her time is better spent at home then good for her. If she does work and decides to use her degree etc then good for her too. I highly doubt either would affect her ability as a mother. Some people seem to be under the wrong impression that there is a standard ‘‘correct’’ method of being a good parent. Common sense would tell you there is no standard method, like everything there should be a balance. And to see whether that theory is correct or not I don’t have to look further as my own family is a good example of that.

Well

Pros and Cons of marrying a lady doctor.

Well for guys who want to marry a doctor, please remember that they have put so much time and energy into their education and careers. It would be unjustified if you want to make them stay at home. On the other hand, if your wife is working as a doctor, she is going to be very busy, ALL THE TIME. Especially,earlier on in the career. And by that, i mean atleast 10 years if you are in Pakistan. Only then she would have established enough to have a relatively relaxed schedule. Help would b needed to raise children as well.
The positives include having a highly educated spouse, who may also be of financial support. A full time medical support as well.

This thread is like doom and gloom on Women doctors and rishta’s :chai:

Fair enough, but I doubt women who spent 5 years groveling in med school while their high school mates were all busy dolling up and enjoying all the perks of being young girls, would want to sit home and answer gawking faces questioning about their career and wasting seats unless they *really *have a very VALID excuse to do so.

Life isn't as easy for someone who is a mum, has in laws to deal with, be ever ready for mehmaan daari and basically expected to do all the household chores without fail . Not everybody can afford maids and servants seeing doctors in Pak are paid peanuts. Also while we are living on our own with our private space, where nobody questions when we clean or cook or do the laundry, it's pretty easy to wag fingers at those who for genuine reasons had to compromise and quit or take a break because we would never be able to know the dynamics of their family unless of course we step right into their shoes.

The way we shouldn't be judging a woman who has had the opportunity to start career and finish training without starting family or getting married because it's *her *choice, the same way we cant judge someone who had to take a little break for kids and family and for other countless reasons that might not be written on her forehead.

To the OP, there aren't any special pros and cons of marrying a lady doctor. Like any other marriage, both parties have to compromise. But yes if you actually intend to make her the sughar stay at home woman and *bahu *of the family, then please do her and yourself a favour, do not marry her.

It isn't easy to spend so many years literally with drilling med school exams and a million books to mug up only to end up staying home just for the sake of it !

I think it's unfair to judge anyone for their life choices without knowing first hand what their life is like. Even though I work full-time, since I don't have any kids and don't have that additional responsiblity......it would be silly on my part to pass judgments on a woman who has children.

1) Whether a wife/mother has chosen to work full-time or be a SAHW/SAHM........it's between her and her husband. Obviously not every option works for everyone. So ift particular arrangement works for that couple, then outsiders really don't have a right to judge their choices.

2) I have said this before and will repeat myself....doctors are not much different from other full-time careers that can be demanding (lawyers, consultants, certain IT jobs etc. etc. etc.). I still don't get why we're so focused on M.D.s.

3) No one can predict what their life will be like in the future. As we grow older, our values/priorities change. Who we are/what things matter to us at the age of 20 is (and should be!) different then when we turn 30......versus when we turn 40. It's part of going through life.

Its unfair (and downright ridiculous) to think that a woman should plan out her ENTIRE life when's she's in her early 20's and stick to that decision (ie. as in deciding whether or not to attend school). Women can't predict who they will marry, what the future husband's financial situation will be like, whether or not they will have kids (often women find out they have fertility issues once they TTC), or even what it's like to be a mother............until those events actually take place. There are MANY other factors that play a role in the decision for a wife/mother to put a hold or even end her career.

Frankly I find it sad that any woman would look down on other women who choose to further their education simply b/c that woman's values/priorities changed years later....something she could NOT predicted when she made the choice to apply to/attend med school (or any other graduate level professional school). Another thing women can't predict is whether or not their husband will get laid off, become disabled, or die early. In these cases, its absolutely imperative that a wife have the skills necessary to support herself and her kids.

One of my family friends in US imported their (doctor) daughter-in-law from Pakistan. Before marriage, the girl’s parents expressly asked if they would let her work afterwards because she is one of those rare breeds who are very passionate about serving humanity. She would go to Africa and volunteer her services if she could. The in-laws reassured the parents that yeah why waste her education, she can work part time or full time if she likes. So after the bahu came to America, she wanted to write her step exams but was told by husband dear that in their family it is tradition to have kids as early as possible after marriage and he suggested waiting to do the exams after the first kid. She got pregnant but unfortunately had a premature baby who almost died at birth and still needing a lot of care after having gone through multiple surgeries. It’s been 3 or 4 years now and the bahu still hasn’t done her exams because the baby needs her. And soon after the husband will likely want to grow the family, so she can forget about going back to work.
Now this is one of the more affluent desi families I know of. Two doctors and one financial consultant in the family…dad works for pak gov’t. But they don’t believe in hiring extra help. The MIL and DIL are responsible for all the chores at home.
So yeah let’s not judge others for their decisions when we don’t know their circumstances.

For the sake of perpetuating this adversarial discussion - are there any studies on women who finish medical school in the US and then go on to either not practice or leave the profession after a certain number of years?

Is there a study for the same numbers for women in Pakistan?

Oh, and is there must be numbers on the number of doctors per 1000 people in the population - I know we have similar stats here in Canada, which is the primary argument for desiring more foreign trained doctors to qualify here - because there aren't enough doctors to keep up with the population demand.

A career break is different - life happens and a lot women take breaks for a few years to raise a family - but as unpopular as my statement might be - being a medical doctor is a responsibility and women need to think through their career options and responsibilities before choosing that professional path.

Pros: Assumptions would be made about her mentality/ home economic skills.

Cons: Assumptions would be made about her mentality/ home economic skills.

Moral of the story, no two people are the same. Assuming/ generalizing one way or the other... only makes an "a*s out of u and me." ("me" being the lady daactar)

Okay, found one study!

Here are numbers on the number of doctors per 10,000 people from around the world.

Physicians (Per 10,000 Population) - GlobalHealthFacts.org

Physicians (Per 10,000 Population)

2005-2010

(Go to Maps above or Notes and Sources below)
Rank Table by:

• Country Name
  • Rate

[TABLE=“class: data-by-topic-table”]

[TH=“class: rank”]Rank
[/TH]
[TH=“class: location sorted”]Country Name

http://www.paklinks.com/images/sort_asc.gif

[/TH]
[TH]Rate per 10,000
[/TH]

[TR=“class: global”]
[TH=“class: rank”][/TH]
[TH=“class: location”]Global
[/TH]
[TH=“class: data”]14
[/TH]
[/TR]

Afghanistan

Albania

Algeria

American Samoa

(NA)

Andorra

Angola

(NA)

Anguilla

(NA)

Antigua and Barbuda

(NA)

Argentina

(NA)

Armenia

Aruba

(NA)

Australia

Austria

Azerbaijan

Bahamas

(NA)

Bahrain

Bangladesh

Barbados

Belarus

Belgium

Belize

Benin

Bermuda

(NA)

Bhutan

Bolivia

(NA)

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Botswana

Bouvet Island

(NA)

Brazil

British Indian Ocean Territory

(NA)

British Virgin Islands

(NA)

Brunei Darussalam

Bulgaria

Burkina Faso

Burundi

(NA)

Cambodia

Cameroon

(NA)

Canada

Cape Verde

Cayman Islands

(NA)

Central African Republic

(NA)

Chad

(NA)

Chile

China

Christmas Island

(NA)

Cocos (Keeling Islands)

(NA)

Colombia

Comoros

(NA)

Congo

Congo (Dem. Republic of)

(NA)

Cook Islands

Costa Rica

(NA)

Cote d’Ivoire

Croatia

Cuba

Cyprus

Czech Republic

Denmark

Djibouti

Dominica

(NA)

Dominican Republic

(NA)

Ecuador

Egypt

El Salvador

Equatorial Guinea

(NA)

Eritrea

(NA)

Estonia

Ethiopia

Faeroe Islands

(NA)

Falkland Islands (Malvinas)

(NA)

Fiji

Finland

France

French Guiana

(NA)

French Polynesia

(NA)

French Southern Territories and Antarctic Lands

(NA)

Gabon

(NA)

Gambia

Georgia

Germany

Ghana

Gibraltar

(NA)

Greece

Greenland

(NA)

Grenada

(NA)

Guadeloupe

(NA)

Guam

(NA)

Guatemala

(NA)

Guinea

Guinea-Bissau

Guyana

(NA)

Haiti

(NA)

Heard Island and McDonald Islands

(NA)

Honduras

(NA)

Hungary

Iceland

India

Indonesia

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

Iraq

Ireland

Israel

Italy

Jamaica

(NA)

Japan

Johnston Atoll

(NA)

Jordan

Kazakhstan

Kenya

(NA)

Kiribati

Korea (Dem. Peo. Rep. of)

(NA)

Korea (Republic of)

Kuwait

Kyrgyzstan

Lao People’s Democratic Rep.

Latvia

Lebanon

Lesotho

(NA)

Liberia

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Liechtenstein

(NA)

Lithuania

Luxembourg

Macedonia (The former Yugoslav Republic of)

Madagascar

Malawi

Malaysia

Maldives

Mali

Malta

Marshall Islands

Martinique

(NA)

Mauritania

Mauritius

(NA)

Mayotte

(NA)

Mexico

Micronesia (Federated States of)

Midway

(NA)

Moldova (Republic of)

Monaco

(NA)

Mongolia

Montenegro

Montserrat

(NA)

Morocco

Mozambique

Myanmar

Namibia

Nauru

Nepal

(NA)

Netherlands

Netherlands Antilles

(NA)

New Caledonia

(NA)

New Zealand

Nicaragua

(NA)

Niger

Nigeria

Niue

Norfolk Island

(NA)

Northern Mariana Islands

(NA)

Norway

Oman

Pakistan

Palau

Panama

(NA)

Papua New Guinea

Paraguay

(NA)

Peru

Philippines

(NA)

Pitcairn Island

(NA)

Poland

Portugal

Puerto Rico

(NA)

Qatar

Reunion

(NA)

Romania

Russian Federation

Rwanda

Saint Helena

(NA)

Saint Kitts and Nevis

(NA)

Saint Lucia

(NA)

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

(NA)

Samoa

San Marino

(NA)

Sao Tome and Principe

(NA)

Saudi Arabia

Senegal

Serbia

Seychelles

(NA)

Sierra Leone

Singapore

Slovakia

Slovenia

Solomon Islands

Somalia

South Africa

(NA)

Spain

Sri Lanka

Sudan

Suriname

(NA)

Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands

(NA)

Swaziland

(NA)

Sweden

Switzerland

Syrian Arab Republic

Tajikistan

Tanzania (United Rep. of)

Thailand

(NA)

Timor Leste

(NA)

Togo

Tokelau

(NA)

Tonga

Trinidad and Tobago

Tunisia

Turkey

Turkmenistan

Turks and Caicos Island

(NA)

Tuvalu

Uganda

Ukraine

United Arab Emirates

United Kingdom

United States of America

Uruguay

Uzbekistan

Vanuatu

Venezuela

(NA)

Viet Nam

Virgin Islands (U.S.)

(NA)

Wake Island

(NA)

Wallis and Futuna Islands

(NA)

West Bank and Gaza

(NA)

Western Sahara

(NA)

Yemen

Zambia

Zimbabwe

(NA)

Definitions: Physicians: Includes generalists and specialists.

I highlighted Cuba, because it puts the rest of the nations to shame.

Easy there, CC. Let's not poke each others' eyes out. Yehi baat app behtar andaaz se bhi keh sakte hain without personally attacking others.

ther r many advantages like dr is 24/7 available the least she can do is take good care of her own/ur kids frm med point of view , in case of an emergency first aid is readily available , ther r many others u cnt count them.

I don't think anyone joins medical school only in hopes of making their cv look good. I don't think it's by any means easy whether in pakistan or USA or anywhere else in the world. Countless hours spent studying, taking exam after exam in med school and then USMLEs. Passing is not enough and you have to work your ass off to get good scores to land a residency, and it only gets tougher each year. And to top that off, in USA, most students will take out loans, close to $300k that they will have to pay well into their 40s. So I don't know where the fascination is to get into med school, rough it out and then not work. People don't do that as an options, there is almost always something behind it.

Having said that, as Paheli said, peoples priorities change as we get older. And why should female doctors be expected to either put their career first, or their families first, who is anyone else to judge, why can't they make that decision for themselves. Who are you to point fingers? Do people go around juding lawyers, and IT consultants or whatever have you for whether they continue or not continue to work?

I started residency with a girl who had to leave 6 months into her intership year. Her mother was diagnosed with breast cancer back in Columbia, and she was her only child. For her it was important to be there for her mother to spend time with her, and be there for her through treatment etc. She decided to go, family came first. She didn't know how long she'd be away for, and that she'd have to re-apply for residency, knowing well that it gets tougher and tougher each year. I think most of us can stand in her shoes, and make that decision as well.

These generalizations need to stop and people need to stop pointing fingers and telling others what they should or shouldn't do.

have you seen documentary film sicko by michael moore ?

Preach it, sista!

I was dumbfounded when I read the thread on Pakistani girls. Nobody zaleelofies desis more than desis themselves. Is it inferiority complex or something? On one hand, we're getting offended in this thread if some men are stereotyping successful working women and on the other hand we're doing it ourselves to other women.

Kya yeh khulla tazaad nahin? =p

Seriously!!!

It's like how easy it is to sit back and talk about people living in intense environments like Pakistan and then assume that they are lazy and good for nothing. I can bet that if any one of these ladies who generalize and talk trash about desis like me can not last even a day having the circumstances we have!

Come study and then work in a male dominated third world country being a female and then talk!

Ghusa hi charha dita fazool ich.

Sehrysh, will you stop trying to distract us from the pertinent issue of who’s the bigger victim here by throwing these solid facts at us? :grumpy:

ps. gotta give it to pakistanimard for he knows how to rile everyone up here!