Property Issues with Newly Weds

If, ladies, you ever come across a guy who doesn't find it common sense to put your name on the property and bank account, etc but refuses to let you work (because good moms stay at home and raise their kids, unlike the rest of us horrific moms who actually work to feed their kids), and has you cooking fresh rotian for him every night, then run the other way. He's taking services from you and giving you no long-term protection.

Let the gorian lap up men like that. Go find a more secure option for yourself.

Good luck PCG :hehe:

Ever heard of something called a ‘will’? Are you seriously thinking men just die and everyhing they own disapears? :rotfl: And dont worry, the women in our families dont end up in Eidhi Centers either :hehe:

Well spock

i) more money in the kitty for bling and vacations.

ii) she forever been employed and shall always will be some capacity, she runs her own boutique business.

iii) of course i would, she's my equal in every sense of the word, love u Rose.

Orpheus, aap key mazah ho gaye, you get half the mortgage payment paid for by her... aur kya chahiyeh... You better love her!

p.s. you didnt quite answer my questions, perhaps you misunderstood 'em... there is no (iii) either... Are you the co-owner of the boutique business?

Re: Property Issues with Newly Weds

I think it all comes down to trust. If there is no trust, name on property will be a huge issue. If they both blindly trust each other, girls won't care if guys have their name on the property or not and guys won't hesitate adding their wives name to the property where applicable....viceversa!

no Spock.

whether she is working or not is irrelevant, both names should be on everything, unless there are credit concerns....

in the case where the property is not yours but your parents', well it's time to move out, you're a big boy now.

Agree

Afterall the western laws make it so easy for females to get their share of property and the kids in case of divorce.

In a marriage there is no mines or yours, it should be ours.

If the female wants security, then she should work, why depend on a guy so much, yes even with kids u can work, so that is not an excuse.

Someone said "Women are like hurricanes. They are wet and wild when they come, but when they leave they take your house and car".

it goes in both the cases

DTA (don't trust anybody)

what is love...... nothing!!!!! just a emotion to satisfy ones need. If something belongs to u. It should ONLY belong to u. Whether husband or wife. Don't share or don't even bother sharing....

Our society is way too complicate... u will defend urself, they will think ur acting selfish!!!!!!

Jeez, I'm so glad me and hubby did everything together and in halves and neither of us had to make this 'names on paper' such a big deal.

Our recently bought home was paid for half by him and half by me but its in his name due to my credit being sucky. Even with me having paid half I don't give a damn and it hasn't become a matter of prestige for me that the house is not in my name, so what. Hes my other half whats his is mine and whats mine is his.

Sometimes for attention I make a sad face that I don't get any important letters like he does so lets me open his post lol.

Relax people, LET YOUR HUSBAND be the one to one say 'i want you on the papers'. Dont be a greedy monster and ruin a moment that could be so sweet between you both.

Even if he doesnt put your name on it. Go out and work like the rest of us! You cant sit on your bum and expect a marriage to be a route into wealth as some do.

I have paid half yet it doesnt bother me who's name is on papers. If it was soley his property he had bought without my help I WOULD NOT have the gutts to say put in my name mister! How cheap.

^ Agree.

Hmmmm...

I think if a man has an issue with making his wife a co-owner...then it raises red flags for me. If he does it of his own accord, thats wonderful. But lets say a year, two years, three years go by and there is no discussion or mention of this?

At the same time, the wife has children and cannot work because daycare is crazy expensive and she would much rather be home with them? She might feel better if she had equal ownership because she IS doing her part in the marriage by taking care of their home.

If she has a talk with him about this, she is a gold digger? I know in Illinois, everything is divided right down the middle, usually the person who has the kids keeps the home and in most cases not only is there child support but also spousal support. Divorce can really wreak havoc on finances if things get messy.

So why not keep it nice and simple?

And when the loves dies, then is it still a matter of what's yours in mine and what's mine is yours? We don't live in a perfect world and it's neither greedy nor selfish for both partners to expect to have their names on joint assets - it's practical for the protection of both parties.

But let's for a moment forget about marriage breakdown, even for inheritance purposes, why would you want your home or other assets to go through probate? If the spouses are noted as joint with the right of survivorship (this differs from one jurisdiction to another), the surviving spouse can inherit the assets outright and this may in some cases save estate taxes/death duties.

People, do your research and make sensible decisions.

excellent post. all the ladies in this thread should print this post out...

the guy will put your name on the property when he's good and ready... which in my case will be never.

**Sehrysh **there is such a thing as a will.

Me and partner have a flat we both paid towards and its in his name. Boo hoo. Never crossed my mind that I'm not secure.

I guess its something I learnt from my mum. She never even mentioned ownerships etc to my dad but my dad put her in charge of all finances from day one. When they went to move out of their flat and into their family home dad was shocked at how my mum had managed to save so much money.

That point on every asset in our lives has been in my mums name. Our house in London, Pakistan and Flori. So in this case my dads not on any papers but I'm as sure as hell he doesn't feel insecure.

Someone said on this post 'when love dies out...'... my advise to you is why not prevent yourself from bringing up cheap ideas like this so that the love doesn't die out?

My parents have been married for 30 years mashallah and I am their only child. I can tell you they are as much in love today as they were 20 years years ago. In fact more.

Ladies, if you want ownership of land, money and wealth from a wedding I suggest you not bother to go through the complications of a wedding. Get a job and buy your wealth and security yourself! This isnt stone age.

I thought I was clear in my post that noting joint ownership on certain property, i.e. real property and bank/investment accounts is sensible not solely because you're afraid your partner is going to leave you and you want to protect your share in the property.

It is done for estate planning purposes so that assets subject to probate are minimized and estate taxes can be reduced. It's prudent financial planning. Yes, when your partner designates you his/her heir - you inherit the property. But, the property must be probated, a process that takes both time and money. Plus, as I've noted, with the exception of certain assets in certain jurisdictions, estate taxes or death duties are levied on property that is inherited.

Why make the government richer on property that both partners already agree is jointly theirs?

lol looks like this thread backfired

its not always a good thing. By the laws of many States in USA, she is already half owner if divorce happens, but on the flip side, if her name is there as a co owner, she is also liable for any uncollected loan if hubby decided to walk away.

She does not forfeit any of her rights if her name is not on the property but there is less liability on her if things go south