Problem marrying a girl who was divorced...

Re: Problem marrying a girl who was divorced...

So why is the woman divorced with a 2 year old? Was it abuse from the husband? Did he cheat? Did she cheat? Divorce usually is the inability of two people to make a marriage work. It also usually includes faults on both sides and transgressions, which do repeat in future marriages. Think long and hard about such a situation. Not only are you jumping into a situation you do not fully understand, you are also causing turmoil at home. More so do you think your mom and sister will accept your future wife even if you do get married? Or will they make her life miserable like so many posters have alluded to already? If they are going to make her life miserable will you be able to handle it or will you have to break off contact with your entire family.

Basically the end question is are you willing to destroy your relationship with your mom, dad and sister for this girl? And honestly 2 months? Seriously? That is not enough time to get to know your pet gerbil.

Pathetic!

Go for it, if this is what is best for you and the lady.

I second that.. rather it should be "I hate"

It is easy to sit in judgement and pass such comments. In arranged marriages you dont even know the other person and still you are willing to take the risk. I can understand the parents' opposition to the alliance. What I dont understand is the opposition by the people here.

Zafra raises a valid point. If the OP was a girl, she would also be asked why the guy she's interested in got a divorce. If not by some of us, she'd be asked by her family. It's a common sense question to factor into the overall equation. However, it doesn't necessarily mean that the person of interest was more at fault in the marriage, nor does it guarantee repetition of the same mistakes in the subsequent marriage.

I think the OP should first think about whether he's ready for the responsibility of raising someone else's child, whether he's truly okay with his wife's past, and if he can maintain a balance between his wife's rights and those of his parents. If he believes he can manage all this, then he needs to patiently hear his parents reasons for opposition. Some of their concerns may be reasonable and some otherwise. He should refute them in a non-defensive way and possibly get the support of other family members.

If he will be living with his parents after marriage, then their bias will naturally bring more challenges. The child will also be affected and the mother has to factor the child's well-being into her decision. So, OP, if you feel that you are not emotionally/financially ready for such a complex responsibility, then be honest with the girl and stop talking to her. Women tend to get more attached as time goes on and she shouldn't feel as though she was led on by you.

I don't think our society is GUTIA, its the opinion of some that how they want to behave. Mother/ Sister is looking out for son/bro to see how's life will be of their son/bro. OP didn't mention if the father of his friend's daughter will be involved? I'm sure if he has rights to visit her, then this will be a life time issue and stress for him and is he ready for it? Not only visits, but also you will be bringing up someone else's child, your family will not be nice to lil girl, who will never have grand-ma home.

I really don't blame his mother/sis, I blame this young man who didn't do his research before showing sabaz bagh to this girl and now trying to make his family a villain. He is not taking this responsibility that he should have cleared up with his family before he starts any romance with her.

Now if you have enough guts, take her to court and marry her, be a great father to her daughter and then let your family know what you did, they will come to terms sooner or later, but PLEASE for God-sake, don't dismiss her, you may not know this pain of rejection, just ask MannoKhan, its like divorce all over again and since you never gone through divorce, let me tell you, I would rather be in hell then to get divorce!!

My best wishes to all three of you!!

Its the way desis work.

Anything we don't understand is labelled haram.
Anything we're scared of or do not want to go through with we stop anyone trying to do it as well, ie this case.

Its not our culture that's to blame, its the stupid people shaping it.

Was just wondering how many IQ points trolls have?

What was the reason of her divorce?

well its not like I have anything against divorced people or that they are bad people but the thing is why don't they find someone who is divorced too. I mean she is coming with a baggage but he is not.So much of tension is involved in it.Its his first marriage but for her its second. Marriage itself has so much in it, I mean you have to make compromises & adjustments normally & when she is already coming with a baggage I mean you will have to do alot.

In my opinion divorced people should marry divorced people, as they will get along quite well, as they both will know what they have been through. But in this case guy does not even have the idea what she has been through.Divorced/widowed people should marry someone like them & support someone of their own kind beacuse they can balance things out better together.

If I am a divorced/widowed girl, I will only consider rishtas from divorced/widowed people, I will never ever consider a rishta of an unmarried guy, I mean why would I? If I am a physically challeneged girl, I will marry a person who is physically challenged too like me, no matter what if some normal guy likes me I will never ever accept his proposal.

Well one should know to do justice on his own too, if she is divorced why she is interested in marrying a unmarried guy, why don't she fond someone like her.You also have to see what you are contributing to the society,there are so many girls who are not getting married & here we see unmarried guy wants to marry a divorced girl. There are so many divorced guys & girls out there, why don't they just marry each other, this will solve alot of problems in our society leaving unmarried guys & girls to marry other unmarried guys & girls. Guys getting married to divorced/widowed girls hence no rishtas for unmarried girls & that gose the other way round too. Well that is just my opinion on it.

Oh yeah right now you love her, you are emotionally involved with her, so no questions on that, you both should get married no matter what. Parents, family etc baaki sub cheezo ki khair he....
now go ahead everyone call me jahil... backward & what not, I am just giving out my opinion as you all are giving.

You sound as crazy as you did the first time.

People marry whoever they want to marry - this imaginary tag of 'divorced', 'widowed' etc. you created actually does not exist.

Why? Look, i myself is a divorced girl it was an arranged marriage and the guy was my first cousin but after a few months of the nikkah problems started in between families and in end they decided to disolved the nikkah (no rukhsati) but since nikkah was done i got this title of ‘divorced’ girl.
Just recently gotten rejected by the parents of a guy (who was interested in me) just because i have been in someone’s nikkah once. So according to what are you saying i should only go for widows or divorcee just because i have been in someone nikkah? :s if same like what you are saying that a divorced person should married to a divorced person only and a physicaly challenged person should only marry someone like him/her then there should not be marriage in between different races and tribes?

I know you never meant it to but whatever you just said it might have heart many souls…

I know a few people that are divorced (women) and married unmarried men. They're fine. Happy. I don't see why this is such a big deal. A divorce can happen to **ANYONE **nowadays. At times, people have no control over these things. A divorce does NOT mean failure - it means two people got married that SHOULD NOT have been married in the first place. Anyone who sits here and tells me "divorced people should stick to their own kind" should probably look deep into their own souls and wonder if they truly do? People marry for the most stupid reasons - caste, money, looks, etc.

How old are you?

There are alot of assumptions in your post and it makes me and i presume many others, wonder about your life experience to have such pronouncements.

Divorced/widowed people aren't "diseased" that they need to be confined to only "their own kind". You think you're saying this from a social justice POV but on a personal level it doesn't matter that much. What matters is if the two people have some sort of compatibility and the families generally get along.

You may find this hard to believe but compatibility can happen between a divorcee and someone who's never been married (let's call them "single" for sake of argument). They too go on to have happy marriages.

Being divorced/widowed/single/physically challenged, doesn't matter. In your physical challenged example, you won't be doing anyone else a favor by rejecting someone who likes you, least of all anyone in society. No one will run up to you and give you a hug and say thank you for not marrying their spouse.

Also, not everyone goes out specifically seeking someone who's been divorced/never been married. Sometimes you meet someone and an interest develops.

Plus, if you believe in Islam, there's no sin or anything wrong in marrying a widow/divorcee. Divorce isn't haram. Also, rishtas are a matter of kismet, so someone may be fated to marry someone who was also divorced.

Divorced people marrying single people will not bring destruction to society like you think it will. On the other hand, the thinking of "stick to their own kind" and "divorced girls are not good enough for single men" like yours.....has already done that.

How old are you?

There are alot of assumptions in your post and it makes me and i presume many others, wonder about your life experience to have such pronouncements.

Divorced/widowed people aren’t “diseased” that they need to be confined to only “their own kind”. You think you’re saying this from a social justice POV but on a personal level it doesn’t matter that much. What matters is if the two people have some sort of compatibility and the families generally get along.

You may find this hard to believe but compatibility can happen between a divorcee and someone who’s never been married (let’s call them “single” for sake of argument). They too go on to have happy marriages.

Being divorced/widowed/single/physically challenged, doesn’t matter. In your physical challenged example, you won’t be doing anyone else a favor by rejecting someone who likes you, least of all anyone in society. No one will run up to you and give you a hug and say thank you for not marrying their spouse.

Also, not everyone goes out specifically seeking someone who’s been divorced/never been married. Sometimes you meet someone and an interest develops.

Plus, if you believe in Islam, there’s no sin or anything wrong in marrying a widow/divorcee. Divorce isn’t haram. Also, rishtas are a matter of kismet, so someone may be fated to marry someone who was also divorced.

Divorced people marrying single people will not bring destruction to society like you think it will. On the other hand, the thinking of “stick to their own kind” and “divorced girls are not good enough for single men” like yours…has already done that.

The best answer so far :clap:

I don't know what the problem here is when the two concerned people marrying each other don't have a problem with it.

Yes you are entitled to your opinion but you do realise we marry whom we are meant to marry by Allah's will. So, no one is snatching anyone's potentials here, one marries whom they are meant to, no matter what goes on in the world.

This is such a rude comment to make. If you said that for you yourself wouldn't marry a divorced or widowed person it is understandable because that is your preference, but by generalising and saying no divorced person should ever marry a single person who has never been married is outright mean and wrong. This shows you have a very narrow way of thinking. There is person who has commented that she got divorced before the rukhsati, and she has never experienced a proper marriage where she lived with her husband, she should get the chance again, so should other divorcees. The most important thing when marrying someone is finding compatibility and that you will be able to love each other forever. Of course you have the right to say no to someone that is divorced or widowed but doesn't mean they shouldn't marry someone they like.

To the OP, this is a big decision marrying this girl not because she is divorced but because your parents don't like her, they will make her life hell and would you be willing to protect her and not just for the first few months or years but life. If you can't commit to her and give her share of happiness properly there is no point ruining the girls life where she may end up with another divorce. You say now you love her but once you parents start putting pressure, will you still support her? If you were to separate from your parents, would you not miss your parents and feel guilty and later take it out on her. Also are you willing to treat her daughter like your own?

^ In ke alfaaz main is qadar noor hai
Ke in ki yaad mein rona bhi humain manzoor hai

Bewafa bhi nahi keh suktey in ko
Pyar tou hum ne kia hai pur yeh tou bekasur hain.

LOOL