Yes, Gilani…also referred to as mr. happy hands per his adventures in political rallies. Is he a real prime minister, to many he seems like a civilian version of zia’s junejo, a mouth piece who has to run to daddy for permission for anything, The most critical decisions of the country of which he is supposed to be a leader of.
So what is he, a bench warmer, a puppet, a sacrificial lamb to be made a scape goat in about 194 days?
Junejo was a good PM, and went ahead and signed the Geneva Accords without Zia's permission, and asked for an independent inquiry into the Ojhri Camp Incident. Sadly, dictators like Zia and Musharraf dont like independent inquiries, and Junejo was sent packing because of that.
Yes, but the only difference is, he answers to a party leader - a party which the people elected. Junejo had to answer to a military dictator, that no one elected, and eventually he tried to make some bold efforts to restore the sovereignty of the parliament, and was dismissed as a result.
Btw, a better example would be 'Musharrafs Shortcut Aziz'. We all know how popular Shauky was in his supposed political party.
By yes you mean that you agree that he is even moreuseless than junejo was?
who is the elected leader of the country?
Prime Minister. right?
and here this PM is looking to Nawaz and Zardari for all
people elect a party, the party elects one from its ranks to be The leader of the nation, not to be chaprassi of the chairman of the party.
lets not compare a democratic govt to a dictatorship set-up. If we want democracy as we do, we should eb comparing our democracy to established democracies and see if we are running properly.
Prime Minister is the leader, and not a peon that some dynastic lords pee on
Rebel, PM isnt elected by the people. The people elect those who elect the PM. At that time, Zardari was a possible candidate for PM, it could have easily been him. Gillani spent 5 years in jail for laughable charges, just like others, and honestly hes a good choice for PM. What else do you expect him to do but to go by what his party wants, a party which is run by Zardari and his top associates. I think Gillani in the PPP deserved this position more than anyone else, even Fahim because of the latters friendship with Musharraf.
Rebel, PM isnt elected by the people. The people elect those who elect the PM.
yaar yeh batao, what exactly is the difference between your statement above and my statement below.
matlab, aap parrhtay bhi hain :)
people elect a party, the party elects one from its ranks to be The leader of the nation,
The rest does not matter, is this a democracy or not, for whetevr reason zardari was not elected is a different thing, fact is that they picked one person to be the prime minister. That person is the leader of the nation not someone else.
He should be the one calling the shots, and if he is not then he is what I said he is a prime marionette and not the prime minister.
Rebel, PM isnt elected by the people. The people elect those who elect the PM. At that time, Zardari was a possible candidate for PM, it could have easily been him. Gillani spent 5 years in jail for laughable charges, just like others, and honestly hes a good choice for PM. What else do you expect him to do but to go by what his party wants, a party which is run by Zardari and his top associates. I think Gillani in the PPP deserved this position more than anyone else, even Fahim because of the latters friendship with Musharraf.
A Prime Minister is supposed to be someone who has individual thinking ability, whose thoughts are very likely aligned with his party-motto/policies/think-tank. When he gets the seat of PM he is supposed to be making his own decisions, he is not supposed to be making calls to Zardari or getting dictations from Zardari on what to do on each issue.
That's not true. People in 1971, 77, 88, 90, 93 and 96 knew very well beforehand who would become PM if PPP, Awami National Party (it's another matter that Mujeeb was denied in 1971) or PML won the election.
ISLAMABAD: Co-chairman of Pakistan Peoples Party Asif Zardari has shifted major political activities to Prime Minister House because of security concerns.
According to Geo News sources, Zardari has abandoned routine activities at his residence in sector F-8 here and spending most of the time in Prime Minister House since last couple of days. Zardari was advice for this keeping in view the stern government policies against extremists and their probable reaction… :smack2:
That's not true. People in 1971, 77, 88, 90, 93 and 96 knew very well beforehand who would become PM if PPP, Awami National Party (it's another matter that Mujeeb was denied in 1971) or PML won the election.
But there is no requirement for the party to announce who will be their candidate for premiership! Also, what about the elections were it wasnt certain who gets to be the PM, for instance the 2002 one? Trust me, alot of people were going into the elections thinking Zardari would be the PM, even after he decided he wont run for MNA, people thought he'd run on the by polls! Does that mean Zardari should infact be the PM? Gillani joh bhi hai, cant speak and has no independent vision, Zardari as premier sey behtar hi hai.
Still ALOT better than the imported and unpopular marionette before, i.e. Shaukat Aziz, who danced to a dictators tunes.
challo, maybe a better marionette but a marionatte still, thank you for agreeing that the head of our democratic govt is nothing more than a puppet and we can feel good about him because he appears to be less of a puppet than a prime minister under a dictatorship, instead of comparing him to prime minsters of UK, canada, or heck..even India. do we want a real democracy or do we want a democracy that is somewhat better than a military dictatorship?