So I want to pose a serious question: Do you see the possibility of a broad based revolution in Pakistan, something that will completely alter the political paradigm of the state through dislodging the corrupt political parties, overbearing military, and the extremist theocratic elite?
I hope that this is the case. For the Pakistani people to rise up against their oppressors and truly realize the principles of “Unity, Faith & Discipline” as espoused by Quaid e Azam.
Maybe I’m dreaming of something that may never happen, but they said the same thing about the Muslim League in 1945. Pakistan’s independence in 1947 was nothing short of revolution…I hope to see a second revolution that will realize the great potential of the fatherland.
No. When country broke into two in 1971 nothing happened. When a dictator hanged most popular and elected leader nothing happened. Those were the perfect times for revolution against dictators.
Pakis exist as no nation because of non-cohisive and vast differences and lack of patriotism, on key issues particularly between small provinces and Punjab.
Well, its not entirely pakistanis fault. Most pakistanis are uneducated and brain-washed by politicians or sardars, so I don't see any light at the end of the tunnel. The only thing which may eventually lead to a revolution is if the courts engage in a head on collision with the corrupt govt and the media plays its role in educating people.
Bye the way, I have never seen such hatred against the ruling elite ever in my life.
the desire for revolution in Pakistani public is only a dream!
Pakistanis are not a nation, they are a container full of different types of people. So by bringing in a revolution, no one wants to benefit the other, they want personal revenge or personal traqi....thats why the pakistanis who live outside of pakistan play zero role in their political development as a nation!
we do not need a revolution, we need good governance and emergency level steps to be taken in the matters of security, food, education!
Bye the way, I have never seen such hatred against the ruling elite ever in my life.
I’m a downright moderate when you compare to some of the people that I have worked with in Pakistan when I was in the security/defense analysis field. I only called for an overthrow, not putting their decapitated heads on a stick and parading them down the road.
Pakistan badly needs a "Honesty is the best policy Revolution". Corruption is the biggest enemy. par kaun laayegaa? har shakhs to mulavvis hai jaalsaazii meN aur har koi mubtila hai is maraz meN. jo jis position meN hai rishwat le rahaa hai...bas shaaz o naadir hii koi milegaa jo aisa nai kartaa aur use society emN bewaqoof kahte haiN...hameN apne garibana meN jhaaNknaa chahaiye.
ek baar agar ham apne mafaad ko chhoR ke mulk o millat ke mafaad/falaah/bahbood ke liye kaam karnaa shuru kar deNge to ham aage nikal sakeNge. insha Allah...aameen**
Pakistan's people are too divided to ever unite in a revolution. Our various ethnic groups are all in thrall to political parties predominantly representing those ethnicities, and those political parties are all reasonably dedicated to electoral politics and parliamentary democracy.
This is fortunate, because it means Pakistan should be spared from revolution and the gross instability and bloodshed that follows. For once, the people's blind allegiance to inept parties actually works in the country's favour.
Pakistan's people are too divided to ever unite in a revolution. Our various ethnic groups are all in thrall to political parties predominantly representing those ethnicities, and those political parties are all reasonably dedicated to electoral politics and parliamentary democracy.
This is fortunate, because it means Pakistan should be spared from revolution and the gross instability and bloodshed that follows. For once, the people's blind allegiance to inept parties actually works in the country's favour.
Maddie, you forget the absence of a charismatic leader. After Quaid e Azam, ZAB could (arguably) be considered the most charismatic leader, however he too lacked the grassroots support in E. Pakistan, Baluchistan.
The situation might be different if such a leader emerges. Think of a Napoleon or an Ataturk type personality who could drastically change the direction of the country.
I, for one, would welcome it. Odds are it won’t happen.
Defective analysis. ZAB was leader of West Pakistan. Bengalis at that time were fed up with West Pakis atrociities (dicatorships) hence they freed from the bondage of dictators/West Pakis. ZAB was most popular figure in Punjab, Sindh and partly in NWFP. Baluchistan was not a big province to wiegh against Punjab and Sindh. But he committed blunder when he started military operation in Baluchistan to please Punjabis. He was very much popular as long Baluchistan was ruled by BNP (someone correct me on this) headed by Ghous Bux Bazenjo and NWFP was ruled by Mufti Mahmood of JUI. He destabilized these governments and tried to install its own PPP governments in both provinces and failed miserably.
However he again won elections of 1977 but mulla parties PNA alleged him of rigging and started movement with the help of army and ultimately his legal government was dismantelled and later on mardood Zia-ul-Haq hanged him created permanent cracks between Punjab and Sindh provinces.
Defective analysis. ZAB was leader of West Pakistan. Bengalis at that time were fed up with West Pakis atrociities (dicatorships) hence they freed from the bondage of dictators/West Pakis. ZAB was most popular figure in Punjab, Sindh and partly in NWFP. Baluchistan was not a big province to wiegh against Punjab and Sindh. But he committed blunder when he started military operation in Baluchistan to please Punjabis. He was very much popular as long Baluchistan was ruled by BNP (someone correct me on this) headed by Ghous Bux Bazenjo and NWFP was ruled by Mufti Mahmood of JUI. He destabilized these governments and tried to install its own PPP governments in both provinces and failed miserably.
However he again won elections of 1977 but mulla parties PNA alleged him of rigging and started movement with the help of army and ultimately his legal government was dismantelled and later on mardood Zia-ul-Haq hanged him created permanent cracks between Punjab and Sindh provinces.
I think we're saying the same thing, maybe I didn't clarify further:
If we correctly identify Quaid E Azam as a charismatic leader, then 1947
was nothing short of revolution.
After Quaid E Azam, ZAB could arguably be considered the only other charismatic leader and we still had a revolution of negative proportion in 1971 with the separation of E. Pakistan.
I am not saying that ZAB was some type of hero, however he should be considered a populist leader. Since he used the power to divide Pakistan to secure his power base in Sindh, Punjab, does NOT take away from the fact that he would rank number 2 in terms of charismatic leadership for Pakistan (as sad as it sounds).
What I am sayin is that the chance revolution rises with the rise of another leader.
I think we're saying the same thing, maybe I didn't clarify further:
If we correctly identify Quaid E Azam as a charismatic leader, then 1947
was nothing short of revolution.
After Quaid E Azam, ZAB could arguably be considered the only other charismatic leader and we still had a revolution of negative proportion in 1971 with the separation of E. Pakistan.
I am not saying that ZAB was some type of hero, however he should be considered a populist leader. Since he used the power to divide Pakistan to secure his power base in Sindh, Punjab, does NOT take away from the fact that he would rank number 2 in terms of charismatic leadership for Pakistan (as sad as it sounds).
What I am sayin is that the chance revolution rises with the rise of another leader.
Wrong...Sheikh Mujeeb was a greater leader and a true Quaid-e-awan...Bhutto was a fraudster and charlatan of the worst kind, who was transplanted into Pakistan later patronized by the military and establishment...finally he lost his head and became the worst tyrant in Pakistan's history...people were elated and celebrated when they were relieved of his menace after he had tried to implement a mini version of mao's cultural revolution and rigged the elections...
It is possible that there will be a revolution in Pakistan however whenever the people get upset with the politicians the army takeovers which dampens the angry of the public for a few years, which gives enough time for the politicians to try to regain the trust of the public again.
Wrong...Sheikh Mujeeb was a greater leader and a true Quaid-e-awan...Bhutto was a fraudster and charlatan of the worst kind, who was transplanted into Pakistan later patronized by the military and establishment...finally he lost his head and became the worst tyrant in Pakistan's history...people were elated and celebrated when they were relieved of his menace after he had tried to implement a mini version of mao's cultural revolution and rigged the elections...
If he was a true Quaid e Awan, why did Mujib meet such a bloody end considering the fact that he FOUNDED Bangladesh? I mean we're not even talking about his popularity in West Pakistan, but rather with the Bengalis alone.
I agree that he was a fraudster, charlatan and tyrant yet you can not deny the fact that PPP continues to hold populist support because of ZAB. Call the man evil but do not deny his genius.
ZAB was a devil, he is the one that pushed Ayub to start 1965 war, he is the one that broke Pakistan into two beacuse of his ego, he is the one that nationalised all the private sector and set Pakistan back decades. Otherwise by now Pakistan would have been economically quite a developed country and ahead of India.
Folks, lets not make this into a ZAB exclusive thread.We can not deny that he still holds strong populist support across Pakistan - leadership, the main point.