Porn-are you ok with it?

Personal anecdotes asides, the civilized world, fortunately disagrees with that, and does not condone child marriages.

The same "civilized" world allows these 9-13 years old girls to become single mothers and the same "civilized" world allows these teenagers mothers to kill unborn babies. Pathetic, isn't it?

Now don't tell me that muslim girls don't do that because I know they do.

Child marriage and becoming a 13 year old mother are two different things. The civilized world I refer to does not allow 9-13 year old girls to marry, regardless of what they perceive of themselves to be. Firstly, I dont know if you can back that 9-13 girls having babies with any factual proof, but even if its true, its not the fault of the civilized world, infact, the civilized world would punish an adult having committed statuary rape. You cant use religion to legitimize child marriage, because there is no basis for child marriage, its just not right.

And yes, I dont know any unmarried Muslim girls who have had babies when they reached puberty. There are other things in life they have to achieve, like a good education from a reputed institution, BECOMING SOMEONE, contributing to society in a distinct way, not just marriage alone. And trust me, once they all get educated, advocacy to child marriage would completely become a thing of the past.

Re: Porn-are you ok with it?

My grandmom married at 12 and had my taya abbu when she was 13 years old.

Only a 100 years ago it was the norm of the civilized society...I won't debate with you anymore on this topic. We can agree to disagree.

^^ u win, Cooler apka hoya!

Heyyyy how are you?

Its better to be married at that age than to have illegitimate pregancy at that age , the type that we see in every city of USA nowadays.

I am glad that you shared that

Main to kab say yeh keh rahi hoon koi per sunta hi nahi.

Hareem, sab suntay hai, koi maaNta nahi!

Yah phir koi samajhta nahi ):

Two wrongs don't make a right.

Well, I personally think that getting married at an earlier age is better than later for two reasons. One is that you can stay away from trouble, and the second is that you are more flexible. The older we grow, the more rigid and opinionated we become and it is more challengeing to adjust to the demands of marriage. However, some young people could be way too immature and that could become an issue.

So, I guess, I better go have my cuppa coffee because I made no sense up there. :chai:

Thats a lousy excuse yara... Those that do have children, lets say when they are 16-17 are the types who arent responsible enough to get married in the first place... If they were, they would realize they dont have to get married to have sex just because they want to, simple birth control does the job! This is the 21st century my friend afterall! You'll find tonnes of planned parenthood centers that provide free birthcontrol in every city of the US too!

One thing I missed.. submission sahib suggested ppl get married at puberty so they dont indulge in watchin porn etc... I dont even think I need to counter that argument because I dont see porn as the ultimate sin, but Hareem said it might be the case that some kids, maybe orphans feel they need to get married because they have no one. This is a valid point BUT, then again it is just a dream come true for all those pedophiles out there! I dont think grown up men should be getting married to 9-13 year old girls.

Mine too, i think her nikkah was at 12..and rukhsati at age 15.. and children right after, but this was back in the 1930s.. things are different now, and rightfully so..

From my perspective…

1. One can stay away from trouble by getting married later too… Infact, those that get married without their consent at young ages, are more prone to falling for others.

2. You maybe right, but I disagree, with age comes wisdom, tolerance, and adaptability.

Bingo!

I wonder what people will think of a grownup man, who goes to work and tells his coworkers his wife is 12 years old! Its just not practical in this day and age

If one sees a spouse as a life patner whome he can share his life with then he would not marry a 13 year old kid.

Marrying children at young age is literally abusing them. Puberty doesn't mean that a child is mentally, emotionally, and even physically ready for something like marriage. When it comes to marriage we can't continue to live by the early 1900 tends. I know my grandmothers---both peternal and maternal got married in early teens and they made sure that my mother and my aunts don't. There are many way of abstaining from porn. Marriage sadly is not one of them. If someone is into porn, it won't be easy to come out of it even if they are married. They will watch it no matter what..probably hiding from the spouse.
Best thing is get professional help. Consult a psychatrist and a therapist who work with the child and the family.

I am not Ok with porn but I don't think child marriage be it of a boy or a girl is the solution to porn.

btw..the tradition of getting your children married off at a young age was practiced all over the world...not just in islamic culture....christians, jewish and hindus..and it was not necessarily to older men...young boys and girls got married..started families....etc....
even today..in Rajisthani culture...babies are sworn as couples..and have mass weddings...
if you read christian texts...religious and non religious....they are full of stories pointing towards such traditions....