Pakistan is a lovely place to live , My whole family is living in isb with luxurious life, of course it is crazy for someone living abroad but the love of people that you get there you can’t find it in cold and selfish America/ UK . Pakistan is full of warm, caring and friendly people except for few. Don’t let this minority take over OUR country.
A true Pakistani is what your actions will say not only your passport. I know people waiting for their Canadian immigration talking ill about living in Pakistan.That is another of our problem. We cannot support each other. We have to point a finger at every other person without looking at our own actions. The most needed thing is unity which we lack.
The least thing that you can count is that you belong to that, your roots are thr in pak and obviously after a long journey of life, one wants to stay with his own people rather spending time in old age house… Long Live Pakistan
if I do have to go back to pakistan, I would not have a nanny or a servent, maybe a guard for security reasons. I would train my kids to do their work and I would do the cooking myself, maybe an occasional cleaning lady like 5-6 times in a year like I do here but thats than only for spring and additional cleaning.
I would try to do something good there, what that is I dont know but try to make an impact and try to improve poors ppl lifes and their situation.
Nothing will be of any use to you unless you have the capacity within yourself to know it and accept it. Peace, love, beauty, success and fulfillment have meaning to you only when they have meaning within you. It is by knowing yourself that you can know all else. It is through nurturing love and goodness within you that you can experience love and goodness in the world around you.
What you see, what you think, what you feel, has a reason. What you happen upon, seemingly by blind chance, has a reason. In all that you experience is the voice of your most authentic self, carrying an important, appropriate and timely message. Listen, and seek to lovingly understand what the experience of each moment is saying. All the wisdom you've collected is speaking to you. All the possibilities that spread out in front of you, are calling to you. You urself is the best judge to decide for living anywhere in the world or in Pak , You know your family well , ther is no harm in living there as long as you accept it from your heart and your mind as its the best choice within your circumstances. Just listen to yourself and do what your heart says. Simple policy but easy way out.
accidents are accidents...can't happen anywhere. i'm sure given the car/people ratio more ppl die in car accidents in India and Pak. i don't know the statistics myself but lemme tell u...i know several people personally who have died in road accidents in india and pakistan while none in the western world that i know of...so u can infer ur own conclusions. thanx for ur input Yanzala Ji. :)**
well, you don't get a point. lets say even if you are right about more car death in india or pakistan people don't stop traveling in cars. even in western countries, the ratio of car accidents death is much higher than any other kind of death (in those country only), i still don't see people stop using cars.
i am not going to hate my country or scared to be move back there only because i am scared of death, which can certainly catch me on my way back driving from walmart.
I wouldn't live there even if I was a millionaire!! My own family have an excellent standard of living but that's not what life is about. People live in a bubble , society is not equal or multicultural , whereas we in the uk are far more open minded and tolerant, being brought up with people from all walks of life. Women are much more independent here, we can follow Islam yet also feel free to work, study, do things for ourselves rather than relying on men or maids. Cleaning and nannies are not an advantage, they teach your kids that it's ok to be lazy and pay other people to do your dirty work. Would miss wearing clothes other than shalwar kameez without being thought of as begarat, that would be so boring like imagine never wearing your uggs ever again??!! People also have an excellent standard of living even if they like here in the uk! Not everyone lives in a cardboard box, your kids can go to the best private and grammar schools and both of you can instilled in them that with hard work you can achieve anything wherever you live. Yeah it's harder to live in a mansion and drive a Ferrari here than if you go back home and daddy has set everything up but personally I'd never want to live off people as then your always obliged to follow their rules and way of life!! The way I see it, work your ass off until your 50 Nd retire in luxury! I won't have to worry about bombs and my kids safety, you just can put a price on that.
maaaaaaaan.........did you based all those judgments on some kind of pakistani drama?? cuz it's seems like perfect typical story line.
i have no clue which part of pakistan you are from, but i live a long time of my life in pakistan, and my entire family lives there, i have yet to see anything that you described above :S
and i am hysterically laughing at your comments of not being able to wear anything but shalwar qamiz. seriously man.......it's funny.
one thing that I dont get is why would someone from some elite family have to work as a security guard? the only reason I am bringing it up is because people are assuming the life in Pakistan based on the impressions of what the elites live like. So the standard of life in Pakistan may be getting a little overstated.
Why would you ever move back to Pakistan after having lived here all your life?!? Life is sooo different there and I don't mean in a good way!! And it's not that cheap to live there anymore! Inflation is at its peak and most people are desperate to leave the country. The country has no future. I can't think of a single advantage of living in Pakistan.
She is not asking whether its a good idea to move back or not. Its something that she is going to do and has some apprehensions about still. I think we should tell a fellow Guppan some good points of living in Pakistan so she should feel at ease. Nadz, yourdaughter will grow up in an enviornment where you would not have to keep on instlling that she is a Muslim and our culture dictates this or that, that will be a given there. Yourhusband and you shall have a better relationship as he will have a bettter job. Since your in laws are well off you wouldn't have to face many of the day to day problems an average Pakistani faces.
ok so i need advantages of living there bearing in mind my husband and his family are well-off and all edcuated to high standards.my uncle the other day was bashing pakistan and how mad we were to live there, hes very anti-paki, yet hes marrying his daughter to a pakistani from paksitan next year..and he willingly set up a business there...yet he HATES pakistan...and was telling me im mad to go...
Well you have access to salons and boutiques. If you have the money, you could have a blast shopping there. Then, you have maids who do ALL the work for you. If you aren't concerned about safety then it's a great place to live. I just visited and I must say I had a wonderful time. Of course living there may be a totally different experience but I think it's not as bad unless of course you're kidnapped...kidding!!!
advantages are:
larger homes
attached bathrooms in each room ( most of the time thats how homes are setup)
if your into desi clothes, great place to shop
you dont need to cook, clean or drive if ur from upper class. you will have soemone to do all those things for u
if ur inlaws are rich, they must already own a house so no worries about paying mortgage.
Seems like all the "advantages" of living in Pakistan are superficial or material. that kind of says alot about our collective mentality......
nahi yaar....i wouldn't say it's superficial. it's just that you have to start from somewhere. lets take it that way, when u buy a new house, you do look for all those superficial and materialistic stuff in it, but once u live in that house for few years you would start loving it and call it a home. i guess moving to a new country is just like that. as everyone else know, there are a lot of things that are bad in pakistan, it's not easy coming up with advantages, that aren't superficial or materialistic. what can u say about pakistan that isn't superficial? it's secure, it has big green luch parks?? no, so i guess it's ok. i am sure once she will go there and live there for a while. she will fall in love with that place too. INSHALLAH.
Seems like all the "advantages" of living in Pakistan are superficial or material. that kind of says alot about our collective mentality......
That's what Pakistanis abroad think sitting over there. The biggest advantages are being close to larger family (if it is in Pakistan), not feeling out of place, and a sense of belonging.
I actually agree with Yanzala here. No offense to any one but they are always confused whether they are Pakistanis? Brit? Americans? .. then they resolve to call them British muslims or something but the personality confusions of here or there never go away. A child should be clear of his origin where ever he belongs, the personalities tend to be confused other wise.
You will be free to practice your religion. Youy will hear azan, your child will not beconfused about Christmas and other cultural differences that are there.
You will have workers for cleaning, mopping etc. You will have not have to do all that.
When there are grand parents around, growing up children becomes easier since the load is shared.
Also, if you have a large family who could take care of your child, you could work here in pakistan without having to worry a lot.
You can have a maid take care of your child too.
You can shop and get the most fashionable trendy clothes totally customized as well.
Your child can have great standard education but with islamic roots as well since that is what she will see around her. But this too isnt a guarantee.
8.You will be attending lots of get togethers, parties, weddings if there is a lot of family back home.
You will have access to yummm desi food any time any where.
Overall, if you are going to a well off family, you dont have to worry about a thing. You will do really well and you dont need to worry about the electricity etc. issues, there are a lot of alternates available. If i were you, id probably move back since it will be for the betterment of my husband and my child. Id go for it. Best of luck Nadz!
I wasn’t talking about girls only even boys r that way.
Well it all depends on who we have met that give us that impression. None of the girls in my family in Pakistan are dependent in any way maybe cuz they are in Karachi. My cousins use public transportation alone without hesitation they drive they work go to college university. Well aware of fashion politics and showbiz stuff. But girls and boys too arent usually like that here not the one I have seen they seems confused and somehow their thinking seems limited.
I do not mean it to be offensive it was an observation only. My own siblings where brought up here and even in them I see a lot of difference from how I was at their age.