Re: What else can one do
I am sure blankets, clothings and otehr things will be very much appreciated and a number of organisations are collecting these things in UK. There must be organisation which are doing the same in US.
Re: Please donate to help earthquake victims of Pakistan.
I have added more links, plus added the President Fund Account Info.
Prime TV has just announced it, so plz sendur chcks to that account:
http://www.pakstop.com/quake.htm
http://img280.imageshack.us/img280/1032/donate1kp.jpg
u can get the info of the account there from the screenshot.
But is it efficient to send all these items all the way to Pakistan. I have already donated money but I want to do more. With all the chaos occuring in our country, what are the chances these items will actually make it.
i just hope all of our donations actually go to the victims
you can send it to “President of Pakistan Relief Fund” which is 200% trustable.
prime tv has been announcing it over and over and u can see the info here:
MKR Foundation has set up an Earthquake Relief Fund. Take a look at how to contribute here:
Abdul Sattar Edhi made a request on PTV for people to not donate old clothes, as that could cause allergies. He’s requested for people to make packets of flour, new clothes, cans of ghee and oil, matches, candles, and non perishable food items.
Apart from that, there was a full page ad about the organizations that need our support, the phone numbers are listed below:
Edhi Foundation
Karachi - 021-2201261
Lahore - 042 - 5414211
Islamabad - 051 - 2827844
Multan - 061 - 4583906 / 4549938
Quetta - 081 - 2830832 / 2830861
Fatamid Foundation
Dr. Sagher - 021-2225285 / 0300 - 9210647
Ansar Burney Welfare Trust
Sarim Burney - 0300 - 8243459 / 0301 - 8243459
Rotaract Club 3270
Lahore:
Natash Ali Mian - 0300 - 9464209
Farooq Abdul Qadir - 0333 - 4227114
Karachi: Ali Hafeez - 0333 - 2298048
National Academy of Youth Trust
Mrs. Samina - 0333 - 3114726
Khidmat - e - Khalq Foundation
Karachi - 021 - 6328464
Al Khidmat Foundation
Lahore - 042 - 5433038
Islamabad - 051 - 2277343 / 2877933
Right now people need Doctors, Rescuers, search dogs, beds, blankets only…rest of the things are being supplied by officials and people.
Later Pakistan need to make a relief committee to fight with all kinds of natural disasters, including flood, fire, quakes, storms, and violence.
I think if you know someone who belongs to the affected areas (I do) then you should give the donations to them as that way the money and aid would be getting to many different people. it is needed immediately.
Donate via SMS:
write DONATE and SMS to 436(ppl in Pakistan only)
What the hell is that? What if you dont have a US $ or pounds sterlings or Euro currency account???
South Asian disaster and Company charity schemes
Try and find out of the company you work for has a ‘matching’ charity scheme. I know mine will double any charitable contribution made by a member of staff. I’m getting together with some other people at work and making ad-hoc charity boxes tonight. So give generously and wisely.
My Mum’s side of the family are in Murree and Islamabad, all there are fine mashallah but the ones in Murree have suffered consideriable damage to their housing.
My entire Dad’s side of the family live in and around Mansehra; I hear this has been hit pretty bad, I have been trying to get through to them since yesterday with no luck.
Inshallah Pakistan will whether this and come out stronger.
Re: South Asian disaster and Company charity schemes
InshAllah...
IDEA*************************************************************
I think GUPPIES in Houston should contact PIA (Pakistan International Airlines) and get them involved. To take blankets, food etc. PLEASE SOMEONE CALL THEM AND FIND OUT WHAT WE CAN DO !!! We should get all the GUPSHUP members to send items to Houston. That's a great idea !!
ANYONE IN HOUSTON THAT CAN ARRANGE FOR THIS ??? Here, in America, we can do ALOT if we put our minds and hearts together.
insha'Allah
Oh my company arranged for tsunami. I hope they do for this one too. Oh then I can donate.
relief sigh
well.. you would find many such appeals.. don't fall for anyone you donot trust or haven't heard of before...
my family is in murree as well.. so I am donating through them
Re: Please donate to help earthquake victims of Pakistan (merged threads)
i wish i can fly there and help those people my self! :(
Ditto mate. Me too.
But the money we spend on a return trip airfare can be better utilized helping those people.
I’ve been listening to the radio all night and people are emphasizing again and again that please only donate money. DO NOT give food clothes etc as all those things are readily available much much cheaper in Pakistan, and your money can be used to buy that stuff from Pakistan itself. This will
So please, donate in cash, not kind.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
That was a good advice lota, also some people who want to just donate after reading this can tune into ARY right now, they have a hotline where they are accepting money...