Re: planning contraception methods ahead of wedding
2 weeks wait for a GP is ridiculous btw..
I know right. That must not be average waiting time in the UK.
True. It’s always the worst scenario for any aunty. I loved bend it like beckham. There is no way in real life a desi girl will travel overseas with a team and her parents not know. That is a wide definition of loose. What if the boy was hungry and she didn’t like chocolates? I’ve seen the word loose used. According to you is it loose/chichorapan if a celebrity says in public, while teasing another celebrity, that he looks good shirtless. Does it have to imply something bad? Maybe she is giving him a confidence boost, increasing his appeal with the audience or maybe she accidentally saw something on the beach. Not something an ordinary desi person would actually say.
OK OP just for you i’ll rewrite what i posted.
First of all i think it is ridiculous you have to wait 2 weeks for seeing a GP in the area. Here in Aus an urgent appointment can be made easily and especially for discussing contraception one shouldn’t have to wait 2 weeks. If you were living in Aus i could easily get you an earlier appointment. Plus the sexual health clinic people can drop in anytime. Maybe give them a call and ask your concerns..ask if you can book in to talk about contraception options for someone in your situation. Ask if they have female doctors and if you want specifics a desi or muslim female doctor. Or if any female doc is fine then just ask if they have female doctors. I’d recommend going the sexual health clinic idea as you can just drop in and get seen even if it means going to one not in your area. Ask your questions or whatever else.
in the meantime before your appointment with the GP it’s good to be informed about the options out there so you can make an informed decision and ask all the questions you want to. Make sure the GP is someone you are comfortable with and can ask questions to freely. Also remember many women use the birth control pill for things like acne, excess hair, irregular periods, heavy/painful periods, regulating periods and treatment of some other conditions.
If you are a healthy female, don’t smoke, don’t have a personal history/family history of clots/strokes/young age of heart attacks/high Blood pressure//breast cancers in your immediate family (which may affect use of a particular type of pill) you should be ok. Your GP will ask you these questions before prescribing the pill. There are some side effects which can occur but they are relatively minor. Your GP will go through this with you. The pill can also have some protective effects for other things. They may mention that once you become sexually active after marriage it may be recommended to have pap smears every 2 years..but not now obviously.
ok this is a good link with pros and cons of contraceptive options.
Birth control pills: OK to take indefinitely? - Mayo Clinic
Choosing a birth control pill - Mayo Clinic
Here is a good educational video that goes from most effective to least contraceptive options plus pros and cons.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u9SHoy1C3tU There is a lot of variety even within the birth control pill and then there are other options also covered in the video including injections, implants, different types of inserted devices as well as the birth control pill. It’s worth a watch.
Here are some sexual health helplines in the UK you can call for free advice..im sure that includes information on contraceptives.
Where can I get sexual health advice? - Live Well - NHS Choices
BrookThe sexual health charity for young people under 25 offering confidential advice.
Helpline: 0808 802 1234, Mon-Fri 11am-3pm
www.brook.org.uk
Worth Talking AboutAdvice on contraception, sexual health and relationships.
Helpline: 0300 123 29 30, Mon-Fri, 2pm-8pm Sat-Sun 2pm-4pm.
Sexual Health LineFree confidential information and advice on sexual health.
Helpline: 0300 123 7123
Family Planning UK would seem like an ideal place to call. Unfortunately due to lack of funding their helpline closed down but you can still email them any questions you have. The northern ireland helplines is still working. Or you can call them and ask if they do appointments. It should all be NHS funded.
[EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected] FPA - the sexual health charity | FPA
You can do an online quiz on which contraceptive device is right for you. My contraception tool - Contraception help - FPA It’s a good quiz and questions are pretty straightforward…things about periods, including where you would be comfortable to get a contraceptive device (pharmacist, vs clinic), weight gain etc depending on your answers a contraceptive option.
Link on info of all contraception methods. Contraception help - Guide to contraception - FPA
List of all the STI clinics. Choose one in your area or one a bit far away if you’d be uncomfortable going to the one closest to you. There are specific contraceptive clinics as well which deal with just this.
Find a clinic | FPA
Also, when you have an appointment you may want to mention/ask whether they do the cervical vaccine (called gardasil or cevarix).
I think in the UK like in Australia they give the vaccine during school when girls are 12-18 but sometimes people can miss out. But i think NHS funds until someone is 26..not sure. They say it is best to get this vaccine before one becomes sexually active. It involve 3 injections spaced over 6 months. It’s quite effective and protects against cervical cancer and genital warts. Cevarix protects against just cervical cancer while Gardasil protects against cervical cancer and genital warts.
Anyways..congrats and all the best with your wedding. Don’t let the above freak you out. There’s a lot of info out there just choose what suits you.
Go to a family planning clinic where are you based in the uk? A quick google check will show. I used the services at Boots in Birmingham was good didnt have to wait around and they offer appts aswell
Until you havent tried condoms you wont know if its for you. I had already been on the pill for period related issues andit gave me mood swings. Tried another pill crezette that gave me horrible thrush so had the implant put in just before my wedding and it gave me constant spotting and weight gain. In the end had it removed after 2 months and opted for the copper coil. Was fine. Had it removed as we now aant a baby. Look around and research and decide what method will work
The withdrawal method isnt really reliable and kinda naive to believe it wnt result in a pregnancy
To those saying a 2 week wait is ridiculous don't know what they are talking about. The NHS GPs prioritise. Discussing contraception methods isn't high priority nor urgent so the have very few slots for this type of thing. They leave most of their slots to be booked on the morning that day so people who are genuinely I'll or need to see the go quickly can do so.
Er who said it was urgent?? ![]()
I wait at the most one week to see my GP, like the majority of people in the UK according to official stats..
Yes, waiting times are likely to rise drastically in the future but most are not at the point of having to wait two weeks yet..
And in regards to ‘not knowing what I’m talking about’ 2 of my immediate family members are NHS doctors.. My own father was an NHS director..
This is going off topic but you said its ridiculous. Its not really I’d understand ridiculous if it was an illness but just for some advice, not ridiculous at all.
It really depends where you live. Where I am, the GP surgeries are really oversubscribed and it’s normal to wait 1-2 weeks for a non-urgent appointment for any member of the practice. If you want to see a particular GP, you could be waiting 3-4 weeks. The majority of appointments in a day are reserved for urgent matters where you have to call up as soon as the practice opens to get an appointment.. in fact my local practice will book you in for a telephone consult with a GP first to assess whether you really need an urgent app or not. Since you have family in the NHS, you should know that you get people making urgent GP apps or turning up to A&E for the most ridiculous reasons.
But no, I don’t think a 2 week wait for a non-urgent issue is ridiculous. It’s not ideal, and it wouldn’t be the case if GP surgeries weren’t put under so much pressure to fulfil so many different duties but it is what it is.
Loading…
BBC News - GP visits: Millions wait a week or longer
^I think I’m probably more fussy/demanding when it comes to that kind of thing :sid: I have a private GP as well as my NHS one.. I live in a part of Essex where it’s not normally too bad but I guess those in busier areas have it worse..
using the method of withdrawl for the past 3 years successfully , my son is 3 mashallah and i never used any other method, periods are normal too
Dont mind me asking how soon after marriage did you have your son?
It’s good to be fussy about these things. It does seem you’re more in the know then the average person. I agree there shouldn’t be more than a week wait.
Can't believe I'm writing this on GS but OP look into Durex Thin Feel/Real Feel..
I probably shouldn't mention this here but you mentioning that reminded me of this ad for the exact same product.. Don't google "do the rex" youtube. You might change your views on Turkish dramas being more liberal/exposing compared to Indian entertainment jk.
You can be as fussy/demanding as you like. If you can't get an appointment you can't get an appointment. Not everyone has the luxury of having private healthcare options as well. This is exactly what government want people to do so that they can justify the privitisation of the NHS.
As I already mentioned most people don’t yet need to wait 2 weeks to see a GP.. no need to be snippy.. I only use private healthcare as a backup thing, not as my first choice.. I can count on one hand the times I’ve needed to use it in my entire life..
Yes, a two week wait time is very likely a year from now but the vast majority of people are not waiting that long at the moment..
Survey results in full
How long is the average waiting time for a non-urgent appoint at your practice?
**Less than a week: 43.7%
**1-2 weeks: 37%
2-3 weeks: 14.9%
3-4 weeks: 3.8%
4-5 weeks: 0.2%
More than five weeks: 0.4%
How long do you predict the average waiting time for a non-urgent appointment will be in 12 months’ time?
Less than a week: 25.9%
1-2 weeks: 33%
2-3 weeks: 26.5%
3-4 weeks: 10.2%
4-5 weeks: 3.3%
More than weeks: 1.1%
About the survey: Pulse launched this survey of readers on 15 April 2014, collating responses using the SurveyMonkey tool. The 25 questions asked covered a wide range of GP topics, to avoid selection bias on any one issue. The survey was advertised to readers via our website and email newsletters, with a prize draw for a Samsung HD TV as an incentive to complete the survey. As part of the survey, respondents were asked to specify their job title. A small number of non-GPs were screened out to analyse the results for this question. This question was answered by 460 GPs.
Source: Loading…
As I already mentioned most people don't yet need to wait 2 weeks to see a GP.. no need to be snippy.. I only use private healthcare as a backup thing, not as my first choice.. I can count on one hand the times I've needed to use it in my entire life..
Yes, a two week wait time is very likely a year from now but the vast majority of people are not waiting that long at the moment..
I didn't quote your post because it was not meant to be a snippy remark directed to you. It was a general post more directed towards shaasavera's "It's good to be fussy about these things." - in high demand areas, fussiness isn't going to get you an appointment any sooner. In fact being fussy means you'd turn down sooner available appointments where you'd see a locum and wait out for a practice partner, especially if it's a routine appointment where you want to see a GP that knows your history.
i finally had my appointment yesterday.
i was a bit conscious that it was a male dr. but Mr Mehra is an old tamil man so i relaxed...until i opened the door and realized my appointment was with Mr Mehta, the new very young dashing indian dr with amazing looks and style. oh well..i put a straight face and discussed it anyhow.
so he prescried me with pill (cant remember the name now) but i can only strat at the start of my bleeding..which is at the end f the month..so this means i will be trying it for 2 months only before i get married.
he also said it would help with the acne.
i forgot to ask him something...can i strat using the pill for my skin now? or do i still need to wait till end of month...i am not active yet so i am not woried about pregnancy for the next 2 months?
any doctors here?
You have to wait for your periods as far as I know.
Was Dr Mehta sensitive about it? Generally young doctors, even males, are more open minded and relaxed about it. I can imagine how awkward it must have felt though talking to a desi guy about this.
If your main use is for pregnancy might as well start it with your periods as Lusi is suggesting.
Probably would be best to ask advice in real life as they would know your medical history better and also know the pill that you have been prescribed. As well as if you are on any other medications.
If you are also using it for skin purposes it is probably the combined pill. I think you have to take pill for a couple of months before things clear up and initially it might get slightly worse.
It only specifically targets one aspect of what is responsible for the acne. When i started using pill for irregular periods i just started it when i was ready. Then again i was not planning it for birth control later on. So probably best to start when you would for birth control. In mean time there is much you can do for acne. Acne Resource Center - Prevention of Acne
i’ll tag my friend for my wisdom. Best probably to call the practice and ask the question direct to the one who prescribed it. @amber19