Plan an Eid Menu!

Re: Plan an Eid Menu!

We put aloo too in qorma. Maybe it is a hyderabadi thing. My husband said who eats that.. well once he started eating it, he couldn’t stop.

Thank you my hydro sister from another mister :hug:

OMG…NOW I GET IT!!!

There is an actual dish like this!!!
Get this…I was asked to make qorma for a party at the family home.
MIL had already hinted to put aloo in it…I had said, “Who puts aloo in qorma?? Nahin Mum mera qorma kharab ho ja’ay ga. Next time karaingay.” (I had said this because hubby prefers my qorma and he had asked me to make it for the hyderabadi clan to taste.)

Once the dish was almost finished (just simmering) I went for a shower and asked my jethani to watch the pot. (She knew that I had turned down the potato thing.) 3 minutes into the shower I hear a knock on the bathroom and my jethani saying, “Muzna, Mum is putting aloo in the qorma!!!”

I was a bit perturbed…but the hyderabadi clan liked it and Mum was happy in the end. That’s all that mattered.

But amongst us folks from the “north”…there is strictly no aloo allowed in qorma. :nono:

LOL! I guess it is a Hyderabadi thing!

I’m told that potatoes in biryani is a Bombay thing, just like dried aloo-bukhara/plums is a Sindhi thing :hmmm:

Challo, jaisay bhi banay-e, bas mazay ka hona chahiyay - humme to khanay se matlab hai.

Plan an Eid Menu!

how sad is it that i dont even know what qorma is :frowning:

O.M.G

qorma is like a salan/stew. with beef, lamb or chicken (any protein)

Thank you! One of my friend loves biryani a lot ,we do put potatoes sometimes and he said who puts potatoes in biryani. :mad: I said, a lot of people do, you need to taste different types of biryani so you will know it. Next time, I will say this is bombay style. :wink: lol

Ooops, Aren’t you Asian? :eek:

Ahha! so that’s what it was…I remember you telling me this :slight_smile:
My sister’s MIL same thing…Aloo aloo aloo :cb:

Ya Allah these English neighbors :disgust:

Eid will fall on thurs or fri. Husband has duty not even thu-fri even on weekend. On friday he working till 22:30 and sat-sun till 6pm. Only thur is 1:00 pm but what kind of plan one can make in such situation. However a friend’s husband is working too so we were thinking to be together but a twist is that as we shifted to telephone technician has to come on friday and time is in between 10-2 :grumpy:. Things not going in my favour, however still thinking that I may have some ladies party or will go to visit friends on my own.So no menus yet.

If aloo ghost ka qorma is a hyderabadi thingy , how come we never had it at our home :frowning: let me ask my mah

I think we will make

• Pulau with chick peas
  • Kofte
  • Tandoori chicken / roast chicken
  • Pastry rolls (maybe)
  • 2 salads

Dessert
*Kheer
*Custard / Trifle

Dad, hubby and brother in law cook on small Eid so no cooking for us ladies

we all do Eid together at mum’s house

Any other menu ideas ladies?? We are having an Eid dawat and my mom and I want to do something different. Sheer khorma is a given. What else can we make which is not too time consuming.

How many dishes are you making and what sort of menu are you looking for? DO you have a base menu and are just looking for one or two WOW items?

So this is what I came up with so far:

Koftay (tuna or chicken)
Mini burgers (for kids, if there are any)
Some sort of biryani (maybe hara masla or kacha gosht)
Greek pasta salad

Dessert:
Sheer khorma
Kit kat dream dessert (similar recipe to this Around The World Restaurant: Frozen “Waltz Dream” Candy Dessert)

I feel like there is something missing…help??

My own rule of thumb for a dawat menu is:

One or two appetizers

Here are some suggestions:

mini qeema filled patties (we make them square bite sized) which can be made a day or two ahead and then just pooped into the oven to bake for 20 minutes,
mini samosas,
aloo tikkis,
vegetable crudites,
bhel puri (this is super simple),
gol gappas (we did gol gappas and had the chick peas/potatoes, chutnies in serving dishes for people to self serve and and the pani/zeera jal in shot glasses - it was a huge hit),
mini grilled chicken and veggie pita pockets

Why not serve mini burgers/sliders as an appetizer and make it for everyone?

**One salan

**Kofta sounds great. If you want to make it a bit different, you could make either palak kofta or nargisi koftas

**One vegetarian dish
A few options to consider: nauratan korma, shahi paneer, matar paneer, haldi-aloo ← this goes best served with puris and parathas, dum aloo

**One kebab/dry meat dish

**Shammi kebab, chappli kebabs, fish kebabs. Because you have kofta which is made from mince, a seekh kebab is a bit redundant.

You can also do chicken tikka or beef tikka, or even on shish kebabs and do it with vegetables, if you don’t want to do a kebab.
One rice

**Either hara masala or kacha ghosht ka biryani sounds perfect

**Salad

**If you have crudites, no need for separate salad and your greek pasta salad is a great other salad.

**Raita
You can do dhai boondi raita, cucumber raita, or baingan ka raita

Naan, paratha, roti

Naan goes with everything. If you had qormas and kebabs, I’d even suggest having some parathas to go along with it.

One to two desserts

Your desserts of sheer khorma and Kit kat dream dessert cake sound great. Odds are your guests will also bring desserts as hostess gifts, so no need to go overboard. You can add ice-cream or a fruit with creamy dip tray if you want to go that route.

Amazing!! Thank you soo much for the great advice. I love the idea of gol gappas and gol gappa water in shot glasses..Totally doing it.

Sorry I wasn’t clear. Planning to make the mini burgers/sliders for everyone but target were the kids lol.

I will update here how it all went. Hopefully with some pictures. :slight_smile:

uff I LOVE potatoes in biryani, infact I believe that a typical and spicy biryani tastes so incomplete without potatoes :blush: I never knew that it’s Hyderabadi style.