Physical Attraction

***How does that come into play within the confines of an Arranged Marriage ?

Everyone says how important it is to have a degree of attraction to the person you want to marry but how can one be physically attracted or even develop any kind of attraction perforce within such a short span of time !

Re: Physical Attraction

Aray bityaa Shaadi kai baad sabh attraction wattraction ho he jati hai, besides after 5 kids kahan ka figure, kahan ke physical attraction. :naak:

@shyne

ab meen kia kahoon

lol well i think to marry some1 u do need some form of attraction there....... if there is no attraction there is no spark then the marriage doesnt really work out does it?

It has been happening from ages. Elders did not think about physical attraction, for them this was enough that they are getting married. Times have changed and perception has changed, you believe that physical attraction is important and some one else might believe it is what attracts from the inside which is important. What's the use of physical attraction when the person does not turn out to be all right. He she has a bad heart, hurts you, and leaves you for nothing.

Physcial attrcation is important.

Because if not, threads mop up from committed ones here fantasizing about good looking guys and thier asociated attentions.

so:

LOOKS DO MATTER

We Dudes are smart enough to know that

Gurls r just airheads :woops:

LOL, good question.
I had an arranged marriage and from my perspective, in our society when they talk about attraction, its mostly about finding each others' looks attractive you know.
I found my husband-to-be very good looking :D, so was attracted to him.
Samajh aaya?

LOL nice!

It's possible to develop a physical attraction witin a short span of time. After all, that's where the idea of "love at first sight" comes from. The moment you see someone.......you know little to zero about their personality. All that you see is their face and their body language.......and often times these first qualities are what develop an attraction toward the person. And then you take that initial attraction a step further and get to know the individual and learn about his/her personality.

Many of us (male and female) have watched a movie where we see an actor or actress for the first time and develop an instant attraction. So, it does happen. It happens all the time. Not only with celebrities..........but with ordinary people as well. This physical attraction is like the initial attraction. Perhaps you can also call it superficial attraction. Whether or not one chooses to develop a committed relationship with the attractive individual will also depend upon compatibility of personality.

However, as I've said earlier..........physical attraction.........IS important in a relationship. One should feel physically attracted to their significant other.

mujhe to Khoobsoorat haath aur paauuN bahooot azeez haiN...maiN jab bhii dekhuuNgaa koi laRkii shaadii ke liye to merii shart hogii k jis din amiN aauuN dekhne ke liye us din dastaane [gloves] yaa moze [socks] na pahneN vo. aur bhii chand ek baateN haiN jaise kalaaiyaaN bhar bhar chooRiyaaN aur mehndi lage haath aur nail polish lage dast o paa aur haN siDol se baazoo :)

^^and this is why I love your responses RV! You always have something positive to add to the topic at hand!

^ You made an excellent point about elders, Aisha. Often times, elders in desi culture think it's okay for their sons to be picky about looks when selecting a partner.......especially in the arranged marriage scenario. However parents will accuse their daugthers of being "too picky" or "superficial" if they consider physical attraction in the equation. Physicall attraction is an innate desire.....present in both genders.

Physical attraction is a bit over rated. If it was so important then beautiful couples would never divorce each other

I agree! In an arranged marriage scenario have you seen how picky the sons and more to the effect their mothers are. They have a whole list of what not should be in the girl and what should be in the girl. Skin colour, complexion, etc.

If you think about it RV, when choosing someone in an arranged marriage scenario as well the guys do look for looks as well. Why guys look for looks is where PHYSICAL ATTRACTION comes in. Even in an arranged marriage, the girl and guy can get attracted to each other and then get engaged and get to know each other. So who is to say that in an arranged marriage a person cannot develop physical attraction to the other person.

Redvelvet and Aisha, I'm going a bit off topic.... but don't you think its not the guys who are picky. Its mostly the moms that want a chaand si bahu while the guys can instantly be attracted to any seedhi saadhi larki, if they like her smile, or eyes or any one cute feature that sets the girl apart. Its the moms who are in khoob-tar ki talaash, don't you think? At least thats what my observations have been.

Well, I think most women here don't have clue. Well, a gay can develop
attrection in few sec.
If I read between the lines, it sounds like women want to know if they get horrible
looking hubb how log it will be before they can u know.. and
not cry after..

Average looking and below average looking couples can get divorced as well.

Even if looks were not taken into consideration........other issues such as incompatible personality can be the cause for divorce.

Nobody is saying that physical attraction is the be-all/end-all in a relationship. But it's not unreasonable to say that this aspect has its onw unique and important place in a relationship.

I pretty much said something similar. :)

hhehee, ok. I guess we're on the same page then :D

I have read enough Life 1 threads to be on the same page as you :D