PCB tamasha - PCB plans action against Afridi -

Re: PCB tamasha - PCB plans action against Afridi -

Shahid Afridi is reported have to used his influence among political parties to pressurise Pakistan Cricket Board. PCB’s official website reported via Pakistan Today that chairman Cricket Board Ijaz butt and Chief operating officer are being threatened of dreadful consequences for the restoration of Afridi.

^^ the two videos seem to indicate that Afridi's lawyers are telling him that it is not legal to attend the summons, while Ijaz is saying if he does not attend then they will take ex parte decision. Will his ex parte decision be sound and able to stand in a court of law? Can they take PCB to court?

To be honest. I can care less of this new PCB Drama and I can care less whatever happens with Afridi whether he wins this 'war' or 'looses' it because in the end it is the Pakistani fans who are left exhausted and used. Both the players and the Management are more concerned about their egos rather the benefit of the game.

Yet we still turn out to watch it in the Stadia, on TV, Online or throught whatever means possible .... we open threads on forums ..... discuss every detail of the match to death ..... put on every available angle to the smallest issue coming out regarding Pakistan Cricket ...... fight keyboard wars ..... for what ???? for fulltime embarrassment interspersed with little cheer by winning a match here or there ..... And the Tamasha goes on ..... u know the day the Tamash-been start staying away this very day will start the decline of this Tamasha ...... hence we r also part of the Problem :(

@MWP and ZO:

Well there is no doubt that this is a major clash of egos. However, Afridi's war against PCB adhocism can potentially result in at least one thing. Which is to get rid of Butt and perhaps the monarchical setup in PCB.

As much as I detest Butt I find it difficult to take sides on this issue. Both Butt and Afridi have behaved badly and none of them have Pakistan's interest at heart. Both are after their own agendas and both have huge egos. This is not what is required. Both should go.

to me this sound to be the case and yes I agree, both should go. Situation is so bad now that whoever stays now will not be able to adjust... and for heaven sake, whoever goes, please take Ilyad dude with him.

Personally I think Butt has taken war to another level by suspending Afridi's NOC for county and overseas cricket and that has irked Afridi. He was not this aggressive when his contract was suspended it was only after his NOCs were revoked. PBC has no right to revoke some non-contracted player's NOC and bar them to earn living. That showed that BUTT was taking it all personal.

There was a discipline problem, you fired the guy and suspended the contract, thats well and good but cancelling NOCs was terrible. PCB should only have say on NOCs of Contracted players.

*In a small war-within victory, Sindh highcourt have suspended/stayed Afridi hearing committee meeting. *

Yaar After all we r talking about Pakistan ..... i'm surely the last one to lose hope but it seems that here something very strong needs to happen for atleast a decade to get things back on track ...... Cricket was one of the very few things that gave pakistanis a cheer ..... but even that is =)&=(/%(/%=(/$§

ICC wants the board in a similar way as FIFA is running Football ..... it may sound good but of what i've seen about Football + Corruption in the poorer countries believe me it's an appalling situation ..... In some countries the Sports ministry wanted to clean out the National Football Body but FIFA intervened :( .....

It's a society that needs an overhaul not just our cricket ..... our cricket kinda mirrors what's the society thus the country is about :(

‘Afridi immature, has poor discipline’ - Waqar

ESPNcricinfo staff

June 7, 2011

http://www.espncricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/129700/129773.2.jpg

Waqar Younis, the Pakistan coach, has hit out at former captain Shahid Afridi in his tour report of Pakistan’s series in the Caribbean, saying, “as a captain he is very immature, has poor discipline, lacks a gameplan and is unwilling to listen to others’ opinions or advice.” The report, whose excerpts have been published in Dawn, confirms the existence of a rift between captain and coach during the end of the tour, with Waqar admitting that Afridi walked out of a meeting over differences relating to selection.
The acrimonious relationship was also acknowledged by team manager Intikhab Alam in his tour report, in which he - while saying Waqar had at times been “arrogant” - described Afridi as a “highly hyper-active personality who lacks [the] temperament to listen to other people’s point of views or look for solutions for the betterment of the team.”
Afridi was removed as ODI captain after the tour and reacted by retiring “conditionally” from international cricket due to the “humiliation” inflicted by the PCB. His criticism of the board led to the suspension of his central contract and revocation of NOCs permitting him to play cricket overseas. The matter now rests before a disciplinary committee, which is scheduled to meet Afridi - who faces charges of violating the board’s code of conduct - on June 8.
“Besides myself, the rest of the coaching staff has worked very hard with him to improve his abilities as a long-term and successful captain but sometimes his volatile and immature nature have proved detrimental and led to unfortunate outcomes including game losses,” Waqar said.
Pakistan won the ODI series 3-2 but lost the final two games, both dead rubbers. The tour report reveals there was considerable disagreement between Waqar and Afridi over the team composition for those two matches.
**Before the fourth and fifth ODIs, Waqar said, Afridi "came into the meetings with a decisive mindset and was refusing to discuss playing XI options. I, as a part of the touring selection committee, tried to discuss different options for the team but he behaved very inappropriately and walked out of the meeting.
“His attitude and unwillingness to sort out matters led to a very uncomfortable dressing-room environment which affected the players’ performance, resulting in the last two losses of the ODI series.”
Alam, in his report, said there was also a disagreement over Afridi’s decision to suddenly promote himself up the order in one of those two games, as that hadn’t initially been part of the team strategy. "At one stage we were 200 for two in forty overs. All of a sudden Afridi promoted himself and as soon as he went in, the very next over he took the Powerplay and got himself out. The entire batting order was reshuffled and as a result, we could only manage 40-odd runs after that. **
“After losing the match Waqar was furious why he was not consulted over change in order. Afridi in return told Waqar, ‘I am not having a good time as far as my batting is concerned, but how many times you have taken me to the nets and worked with me or talked to me about my batting’. After heated arguments, once again Afridi left the room.”
Alam also claimed he told Afridi not to speak to the press about his differences with Waqar, but inform the PCB chairman if he had complaints. But, according to Alam, it wasn’t just Afridi whose behaviour had been a problem. “I have also been observing Waqar and feel that he is at times little harsh and arrogant which creates some problems.”

http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/518060.html

Any aggressive captain would do that. If team is 200 for 2 in 40, its time to send in aggressive batsman with powe-play up in his sleeves. I am sure Afridi has issues but this was a very lame example :)

again wrong example. If Afridi was going through bad batting patch, it was Waqar's job to pay attention to his batting :)

I m just wondering if Waqar's report was actually written by Afridi :D

Looking at his previous 50 odd innings, what aggression?

Waqar's report and his difference with Afridi are nothing new to Pakistan cricket. But what is appalling here that the report will be all over media.

Afridi should not captain again after all this fiasco. But he should not be stopped from playing either. He is an asset to limited overs teams.

People who are commenting on the setup and whether a change of personnel in PCB management will bring better results or not. I would say that we need sensible yet strong heads like Majid Khan instead of morons, good for nothing Ijaz butt who carries personal grudges too far and interferes with the team dynamics. I cannot believe how he treated Younis Khan, Abdul Razzaq and now Shahid Afridi.

Restoring Butt's Line would be Fatal for Future (Making a Mockery of PCB and Pakistan will continue)

Restoring Afridi's Line would be Fatal for Future (Wrong signal for future captains and big Egos)

So both need to go for Good

Surely the 21 Wickets at CWC have to gone to head if it's true what waqar has noted in his report

Ehsan Bhai, I am not fan of Afridi's brain but no matter how bad he was playing during last 20-30-40 innings, any captain would consider him sending at 200/2 after 40 overs.

please pay attention to the last part as well…

He prolly thinks it's 2001 and he is the Captain :D

When it comes a confrontation b/w a player or a captain v/s a coach, I'd always go with the coach as he's the person who should be accountable and responsible for everything in most of the international sports including cricket. If we take a look at all other sports like Soccer, basketball, football etc., coach is the main authority and thats why in most of the cases coaches are sacked if things go wrong. I know the legend Imran Khan is of the idea that a cricket team doesnt require coach and everything is a captain but I'd never agree with that.

So here again, I'd listen to Waqar rather than believing Afridi. Now what board is doing with him is a whole seperate issue.

^^ Agree 100%. thats what i said few weeks ago.

In american football usually the coach is the star of the team. he is highest paid usually, makes all decision, gives all the interviews and gets sacked if the performance is bad.
coach should not be the one who just teaches you how to bat or ball, he should be using his experience in driving the team.

IF you look at the success story of indian team, peter kirtsen was as respected and important as dhoni and was given equal credit for the good performance. Sadly even the best south asian cricketers dont make a good coach. coaches are made of different soil. we need foreign coach to bring its work ethics, management, professionalism and unbiased judgement in our teams.

Be-sharmi ki bhi hadd hoti hai!