PCB tamasha - PCB plans action against Afridi -

Re: PCB tamasha - PCB plans action against Afridi -

Afridi is not a saint by any means so I am not taking his side in this post. I love the guy though just because if you love Pakistani cricket you have a soft spot for him as you really want to see him succeed and do well for the country. With that being said, he is really stupid to think that a low life like Ijaz Butt would not interfere in his county cricket stint after criticizing the administration. I really hope that Ijaz Butt get hit by a mini bus M-1 near the mazar of Quaid-e-Azam with "Afridi Dada Se Panga, Angam tera nanga" sher written on the back of the bus. Do rakat namaz shukrane ki paraon ga when Butt sahab Allah ko pyare hon ge. kya din ho ga woh jab we don't have to see that ugly face of his ever again.

With BUTT gone PCB is not going to do any good, before but it was Naseem Ashraf who did more damage to cricket then BuTT can even imagine... and after BUTT i think a worse management will take over.... it is not the person, it is the system which is doing all this, BUTT is just a mere pawn in all this game

^do you really believe Naseem Ashraf did more damage than Butt? lol.

^^ He was no better than BUTT that is for sure...

very ingenious! :D

The following comment by a poster on another forum is so true

This is so rich by the PCB! So Butty is upset that he learnt about Afridi's retirement from the media. Well you flippin HIPPOcrite (pun very much intended), why did Afridi learn about his sacking as captain through the media? Why did Yonus and Yousuf learn about their bans through the media? Why did Lawson learn of his sacking through the media? It's just so very ironic of the PCB to present itself as the face of professionalism.

Butt is the system right now. He is no pawn my friend. In PCB, the ch-man is it. So whomever you place in this adhoc system, can make or break things.

A Clash of Egos…(well said)

A clash of mighty egos
4 hours ago

Fans won’t tolerate this latest development and it will take a drastic U-turn on Afridi’s part for Butt to remain in power.

It is hard to accept but celebrated all-rounder Shahid Afridi has decided to put a full-stop to an illustrious career – at least for the time being. The 31-year-old, followed by millions across the globe, said his decision was prompted by the “humiliation” meted out to him by the Pakistan Cricket Board.

So what’s new? We have a habit of not honouring our national heroes. And Afridi, maybe you’re not such a hero after all. Irresponsible, immature attitude exhibited off and on during the 15-year career led to your downfall, and still you haven’t learnt. Throwing away your wicket when the team sorely needed a responsible knock from you is hardly an example you should have set for a young brigade that has barely hatched out of easily the most scandalous period of Pakistan’s cricket history.

Add to this, you openly articulate the team’s differences in front of the media. So what do you expect in return?

Credit is due to you, however, for leading Pakistan when no one else would have wanted to or deemed suitable for. It was like running for presidency when the country is in a shambles. Sounds familiar. And Afridi, you did a good job. A run to the semi-final, a series-win against New Zealand, West Indies and good quality cricket against England and South Africa. And just when the team looked set, you upset the PCB. You were a temporary replacement after Mohammad Yousuf suffered the Australian humiliation and now the board seemed to have found an able leader.

So where is the dark knight that will guide Pakistan now? Misbahul Haq led Pakistan to a 2-0 win. But he is hardly the ‘new leader’. He is 37 years old and will not last till the next World Cup given Pakistan’s habit of changing captains frequently. It’s not about Afridi’s performance as leader nor is it about finding a better man for the job. It’s about Ijaz Butt and his big ego. He won’t tolerate nonsense – from someone else’s mouth – since he’s the big daddy of Pakistan cricket.

But enough is enough. Fans won’t tolerate this latest development and it will take a drastic U-turn on Afridi’s part for Butt to remain in power. Time is running out Mr Butt.

True Nasim Ashraf was another egomaniac who took panga with Shoaib Akhtar (not a saint himself) and banned him for 5 years but Akhtar ultimately won when he brought Nasim to the discussion table and made him eat dirt

Nasim was atleast well-educated (a nephrologist or kidney specialist) and had good communication (if not administrative) skills unlike Ijaz Butt. This ganvaar has done untold damage to Pak cricket. This is what Butt sahib has done since Jan 2009
http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/517335.html

Now you might say what has a medical degree got to do with cricket administration?
Answer: Nepotism (ask Musharraf)

That is actually Butt’s greatest and undeniable accomplishment.

It seemed impossible but Butt makes Nasim Ashraf look good :slight_smile:

^^ Naseem Ashraf new alot about cricket, he use to be captain of his cricket team where Mushy use to play…

No way iam in favor of BUTT or naseem ashraf, the two did their best to bring Pakistan cricket down and they did pretty good job… and **Antumul alona](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/members/antumul-alona.html) is right, chairman can make and break… and that is what i call system, when we had toqeer zia and Shehyar Khan, our things were relatively well placed

Kamran Abbasi’s spin

Pak Spin

June 2, 2011

Posted by Kamran Abbasi 2 days, 9 hours ago in Politics
Afridi in, Butt out**

http://blogs.espncricinfo.com/inline/content/image/460894.jpg

Pakistan cricketers are not allowed to speak, tweet, or think any criticism of their cricket board for fear of their livelihoods © Associated Press

Governance of international cricket requires much broader skills than ability with ball and willow. But nobody bought a match ticket or sports subscription in the hope seeing an administrator make a well considered decision. Only 6% of a sample of international cricketers believes that the ICC board makes decisions in the best interests of the sport. That is a damning statistic. What’s more, a clear majority believe that decision-making is unfairly influenced by the BCCI.

India, Pakistan, and Zimbabwe cricketers don’t belong to the Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations, the organisation that conducted the survey, but Pakistan players, at the very least, might have plenty to say about the governance of their own cricket boards even before they got to the topic of the ICC.

Unfortunately, Pakistan cricketers are not allowed to speak, tweet, or think any criticism of their cricket board for fear of their livelihoods. The people who fill the coffers of the cricket board have become slaves to central contracts and must beg and borrow any favour.

Shahid Afridi might not be the most rational fellow, or the greatest captain or player in Pakistan’s history, but he is an asset to Pakistan cricket, a fact that the cricket board itself has acknowledged. But by challenging the board about his treatment, refusing to play under its current administration, and offering some robust critique of the way the board is run, Afridi has unleashed the full spiteful force of the PCB.

Pakistan’s recently celebrated World Cup captain faces charges of breaching the code of conduct and is being denied the right to play cricket in England - censures that carry the clumsy hallmark of Pakistan’s board chairman, Ijaz Butt.

It is hard to believe that Afridi is motivated by some high-minded principle but his stance echoes the frustration of the majority of Pakistan cricket lovers: the regime of Ijaz Butt has done immeasurable damage to Pakistan cricket, all other hardships aside, and driven it to the point of collapse. Afridi’s call for regime change at the Gaddafi Stadium chimes with the resentment that supporters of Pakistan cricket feel towards the current board and the chairman in particular.

The board’s decision to revoke its permission for Afridi’s participation in the English Twenty20 tournament is an abuse of power. It demonstrates a nasty, vindictive streak in the Gaddafi Stadium regime that has already harmed Younis Khan. The message that Butt is keen to send out is that if you mess with me, with whatever justification, I will stop you playing and kill off your career. What hope for Pakistan cricket when such a man runs the board like a dictator? What hope for Pakistan when this man is allowed to run such an important national institution?

Pakistan cricket is depleted of enough resources without the premature retirement of its leading one-day bowler. Shahid Afridi is impetuous, misguided, and certainly no saint. But it is the devilish Butt whose departure would bring the greatest benefit to Pakistan cricket. He has governed the board during the calamitous attack on Sri Lanka cricketers, the spot-fixing crisis, and the decimation of the national team, and yet he survives to torture us further. If Afridi’s ‘retirement’ can hasten Butt’s demise, then it will have served a critical purpose.

Our very own Fixer Butt talks against Afridi

^^ I wonder why the news channel has to get the view of the accused and penalized fixer ..

For all Afridi haters

lol.. Chota Butt is trying to be on good side of PCB now. Sorry chotu, there is still no hope of your return.

oh he has the guts to say ‘Afridi ne pakistan cricket ko bohut hurt kiya hai mukhtalif tareeqon se’. ‘aur Afridi as a captain results nahi de sake’…

Dude you are a proven fixer. I liked you as a player and captain but you brought inexplicable shame and then you had the guts to say the above? Shameless. Looks like someone is still upset about Afridi’s testimony against him! :rolleyes:

The way Butt has created controversies after controversies, he made Naseem Ashraf look like a saint in comparison.