Re: Party Scene is ON.
Nice to see you back mats :)
Bhai, simple si baat hai.
Those who party, think a majority parties, and those who don't are lamers.
Those who don't party, think the majority does not party, and those who do are losers.
Everyone talks from their own reference point. Thats the story of our lives. :)
why would that happen in the first place? why would duality in society exist if the core of the issue didnt lie in duality in people?
your argument thus far has been, there are porn stores therefore people in pakistan have dual standards (or whatever you’re calling it) and therefore drunken sex filled parties are a feature of pakistani society. look at that and tell me you’re reasoning rationally.
bear in mind that the context of this thread all the way was partying. you were the first to bring porn in and somehow try to make a point with that with respect to this thread. step back and think about it for minute.
evil exists my friend. but the moment you start saying stuff like girls in pakistan are etcetera or most larkay in pakistan party and whatnot you realise that you’re stepping out of knowing depravity exists and implying that it is a feature of pakistani society in general.
re your points to tommy, and asking him if he knew about places of prostitution: there were prostitutes in the Prophet’s time. but:
a. people of that ilk were in a significant minority
b. this was hidden.
this is proving your point? 8 to 10 cars from two sectors in islamabad. if the population of Islamabad is 910000, and the population of each sector is 113750, out of which 40 percent is young (between 16 and 35) then your 10 cars and 50 people represent 0.00004 percent of that sectors party-going population.
and so even going by your very anecdotal, doubtless skewed (in the sense that birds of a feather do flock together) evidence, you’ve shown a miniscule number of Pakistan’s youth indulge in your stuff.
you understand now, that when i said 2 percent in the beginning i was allowing a fairly large number to begin with. proving a MAJORITY would involve you showing that 250,000 people in islamabad are partying.
the rest of your argument is BS. i know falana falana yeah well i know asses like those too. who gives a crap. filth always exists.
why would that happen in the first place? why would duality in society exist if the core of the issue didnt lie in duality in people?
Point being you can not blame a certain segment of population as if they are evil personafied and the rest of the nation is like the posterchild for
your argument thus far has been, there are porn stores therefore people in pakistan have dual standards (or whatever you're calling it) and therefore drunken sex filled parties are a feature of pakistani society. look at that and tell me you're reasoning rationally.
To restate my point. This is to prove that dual standards exist in all segments of society. andf its not just about porn stores, its about the cheap hookers that sold their wares in slums like sohrab goth, their clientele was not your "burger" crowd.
so while sex filled parties as you state may not be a feature of pakistani society, but prostitution is and has been, mujras are and have been,
*bear in mind that the context of this thread all the way was partying. you were the first to bring porn in and somehow try to make a point with that with respect to this thread. step back and think about it for minute. *
Just because people with holier than thou attitudes jumped in and said that oh Pakistan is so damn pure and its just these few people who are "bad" My point is to indicate that
evil exists my friend. but the moment you start saying stuff like girls in pakistan are etcetera or most larkay in pakistan party and whatnot you realise that you're stepping out of knowing depravity exists and implying that it is a feature of pakistani society in general.
When exactly did I say "most" larkay in Pakistan party?
The point simply is that depravity exists to varying degrees in various parts of the society, the "burgers" become an easy scapegoat for everyone. How can all of society's ills be blamed on .000001% of the population. This is not to say that that segment of poulation does not shoulder the blame of their ills, but lets not give the rst of the society a free pass .. lets call it like it is.= and be honest with ourselves as a nation.
hey, i never was on about burgers, otherwise I'd be shooting myself in the foot. atleast allegedly Im a burger, who lives in Clifton. so I wasnt really a party to that line.
To restate my point. This is to prove that dual standards exist in all segments of society. andf its not just about porn stores, its about the cheap hookers that sold their wares in slums like sohrab goth, their clientele was not your "burger" crowd.
so while sex filled parties as you state may not be a feature of pakistani society, but prostitution is and has been, mujras are and have been,
I guess I kindof dont really wish to be party to the what segment/area actually does this stuff discussion. i doubt its one particular one. however, 'partying' in the sense of Pakora would likely be confined to the westernized segment. yeah mujras waghera have been around for a while, but again calling them a feature of Pakistani society is a bit much. They're as much a feature as goat screwing is a feature of nwfp. highly prevalent in some areas, mocked/marginalised in others.
Just because people with holier than thou attitudes jumped in and said that oh Pakistan is so damn pure and its just these few people who are "bad" My point is to indicate that
once again, the purity is specific to sex filled parties, in which context we as a people are quite pure. this business is restricted to less than 2 percent of pakistani youth, even allowing for a LOT of them. quite limited. showing porn is prevalent or prostitution areas exists does not further your point in that respect.
When exactly did I say "most" larkay in Pakistan party?
The point simply is that depravity exists to varying degrees in various parts of the society, the "burgers" become an easy scapegoat for everyone. How can all of society's ills be blamed on .000001% of the population. This is not to say that that segment of poulation does not shoulder the blame of their ills, but lets not give the rst of the society a free pass .. lets call it like it is.= and be honest with ourselves as a nation.
im guessing both of us are talking to each other's 'sides' rather than each other. you didnt talk about most larkey, pakora did, and I didnt talk about specific social circles/residential areas, someone else most likely did.
looking at ur and ur lifestyle, its better to have a possessive mother than not a possessive one. u dont even get along with ur parents ( according to ur posts here not my assumption). i pity u and ur lifestyle. if this is ur meaning of “living a life”. to is tarah to janwar bhi rehtay hain jungle mein. app mein aur unmein to koi farq he nahien raha.
Hey my mommy brought me a glass of milk every darn night, and I'm thankful she did! I hope to do the same for my babies. All 25 of 'em!
How many goats have u seen getting humped? Dont tell me you saw them at a private party held in Hayatabad or Defense where everyone was invited & the only cars allowed inside would be Hilux Double cabin with goats laden inside them…![]()
There is a difference between him & a janwar, as I have seen him live. Ur assumption is false dear. Have u heard the famous figure of speech “Assumption is the mother of all fk ups”
*I guess I kindof dont really wish to be party to the what segment/area actually does this stuff discussion. i doubt its one particular one. however, 'partying' in the sense of Pakora would likely be confined to the westernized segment. yeah mujras waghera have been around for a while, but again calling them a feature of Pakistani society is a bit much. They're as much a feature as goat screwing is a feature of nwfp. highly prevalent in some areas, mocked/marginalised in others. *
and thus the sex filled parties are not a feature of a certain social class. There is a small group of that population that may engage in it, but not everyone.
*once again, the purity is specific to sex filled parties, in which context we as a people are quite pure. this business is restricted to less than 2 percent of pakistani youth, even allowing for a LOT of them. quite limited. showing porn is prevalent or prostitution areas exists does not further your point in that respect. *
the point that was being made was thata mujra or a desi stripper party is about as much sex filled as the type of party Pakora is talking about.
In the case he highlighted it is still up to people, not everyone at these parties is there to find a one night stand, and that is not the intent of the party, people are there for a party, some are there to get lucky, some are there for booze, some are there for dancing.
however when someone gets a prostitute the intent is not to play bridge, and when someone gets a stripper the intent of everyone there is to see a stripper, and when people rent porn movies, all present are not there for the company.
My point here is not to say that it is okay that this is going in in Pakistan, however it is to point out the fallacy in our society's arguments where the blame of everything bad is placed on this supposed elite group while theydont bother to take a peak in their own garebaan as a segment of society to see that it too has parctices that they would not be comfortable with however they dont point fingers at other segments.
btw did anyone see that showe jaaiza on ARY oe GEO with Omar khan where he interviewed a desi family from the bay area who had moved back to pakistan for a few years. While the mother father, youngest kid and the 20 something daughter gave very guarded politically correct answers, the 19 year old son was upfront and noted the booze and the drugs that are a part of the party scene.
great so we agree.
lets not attempt to water down the culpability of either.
firstly, you make a massive assumption when you imply that my context or garebaan involves what you say is that segment’s equivalent of alcoholic parties, mujray and whatnot.
secondly, I believe mujray waghera are as equally marginalised as parties are. so as far as Im concerned both evils arent a feature of Pakistani society, but are sustained and involve a small number of rather sad people.
finally just because you can find one social evil that you believe is prevalent is our society, you should not use it to justify another social evil. when people spoke out against this, it was because of it’s novelty. regardless of what you say, this particular, pathetic trend is new in pakistan. just because certain evils have been internalized in us doesnt mean we open the gate for the rest of em.
im glad you’re saying its not okay, because it did seem like it was okay for you in the beginning.
…..Dear ravage
Do you really think that the 8 to 10 cars example I gave were the only people partying in those two sectors?** How utterly stupid you look to run a complete statistical census of Islamabad on my experience alone.**
I have also said a fairly large majority NOT every single person living in an urban society, now if you want to add a different adjective by saying, a marginally large, or fractionally large, is your perspective and what you have experienced in life.
As fraudia very eloquently put it when you have experienced life with every band of society than your horizon broadens and you can give a complete and articulate account of your experience.
In my opinion the main bone of contention was defining the types of girls that party.
I would reiterate my point once again that in Pakistan I found the girls totally out of control and doing things that I would seldom see British girls doing.
Suroorr..sheeessshhhhhh.
What an oxymoronic reply, If you think drinking and partying is like living life in the Jungle, then why the hell do you live in a society that breaths and eats jungle life, get out of Canada. You have surfaced as one of the top hypocrite and sly Pakistani girls who for their own benefit would bend and twist situation just to remain on a higher moral pedestal.
Mubarik ho!!! You have graduated as a Pakistani, you can easily sell ice to an Eskimo.
you are boxing yourself into an absolutely ridiculous position. unless you are being deliberately assinine in which case I dont wish to speak further.
Look at the numbers. 950000 people in islamabad. 300,000 party going population. you are claiming that 150,000 people in Islamabad indulge in sex oriented parties. We would need an infrastructure at the scale of las vegas for that to happen.
sit quietly in the little niche, that fringe you’ve carved for yourself in society. dont attempt to paint your and your circle’s depravity on the rest of us.
*lets not attempt to water down the culpability of either. *
sure, but the actions of a few thousand people at most does zlich on a society's overall fabric...but why is it that its only that segment that we get all bent out of shape about.
*firstly, you make a massive assumption when you imply that my context or garebaan involves what you say is that segment's equivalent of alcoholic parties, mujray and whatnot. *
not equivalent, but major debauchery by a few thousand does not have the same impact on a society as lesser debauchery by the masses. its the level, plus how widespread it is that makes it a mainstream issue. This is not a mainstream issue, society at large does not get impacted by this as much as it does by khwar naujawan harassing women on the street. mutually accepted hooking up among willing partners of a very small subsection of society , as much as one may be against it, has less of an impact on society than millions of khwar guys harassing women :)
*finally just because you can find one social evil that you believe is prevalent is our society, you should not use it to justify another social evil. *
Its not justification, its that every single time something like this is brought up, its about the extreme actions of a very small group and then the whole blame of societal decay is laid upon the feet of this group. This is clearly not the case, I am nto justifying the actions of this small group, but culpability of societal decay is not their monopoly.
when people spoke out against this, it was because of it's novelty. regardless of what you say, this particular, pathetic trend is new in pakistan. just because certain evils have been internalized in us doesnt mean we open the gate for the rest of em.
sure, but just like we were not able to stop all the other societal issues I noted. we will not be able to stop this one.
im glad you're saying its not okay, because it did seem like it was okay for you in the beginning.
Okay for me is a very different thing then what pakistani society considers okay. My evaluation of the situation at hand is by contrasting it with what society considers acceptable, and not what I consider acceptable.
Having lived in a fraternity house almost all my undergrad years, I have seen and been to parties that would make these pakistani parties seem like mickey mouse club. So if its a party no problem, if people are drinking, its their business, if I feel uncomfortable I will leave, if there is hooking up going on, that can go on anywhere, and is not my business. Point again being, the intent of an event, and the intent of the attendee. If it is a sex party of some sort then I am not there, but if there is some party where some ppl are getting hooked up and later banging like baboons, whats it to me.
.brb
the part where i jumped in was where it was being contended that this is a mainstream issue to begin with.
as you can see pakora miyan is still trying to make that case.
i think you’re being a bit reactionary. once again Im probably part of that group, and clifton walay loge include me and irem.
nevertheless it is societal decay, and people are right in speaking against it. if you want to speak against the rest, by all means, open another topic about it. dont derail this one.
im not so sure. happily we have our mullas amongst us, and this evil is still quite firmly in the bud. we used to have quite a party/drinking culture in the seventies no?
OK
Pakora, buck up man...are you going to let a few nudniks who no one finds attractive, get you down?
You went to a party, some crazy shiit was taking place, the party was in Pakistan not mars...shiit happens. Have a beer and let me know when the next one is. It is good to see some people actually have fun rather than living a life of hyper-constipation.
ravage
teh goal is nto to derail anything but I think that Pakistani public has some voyeristic tendencies and its almost like living vicariously through what a small portion of the population. haan bhai, call it like it is, say that it is against the societal norms, but then as a society we need to be honest about it. Lets not just scream about one problem and conveniently forget about the rest. Eeverytime some thread liek thsi appears on GS, its the same..what a small group is doing. We fail to look at society at large.
My intent is to put things in context, rather than do haw-haiu and tobah tobah and blame all ills of society on this and say "qurb e qiyamat ki nishaniyaan hain mian".. if we are speaking of this as a societal ill and how its against our norms, then lets not blame the split from norms on a small group only, look at how..and how many ppl have divrged from what society considers norms. This of course is kept under a strict lock and key and a facade put forward.
Pakora has the balls to say he went to such a party and we get on his case being holier than thou, surely no one here has ever done somerthing or been to an event that does not align 100% with what society somehow projects it to be.