Paper Plates

Re: Paper Plates

"Any kind of plates go, as long as I'm getting fed".

That's what any man, who thinks for himself, would say.

In that case, the best thing to do is to just eat from the pan. It will save dirty dishes, hands, floors and what not.

^ lol :)

Just curious if its more common to use disposable plates on an everyday basis in North America, than in uk? I've seen them being used regularly on American tv shows, but not experienced the same in the uk.

It may be more common in the US...but I don't think majority of the people use them on a daily basis. I do know families who have 4-5 kids and use paper plates sometimes because the mess is endless...but I also know families with the same # of kids who just teach their kids to be more mindful. One of my friends has a rule in her home...her kids will scrape their plates after dinner and load them into the dishwasher themselves. They never even make it into the sink.

I didn’t know paper plates were looked down on?! Although I like china at fancy dinner parties, we use styroform ones at our family gatherings (my khandaan is really big mash’Allah, so washing dishes would take forever).

on another note, I remember ones when I was a kid and we went to our dad’s friends place for tea, his wife served us pound cake on a tissue paper/ napkin! :confused: That was just so extreme!

No, it's not common for us to use disposable plates on a daily basis (at least not for adults). I have never met adults here (desi or non-desi) who use disposable plates on a daily basis. Like Reha, I know some family that use disposable plates for children (like under 6)...but that's about it.

However, it is common for us to us disposables for gatherings/BBQs/backyard parties etc. NOT formal sit down dinners....but informal gatherings for family/friends.

Here in Atlanta all the good desi restaurants use disposable plates because food is damn delicious. I also don't have to worry if they were washed properly or not.

perfect, no chores involved!!

if I have to worry about how well the dishes are washed in a restaurant then I’m not eating there…simply because I would worry how sanitary the conditions are in which the food is being cooked…:cb:

Muzna what I noticed in other cities is that restaurants have fine china and silverware but the food is pretty low in quality. Over here it seems as if the restaurants are keeping the cost down by using disposable but the quality of food is pretty good.

But I agree with your statement.

Lo ji, haath bhi ganday kerne kee kyaa zaroorat hai. Seedhaa seedhaa bakri, billi kee tarha bartan main mounh daal diya karain

Same here in Dallas…the best desi restaurant in town which is always jammed packed and is the “hub” uses disposable plates..and we’re too busy stuffing our pie holes to care/notice :cb:

[quote="“TLK, post:11561, topic:223641"”]

Lo ji, haath bhi ganday kerne kee kyaa zaroorat hai. Seedhaa seedhaa bakri, billi kee tarha bartan main mounh daal diya karain

I dont' think this issue has ever come up in my life..... I dont recall my mom using them but then we never had giant parties.....also I've never really hosted a davat in my own home. On the other hand, I have used paper plates to help in cooking (like putting breadcrumbs to coat food, putting the choppecd veggies on em etc)

I can appreciate the sentiment behind using china for kids + giant parties.....however, it's still your own preference to use it..

What is concerning is when one starts to think they're better than someone else for not using paper plates, or thinks that the person who's using paper plates is not as hospitable, a bad host, cheap, lazy, whatever.

You don't have the right to look down on someone because they choose to exercise an option that makes THEIR life easier.

[quote="Sara516, post:6, topic:284699"]

I dont' think this issue has ever come up in my life..... I dont recall my mom using them but then we never had giant parties.....also I've never really hosted a davat in my own home.** On the other hand, I have used paper plates to help in cooking (like putting breadcrumbs to coat food, putting the choppecd veggies on em etc) **

Why didn't I ever think of that? You are a genius!!

^ Yesssss! I love fried anything :sid: but it can get messy…hence the paper plates. (btw, these were teh cheap ones…not the good ones)

OH and ten there are the “good” paper plates, that actually look/feel like real ones…those I think are used for like small parties where there’s a theme and the host may not have real china or anything. (Not everyone gets bartan in their jahez…hell not everyone gets jahez :slight_smile:

If there's a lot of cooking, I end up spending more time washing dishes than cooking, somehow. I will remember this "paper plate" tip the next time. Something good did come out of this thread!!

so usually i wear gloves for certain chores, but today i cleaned the bathroom and kitchen without gloves...and guess what..my two-week-old manicure is still in great shape (im kinda shocked)!! just wanted to test it out, personally i think it's best to get these things done regularly.

was just an experiment, no one take it personally..=\ i had to share.

wow. 5 pages on something thats disposable. amazing.