Pakistan's reaction on Rushdie knighthood (merged)

Re: Pakistan's reaction on Rushdie knighthood (merged)

b/c its not important to rest of the Muslim World and & they have more important things to do than worry about who got what meaningless title.

Re: Pakistan's reaction on Rushdie knighthood

Thanks for those kind words....

Re: Pakistan’s reaction on Rushdie knighthood (merged)

OBL shd be awarded Nishan-e-Qaidar…:smiley:

A group of Pakistani Islamic scholars say they have awarded their highest honour to Saudi-born al-Qaeda leader Osama Bin Laden in reaction to Britain's knighthood for Salman Rushdie.

The Ulema Council said it had awarded Bin Laden the title of "Saifullah", or "the Sword of Allah".

This is the reason why Pakistan can never make any progress. This is why whenever moderates take two steps ahead, these people "spokesperson" of everything Islamic take us 10 steps back.

Ulema Council to Religious Affairs Ministers, these people have privatize Islam and thus the violence, hate, bigotory and terrorism in name of religion.

Quite ingenious I must say…

just custom officials??..tum khud kabhie gaiye wahan?? kasie aur ki chori bata rahay ho.. if treat us strictly then there is a reason...many of our bravo pakis have been arrested and sentenced to death after being trying to smuggle heroin etc...

many of my relatives r there and no one complains abt arabs atitude..there r black sheeps in every society.. and by the way did u eva see how we pakis deal each other in pak???... come out of america and stop making assumptions..

^ he is actually in Canada.

Pakistani ASF is sabqa nahi parra bhai mausoof ka...

‘If you are so angry, give back our aid’

By Rauf Klasra

LONDON: The British media has asked Pakistan sarcastically to return the £480 million British aid, if the Pakistanis were so angry over the knighting of Salman Rushdie.

It has been reported here that last year, Prime Minister Tony Blair had visited Lahore to appreciate its enlightened moderation and to announce an increase in British aid to Pakistan from £236 million to £480 million. If this is tainted money, it can presumably be returned.

The taunt came amid growing resentment in Britain against angry demonstrations in Pakistan in which effigies of the Queen and the Union Jack were burnt in protest against honouring Rushdie with a knighthood.

A shocking headline in a leading British newspaper, Daily Telegraph, might make many Pakistanis hang their heads in shame. Referring to protests in Pakistan against Rushdie’s knighthood, the Telegraph headline reads, “If Pakistanis are so angry, give back our aid.”

The Britons are annoyed with Pakistanis for raising slogans against them during protest rallies, as they think that only Pakistan has protested against this decision while the rest of the Muslim world, particularly the Arab countries, remained silent.

The Daily Telegraph report says Pakistanis have every right to voice their anger at the award of a knighthood to Rushdie. It said, equally, the rest of us have every right to express our anger at the deeply offensive response of Pakistan’s Religious Affairs Minister Ejaz-ul-Haq who invoked the world’s 1.5 billion Muslims and said: “If someone commits suicide bombing to protect the honour of the Prophet Muhammad (SAW), his act is justified.” He later “clarified” his words, but we all know exactly what he was up to. And what of the Labour peer Lord Ahmed, who responds by saying Rushdie has “blood on his hands”.

It has been reported that some people like Rushdie’s novels, others don’t. Some say he’s smug, others say he’s delightful.

The report says, “Yes, he (Rushdie) has cost this country a lot in protecting him and through him, a core value of freedom of speech. But unless there is a strange and violent back-story we didn’t know, Sir Salman hasn’t the smallest drop of blood on his hands. If Pakistan is so offended, however, there is a dignified way to deal with the problem.”

Commenting on this report, many readers have also supported the idea of returning the aid money by saying that why Muslims were accepting money from “infidels”.

are we heading towards big bang?why is this page expanding?

People who are getting the money aren’t the ones complaining. And it’s not like the Brit media is ignorant of where the money is going (i.e. lining the pockets of the army elite).

Of course this is political, it's not as if Rushdie wasn't a known political hot potato.

But then so what of it? It's even more important to know where people stand...so if they're with Rushdie, this is good to know.

i think it would have been better if muslim nations had addressed the issue uniformly. if something is disrecpectful to us and is against common human decency and culture why not protest it? I personally feel it imperative as a muslim to shun the action but as i said there are better ways of doing it than our esteemed minister's.

Pakistan should cut off its aid to Britain.

aalsi dont be so scathing, i am sure you have your way reacting to people like rushdie but it doesnt mean its the only way.

Good thing mullahs don't know about the Western radio hosts like Rush Limbaugh etc. or they would be rioting everyday. Who cares if Rushdie is made king of england or knighted? How does this affect your faith?

We should recall Mirpur back.

Re: Congratulations to Knighthood

First of all thanks for being the odd one and still be 'proud' of it.

In my opinion:

1- There is no value of knighthood I have whatsoever. I personally care less if it is offered to a donkey.

2- Rushdi the "devil in human desguise" as I would like to call him with his snake like smile has not done anything which could be considered valuable in terms of humanity and the benefit one would get.

3- If Britons are willing to and forcefully agree to degrade their made up so called 'honor ' by their very own hands then who are we to ask them to change their mind.

4- To me it degrades the level of ALL and I mean ALL of those who ever got the knighthood position by Britons.

5- We know and its not a secret that Europe is hell bent in degrading Islam and muslims by sometimes creating cartoons in the name of free speech or rewarding people who spread hateful or wrongful ideas againt muslims......................even by so called writing novel!!!!!!!

6- Muslims on the other hand are very smart and are on right path to oppose this and protest. (Violence is not acceptable off course)

7- Pakistan has taken aid from britain and britain already said that Pakistn should return the money if not agreed with the british decision............a Slave has no right in other words!

I am with GoldenAsif and M2K on this one. Why can't we protest peacefully. As far as that khotay ka puttur Ijaz ul Haq is concerned he should be removed from his position if he cannot understand the gravity of his comments.