Thats because the writer of MAtrix created a whole another world that satisfied that action of missing bullets furthermore it was a fictional story based on something that we know is not real and can’t happen so the audience accepted it as an action that is a common thing for the world portrayed in the movie. Shaans movie doesnt create a whole another world and it appears to emulate reality in a very improper way therefore the actions depicted are laughable and doesn’t give the audience any reason to accept their behavior.
^ Bingo!
Only Shaan and Rajinikanth are capable of dodging bullets, catching them between their front two teeth and spitting them back at the bad guys and killing them too. Hollywood doesn't have actors as talented.. they get injured all the time.
Re: Pakistan's film industry is in collapse!
the thing I don't understand is our inability to portray good stories on films when we can do that in dramas. it'd been many years since I watched a drama. but I recently watched Doraha on a friend's recommendation. and it was pretty good especially considering today's standards. even Humayun Saeed was tolerable in it. so, if they can make a 13 episode serial out of it, why can't they make a 2 hour film out of it?
Mehreen is such an excellent director. she's being wasted on TV. film is the premier medium. and people like Mehreen are meant to work on the big screen. only the big screen is worthy of her talent.
similarly, I saw Brothers recently. apart from a few outdoor scenes which might have been tough to shoot technically, the rest of it was a simple story - beautifully told and very well acted out. and given the situation our country is in, we should have so many stories to tell.
Re: Pakistan’s film industry is in collapse!
hey guys check this out!
INSTEP Magzine
looks like we will actually get to see a couple of good lollywood films in 2010. i can’t wait for shoaib mansoor’s film to come out. mahira khan and humaima abbasi are going to be a part of that film, mahira is the lead actress. as for shamoon abbasi’s bhai log i saw the promo of bhai log on youtube..its looks like a typical lolly film except this time camera work looks much better.
Attn Gina ji,AAmir khan has now overtaken shahrukh.He never acts in trash.Shahrukh is an average actor & often in trash.In a forgettable recent film he just changes moustaches & he presto,his wife cant recognise him
We have a monopoly over drama serials and pop music, movies the least said the better. If Mehreen Jabbar ever writes/directs I shall surely watch it, same thing with Shoiab Mansoor.
Shamoon should give-up, he's given TV one enuff glimpses of his terrible direction skills. I'm pretty sure his movie is going to be an extended version of his tele-films/drama's.
Going back to the topic, we have fantastic plays and continue to make great ones. What I meant to say niraslm ji is that the common-folk in Pakistan no longer wishes to see the movies Pakistani film industry is currently making.
Gujjar Haseena
Wehshi Haseena
Gujjar Badmash
Hunterwali
Basheera
Malangi
Society Girl
Jatti Da veer
Haseena Atom Bomb
....naam hi kaafi hai?
Thanks for the article anamkhan…cant wait for shoaib mansoor’s film. Out of the newcomers Mahira and Juggan look promising..they didnt seem bolly-obsessed like the rest.
We have a monopoly over drama serials and pop music, movies the least said the better. If Mehreen Jabbar ever writes/directs I shall surely watch it, same thing with Shoiab Mansoor.
Shamoon should give-up, he's given TV one enuff glimpses of his terrible direction skills. I'm pretty sure his movie is going to be an extended version of his tele-films/drama's.
Going back to the topic, we have fantastic plays and continue to make great ones. What I meant to say niraslm ji is that the common-folk in Pakistan no longer wishes to see the movies Pakistani film industry is currently making.
Gujjar Haseena Wehshi Haseena Gujjar Badmash Hunterwali Basheera Malangi Society Girl Jatti Da veer Haseena Atom Bomb
....naam hi kaafi hai?
Pl do suggest to me good plays especially if available on you tube.As for bad films,let people not see then there will be less of them.
- have also seen khuda ke liye.In India also made films on similar theme New York & Kurbani.New york was good.Kurbani was somewhat anti muslam at least visually & I did not like it.Any comments.*
^ Sure, Khuda Ke Liye was based on terrorism and then many such movies were made right after that. Killed the topic to death and lead to monotonous and predictable movies like Kurban and New York.
Back to the topic of Pakistani movies, I've heard a movie called "Zoya" a tale of a girl born and brought-up in the US and how she goes back to her roots.. def sounds promising!
^hmmm sounds like indie project. I wonder if slackistan has been released nationwide in pakistan? Thats also an independent film.
There is a hype building round shahrukh,s< My name is khan>.Let us hope he does it better this time He hasnt done any worthwhile work except" chak de india".Have you guys seen it?
^ Pakistani movies.. is the topic :)
Shamim Ara "there's no hope for Pakistani Movies, the Govt. doesn't support us either.. but they also have a valid point. We have to show them something worthy"
Shamim Ara is right for once.
It must be said that having starred in many classic films Shamim Ara didn't impress when it came to directing her own films. The 90's saw her making a series of trash where the title ended with 'bigra jaye' be it a munda, bhuda, kurri, etc etc...
**Not by her own demand----its the respect of "PUBLIC"* demand she had
for which she needs to be applauded! and as they say..."When in Rome...do as the Romans do!" so did she in GUJJAR land!*
I highly doubt there's any place for such movies anywhere in Pakistan still.. people still go to cinema's to watch such Gujjar Haseena's because of lack of recreation and entertainment. That's all they have SOZO Waterpark, Lahore Zoo or the Cinema.. if u ever hear the views of the public as they exit the halls they say
"bilkul bakwas picktur.."
"paisa zaaya karne wali baat.."
**Not by her own demand----its the respect of "PUBLIC"* demand she had for which she needs to be applauded! and as they say..."When in Rome...do as the Romans do!" so did she in GUJJAR land!*
People of Gujrat district really have my sympathy, I've actually been there and they are total opposites of what Lollywood trash has portrayed them as on the big screen.
Are you sure on who GUJJARS are---friend?
My unabashed dictionary extricates that GUJJARS came to be known
for aiween reasons--to be the HEROs from Gujrat, Gujranwalla, Gojra
belts......! GUJJAR is an honor...kind of knighthood if not in a manner;
"Arise Ye Sir Lancelot..." :)
Peace!
Oh...okay my mistake i thought Gujjars referred to ppl of Gujrat, if it were then that would have been stereotypical.
There's nothing heroic about Shaan swinging a gandasa so guess these Gujjar-ending titles are an irony?
67-B Gulberg Main Boulevard (The house of AGHA G.A.GUL)
***the house that remained outdoor location for over 250 Pakistani B&W films of 60’s-70’s and 80’s. ***
Check it out.;
The clip you see below…is the scene recorded
in Agha G.A.Gul’s house..and the two girls you see
with phulljaaris…are Agha G.A.Gul’s daughters
Naani and Daadi of today and the boy is SAJJAD GUL
the CEO of EVERNEW PRODUCTIONS now…
***This scene (from NAILA) has been termed as one of the most popular ***scene in a Pakistani Movie