Pakistan's film industry is in collapse!

We should talk more on Pakistani Movies of past and present..err…recent present!

This thread would welcome thoughts that will be cascaded to Syed Noor, Sangeeta and some TV Directors.

Meanwhile…here’s some lament on the current era of PAKISTANI FILM INDUSTRY…:frowning:

================================================

**Pakistan’s film industry is in collapse
Lollywood, a once-robust movie-making machine, has fallen victim to religious-based government policies, cable TV and DVD piracy.

**EMPTY HOUSE: **
The Odeon Cinema has been showing the same movie for three years.

By Alex Rodriguez
November 8, 2009

Lahore, Pakistan - The Odeon Cinema’s creaky, ripped red vinyl seats are mostly empty except for a couple of back rows where a dozen Pakistani men sit slouched, their eyes half-open, legs slung over the seats in front of them. Along the hall’s bubble-gum pink walls, rows of fans barely move the hot, dank air. The Odeon’s loudspeakers crackle like a ham radio.

The feature on this recent evening is a Pakistani film called “Majajan,” a love story. The barely breathing, Lahore-based Pakistani film industry produces less than a dozen movies each year, which explains why every day, three times a day for the last three years, the only movie screened at the Odeon has been “Majajan.”

Welcome to Lollywood, or what’s left of it. It wasn’t always this way. Back in the 1960s and '70s, Lahore buzzed with movie shoots, red-carpet premieres and box-office hits. The Pakistani film industry has always been based here, and though it didn’t have the girth or dazzle of Bombay’s Bollywood, “Lollywood” thrived in a country staking out an identity distinct from its Indian neighbor.

In their heyday, theaters such as the Odeon had queues of Pakistanis snaking far beyond the box-office window and down Lahore’s bustling sidewalks. Moviegoers dressed in their snazziest salwar kameezes and arrived two hours before a showing to secure tickets.

Today, Pakistani cinema has all but vanished, a victim of the VCR, cable television, President Muhammad Zia ul-Haq’s Islamization of Pakistani society, and finally DVD piracy. In 1985, 1,100 movie houses operated in Pakistan; today, only 120 are in business. The few directors, producers and cinema owners often rely on second jobs to make ends meet.

Reviving the industry necessitates junking what’s left of Pakistani cinema and starting from scratch, says Jahanzaib Baig, a Lahore cinema owner pushing for a revival of Pakistani film. Baig has been lobbying the government to clamp down on DVD piracy, a scourge that keeps Pakistanis from leaving their living rooms to head to cinemas. “We have hit rock bottom,” says Baig. “We can only go up. Whatever we had before is not only destroyed but is obsolete in terms of technology and skills. So we’re setting the foundation for a new film industry in Pakistan.”

Sangeeta, a Lollywood mega-star during the 1970s and one of the few survivors still directing homegrown films, says a revival of the industry can happen only if the Pakistani government lends a hand.

“We need government support,” says Sangeeta, now 52. “We need new cameras, new studios. Right now, producers aren’t investing because the equipment isn’t good.”

On the set of a television drama she’s shooting, the hardships Sangeeta faces are evident. The cameras are dead ringers for clunky 1980s camcorders. There are no trailers, no craft service, no security to keep Pakistani passers-by from wandering onto the set.

It all seems light years away from her glory days, when all of Lahore fawned over the curvy, vivacious movie star with the dark-eyed appeal. She got her start in show business after coming home from school one afternoon and finding her parents chatting with a Lollywood director looking for a lead actress in his new film, “Bangle.”

"When he saw me he said, ‘That’s my heroine!’ " she recalls. She was just 13.
Sangeeta went on to star in more than 100 movies and direct 80. Nowadays, she focuses on directing for television, though last year she directed a film for a producer who wanted a movie about himself.

“Back in the 1970s, our movie industry was in full bloom,” Sangeeta says, her eyes beaming behind black-framed Givenchy glasses as she remembers. “It was a great period for us. Everyone felt at home in the studio, and the work was deep in our hearts. Not like today.”

The advent of cable television and VCRs drew Pakistanis away from cinemas, but it was President Zia ul-Haq’s religious-based policies that sped the industry’s demise. Many cinemas were shut down, the rest were heavily taxed. New laws that required producers to have college degrees thinned the ranks of movie makers.

The message Zia ul-Haq’s government was sending to society was clear, Baig says: “We were being told that filmmaking was a vulgar and bad business to be in.”

As Lollywood’s top-shelf creative talent dropped out of the flagging industry, scripts got worse and Pakistanis stopped going to movies. Bollywood filled the void; Indian movies flooded video stores and clogged cable channels. Pakistani filmmakers who stayed in the industry found themselves hamstrung by dwindling budgets.

“In India, they spend $12 million on a movie, and we can spend maybe about $120,000,” says Pakistani film producer Jamshed Zafar, who sidelines as an exporter of South Asian spices. “How can we compete?”

One of the only directors still making movies, Syed Noor, has established a film school in Lahore to help seed a new generation of filmmakers. But most directors and producers gave up long ago. Sangeeta says a few went into television; most of the rest live off the incomes of their adult children. Every once in a while, some of them meet at Sangeeta’s modest two-story home in a woody Lahore neighborhood to reminisce over tea and screenings of their old movies.

The salve of nostalgia seems to work. Her eyes brighten as she leafs through a pile of movie posters and press photos from her halcyon days: Sangeeta in a Mary Astor-style pillbox hat, Sangeeta in a sari merrily dancing barefoot in the grass, Sangeeta coyly turning away from her mustached lover.
Smiling, she sighs. “I wish I could go back there.”

Lament.....thats all these filmi ppl are doing, waiting for others to take action. Surely stuff like a good script dont require a high budget or govt support? So why not focus on that aswell...

Re: Pakistan's film industry is in collapse!

Although our film industry is in ruins but Masood Pervaiz ' Heer Ranjha still remains the greatest film ever made in the subcontinent.

^^ my fav punjabi film which didnt depict punjabis as loud ppl with gandasas.

One of the only directors still making movies, Syed Noor, has established a film school in Lahore to help seed a new generation of filmmakers.

great! just what we need... Syed Noor of all ppl teaching ppl how to make films...

why doesn't Afridi open a cricket academy and teach ppl how to bat sensibly next... and maybe a blind person should open up a driving school next...

Syed Noor is an incompetent hack... he is part of the problem... not the solution. and he is most certainly not the messiah Pak film seeks. his film "school" is going to produce more idiots like him.

this is exactly the wrong attitude. you don't need more money to make better films. you need better acting and a better story. that's all. some of the equipment needs to be updated to improve sound and video... but you could make the garbage these ppl make on the best Hollywood cameras and the movies will still suck major arse... why? because they're made by idiots for idiots.

and I don't get this fascination with the old times. I've seen movies from the so-called golden era... I've seen stuff that was supposed to be good, classics by Waheed Murad, etc and I was extremely disappointed. they were all just musicals. nothing new, nothing original, nothing intelligent... same old boy meets girl crap...

make something different... make something new... without 15 songs but with a real story. watch Khamosh Pani, Mr and Mrs Iyer, Maqbool, Frailty, etc for what the template for the new Pakistani film ought to be. the likes of Syed Noor, Sangeeta, etc are incapable of making good films. they have neither the talent nor the education to make good films.

let it collapse first entirely, clear the debris (in other word jharoo mar), do some digging to have strong foundations and then rebuilt the structure. but dont forget your past!

the film industry can eaisly be revived, you dnt need to spend money to make great movies, lollywood spends on average 1 crore on a film, which might be the budget of a song in india, but with 1 crore you can make excellent movies. especially in todays day and age where you can use VFX, computer generation and film on green screens. i can make a hell of a movies with even 10 laks.

we just need great scripts thats it, and we have them there is massive amount of golden works in urdu liturature from ashfaq ahmed, bano qudsia, mumtaz mufti, qudratullah sahab, allama iqbal and soo many.
you can just take a story from them and turn it into a movie and with a good telented team of a director, script writer, a team for VFX you can make an awsome movie from just 10 laks.

INN THOTS MEIN WAZAN HAI....!

I agree, our directors and producers need to understand that its not about money but the content provided. If the story and characters are not interesting and the acting is not convincing then no matter how much money you put in the Film, it issimply not going to work. Furthermore i would like to ask our writers why they keep writing the same cliched love stories; we need to use the Film medium as a way to correct the wrongs of society not just a useless timepass thing. We should make movies on the Karachi bomb blasts or these terrorits activities that affect Pakistan more than anyother country. Why not put some thought into the film making process before we start playing the blame game.

I'm sorry to say, but the Pakistani film industry, if there ever was such a thing, has cannibalized itself. The kind of producers you had in the last decade or so were mainly from criminal gangs in the Punjab making films to glorify their own castes or specific notorious individuals. That really drove away any kind of decent audience beyond the select few from a certain class. Also, if Pakistani film makers are not going to keep up with technology and reinvest the profits from films in infrastructure, they stand to lose as they have now. They have brought it upon themselves. The infrastructure is age old from the 50s, the studios have not made much effort to upgrade the facilities. Their concepts are retarded and storylines banal for even the more decent films made by supposedly reputable film makers. The fact that the profession of acting and everything related to arts was put down by General Zia doesn't help either. Also, the kind of crowd you have in films, from the red light area and everywhere else, is a deterrent for any sensible person to join it.

So yes, really its a perfect storm of sorts.

Money is important because we need to update our equipment and sets. But once that is done, the only thing that will revive our industry is good scripts, directing and better actors.
Our old movies may not have been based on controversial issues and were for the most part formula films but the acting, directing and music in all those movies was awesome! But the same formula with good acting and directing won't work today because our people are hounded by much bigger issues than 'boy meets girl' drama.
All the oldies need to go and the industry needs to be revived by the youth. And the movies made should be for younger audiences and made about social and political issues of our time.
And if you really wanna make a romantic comedy, make it one off a novel or maybe a remake of an old film. I personally do not believe that we can come up with an original one at this point.

**Have been relatively well updated! **

We need to UPDATE the actors and (if we do have !) actresses...by UPROOTING the current ones in both the categories---for which we may
also have to UPDATE our viewers!

We need better writers, producers and actors. Majority of the stories are mere copies of Bollywood movies, our actors take inspiration from Bollywood actors. If they have updated their equipment, why do we still see the fuzzy orange movies with loud dialogues and too many expressions. Throw-in a vulgar dhak dhak dance and call it a 'movie'.

Really? I mean we hear all this talk about big budget films getting prints made in india or malaysia....yet the visuals are still average. Except maybe KKL.

Can I ask why ourdrama serials are shot using fantastic, crystal clear cameras yet the films make your eyes hurt - so poor are the visuals & audio?

If every film could look & sound like Khuda ke Liye, it would be great

^ it JUST now is in danger of collapsing? Are you kiddin me?

How is that possible? Are you telling me those movies with their silly dialogues, the heroes with their huge mustaches, and the heroines with awkward dance moves (galloping and thundering across the fields) didn't rake enough money to save our prestigious Lollywood?????

Shocking. Truly. Truly shocking, I say.

I think thats because the Dramas are shot digitally whereas the films are shot using dated film cameras, and since we dont have good labs to develop the film the result is very hard for the eyes to bear. I

Pakistani music videos are usually shot on 35mm film....and they tend to be stunning. Its just a matter of a good script, proper investment and govt support (if possible).

If we talk about KHULLAY ASMAAN KE NEECHAY as BIG budgeted movie--there maybe, we are talking about one in a hundred--produced past 2.5 decades :)

EVERNEW...has invested a huge amount updating the equipment etc...but just yesterday.... Abid Ali, off monitor, lamented that all is going waste as the terror of the "rule" by the "poineers" of Pakistan's Film Industry in Lahore and coming up with all "GUJJAR" movies--and Shaan with Momy included---in action with high atrocity---is playing its role in keeping ( or scaring the investors or producers or directors like Shoaib Mansoor..away from the pleasure of utilization of the modern equipment etc...much so much...that Sajjad Gul has finally called it a day there at EVERNEW STUDIOS Lahore by mainly going for TV productions....in Karachi (and overseas of course).

FILM INDUSTRY in Pakistan...thriving (or surviving) is a far cry:( but the "so" (show) will go on...with every bit of bakwas....at Lahore studios that the awam wants what the legend of SULTAN RAHI remains!

Ole'

Then why dont the likes of Saqib Malik, Jaami, Ahsan Rahim and etc stand up to these stupid people by producing their own indie flicks.