In England the majority of the Asians I have came across are not very friendly or approachable. If they see a fellow desi they will try there best to avoid him/her. I noticed this @ uni and have experienced it at work also. If you smile at them and say hello un kay mou pai pauney bara baj jatey hain. On the contrary the English I find to be very friendly and talkative.
What’s it like for you guys in the States and Canada?
Young people behave the same way as you described but I noticed that when I smile at uncles or aunties that work in stores and talk to him in Hindi/Urdu, they really get excited and love it. I guess their own kids or the majority of the children may not behave the way older generation would want them to behave, may be that’s why?
There’s this auntie at Wal-Mart and she usually stands at the door to greet people. Everytime I go in or leave the store and smile at her, the look in eyes is that if it was up to her, she would adopt me. I am not saying this, my wife says that
It depends. I myself is like that but not only with desis but with everyone. There are some families around here who only talk and keep in touch with you if you walk with walk and talk with talk with them i.e. money.
Funny encounter Shik. ] A local uncle at my newsagents used to ask me whenever I went into his shop. Tumhey Urdu bolna ate hai, can you write a letter in Urdu. :D] Neva did get around to writing a letter for him.
It depends. I myself is like that but not only with desis but with everyone. There are some families around here who only talk and keep in touch with you if you walk with walk and talk with talk with them i.e. money.
Sadly a lot of people are like that. Paisa bolta hai!
Pata nahin, N. university main to ppl. seem fine to be honest. Most the desis are friendly, they come and approach u. LOL, i dnt need to make much of an effort with them but I guess it might be diff. for guys. It depends really. This is gonna sound mean but I’ve noticed that ppl. tend not to approach any freshies Which is understandable i guess
Agree with that bit in red, the guys will approach you. ] Freshies ki tu baat na chero, during my first year at uni this lad from Lahore came across and said hello and said bhai ‘assignment banani hai’ and I was like bro its freshers week chill out. For the next 6 months whenever he saw me he said ‘bhai assignment banani hai’. :D] Basically the desis I have encountered tend to be users they are not interested in friendship just by itself.
I can soooooooooooo empathise with your experiences LUC! The comments in this thread, and a recent trip to Pakistan, have confirmed my belief that Asians, EVERYWHERE, are weird! So much so, that I now consider myself to be a gorrie!
Don't get me started on Pakistan. Some of my own family members and a few close childhood friends turned a blind eye when I went back. That disturbed me a lot.
earlier few years back there were very few people in USA/UK, that time when you see desi, they even stop and talk to you, now you see desi everywhere, its like in india/pakistan,
but for me when i speak my language people from my state atleast say hi or talk to me
When ever u go back keep on Shalwar Kameez and only talk in punjabi ... :) ... and NO shave is must ... Trust me no one will ignore u
Actually I was wearing qurta n' shalwar plus had a stuble. I phink u'd b an ideal target back home of a dacait if u had ur ipod on and designer jeans etc.