Pakistani team arrives in India

Re: Pakistani Squad for India announced./ Full Tour dates (Page 2)

India beatable at home, says Woolmer
Cricinfo staff

February 21, 2005

Bob Woolmer: ‘Pakistan is ready for the India challenge’ © Getty Images

Bob Woolmer, the Pakistan coach, said that his team stood a good chance of beating India at home, and that they could draw inspiration from Australia and South Africa, who have each won a series in India in the new millennium.

“It would be a challenging tour to a country which is regarded as one of the second-best teams in the world but in recent years Australia, Pakistan and South Africa have beaten them and that would be an inspiration,” said Woolmer, quoted by AFP. “A home team always starts as a favourite but this Pakistan team is maturing and is ready for the India challenge.”

Pakistan arrives in India on February 28 with the first Test scheduled for March 8 at Mohali. It will be their first tour in six years, and only their second since they edged a tight series 1-0 in 1987.

Woolmer added: “They (India) are a better all-round team now than in 1999 and 2000 and it would be a challenge to confront the likes of Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh.” On their last tour, Pakistan beat India in two of the three Test matches - one was played under the banner of the Asian Test Championship - under the captaincy of Wasim Akram.

Imran Khan, the former Pakistan captain, had said recently that India were vulnerable against pace. Woolmer agreed, saying: “Don’t think about getting India out on spin, they played Shane Warne with consummate ease and I tend to agree that they are more vulnerable on pace.”

© Cricinfo
http://aus.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2005/FEB/186540_PAK_21FEB2005.html

Pacemen hold the key for Pak—By Rashid Latif

February 21, 2005

Fast bowlers would hold the key for Pakistan in the forthcoming Indo-Pak series which will mark the return of the most competitive and festive cricket. Ashes are also much awaited but no contest can match the battle between the sub-continental neighbours.

Most of the Pakistani and Indian players are good friends. But the charged atmosphere by thousands in the stands and millions in front of television, has its effect on players. Some tend to raise their levels like never before and provide cherished memories. The incredible run-feast at Karachi set the tone for the last series. The triple hundreds of Virender Sehwag and double by Rahul Dravid are like badges of honour.

When Australia visited India at the start of the season, their fast bowling trio of Jason Gillespie, Glenn McGrath and Michael Kasprowicz got 43 wickets (63 per cent) while Michael Clarke, Nathan Hauritz and Shane Warne had 25 scalps (37 per cent). In the last series between India and Pakistan, 21 wickets (66 per cent) of visitors were claimed by the Pakistani pacemen.

Indeed, fast bowlers will make the difference for Pakistan. Mohammad Sami is a match-winner but he needs a show of confidence from the captain and the Pakistan Cricket Board. Waqar Younis as coach will start with an advantage since he has seen all these bowlers from close quarters in Australia.

Pakistan have left behind Abdul Rauf, Shahid Nazir and Mohammad Irshad from the touring party and they are all worthy youngsters. I would have preferred Mohammad Irshad as he is genuinely quick and with Sami his pace could have been disconcerting.

Pacemen of course will be assisted by SG balls, to be used in the series instead of the Kookaburra ones. SG balls in India is quite hard with a high-up seam. The first 20 overs with an SG ball by genuinely fast bowlers can daunt any batting line-up of the world. It has good graze resistance, hardness and thus is able to retain its shape longer. It also helps good spinners. It tends to reverse swing a lot and batting line-ups can suffer sudden collapses.

If Sami and company can play havoc in the Indian line-up, high-action leg-spinner Danish Kaneria with the harder ball can play the key role with quick wickets at critical stages.

Arshad Khan will be a very good spinning foil. Pakistan unfortunately does not have quality left-arm spinner and it could tell in the series as you need bowlers to exploit the roughs on the fourth and fifth day.

Shahid Afridi was a spinner reborn in Australia. He is an automatic starter in one-dayers but if Pakistan find an under-prepared wicket in a Test, Afridi should be an automatic choice. He also can score quickly which could be telling in a low-scoring encounter.

Pakistan need a left-right hand batting combination at the top of the order to counter the left-arm pacemen of India. Thus Yasir Hameed and Salman Butt should be the first choice openers. Both are attacking players and that is how modern Test openers approach their cricket. Hameed needs confidence from team management. He is a very good, aggressive player and well-suited to all conditions. Percentage of strokeplay would come with time.

Younis Khan is one of the bravest players in the team and has a record better than Mohammad Kaif or Yuvraj Singh. He should come at one-down. Number four and five are preserves of Inzamam-ul Haq and Yousuf Youhana. At their best, they easily match the brilliance of Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar.

Asim Kamal should make the number six spot his own. Technically speaking, Asim is one of the best going around.

Kamran Akmal has been preferred ahead of Moin Khan and it could be a make or break tour for him. A wicketkeeper will find the spotlight particularly harsh – a bad performance and it is not the selectors but the cricket fans of Pakistan who would decide his fate.

Arshad, at number eight, can bat well and his off-spinners could trouble the four left-handers in the Indian line-up. Sami is developing as a reliable number nine.

Although Naved-ul Hasan Rana played with infectious zeal in Australia, he is more suited to one-dayers like my good friend Shoaib Malik. I feel too many all-rounders in Test matches is not a good policy.

Coming to Shoaib Akhtar and his pull-out, controversy could have played a part in it. Why does it always involve Shoaib Akhtar? It is because the Pakistan team management for the last two years has been weak. One cannot be strict and lax at the same time. Management too needs to be consistent.

Shoaib is a natural gem and it all depends on the leader how and when to use him. Most of the times he was misused during the Australian summer.

Shoaib and Inzamam need to sit together and sort out their differences. It cannot be all that distinctive and sharp. Both of them want to do well for Pakistan cricket. They are the flagships of Pakistan’s batting and bowling. They are keys to overall strategy and have a role to play in grooming youngsters. They might have different views about taking Pakistan cricket forward. Honest dialogue between them, carefully facilitated by PCB, can bring about a common vision.

If they play together with pride and passion, Pakistan can beat any team in the world.

I feel both sides have equal chance of winning the Test and one-day series. They team which shows better nerves and plays as a well-knit unit will come out with flying colours. It will indeed be a close encounter.

http://in.rediff.com/cricket/2005/feb/21latif.htm

BCCI fears for Pakistan tour](http://uk.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2005/FEB/186882_IND_22FEB2005.html)

Ranbir Singh Mahendra, the new president of the BCCI, fears that the India-Pakistan series might be cancelled if the television rights issue is not resolved soon. He ruled out the possibility of a temporary arrangement similar to the one worked out before Australia’s tour because of the lost revenue. A board official, SK Nair, had privately revealed earlier that the loss amounted to US$34million for the Australian and South African tours.

Speaking to the Times of India Mahendra said, “I’m hopeful that the matter will be sorted out quickly as there is scarcely any time left. If that doesn’t happen, we’ll request the court to allow us to proceed and make the necessary arrangements. We have no option but to wait for the verdict.”

Besides the revelation of lost revenue, the uncomfortable questions asked by board members have led Mahendra to believe that a temporary solution will only defer the problem; hence a need to resolve the issue immediately. “We lost a lot of revenue because of this [temporary arrangement] during the series against Australia and South Africa. It led to many questions and problems within the board.”

Subhash Chandra of Zee TV sent letters to the board on the 1st and 15th of February, seeking an end to the dispute, but was met with silence from the BCCI. Mahendra said that he would meet with Chandra, but a settlement was out of the question because there were numerous parties involved.

Rashid’s article above suggests somewhat that Rana play ODIs only? :eek: Rana will prove to be the strike bowler and I’m very hopeful that his performance in tests will only improve :insha:

‘I’m fit to play’ - Tendulkar

February 22, 2005

Sachin Tendulkar has announced that he is ready to participate in Pakistan’s upcoming tour of India, laying to rest doubts about his fitness. In recent years, Tendulkar has been afflicted by elbow, back and foot injuries, prompting speculation on his future within the game. He has played down the questions, as he did yesterday at a press conference in Hyderabad.

“I have had some rest and have followed the doctor’s advice. If I was not comfortable playing then I would not have been here,” Tendulkar said to the Times of India. “I am ready for Pakistan, but if anything happens while playing, then no-one can help it,” he said about the possibility of injury. “Nobody knows what is going to happen on the field, so we will have to wait and see.”

Tendulkar’s approach to the series involved not going by past results - neither India’s success in Pakistan, nor Pakistan’s failure in Australia. “We should not look at how Pakistan fared in Australia nor be overconfident following our one-day and Test wins in Pakistan. There obviously will be a lot of pressure. But playing under pressure keeps one on the toes and is good.”

There was time for an aside. Asked about Shoaib Akhtar’s non-participation, he retorted: “He does not play for us so it does not matter.”

http://usa.cricinfo.com/link_to_databas … B2005.html

**No series without telecast: Mani

February 22, 2005 20:43 IST**

Adding fuel to the controversy about telecast of the forthcoming India-Pakistan series, International Cricket Council president Ehsan Mani said without live telecast the matches cannot be played.

“This is a worrying situation for us and we are closely monitoring the situation,” he said over phone from his London office on Tuesday.

Emphasising the importance of the telecast, he said as per ICC guidelines every host country has to make necessary arrangements with a prescribed number of cameras on the field to provide live feeds for the third umpire to make crucial decisions.

“These live feeds are very crucial, as you know now-a-days a number of decisions are referred to the third umpire,” Mani said.

Asked what would be the ICC’s stand if the telecast issue is not settled by the time the Pakistan team arrives in India, he replied: “We cannot sanction the matches to be held.”

Apart from the requirements of the third umpire, he said, there are millions of cricket lovers not only in India and Pakistan but across the world who like to watch these two teams clash.

“It will be a disservice to the game of cricket if this India-Pakistan series is not telecast live across the world,” Mani said.

“I am surprised that why every time this matter is taken to court at the last moment as earlier also it had happened,” he added, referring to a similar row during the South Africa and Australia series in October-November.

He said the ICC is in constant touch with the BCCI in this regard and would be closely monitoring the developments.

The Pakistan team is scheduled to land in India on February 28 to play three Tests and six One Day Internationals but the BCCI has not yet awarded the telecast rights due to a stay order passed by the Madras high court on a petition by Zee Telefilms.

http://in.rediff.com/cricket/2005/feb/22mani.htm

**Zaheer advises watchful approach **
Zaheer averaged 87 in 19 Test matches against India
Test legend Zaheer Abbas has urged Pakistan’s batsman to concentrate on occupying the crease in the forthcoming Test series against India.
“Glue yourselves to the Indian pitches to the extent they have to call the police to budge you,” said Zaheer, who made two double hundreds against India.

“My advice is to use your skill and don’t give away wickets.”

He pinpointed Sachin Tendulkar as a key figure in the series and said: “He is the binding force of India’s batting.”

Tendulkar is expected to play in the series despite a persistent elbow problem, giving India an extra psychological lift.

“We saw how disorganised they were when Tendulkar did not play last year,” said Zaheer, who made 5,062 runs in 78 Tests between 1969-1985, at an average of 44.8.

He believes, however, that Pakistan can use India’s fervent support against them.

“Pakistan are a little weak but if they exploit the pressure of home expectations on India, our team can surprise them,” he insisted.

The Pakistan squad is due to arrive in Delhi on 28 February and begin the first of three Tests on 8 March.

But the schedule remains subject to change because the Indian board are caught up in a legal wrangle over TV rights for the series.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/cricket/other_international/pakistan/4288447.stm

Do the basics RIGHT!

The name of My High school is Saint Patrick’s High School in Karachi Pakistan and its more than 12 years I have graduated from that school. Everyone says that your school year’s are golden years and that is true. I was a part of my school cricket team and I cant forget that I was the 12th man of the team for the whole one year, I was called by many nick names, I can still recall few, and what’s actually cemented in my head is what our school team cricket coach taught us, you will always feel better, Yes! even after a loss if you have done the basics right. There are good days and there are bad days in life and so are in cricket you cannot change that, What you can change is mentioned below…

Australia today by far stands tall on the ICC ranking in both respective of the game, they are not doing anything magical, yes they are making good use of modern technology but they didn’t forget, when you are running between the wickets run hard, switch your bat from left to right hand and vice versa according to your shot, when fielding keep eyes on the ball till it rolls into your hand, bowling is always a mind game and Pakistanis are always master of that, no matter many nations have produced great bowlers, What is common between Rana Naveed and Imran Khan (I am not comparing the bowlers)? it’s the ability to try something different, the ability to read the individual batsman at the crease, I still remember when last year India toured Pakistan and their batsman’s especially Virender Shewag were sending our bowlers to cleaners, Rana Naveed taking his chances bowled a sweet deceiving slower ball right into the block holes which only disturbed the bails, that is all you need to be a bowler whether you are a fast/ medium paced or a spin bowler.

Pakistan Team will shortly tour India and the squad is filled with energetic players like Shahid Afridi, Younis Khan currently made the vice - captain of the team, congratulations to him. I have to say when ever Pakistan’s cricket team highlights for the century will be made there will always be a place for 37 balls - 100 runs, but if you have to pick a century in Test matches, Are you going to choose June 71, Asian Bradman’s 273 in England? Or

Are you going to pick Hanif Mohammad’s 337 run in Jan 58 against W-Indies, which actually saved the team from defeat? Or Perhaps Miandad’s 100 against Australia in 83/84? I know its hard to choose because another die hard fan of Pakistan cricket can come up with many comparisons. The idea to mention those scores are to pin - point at one thing and only one thing those hero’s of Pakistan cricket did on the green whether be bowling, batting or fielding, they were determine, full of patience’s and they persisted with doing the basic things right!

We are right behind you guys! Make us all Proud :clap: :dhimpak: :jhanda:

**‘I want to score a century from the lower order’ - Afridi

Cricinfo staff*

February 23, 2005*

Shahid Afridi has said that he harbours ambitions of making a century while batting in the lower order and has cited Adam Gilchrist’s fantastic 113 at Sydney recently, against Pakistan, as a knock that inspired him. He added that he was not planning to change his dare-devil approach to batting, which brought him success on the tour, and hoped that he could boost Pakistan’s chances of upstaging India in the much-anticipated forthcoming rubber.

“I think I’ve been selected for this tour as a bowler who can bat instead of 1999 when I was picked as a batsman who could bowl,” Afridi told the Press Trust of India. “Which means batting down the order and bowling more than before.”

Afridi had a scorching run in the VB Series, where Pakistan lost in the final, with 231 runs at a stunning strike-rate of 167.39. His power-hitting proved crucial in a number of games, he even notched up the record for the most sixes in ODIs, as fielders were reduced to spectators in the big Australian grounds. “I want to continue with my style of batting which is extremely simple: hit the ball back with same force,” he added. “I like hitting the ball into stands and want to hear the cracking sound that comes out of my bat. I don’t know why but that sound [of wood] and sight of seeing the ball land in enclosures gives me immense pleasure and satisfaction.”

Afridi has had success in India earlier: he scored a matchwinning 141 in the Chennai Test in 1999 and helped Pakistan clinch an epic encounter. He has tormented India regularly and has one hundred and four fifties against them. The last tour of India saw Afridi the opener display his destructive ability. This series, though, may see Afridi the legspinner and lower-order dynamite prove a point or two.

© Cricinfo](http://usa.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2005/FEB/187495_INDPAK2004-05_23FEB2005.html)

^ I think Afridi will prove to be a success on the Indian pitches. He has a very important role to play in our ODI squad.

Haaye Raaba apna karam kaar!
A few more be-izaati sessions on the way!

:(

I heard Afridi was changing his attitude of attempting every ball to hit out of ground, either that was a rumour or this one is. Why did he open his mouth (if the above article is true)? Is he becoming Sehwag or Akhtar? :smack:

any more predictions ?, last call , last call, :snooty::k:

get your prediction ballots hereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee,:crying::k:

Very nicely written :k:

----------x–z–v—r—n------------
Hmmm,waisay acrobi123,
I’m an ex St.Judian , played lots a matches with St.Pat guys in fact I recall a rivelry existed,both were kick-ass teams though for inter-school and board tournaments. :dhimpak:

Good write! bro,

hmhmmm :-| kidhar yaad dila diya tum nay, woh dhulai tumhari team hi :p

thanks.

well i hope all the dramay bazi of BCCI is burried under the ground before team leaves on the 28th and lets get on with the most anticipated series of the Year.

Imran Khan has admitted that he talked Shoaib Akhtar out of making himself available for the Indian tour. Shoaib pulled out with a hamstring injury, and Imran said that he had been consulted before the decision was taken.

Speaking to Times News Network, Imran said, "Shoaib was willing to make himself available for the selection but I advised him against doing so. He was confused whether to tour or not. He was in two minds when he came to me for advice. He didn't know how to respond to the hamstring niggle. I told him if it's a hamstring rupture then he shouldn't tour at all. As it turned out, Shoaib had a big rupture."

Shoaib performed exceptionally in the first Test against Australia at Perth, and also bowled with real zeal in the first innings of the second Test before losing his zip and fitness. Thereafter, he was a convenient whipping-boy for Pakistan's poor displays on tour - but Imran suggested that others were just as much to blame. "Shoaib is slightly difficult to handle and the PCB likes to pass the buck," he said. "They all need soul-searching."

Imran edded: "It's sad that in Pakistan everyone, even President Musharraf, is unwilling to accept his mistakes. I say that because it is President Musharraf who formed the PCB which in turn appointed Inzamam-ul-Haq as captain. None of them realise that our poor performance is due to them also."

According to Imran, there was little point in Shoaib rushing back into the fray. "Realistically, I don't see him playing the Test series, but if he stretches himself too far then maybe he can play the third Test," he said. "But for me, he shouldn't play before the third or the fourth one-dayer. He should first play a first-class game and then think of international cricket. Shoaib also realises that if he plays and fails then he'll again be made a scapegoat."

Shoaib himself ruled out any half-baked comeback bid. "I don't want to rush back," he said, perhaps aware of how poorly he had performed under the weight of expectation against India last year. "I want to be away from media attention. It's a question of my career and I don't want to compromise on it. But yes, I don't rule myself out from coming back for the one-day series."

Title aur link bhee daal do yaar

^ http://usa.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2005/FEB/187487_PAK_23FEB2005.html

Issi liye to team mai ek Captain hota hai, Captain1 Bhai agar sara kaam players hi karenge tou aap kis marz ki dawa hou.

The Rediff Cricket Interview / V V S Laxman
February 23, 2005

V V S Laxman is an important cog in the Indian middle order, often regarded as the best in the world.

After making his debut against South Africa in 1996-1997, his position in the batting order was constantly juggled with, till he produced that match-winning knock of 281 against Australia, in March 2001 at Kolkata.

Since then, the 30 year old played 31 Tests, scoring 2,929 runs at 52.30, including six centuries and 15 half-centuries. During this period India won 16 Tests, which also included one in Australia, and the historic series triumph in Pakistan.

But against Pakistan, his record (262 runs in 6 Tests at 26.20) is nothing to shout about and, surely, he’ll be looking to improve upon it in the upcoming series against India’s arch-rivals.

The Hyderabad ace spoke with Contributing Sports Correspondent Harish Kotian on how he plans to do it.

http://in.rediff.com/cricket/2005/feb/23cinter.htm