Re: Pakistani Cricket Star accepts Islam
It is kind of a paradoxical statement. On one hand you are saying that it could be a political decision and soon after you say that Religion is a personal issue and it is betweem him and God? ![]()
why after playing 6-7 years of international cricket?
I agree with you. I was wrong when i called it a political action. Certainly it is between him and God and I have absolutely no source or means in my possesion to know the right intentions behind his action. It is between him and God and all I care about is his batting form for Pakistan. I also hope that he is happy from the bottom of his heart. I guess that is the most important thing. In a true open culture, everyone should be free to choose what he believes is truthful and best for him.
Yaar, firstly the maulana culture has flourished in our team ever since Inzi became the captain (Hence, the objection at Shoaib “ruining the dressing room atmosphere” while he was simply minding his business). Then, he got relieved of his duties as Vice-Captain for no stated reason. None, whatsoever. We all know how a member of the team called him a “choora” recently on the field. Connect the dots. Draw the picture. Secular state, my ass.
After seeing the clip, you can just see the relief on his face. It is definatly between him and Allah....so just leave it at that.
Good for him and his family and may Allah bless him...Ameen.
Now let's get back to talking about some good'ol Cricket shall we :D
Jazakallah, congrats to Youahana and his family.
Why would you congratulate him? The poor guy’s parents are not talking to him. His mother is damning Saeed Anwar’s brother to hell for ruining her family. I don’t see the joy.
he had converted to islam 3 years back but didnt make it public...so it didnt happen now...he just made it public now.
good news!!!
after his decision (or annoucment) that he has accepted islam...
many of his family memebers/friends and those fans who are of
his community, now will try to understand islam, INSHALLAH.
On Pakistan’s tour to Australia last year, the commentators and newspapers were saying how Youhana being the only Christian, celeberated Christmas and how other Pak players joined him in celeberations, etc etc.
You’ve got a point here, and that was my initial reaction too. But read his statement above and he says there was no coercion and that he actually converted a few years back. I’ve also read that he didn’t make it public sooner because of his wife’s opposition.
It is said that he braced Islam quite a few years back. So being demoted from vice captaincy had nothing to do with his decision to accept Islam.
Well you may be right to some extent in Inzi and Saeed’s influence in the “dressing room”, but I don’t think that it has anything to do with “Secular state”, Pakistan is not a secular state (officially yet), we are in a confused state right now, the population favors being ‘religious state’ while the government machinery (due to external forces) wants to become a ‘secular state’… its all a separate discussion so lets leave it out for different thread.
As far as Youhanna’s parents not talking, its a test for him, remember in Prophet PBUH’s time family members were part of opposing ‘armies’ and took sword against each other for Islam or against Islam. May Allah swt help them and help him overcome that difficult stage.
congrats to Youahana and his family
I have a feeling that the poor guy got harassed as the "jahil" public must be calling him "esai" and other names with a degrading tone and decided to "fit in' and become a muslim. Just a gut feeling but who knows what. These are just my views and feel free to disagree with them.
^ ? he is not an imported citizen, I have never heard of harassing of any Christian/Hindu and being called Esaai or Hindu....
Congratz to Youhana. Allah nai us ko hedayat dee, Allah sub ko hedayat dai.
As far as ppl who are worred about the mother being not talking to Yousuf coz of his decision aur wo yousuf sai naraz heen, I guess maaa sai pehley Allah ko razi kerna zaroree hai. Maa ka darja bohat buland hai but not at the cost of religion.
oh and I hope and pray that its his own decision without any pressure or other (as described by someone as political) reasons.
Me neither:D
Cmon now giv him a break guys. He has said in his interview that he converted couple of years ago but never disclosed for some personal reason. If his intentions were to upgrade himself in the national side, why in the hell he kept quiet for such a long time. And plz don’t start with a new theory that he is lying and actually converted recently.