Pakistan’s tour to India/Akhtar Fined.(Merged)

Re: Pakistan?s tour to India finalised/Tendulkar Doubtful

Shoaib saga takes fresh twist

Cricinfo staff

February 12, 2005

Shoaib Akhtar has scarcely been able to stay out of the limelight for a day in the lead-up to Pakistan’s forthcoming tour of India. Newspapers have reported that he failed to report to the doctor appointed by the board to assess his fitness. In the absence of their foreign support staff, who are on holiday, the Pakistan Cricket Board appointed Meesaq Rizwi, a sports physician, to look into Shoaib’s fitness.

Rizwi had asked Mohammed Sami, Shabbir Ahmed and Mohammad Khalil, apart from Shoaib, to report for fitness tests. But Shoaib failed to report, and this could have spurred the latest reaction of the board. Saleem Altaf, the director of cricket operations, has instructed Shoaib to take part in the ongoing Patron’s Trophy to prove his fitness.

The News reports that Altaf told Shoaib he had to play for his team, KRL, in the next round of four-day Patron’s Trophy matches that begins on February 14, in order to be eligible for selection for Pakistan’s forthcoming tour of India. Interestingly Shoaib was called back from Australia in order to give him time to rest a troublesome hamstring and be fit in time for the Indian series.

On return to Pakistan Shoaib was assessed by Grant Compton, the Pakistan team’s physiotherapist, and a two-week rest was prescribed. Following this examination Compton left Pakistan on vacation. “Compton outlined a rehabilitation programme to Shoaib to recover from his hamstring strain and then left for South Africa abruptly. But even before leaving he was working with Shoaib as it was confirmed he had a hamstring problem that needed two-week recovery period,” a board source is quoted as saying. “It is in this background that Altaf’s directives to Shoaib come as a total surprise. How does he expect Shoaib to resume playing in the next round of Patrons Trophy to prove his fitness when he [Shoaib] has been told he required two weeks period to recover from the hamstring.”

link: http://usa.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2005/FEB/180979_PAK_12FEB2005.html

Re: Pakistan’s tour to India finalised/Tendulkar Doubtful

Man mohali pitch was pace-friendly but since the pitch committee was formed by BCCI and they started doctoring the pitches, mohali has lost it’s edge…example was the last time new zealand played there, such a pathetic lame draw..but anything can happen if they ask the local curator to make the pitch…Punjab team plays all there Ranji matches there and every team was blasted for low scores. so this time we might have a green beauty over there..

Yes I remember that one…even Deep Dasgupta helped himself to a century…

why are we caught in the fiasco of how the Indian/ BCCI prepares the pitch and why should we care...they wont be any different from the pitches prepared in Lahore, pindi, karachi aur peshawar...

they should be prepare for the 2 all out spin attack from india ...
i hope really good batsman are selected!

Inzamam warns India against complacency](http://uk.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2005/FEB/181381_INDPAK2004-05_13FEB2005.html)

Inzamam-ul-Haq has sent out warning signals to the Indian camp ahead of the tour, saying that his team should not be underestimated. He admitted that they were a young and inexperienced side, but they had the same spirit and determination to do well as previous Pakistani teams.

Before he left for India to act in a commercial, Inzamam spoke his thoughts on Pakistan’s chances in India in an interview. “It is going to be a tough tour for us,” The News reported him as saying, “and we know our people have a lot of expectations from us when we play India. We will be going to India with a mindset we can beat them at home. I don’t want to make predictions about the series. But I know this much we have a good young side who are learning to play as a team and that would be our key to success in India.”

He admitted that one of Pakistan’s problems during the tour of Australia had been an inability to sustain pressure. It was a mistake that Pakistan would attempt to avoid against India. “We had Australia on the ropes several times but we let them get away. Against India we can’t afford to do that. If we have the advantage we have to maintain it till the result is in our favour.”

The Times of India quoted him as saying that a positive attitude was required for success in India. “My team has a lion’s heart and that’s what you require to excel in countries like India. We have also managed to find some positives in defeats in Australia which will help us in India.”

The thread that bound Pakistan teams of the past with this one, Inzamam believed, was that they all wanted to fare well in India. “The common thing beteen the 1987 and 1999 teams and the present team is the spirit, determination, commitment and ambition to do well in India.”

If it helps to calm the Mughal Warrior’s mind…an Indian team being complacent against Pakistan and vice-versa is unheard of…I think

Moun changa na howey tay kam az kam gull hi changi kar daee dee ay … never mind bibi ji j/k

Sorry if it has been asked before but could someone please tell me on what channel they are going to show this series in USA?

^ Fox channel

What FOX Channel? This means that they are not going to show 24? Thanks but no thanks. I would rather see 24 any day over a cricket match.

Agent Smith.... that was a joke yaar. Just wait and chill and the news about broadcast will be all over the place ;) as soon as it is finalised by the media morons!

I know yaar. I was also kidding.

wheres the fantasy league man. ive got exams werna i wudve started.

Why the hell are you guys arguing!? Afridi won't even get a chance in Test matches if we use our heads and play specialist batsmen and bowlers.

ICC steps in to resolve India-Pakistan row over Test venue](http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/050215/3/93if.html)

NEW DELHI (AFP) - Cricket’s world governing body has moved in to resolve the imbroglio over Pakistan’s refusal to play a Test match in Ahmedabad during their first tour of India in six years starting later this month.

The dispute has delayed the announcement of the schedule even though only 10 days remain before Pakistan arrive around February 25 for three Tests and five one-day internationals on their first full tour of India since 1999.

International Cricket Council (ICC) president Ehsan Mani is camping in New Delhi where the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will meet on Thursday to finalise the itinerary for the seven-week tour.

“We are working behind the scenes to come out with a solution and I am hopeful it will be sorted out within a few days,” Mani was quoted in media reports as saying on Tuesday.

Ahmedabad is the main city in the western state of Gujarat where at least 2,000 people, mostly Muslims, were killed in communal riots in 2002.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has cited security concerns in Ahmedabad, but has no objections about playing in Mohali and Bangalore, the other two Test venues proposed by the BCCI.

India’s main opposition party, the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), has urged the government and the BCCI to cancel the tour if Pakistan insisted on avoiding Ahmedabad.

“I hope Pakistan will play in Ahmedabad so that people to people contact between the two countries are enhanced,” said BJP spokesman Vijay Kumar Malhotra.

“If Pakistan refuse to play there it will be better to call off the tour.”

The Hindu fundamentalist Shiv Sena party also wants the tour cancelled, saying India should not play cricket against Pakistan in protest at what it said was Islamabad’s support to militancy in the disputed Kashmir valley.

“We should be ashamed that even as Indian soldiers are dying while fighting in border areas we are eagerly looking forward to the series,” the Sena’s working president Uddhav Thackeray, son of party supremo Bal Thackeray, told reporters in Bombay on Tuesday.

“Playing cricket with Pakistan is shameful.”

ICC chief Mani, however, dismissed fears the tour may be cancelled and was hopeful the Indian Foreign Minister Natwar Singh’s current visit to Pakistan would help resolve the imbroglio.

“The matter can get sorted out in the meeting of Mr Singh with Pakistan officials, who will voice their own concerns,” Mani told the BBC.

“Security is a issue which cannot be handled by anyone except the government. Moreover, cricket and politics cannot be separated in this part of the continent.”

The whole series and the 2 boards perticularly the BCCI have their political agenda to push foreward first and this tussel should be good enough for Pakistan to 'Call off' the tour.

Yaar Raindance Bhai,

Kuch Khuda ka Khauf karo, please Tour call off karne wali baat maat hi karo Please.

--------------z-------------
Array Aejaz Bhai,naaraz keun hotay ho yaar :blush:
Aj tak koi baat kisi ‘Ghaday’ na dono ‘boards’ mai sunni hai, jo yeh sun lain gay, :mad:

Pakistan is struggling to have a momentum going for its cricketing affaires
unfortunatley i see nothing but ‘embarrasments and heart breaks’ on this historic tour :crying:

I don’t get one thing, what is BCCI problem? :mad2: They had the same security concerns over Karachi, therefore no Test was given to the city. Why can’t they take a valid concern over Ahmedabad??? Bunch of arrogant idiots!!!

Smooth bhai, they will lose a lot of money if they do cancel the tour. Trust me, the banias will accept our decision soon enough :smiley: .