Pakistan’s tour to India/Akhtar Fined.(Merged)

Re: Pakistan’s tour to India finalised/Tendulkar Doubtful

.^.^
//
~

Sharjah series is not planned in near future. Lets see how he performs. Throw him in the deep water and lets see if he can swim or not?:smiley:

You mean no Sharjah for this year :bummer:

We have done this to a number of players so many times i.e. throw him in middle of deep water. Though it may not be as relevant, we are doing the same to Taufeeq by throwing him in series deciders :nook:

Yes we have. We need a bowler who can run through a side. Australians can afford not to have a bowler of that quality because their four bowlers stay disciplined and economical througout thats why they dont play Brett Lee in tests. Pakistan needs an express bowler who can do that. Shoaib (injuries) and Sami (inconsistency) are not doing it that often in test matches. I say let Irshad Bowl on those flat tracks and see how he fares.

Regarding Taufeeq,l he is not supposed to play those crunch matches out of the blue anyway but oh well.

any stats on this irshad guy????
articles????

People from the minority community in Jamalpur area of the Ahmedabad today urged the Pakistan Cricket Board to allow its cricket team to play in the city during their tour of India.

I believe if Pakistan has any reservations against security situation they should not play in Ahmedabad.

^ It’s not the Security reasons or issues but the Indian Government’s political advantage / leverage that is in action here, and "All is well between Hindus and Muslims in Ahmedabad" attitude.
Where as Pakistan is "concerned" with human right abuse, massacre, suppression of Muslims population in this region. And the failure of the local government to apprehend the responsible of the mass massacre of Muslim population.

However due to Diplomacy sake this will never be made public

who cares if Pakistan plays in Ahmedabad or not? These guys just want to avoid being perceived as too friendly

is mushy ahmed still playing in pak patron trophy during english off season? or will pcb not consider him as we will then be taking 2 leg spinners to hindia or the fact that he isn't 'young 'anymore.

Re: Tendulkar doubtful for Pakistan series

??? r u out of ur mind

the guy has got a very consistent line n length. and consistency is what shoaib n sami never had.

Woes mount for Shoaib ahead of India tour](http://sg.sports.yahoo.com/050209/1/3qgi3.html)

Top Pakistani bowler Shoaib Akhtar suffered a new setback in his battle to regain fitness for Pakistan’s rapidly approaching tour of India when his trainers left the country.

Pakistan’s foreign fitness trainer Murray Stevenson, physiotherapist Daryn Lifson and national academy physio Grant Compton left for South Africa on a private visit just 16 days before Pakistan travel across the border.

The team’s English coach Bob Woolmer also departed for South Africa for a knee operation, Pakistan Cricket Board officials said on Wednesday.

“I am trying my level best to get fully fit but I am without a trainer,” Akhtar admitted. He did not elaborate because he is forbiden from giving press statements pending Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) investigations against him.

Akhtar, who took eleven wickets in the first two Tests, injured his hamstring twice on Pakistan’s tour of Australia and had to return home midway through a tri-series one-day tournament last month.

However the 29-year-old also faces disciplinary action which may bar his travel to India, where Pakistan will play three Tests and five one-day games from February 25 in their first full tour.

Akhtar’s reported visits to a disco and pictures with girls which appeared in the media during the recent tour of Australia, his delayed return home and his starting rehabilitation work with a private trainer prompted the PCB to set up a three-member inquiry committee.

“Pakistan would definitely need a fully fit Akhtar for the India tour because you can’t beat India with spinners,” former Pakistan captain Imran Khan told AFP.

“You need pace bowlers who can get a batting power like India out twice in a Test,” he said.

“There is no doubt that Akhtar is not an easy player to handle, but if you make him a scapegoat every time the team loses, you will demotivate him,” added Khan, who led Pakistan to 1992 cricket world cup victory.

The committee may release its findings on Thursday, PCB sources said.

“Akhtar has submitted his explanation and the three-member committee will look into his answers before we decide what action should be taken,” said PCB spokesman Abbas Zaidi.

Captain Inzamam-ul Haq and coach Woolmer have strongly denied reports they don’t want Akhtar for the India tour.

“Absolute rubbish to say the least,” Woolmer told AFP before his departure on Tuesday.

"What we need from Akhtar is to be fully committed, 100 percent fit, wanting to take the new ball, wanting to take the old ball, wanting to bowl the sides out in both the innings all the time.

“That’s what we need from any bowler. If you look at Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath, you can’t get the ball out of their hands. When a bowler can’t do that, its a problem for the team because it leaves you with ten men,” Woolmer said.

“Akhtar bowled well in the first two Tests but in the first innings. He was unable to come back, which meant his levels of fitness were lower than needed.”

Woolmer added: “I won’t say he deliberately let down the team but it’s the fact that he is the strike bowler and we need to look at how he performs for Pakistan.”

ehsan bhai, ^ this news has been in circulation from the past 2 days. :elmo::k:

The 1st one appearing in ‘The News’ Feb 08, 2005 stating that ‘Shoaib’s’ trainer and physio have departed for a pre-scheduled vacation trips, and Boblu on a pre-scheduled medical trip. Whereas this article makes it sound like Shoaib has been left out in the cold all ‘Home Alone’ :smiley:

Talk about ‘News Band Wagon’ and the Indian tour has not even started yet,
Thank God the ^ article is still in tacked with Woolmer/Inzimam denial about Shoiab’s inclusion in the squad.

This guy takes 11 wickets in 2 test matches each test lasted for full 4 days at an average instead of 5 days. :bukbuk::k:

Despite all the bashing and abuse to his private life and ‘vulgar’ name calling

I think we have to draw an end to it and support the team including Shoaib whole heartedly to tour India. He is no ordinary bowler neither he faces ordinary physical strains. Top this up with his weird attitude, its about time that people should get use to this for the best or the worst rather then to play in the hands of other news media ready to climb the wagon. And climb they have.

The way some GS members comment and select their dream teams or player selection as if it’s the matter of life and death and almost act like an offshore selection committee. One cannot get any trivial than this. :smiley:

^ Raindance isn't it a shame that this guy is always in news and mostly for the wrong reasons. Wish he could sort himself out and for once in his life play a series or a match without breaking down.

Now that would be a start wouldn't it?

As long Shoaib can last one full test series he has my full support. I don't like a player who plays 10 series and breaks down in the middle of 8-9 series and most of it during a game. Either you play full game or stay out of it! Don't make 12th man take your fielding place every time you bowl 3 overs, you are not King, please, you are just another team member.

--------------x----------------

Allah kay ghar dair hai andhere nahi,Inshallah aisa he hoga, :insha:
Do I have your permission to open a “Zarorat-e-Rishta” thread for HH
May be a ‘Rajpotani - Jatty’ can control this express from stopping at all stations

:rotfl: :hehe::k:

here we go man…

** Shiv Sainiks damage cricket pitch at Mohali… **
Feb 10, 2005 06:34:00 PM

Mohali, Feb 10 (PTI) A handful of Shiv Sena activists today caused “very minor damage” to the pitch at the Punjab Cricket Association ground which is scheduled to host the first Test between India and Pakistan next month.
As many as ten activists jumped over from Gate No. 3 of the sprawling complex and ran through the spectator stand after jumping over the water channel to reach the playing area.

But before they could cause any serious damage to the pitch, the “trespassers” were nabbed by the security personnel deployed by PCA, Association Treasurer G S Walia told PTI.

“Damage is minor because the Watch and Ward staff of the stadium managed to nab the miscreants before they could reach the actual pitch,” he said. PTI

^ These bunch of cowards can do nothing more than dig up pitches when nobody is looking.

The ironical part is that these kind of activities hardly brings any political goodwill for Shiv Sena, considering how popular cricket is in India (and how many people are looking forward to the series).

No wonder these losers are not in power even in their supposed stronghold (i.e. Maharashtra).

Next stop, vandalize greeting card shops in Mumbai on Valentine's day.

One should ask when is that anglecized "Thackeray" guy going to change his last name to "Thakre". I guess, not any time soon. Hypocrite.

I think Aussies sniffed in the last few days of VB that Pak is becoming a strong ODI team that can be a threat for its unchallengable position in future encounters. The greatest Aussie captain ever now playing mind game with us ahead of Indian tour.

gadhaa kahein kaa!!!

Waugh backs India to beat Pakistan

Cricinfo staff

February 10, 2005
Steve Waugh, the former Australian captain, has rated India as favourites in the upcoming home series against Pakistan. He believes that the series could get close if Pakistan played to their full potential, but still reckons India will edge it.

“India start as favourites. They are a very good team. They have good young bowlers and are also a good batting side,” Waugh said in a press conference in Kolkata, where he had come to auction his cricket gear to aid the tsunami victims. Waugh was especially fulsome in his praise of Irfan Pathan, calling him the most promising of the new generation of Indian bowlers.

Waugh conceded that Pakistan had unlimited potential, but warned that they needed to harness their talent to be competitive in the series. Speaking about Pakistan’s performance in the recently concluded tour of Australia, he said, “They played well in Australia in patches, but did not prove very competitive in the long run. They failed to sustain the momentum and handle the pressure. If they are consistent, they will do well in India.”

Waugh also described Shoaib Akhtar, who has been recently questioned about his attitude and off-field antics, as a “top-bracket world-class cricketer”, and reckoned that Bob Woomer, the Pakistan coach, had it in him to handle matters on Shoaib’s discipline. “Bob Woolmer is a strong coach. It is his job to make his side disciplined.”

Apart from this, Waugh said that this year’s Ashes would be a tough contest due to England’s recent form. “They are looking more purposeful, enjoying the game, and there is a togetherness in the side.” England beat South Africa 2-1 in the recently concluded Test series, becoming only the second team, after Australia, to win a series in that country.

Source: http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2005/FEB/180028_IND_10FEB2005.html

^ I saw this as well and I thought that Waugh has little weight in his prediction.
No matter how much I hate to Ignore past facts. I still see Pak unit in disarray and
not ‘rock solid’ as a team should look.

They will have ‘wins’ and ‘Gallant’ moments but I’m afraid the crunch games would go against them. :frowning: unless,

I hope to God I’m wrong and may Allah swt grants us the Victory @ indian home turf.
:insha:

My prediction :

Test Matches - India has a slight advantage but only slight.

One Day Matches - Pakistan all the way.( India has some chance if batting second).