Pakistan’s tour to India/Akhtar Fined.(Merged)

Re: Pakistan’s tour to India finalised/Tendulkar Doubtful

Chennai likely to replace Ahmedabad as the venue for the second Test.

^ Yaar ! :smack2: what goes of my father, yaar.

I doubt it, simply because Sachin won't be able to play more than three years and that too with resting one or two series every year, just like last year. If he didn't recover well with current elbow injury this is bound to happen. Otherwise world could see another Gavaskar batting at the age of 42 scoring his 150th century :p

*Sachin can be first to score 100 centuries: Waugh *
Press Trust of India
Dubai, February 4

Former Australia captain Steve Waugh believes Sachin Tendulkar could become the first batsman to score 100 centuries in international cricket.
"If anyone can score 100 centuries in international cricket, it will be Sachin Tendulkar," said Waugh, who is on a business visit in Dubai.

"Tendulkar has already got 71 hundreds from Tests and one-dayers. He has it in him to score another 30 more provided his body supports him," Waugh was quoted as saying by Gulf News.

Waugh, who has most number of wins as a captain but failed to win a series in India, also said Sourav Ganguly's men were catching up with the world champions.

"India is closing up. England is also emerging pretty well and so is South Africa," he said.

"Pakistan has amazing talent and coach Bob Woolmer could mould them into a good team soon."

Waugh said he was close to completing his book that he has been writing since his retirement in 2004 January.

"I have already written 150,000 words. It takes a look back at my career. I've been doing a lot of research and hopefully it should be ready by November," he said.

Source: HTcricket.com

:hula:

*Shoaib still a India tour option : PCB: *

[Sports India, Cricket]: Karachi, Feb.7 : The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has said that it is not carrying out a witchhunt against speedster Shoaib Akhtar and might still consider him for the Indian tour if he satisfies the board both about his alleged contractual violations and his fitness.

"Let's make it clear we have got no instructions from anyone to end his career and initiate disciplinary proceedings against him. We have nothing personal against him. But the fact of the matter is that in recent times he has been creating problems for the team management and board and this is unacceptable," The News quoted a senior PCB official as saying.

Shoaib is expected to submit a written explanation on four alleged disciplinary violations today. He faces charges of visiting a nightclub in Australia, releasing press statements and reporting late to the National Cricket Academy after returning from the Australia tour.

"There have been instances where he has defied our orders and done his own thing. This cannot be tolerated anymore. But we are proceeding according to normal procedure and it is not correct that we have made up our minds to discipline him and drop him for the Indian tour," the official was quoted as saying.

The paper also reports that if the special inquiry committee set up by Chairman Shaharyar Khan is not satisfied with his reply, then he might have to face the disciplinary committee headed by Justice (Retd) Ameer Alam.

There is also a possibility that the selectors might consider him only for the Test matches and not for the one-dayers in India due to his fitness problems. -- Asian News International (ANI)

Play in Ahmedabad or call off tour: GCA

Ahmedabad: The Gujarat Cricket Academy today said the Pakistan cricket team should either agree to play in Ahmedabad or call off its upcoming tour of India.

"I will raise this issue in the next BCCI meeting on February 16. Our message (to PCB) is clear -- either play in Ahmedabad or call off the entire series," GCA President Narhari Amin told PTI.

Amin said the GCA was yet to get an official intimation about the Pakistan Cricket Board rejecting Ahmedabad as a Test or one-day venue for the much-awaited series between the arch rivals.

PCB Chairman Shaharyar Khan had yesterday cited "political reasons" for not wanting to play in Ahmedabad.

"What kind of political reasons are they citing. If it is the post-Godhra communal riots that he (Shaharyar) is indicating, then I would like to know as to after how many years will they pardon Gujarat?" Amin asked.

On being asked if the Pakistan goverment could have a 'personal score' to settle with Gujarat as Chief Minister Narendra Modi had often criticised General Pervez Musharraf during his election campaigns, Amin said: "Yes, Modi could be the reason behind their decision as there does not seem to be another reason."

The GCA, however, will continue with its preparations for the series till it got an official word from the BCCI, he added.

The GCA, along with senior police officers had shown all facilities at the Sardar Patel ground at Motera and all related arangements for players to Zakhir Khan and Sohail Khan, the two-member security assessment team of PCB, on January 29.

Don't read too much in Pak's performance Down Under: Dravid

Indian cricket team vice-captain Rahul Dravid on Sunday said it would be prudent not to read too much into the Pakistan's poor display in the three-Test series in Australia in which they were swamped 3-0 by the hosts.

"I don't think we should read too much into the Pakistan team's display in Australia. How they start the Indian tour is important. If they start well then what they have gone through in Australia will not matter," Dravid told reporters at Wankhede Stadium on the eve of the N K P Salve Challenger series.

"I have not watched much of the series on TV, but have noticed an improved bowling performance towards the end of the tour in whatever little I have seen," he said.

He also welcomed the cricket board's decision to advance the Duleep Trophy by a fortnight to accommodate the first two rounds ahead of the three-Test series against Pakistan.

"It is a good move as we will get at least a couple of first class matches and the warm up game against Pakistan to get into the groove," the Bangalore stalwart said after his practice stint.

Dravid, captain of India A, who take on India seniors led by Sourav Ganguly on Monday under lights to kick off the four-day limited over tournament, practiced with a few India mates, including fit-again Lakshimpathi Balaji, Murali Karthik, Dinesh Karthik and Irfan Pathan.

Dravid said he felt the team would not face any problem in adjusting to new physio John Gloster who has replaced the outgoing Australian counterpart Andrew Leipus and is set to take charge on Monday as "both are thorough professionals."

"Andrew made a huge difference to the team since he joined us in 1999. Prior to his arrival not much attention was paid to this aspect of the game. We will miss him as a friend, but the man who replaces him is also a thorough professional and I don't expect any problem.

"It is true he (former Bangladesh team physio Gloster) will take some time to settle down. He's joining the team well in advance (of the Pakistan tour) and has got time to know the boys who would work with him," the Indian middle order mainstay said.

Speaking about the Challenger series, Dravid said the tournament provided a great chance to the young players to make a mark.

"It is a great tournament. The best 36 players of the country will be seen in action. It's a fantastic opportunity for the new guys to make a mark," he said.

About his own preparation, Dravid said after the welcome break from cricket he was slowly getting set through stints at the nets.

"It was a good break. I got a chance to put my feet up. Now I am slowly getting back into it by practising," he added.

I want to play Pak with a free mind: Bhajji

The International Cricket Council may have relaxed the laws dealing with bowlers with suspect actions. But Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, who has been asked to do remedial work on his action while bowling the ‘doosra’, is not relaxing.

Even though he is not playing the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy starting today, he was at the Wankhede Stadium yesterday evening for a rigorous training session — lapping more than half-a-dozen rounds of the ground after an hour-long hit in the nets followed by stretching.

The Shan-E-Jallandhar, expected to leave for Australia in a couple of days, is completely focused on the upcoming Pakistan series.

“It is a very big series and I want to play with a free mind,” declared Harbhajan after his training session ended with the switching-off of the floodlights at the Wankhede Stadium.

“Yeh cheez bil kul clear kar dena chahta hoon (I want to clear this issue completely). I don’t want to be under any pressure that I can or cannot bowl this ball or that ball, so that I can concentrate on my game,” said the Indian off-spinner.

Harbhajan was replying to a question whether it made sense to travel to Australia now, since the new rule on chucking had been announced. “I will abide by ICC’s decision.”

About the new rule, he said: “I am not bothered about the old or new rule. There is hardly anything for me to change (in my action). I bowl the ‘doosra’ with my wrist and the elbow has nothing to do with it.

“I am pretty confident about my bowling and will come out from it stronger.”
But the Punjab off-spinner welcomed the new rule, opining that it had made things simpler. “Earlier they had five-degree (elbow flex) for spinners and 10 for pace bowlers.

The new, 15 degree, is a common rule for all bowlers and the naked eye can catch it.

“Hopefully, it will solve the problem for everyone and we won’t have to worry that ‘yeh 15 degree kar raha hai, aur yeh 18...”

form permitted it wouldn’t be a ‘gamble’ at all in my opnion, if afridi was picked for the tests in india. let’s face it he is so deadly in the 10 overs he bowl’s in odi’s anyway, with tests he’ll have more overs to play with meaning more victims :insha: + when the bowling combination of seam + medium pacers doesn’t work, afridi can be a option inzi can turn 2 + with the ever brilliant danny already firing on all cyliners things can begin to look up for our ‘weak’ bowling attack. he had a top tournament with the bat 2 so some fireworls will come in handy. i would definitely play afridi in tests given how well he is performing thus far.

:rotfl: so hilarious. they don’t want to discipline him? :hehe:

Pathetic! :disgust:

I’m confused… it should be hilarious or pathetic?

may be hilariously pathetic? :slight_smile:

Shabbir is fit for the series :jhanda: With him back and Sami 99% fit at this moment, things are looking bright on bowling side.

The preference would be as follows based on their test performances.

Shabbir
Rana
Denish
Sami
Afridi
Rao
Khalil

*I will not play Razzaq in Tests.

I personally think, Shabbir, Rana, Denish and Afridi can get the Indian team under 300 with some tight fielding and team unity inshallah.

In batting however, Asim is a must in all tests. Otherwise our young openers are too fragile.

Salman (will be sucessful inshallah in India, also the right answer for Irfan with new ball)
Taufeeq (he will do against India) / Bazid Khan
Yohanna (if the opener gets out during hte first spell of Irfan then yoyo should come at No. 4)
Asim
Inzimam
Yasir/Malik
Akmal/Younis

smoothie tumharai moun mein ghulab jaman if that shabeera news is true, personally i agree with your bowling line up for hindia tour {tests} but i'd drop khalil for shabi.

what is your source of news about Shabbir? I had heard that he started bowling in nets too quickly and injured his knee again (but not as bad) therefore his rest time was increased. But if what you are saying is true then it’ll be good for our bowling.

I agree with most of your bowling line … Shabbir, Rana, Rao/Sami/Irshad, Danish and Afridi !

Shabir LOOKS good to go for India tour but its not official yet.
Its in the Jang/Dawn news today.

Sad news for ‘Umer Gul’ , He might not ever bowl again due to his back operation
in SA. Things don’t look very good for him.

IMO - Pakistan can not afford to take 4 fast bowlers to India.
Shoaib is deff going - come rain / snow what-not
Sami + Shabir & Rana is a good trio, but Sami might not go and Khalil might make it
for ODI combo. :bukbuk:

Sorry guys, Shabbir is out till May :( Jang newspaper just confirmed it.

Pathan out with ‘slight strain’

MUMBAI: Let’s hope it’s nothing worse: Less than a month ahead of the crucial Pakistan series, Irfan Pathan was ruled out of the Challenger Trophy with a ‘‘slight strain’’. He will be replaced by Bengal’s Ranadeb Bose, one of the leading wicket-takers in both forms of the game this season.

Typically, there was no official word on Irfan till late in the evening, though all the five National selectors were present. Earlier in the day it had been announced that Pathan was just taking a day off but as the day wore on news spread about him being ruled out.

It was a ‘‘collective decision’’, chairman of selectors Kiran More said. ‘‘Saurav, John and I sat down in the afternoon and decided it was not fair to risk him keeping in mind the forthcoming Pakistan series. It is a slight strain. Other than that he is fit, has bowled in the nets as well.’’

--------------

India must consider PCB's request on Ahmedabad: Dungarpur

Former BCCI president Raj Singh Dungurpur on Monday said there must be "political pressure" on Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for not wanting to play in Ahmedabad and India should consider its request for a change in venue.

"If they are uncomfortable in playing in Ahmedabad, there must be some political pressure. I don't know why such a hue and cry is being made over the matter. There is no dearth of grounds in India and the match can be played anywhere," he said on the sidelines of a book release function.

He said India had reservations over playing in Peshawar and Karachi during last year's high profile tour of Pakistan, but the PCB did not make an issue out of it.

"We cited security problems and asked for a change in Peshawar as a Test match venue and they accepted our proposal without any hesitation. So now when they are requesting a change, we should take it into consideration. After all we all know what happened in Ahmedabad," Dungarpur said.

When asked about who should represent BCCI in the ICC and other international meetings, he said in a lighter vein, "Dalmiya is a patron and his job is to patronise, not to run the game."

Taking a dig at Dalmiya, he said the "tactics" of BCCI's former president were well known.

"I supported his candidature as a patron-in-chief. It does not mean he goes on representing BCCI in ICC. Mahendra is the president of BCCI and only he has the right to represent the Board."

according to JANG akhbar (8-2-05), the following players will not be available for the india series:

shabir ahmad (might not be fir until May)
umar gul (still not recoevred from the operation and might have his career in doubt)
saqlain mushtaq (like gul, in london recovering from operation, resumed training but aborted immediately after experiencing pain)
*gul and saqlain both r not playing this year in the patron's trophy

shoaib akhtar still has a question mark on his inclusion

also, two spinners might be used in the test series....
kaneria and arshad khan r the most obvious contenders....

I would like to see Mohammad Irshad alongwith Sami for the new ball with Rana as support. Irshad is doign well with his pace these days.

I want to see him as well, but not sure if India series would be the right place for his debut or should it be Sharjah.