Pakistan vs Zimbabwe

Originally posted by Faisal: *
ps.. And no. Not any more. I don't think Pakistan **deserve
* to win this WC. They just don't. Pains me to say this. But not this team.
Just bceause they lost the match you think Pakistan don't deserve any cup ?

Ok in 1987 wc when Imran was captain, and Pakistan was hot fav, they never lost any match till semi, all the teams they just swept fairly, but then lost semi, they were hottest that time, tell me were they deserve to be sit out of wc ?

In 1992 wc they played, they were in a bad situation, they had so many option to be in the semi, and yes miracles did happened and Pakistan was in the semi, Miracle happened in the semi when Inzi mad 60, then one more miracle happened in Final when Wasim got Lewis and ??? in two consicuitive balls, wow what a match was that!
But in that wc Pakistan did not deserved really for a cup as they were in 1987 cup!

Faisal its a game, you never know whats gonna happene next except if you do biggest satta, if Sri Lanka can be w-champ, kenya can be in super six, you think they deserve for that ?
Yes I do trust on Allah, if their is a will of Him, any thing is possible :)
aap bhi dua karain shayad aap ki dua qubool hojay :)

*Originally posted by ?: *
Just bceause they lost the match you think Pakistan don't deserve any cup ?

I didn't say 'one' match and I didn't say 'any' cup. They lost three of their most important matches so, in my view, they don't deserve to win this World Cup. Thats not so hard to understand. Once they have re-built the team, coached them properly, honed the talents of the players and have a good captain, I am sure they will win many cups in the future. Insha allah.

The loss against India was not the most earth-shattering. The team atleast batted really well, and fought well. The ones against Aus and especially England, truly exposed them.

And give me a break. Kenya played really well. They truly deserve to be where they are. No denying, Pakistan can still statistically go through. Its just that its too fantastic to pin any hopes on. I will watch the match nevertheless, and wish them to win spectacularly, but I know in my heart, it won't be so.

:k: :jhanda:

Faisal Bhai: Mayoosi ki baatein to na karein… :~( aap keh to theek rahe hain…par abhi please yeh na kahein at least not yet! :stuck_out_tongue:

The only reason I wana watch this match is to see Inzi and Younis bat together. Hey, with all the protective equipment and bats in hand, you can expect only the best.

PS. I miss the WWF

Salamz
Come on guys, NO matter what anyone says I still want my Pakistani Team to make it for the Supersixes. Yes it may be a tough task bearing in mind the recent performance, but come on lets all pray for our team together. If we all pray and Allah gives us a bit of assistance on the day in form of some luck , who knows!!!!!!.
Pakistan Zindabad !!!
Zein

testing

Ok its working.

Did you guys here about the rain in Zimbabwe today? If it rains we are dead. Zimbabwe will end up going to the Super6. I hope it doesnt rain the team get's one last chance to redeem itself. As of now the team doesn't deserve the Super6's. But if they come up with this big win somehow than i think they will deserve it. What happens if it rains? Are their any ohter scenarios?

Inzimam is pretty pathetic. Our dushman are jumping on our head and all this SOB can think about is fighting with teammates. Very sad. Very sad. With the handover of Khaled Mohammad Sheikh and combination of our behavior in the world cup i am not exactly proud to be a Pakistani right now.

**Pakistan v Zimbabwe: A statistician’s dream

Pakistan’s 2003 World Cup campaign has come to a challenging pass, which may seem virtually impossible. They need to beat Zimbabwe here at Queen’s Sports Club in Bulawayo tomorrow, but just a win would not be enough. They must meet exceptionally stiff targets whether they bat first or second.

There are so many permutations that the match could be called a statistician’s dream and the nightmare for any cricket fan, let alone Pakistan supporters.

On sheer ability, the target is not an unrealistic one for Pakistan, although one has to concede that it falls in the realm of a super-human effort. That is the optimistic view. The flip side is rather stark, and judging by Pakistan’s performances so far, they would be catching a plane home next morning.

Zimbabwe is one of the weaker outfits in this World Cup, and the fact that the country and the team has suffered because of its political problems and resulting isolation, has had a bearing on the morale and unity of Heath Streak’s team.

Pakistan did not do themselves justice against the much weaker Namibia and Netherlands. Had they scored 300-plus against these two minnows, which Zimbabwe did, their net run-rate would have been far superior to what it is now, and their present predicament much lighter.

But that is water under the bridge. Pakistan need to lift themselves, and each member of the eleven needs to play out of his skin. In three of five outings in their recent series in Zimbabwe, Pakistan scored well over 300. They need to repeat it.

Coach Richard Pybus has promised that the boys would go flat out, but it is difficult following the gut-wrenching defeat by India, after which a pall of gloom has descended over the team. But Pybus said: “They’ve pulled themselves up after that loss, and they’re aware that they can still make it if they play flat out.”

So Pakistan need one big final effort. Though the Australian batting must have given them quite a fright (the entire Pakistan team watched the Sunday match on television and there was visible relief at the outcome), the Aussies in the end gave them a lifeline with their narrow win over England.

Beggars cannot be choosers. When you leave your fate in the hands of others, you live at their mercy. And Pakistan must blame their pathetic bowling against India, and lack of application in other games, especially the less important ones against the two bottom-ranked outfits.

The Queen’s Sports Club wicket is slow-paced, and if Pakistan win the toss, it would give an opportunity to their batsmen to go after the Zimbabwe attack, which only has a couple of good performers with the ball, captain Heath Streak among them.

Zimbabwe will be happy with the return from injury of all-rounder Grant Flower, who along with brother Andy is a world-class performer. Grant missed the game against Holland because of a finger injury, and neither opener Mark Vermeulen or all-rounder Doug Marillier would make up for him. Henry Olonga may still not find a place in the side, as his replacement Andy Blignaut has blasted runs in quick time.

As for Pakistan, Pybus has hinted at a couple of changes, but refused to divulge what these would be.

The toss will again be vital, but Pakistan has to make sure that if Waqar Younis loses on the spin of the coin, they still make a fist of it, with sharp and incisive bowling and then some big-hitting.

The task is difficult in the extreme, but Pakistan know what is required to achieve a slot in the Super Sixes. If they play up to their potential, with self-belief and a can-do spirit, their comeback may just be achievable. **

http://www-pak.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/MAR/150717_WC2003_03MAR2003.html

If we don't make it today with that convincing margin their is a very good chance that Waqar might be gone. I've heard Inzimam, Saeed Anwar will retire also along with Akram and Latif. I hope Saeed Anwar doesn't retire. It would provide schooling for the younger players that will be brought up. Not making it to the Super6 and the performance these women gave in SA will mean givinga lot of young players their promotions and seeing how far we can make it.

I guess i'll hold up on the talk aobut the future prospects and pray that we can win tonight with that huge margin we need. So we can have at it against the Indians again. Adn so these SOB's in Hinduville will be the ones that will be hearing our words.

did you guys also hear about that loozer Vajpayee giving his congrat's to Ganguly? Damn very sad day.

• We Will See -

• Allah knows the Future -

• We can only come to conclusion before any given actual event based on ‘Facts on the ground’ using the common sense, wisdom, and brain given to us [with all the limitations apply!] -

• Miracle Do happen -

• Only Allah knows if it is time for miracle or time to teach one more lesson of the mistakes done each and every step during the tournament -

• All will be revealed tonight -

• keep your fingers crossed -

• hope for the best [The best is known by ALLAH and if losing is in our best interest, we will face it one way or other :~p]-

-Buh bye:hehe:-

**Only a miracle can save Pakistan
Karthik Ramamurthy and V Ramamurthy IAS (Retd..) - 3 March 2003

The mountain must come to Mohammad if Pakistan are to qualify for the Super Six stage! For the numbers are heavily stacked against Waqar Younis’ men, as they prepare to meet Zimbabwe in a must-win match at the Queen’s Sports Club, Bulawayo.

The latest Points Table for Pool A shows that Australia and India are already through to the next stage, leaving Zimbabwe, England or Pakistan to battle it out for the remaining spot. Let us then discuss the possible scenarios.

If Zimbabwe were to beat Pakistan on March 4, the Lions of Harare will roar into the Super Six as the third qualifier. Zimbabwe will again benefit if rain washes away Wednesday’s match, as the two points they earn in that situation will take them to 14 points and ahead of England.

Pakistan, meanwhile, can squeeze their way into the Super Six stage only if they recover from the psychological blow of the thrashing they took from India, and beat Zimbabwe. If they manage to do so, they will force a three-way tie on 12 points between the three aspirants for the third spot in Group A.

If that happens, each of the teams would have one win in the matches played among themselves: Zimbabwe won against England (forfeit), England beat Pakistan, and Pakistan would have beaten Zimbabwe.

The computers will now come into play, as NRR becomes the critical factor in deciding which team will make it to the Super Six.

If Zimbabwe loses to Pakistan, the African Lions’ NRR will suffer. England, already ahead in that respect, will qualify. That is if Pakistan don’t beat Zimbabwe by a margin huge enough to boost their current NRR (+0.2267) beyond England’s (+0.8207).

It is very clear therefore that for Pakistan to escape elimination, they have to win, and win big. What exactly should the team do? Serious number-crunching generates the following table of requirements:

If Zimbabwe Bat First:

The targets for Pakistan to get could be in the ranges provided in Columns A and B of Table 1. Waqar’s team must attain victory within the number of overs specified in Column C. The run-rates they would need to score at are provided in Columns D and E. For example, if Pakistan needs to win by scoring 51 runs (Col. A), they must do so within 9.4 overs (Col. C) at an average run-rate of 5.28 (Col. D) per over. If the target is the one at the higher end of the range (Col. B), they must attain it within the same 9.4 overs (Col. C) but scoring at a higher run-rate of 5.79 (Col.E).

A Pakistan’s target – Lower end of range (runs)
B Pakistan’s target – Higher end of range (runs)
C Pakistan must win within (overs)
D Pakistan’s reqd. run rate – Lower end of range (avg. runs per over)
E Pakistan’s reqd. run rate - Higher end of range (avg. runs per over)

A   B   C      D     E 
51 56 9.4  5.28 5.79 

57 62 9.5  5.80 6.31 

63  68 10.0  6.30 6.80 

69 75 10.1  6.79 7.38 

76 81 10.2  7.35 7.84 

82  88 10.3  7.81 8.38 

89 94 10.4  8.34 8.81 

95 101 10.5  8.77 9.32 

102 107 11.0  9.27 9.73 

108 114 11.1  9.67 10.21 

115 121 11.2  10.15 10.68 

122 128 11.3  10.61 11.13 

129 135 11.4 11.06 11.57 

136 141 11.5 11.49 11.92 

142 149 12.0 11.83 12.42 

150 156 12.1 12.33 12.82 

157 163 12.2 12.73 13.22 

164 170 12.3 13.12 13.60 

171 177 12.4 13.50 13.97 

178 185 12.5 13.87 14.42 

186 192 13.0 14.31 14.77 

193 200 13.1 14.66 15.19 

201 207 13.2 15.08 15.53 

208 215 13.3 15.41 15.93 

216 223 13.4 15.80 16.32 

224 231 13.5 16.19 16.70 

232 239 14.0 16.57 17.07 

240 247 14.1 16.94 17.44 

248 255 14.2 17.30 17.79 

256 263 14.3 17.66 18.14 

264 271 14.4 18.00 18.48 

272 279 14.5 18.34 18.81 

280 288 15.0 18.67 19.20 

289 296 15.1 19.05 19.52 

297 305 15.2 19.37 19.89 

306 314 15.3 19.74 20.26 

315 322 15.4 20.11 20.55 

323 331 15.5 20.40 20.91 

Pakistan’s best bet, then, will be to win the toss, put the Zimbabweans in and bowl their opponents out for as lowly a total as possible, within 107 at the most, before reaching their target within 9.4 overs - 11 overs as the case may be.

Considering the fielding restrictions in the first 15 overs and the explosive batting of Saeed Anwar, Shahid Afridi and others in the Pakistan top order, this may be possible. What will also work to their advantage is the fact that with such a small target, losing wickets may not really matter.

But obviously, Zimbabwe’s men are not going to roll over and play dead. They would also be fiercely competitive and looking to enter the Super Six. Thus, they may try to score as many runs as possible. And that is when Pakistan’s position becomes increasingly hopeless. For instance, if Streak’s unit were to bat anywhere near their potential and score 225, the Green Brigade must win within 13.5 overs, at an average of 16.27 an over - a task that can be considered close to impossible. Table 1 above shows how Pakistan’s task becomes progressively hopeless as the target climbs from 226 to 323.

If Pakistan Bat First

Pakistan’s possible range of scores are set out in Columns A and B of Table 2, and their minimum required margin of victory is in Column C. All figures are in runs.

A Pakistan’s score – lower end of range (runs)
B Pakistan’s score – higher end of range (runs)
C Pakistan’s minimum margin of victory (runs)

A B C
223 247 187
248 338 188
339 370 189

If Pakistan’s batsmen wield the willow with power and panache, scoring 300, their bowlers must dismiss Zimbabwe for 112. A tall order, but within the realms of possibility for an attack regarded as among the best in the world. After all, Wasim and Waqar have over 900 wickets in ODIs, and the fearsome Shoaib is arguably the fastest in the world!

But if Waqar’s men are below par and only score say 223, the bowler’s will then face the herculean task of bowling the opposition out for 36, the lowest-ever total in ODIs.

To conclude

Irrespective of what the weather-man says, or what the wicket looks like, these Tables, then, send out the loud and clear message that the captain winning the toss must have no hesitation in batting first at Bulawayo. As to whether Pakistan can rise like a Phoenix from the ashes of the heavy defeat inflicted by India at Centurion, we will have to wait till Wednesday to find out. **

link](http://www-pak.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/MAR/150783_IND_03MAR2003.html)

Again I say, put the opposition into bat if we win the toss, knock them out around 100 runs and chase it in 10 overs

did you guys read the news? these morons started to fight while playing soccer lol..thats all we needed

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Again I say, put the opposition into bat if we win the toss, knock them out around 100 runs and chase it in 10 overs

which is way harder than we thought so..

i guess we should bat first and score 350 easily and then knock em in 160 runs.. that sounds fair enough :)

Allah miannn pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee save uss now :(

Through out the tournament an excessive amount of mashallah ,inshallah has been used by all of us including the team.Did it work? Something is definitely wrong. Why not become a Hindu brahmin for one game and kick the crap out of Zimb. It is the only way we can realisticly think of winning.

sherrybaba.. look at your signature, and look at your post... amazing, eh? :)

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
sherrybaba.. look at your signature, and look at your post... amazing, eh? :)

are you implying something here ;) no I'm not that insecure..

kiya karienn depression say mubtela houn..aur uskay ilawa mein kaunsa serious tha..

depression mein bhi, kissi musalmaan ko hindu tau na banao... :)

I guess people in Pakistan better start preparing to “welcome” their team back home:rolleyes:

bheja itney naazon se tha ub dekhtey hein waapis kitney naazon se letey hein inn ulluon ko:hoonh:

:smack: if any team had the power to play God (Al ayaad billah), then that team would’ve never lost a singal game:halo: